Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 54. (Read 1239039 times)

legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 11, 2010, 05:16:59 PM
#50

ok, I'm really new at this GPGPU stuff, I got this message when I try to run the thing:


Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 28, in
    miner = cl.Program(context, kernelFile.read()).build()
  File "/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/pyopencl/__init__.py", line 138, in program_build
    "Build on %s:\n\n%s" % (dev, log) for dev, log in build_logs))
pyopencl.RuntimeError: clBuildProgram failed: build program failure

Build on :

Error: Code selection failed to select: 0x138fdc0: i32 = bswap 0x138fbc0

-------------------
This is on Linux 64 bit, does the "i32 = bswap" mean it wants linux 32?

btw I know the 8400 GS is slow, you don't have to tell me.

Got the same error on a Win7-64 with 8600 GTS.
Code:
Build on :

Error: Code selection failed to select: 0x5d57918: i32 = bswap 0x5d57808
Seems like poclbm doesn't work on nvidia cards.
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 11, 2010, 11:55:44 AM
#49
Quote
SPARKLE SX84GS256D2LDPP GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card
Well .. 256mb .. DDR2 with 64 bit interface
this even was crap when it came on the market ^^
lfm
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 104
October 11, 2010, 02:56:43 AM
#48
I think I have the newest stuff. Ill just have to wait for the next version by the looks of it. Maybe give up on it and find an ATI card.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
October 11, 2010, 02:49:15 AM
#47

Error: Code selection failed to select: 0x138fdc0: i32 = bswap 0x138fbc0


Try to update your GPU driver. See http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=150585

It seems OpenCL is still problematic on Nvidia GPUs. Unfortunately I don't have one to try to make a PyCuda miner.
lfm
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 104
October 11, 2010, 02:15:45 AM
#46

ok, I'm really new at this GPGPU stuff, I got this message when I try to run the thing:


Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 28, in
    miner = cl.Program(context, kernelFile.read()).build()
  File "/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/pyopencl/__init__.py", line 138, in program_build
    "Build on %s:\n\n%s" % (dev, log) for dev, log in build_logs))
pyopencl.RuntimeError: clBuildProgram failed: build program failure

Build on :

Error: Code selection failed to select: 0x138fdc0: i32 = bswap 0x138fbc0

-------------------
This is on Linux 64 bit, does the "i32 = bswap" mean it wants linux 32?

btw I know the 8400 GS is slow, you don't have to tell me.
lfm
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 104
October 11, 2010, 01:57:03 AM
#45
I can't get the getwork patch to compile into bitcoin. Is that something satoshi has considered adding to the main trunk?

I've got PyOpenCL finally installed but without the patch in the client, I can't request anything.

try :

  svn co -r 161 https://bitcoin.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/bitcoin

It seems any other revision fails the patch.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
October 10, 2010, 12:10:12 AM
#44
It only tries to keep single kernel run under specific time by changing the number of 'global' threads. If you start a game, kernel execution will get slower. The number of threads will then be gradually adjusted to achieve the desired execution time.

By default this time is 1/60 of a second. If shorter i.e. 1/120 sec it will leave more time for other GPU tasks.

This is adjusted with the '-f' switch.
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 09, 2010, 07:27:28 PM
#43
It think fixed point is relatively good to ati and hard for nvidia.
That sounds interesting. Do you have any web-sources for this ?

@m0mchil:
Is your Python OpenCL client using priorization ? like, can I start a game while using your client and it will automatically slow down the hash rate and my card will focus on the game ?
lfm
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 104
October 09, 2010, 04:27:08 PM
#42
of course, but still
i'd like to know if that's a usual expectation on ati cards compared to nvidia,
no single-hd5870-users around that want to share their hash-count?

i'm gonna buy a new card sooner or later anyway and i don't mind if it says ati or nvidia on it,
both will surely run my game/s.
but if one of them is x times better crunching blocks and besides that, prolly cheaper too,
i already know what my next favourite brand is.

gflops is not really relevant to bitcoin mining since gflops is measure of floating point and bitcoin mining is fixed point. It think fixed point is relatively good to ati and hard for nvidia.

If you have an app that uses floating point more than fixed point the the disparity might vanish or at least diminish.

full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
October 08, 2010, 08:47:26 AM
#41
Right after these lines is there something like:

ProcessBlock: ACCEPTED
sending: inv (37 bytes)

If so (and you are sure this is the block in question) it was announced to the network, but another block got included in the chain instead. Do you have other blocks after that?

BTW, if you want poclbm to crunch slower, start it with something like -f 400. Experiment with the number.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
October 08, 2010, 12:23:15 AM
#40
Here's one for you.

It just found another block, and... bitcoin doesn't show anything...

The miner asks for work at an interval of 10 seconds. If there is a new block from the network in the last such interval your client won't even try to announce your own next block. I am not sure, but I think this is the behavior of the original client too. Please take a look at your debug.log and if possible send me an excerpt from around where this happened. Look for terms like "SetBestChain" and "height=" if you know the block number.

Sometimes the client just doesn't show the new transaction right away.
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 04:49:32 PM
#39
Yes, I am.

Uhm, does anyone know if poclbm works with mutliple graphic cards ?
full member
Activity: 150
Merit: 100
October 07, 2010, 03:35:51 PM
#38
More people need to jump on board of the OpenCL miner.

Anyone fancy building a 64bit windows build of bitcoin suitable for the OpenCL miner? It may be worth some bitcoins Wink
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 03:26:00 PM
#37
yes 4870, edited my post.
and yes, more people should use it Smiley
now I can generate bitcoins on my gpu and rainbow tables on my cpu at the same time Tongue
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 02:20:40 PM
#36
ASUS Radeon HD4870 512MB gpu@750MHz vram@900(1800)MHz
~75500khashs/s
gpu temp currently @74°C (bios-modded long ago to adjust fan speed)
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 01:41:00 PM
#35
I copied them into system32, this usually sloves these problems, but I'm gonna try it.

PS: the German error message only says, that the module was not found.

EDIT: and again, you were right Cheesy

but now a new error message shows up:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin>python poclbm.py
Unable to communicate with bitcoin RPC
I'm using this client:
Win32 bitcoin with getwork, against SVN 161. Download

EDIT2: ok forget it, forgot about the -server switch
EDIT3: yay it works, finally.
BUT, now it asks for username and passwords every ~8 seconds.... ?

EDIT4: I changed the default values for user and pw in pocbm.py and now it works Smiley
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 12:51:28 PM
#34
hey, it's me .. again ...

python poclbm.py -->

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in
    import pyopencl as cl
  File "C:\Python26\lib\site-packages\pyopencl-0.92-py2.6-win32.egg\pyopencl\__init__.py", line 3, in
    import pyopencl._cl as _cl
ImportError: DLL load failed: Das angegebene Modul wurde nicht gefunden.
Seems like a DLL is missing.
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 12:32:38 PM
#33
Code:
BOOST_INC_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\boost\boost_1_44']
BOOST_LIB_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\boost\boost_1_44\lib']
BOOST_COMPILER = 'msvc'
BOOST_PYTHON_LIBNAME = ['boost_python-vc90-mt-1_44']
BOOST_THREAD_LIBNAME = ['boost_thread-vc90-mt-1_44']
CL_TRACE = False
CL_ENABLE_GL = False
SHIPPED_CL_HEADERS = False
CL_INC_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\include']
CL_LIB_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\lib\x86']
CL_LIBNAME = ['OpenCL']
CXXFLAGS = ['/EHsc', '/DBOOST_PYTHON_NO_PY_SIGNATURES']
LDFLAGS = ['/FORCE']
Thats my current siteconfig.py, but I will try yours now.

Edit: thx man, your my hero now ^^
Code:
BOOST_INC_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\boost\boost_1_44']
BOOST_LIB_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\boost\boost_1_44\lib']
BOOST_COMPILER = 'msvc'
BOOST_PYTHON_LIBNAME = ['boost_python-vc90-mt-1_44']
USE_SHIPPED_BOOST = False
CL_TRACE = False
CL_ENABLE_GL = False
CL_INC_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\include']
CL_LIB_DIR = [r'C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\lib\x86']
CL_LIBNAME = ['OpenCL']
CXXFLAGS = ['/EHsc', '/DBOOST_PYTHON_NO_PY_SIGNATURES']
LDFLAGS = ['/FORCE']
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 09:54:04 AM
#32
wtf ?
when I click that link I get forwarded to http://developer.amd.com/Pages/amd404.aspx

edit: works with IE O.o but not with firefox, hmm.
maybe I changed my http referrer settings or something.

__________________________________________________

while trying to install pyopencl 0.92 with "python setup.py install" I get the following error:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "setup.py", line 160, in
    main()
  File "setup.py", line 50, in main
    warn_about_no_config=False)
  File "c:\Users\STM\Desktop\OpenCL Bitcoin\pyopencl-0.92\aksetup_helper.py", line 164, in get_config
    return schema.read_config()
  File "c:\Users\STM\Desktop\OpenCL Bitcoin\pyopencl-0.92\aksetup_helper.py", line 366, in read_config
    cfile, key))
KeyError: 'invalid config key in .\\siteconf.py: SHIPPED_CL_HEADERS'

using Python 2.6.6, setuptools 0.6c11, NumPy 1.5.0, SciPy 0.8.0, Boost 1.44

any recommendation ?
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
October 07, 2010, 09:31:10 AM
#31
Smoketoomuch, get version 2.6.6 AND get the 32 bit binaries.

If you install the 64 bit, the extensions are all based on 32 bit, and it won't find your installation. Reinstall with 32 bit and you're golden.
oh ok, thanks, now it works.
all I need is a stream sdk for 64 bit now -.- cmon AMD! fix it!
Pages:
Jump to: