Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 50. (Read 1239072 times)

newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
October 26, 2010, 07:14:35 PM
Is poclbm.py supposed to use 100% CPU, and increase CPU usage of Xorg quite a bit as well?

I get about 11500 khash/s maximum from poclbm.py, which is the same I get from bitcoin when running on all 4 CPU cores.  While poclbm.py is running, hash production from bitcoin is reduced to about 8k.  Is this normal?  Production from poclbm.py decreases if I reduce it's CPU share, e.g. by niceing it.

GPU is some ATI HD 5400 series.
OpenCL can run on CPUs, too. It seems like that's what is happening. Maybe. Does poclbm ask you to choose your device when you start it?

My CPU usage is <5% for poclbm, so something's wrong.
hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 505
October 26, 2010, 06:52:32 AM
HD5850 just arrived and gets a whopping ~235.000khash/s stock, very nice indeed.
that's 5 times a GTX260 oc'd at nearly the same power consumption (~200W),
it's actually a few watts less on the HD5850, still room to oc it a 'lil.  Grin


some updates:
ran fine througout the day so i did some more testings,
right now i'm up to 267.000 with default poclbm-settings*,
the core clocked at 825MHz (stock 725MHz) doesn't even get close to hot,
stock <63°C vs. current <66°C, it's fan is still idle,
with a bit of luck it might even break 300Mhash, but i'm more than pleased for now.

this card is well worth its money.

* ~270.000 with frames=10, desktop gets kinda unusable then though, but if i dont need it anway there's some extra Mhs to gain


woot! Grin
and just as i write this i generated my first OpenCL block!

it no longer just seems to work, it really doesShocked
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 25, 2010, 09:03:05 PM
Nop, my bitcoin client don't generate from CPU.
legendary
Activity: 1222
Merit: 1016
Live and Let Live
October 25, 2010, 08:25:44 PM
do you need to have they client generating at the same time as the open-cl miner?
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 25, 2010, 08:14:57 PM
bethel : -f 35 and -w 128 . I don't have any rate or askrate variable.

da2ce7 : If you started to generate before having all the block downloaded, then the block you found isn't valid. Restart your client and start to generate once you got all the block. This happened to me too, david explained it to me pretty well =)

Malouin
legendary
Activity: 1222
Merit: 1016
Live and Let Live
October 25, 2010, 07:02:51 PM
A quick question, I have had the miner running, if found a "found: 339339279, 26/10/2010 06:27"  however, the coins for that block haven't been added to my bit coin wallet...  Have I missed something, or is my wallet corrupt or something?

I have had non open-cl coins generated, maybe my node isn't announcing the newly found block, It dose say 8 connections..
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
October 25, 2010, 06:10:17 PM
640mhash/s - radeon 5970 870mhz/1305mhz - temp : 83c

Presently it run fine, but i'm not sure it gonna be stable, gonna update here if I have any news.

Malouin

What are your -frames and -worksize arguments like? Also what -askrate interval do you have?

I did get two cards working (had to use the crossfirex cable and enable crossfirex).

The thing that baffles me is how to get the same performance out of two cards together as I got out of two cards seperately. It seems if i set the frames very low like -frames=2 I can get one card to do about 97% gpu capacity. The other card, however drops to 60-80%. When I make the frames high like 256 it does ok but any other program on my machine seems to have a higher priority and will make poclbm.exe run slow.

Currently the best compromise I found was
--frames=25 --rate=3 --worksize=256 --device=1 --askrate=30

On a single core processor machine this produces about 90% on each card average but has wild swings.

For a while I thought the issue was my MB or CPU not feeding the data fast enough but I tried the cards in my gaming machine with a quad core and dual x16PCIe slots and it still was about the same.

Any ideas?
hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 505
October 25, 2010, 01:31:52 PM
core i7 quad, nvidia GT240, 64bit ubuntu 10.04

CPU: 7000 khps
GPU: 20000 khps

Should I be getting more?  I have python 2.6.5 installed.

compared to my GTX260 which gets ~37.000 stock (575core/1240shader) and up to 45.000 oc'd (685/1480),
you should be ok with 20.000.

gonna run it on a radeon 5850 as soon as it arrives, should be by tomorrow.
hopefully i'll get some more outof that.
legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1008
1davout
October 25, 2010, 07:25:52 AM
I think it's a really good thing that such a client gets public, it decreases the chance that the blockchain gets overtaken by NSA XD
legendary
Activity: 1437
Merit: 1002
https://bitmynt.no
October 25, 2010, 07:19:09 AM
Is poclbm.py supposed to use 100% CPU, and increase CPU usage of Xorg quite a bit as well?

Code:
  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND            
 4885 sturle    20   0  420m  56m  26m S  264  0.7  53:15.06 bitcoin           
 5522 sturle    20   0  231m  63m  24m S   97  0.8   9:44.01 poclbm.py         
14130 root      20   0  491m 174m 122m S   27  2.2  12:25.19 Xorg               

I get about 11500 khash/s maximum from poclbm.py, which is the same I get from bitcoin when running on all 4 CPU cores.  While poclbm.py is running, hash production from bitcoin is reduced to about 8k.  Is this normal?  Production from poclbm.py decreases if I reduce it's CPU share, e.g. by niceing it.

GPU is some ATI HD 5400 series.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 25, 2010, 06:10:49 AM
Davout : Yea it should work without any problem on linux. ArtForz actually use that.

Fergalish : the Nvidia GT240 got 385 Gflops, the radeon 5970 got 4640. If we base it on the fact that the 5970 got 230 000khash/s per core without being OC, it should be around 20 000 khash/s yes.

Malouin
sr. member
Activity: 440
Merit: 250
October 25, 2010, 05:47:52 AM
core i7 quad, nvidia GT240, 64bit ubuntu 10.04

CPU: 7000 khps
GPU: 20000 khps

Should I be getting more?  I have python 2.6.5 installed.
legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1008
1davout
October 25, 2010, 05:24:54 AM
incredible hashes/sec are incredible
do you think a Radeon 5970 would work fine with linux ?
LZ
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 1072
P2P Cryptocurrency
October 25, 2010, 04:22:59 AM
I want it! Grin
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 24, 2010, 03:52:07 PM
Update :

Here's a screenshot of my last setting

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/2157/bitcoin.jpg

640mhash/s - radeon 5970 870mhz/1305mhz - temp : 83c

Presently it run fine, but i'm not sure it gonna be stable, gonna update here if I have any news.

Malouin
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 24, 2010, 06:47:45 AM
Windows 7 Ultimate / ATI SDK 2.2 for Win7 64 / Catalyst 10.7

I got a radeon 5970, so I don't have 2 cards, but 2 hearts on it. Art got 4 cards on 1 motherboard doing this, I'm gonna ask him when I see him.

Malouin
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
October 24, 2010, 02:05:04 AM
Tried the -f 35 and -w 128. I get around 270m khash/s. And yes, I can load 2 separate poclbm, using device 1 and device 2, both are doing around 268m khash/s. Total of 536m khash/s.

And yes, it display the bitcoin is downloading blocks... Thanks !

Malouin

xxmalouinxx, what OS, SDK, and driver version are you on?

I can't seem to get my two cards to both run at the same time under Windows 7. Any hints?
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
October 24, 2010, 02:02:35 AM
bethel, what are 5870s showing at stock frequency (850 MHz)? Perhaps one of the cards throttles down?

Latest version has new parameter, -w, to set work group size. I have best results on 5770 with -w 128 -f 35.

Latest py2exe version is http://github.com/downloads/m0mchil/poclbm/poclbm.7z

Sorry for the late reply, I have been away for a while.

I found my problem and it was so simple it is silly. I had not yet enabled the -frames switch to crunch faster. I still don't know why one card was faster without the switch but they are about equal now.

As for the mhash @ 850mhz I get about 265mhps.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
October 23, 2010, 10:31:59 PM
hehehe thanks guys =P

I was speaking with Art on irc today, and my next step will be to OC my 5970 from 800 to 910mhz. I should reach the 320mhash/s on each heart, which mean a big total of 640mhash/s.

I restarted my client at 15h30 EAST time, and will stop it tomorrow at the same time. It gonna give me some data to work on. After that, i'm going to OC it at 910mhz and see the result and report here with some screenshots.

Malouin
LZ
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 1072
P2P Cryptocurrency
October 23, 2010, 04:21:08 PM
590 mhps!!! Shocked Shocked Shocked
Pages:
Jump to: