Author

Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com - page 1202. (Read 3049524 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
October 27, 2013, 10:54:45 PM
Note that I've also updated the binary slightly though it may not be noticeably different. However I know people love to try every little change, so feel free to repeat the instructions Smiley
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
October 27, 2013, 10:53:28 PM
where i can found instruction how i use the putty? Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Use putty connection to 192.168.1x instead of using ssh for the first step

Quote
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer

legendary
Activity: 2408
Merit: 1004
October 27, 2013, 10:49:44 PM
where i can found instruction how i use the putty? Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
October 27, 2013, 10:46:57 PM
I've just created a kncminer branch on my github and have imported their most current code and built my first binary for this. It is not a full firmware and the only thing users may note is the hashrate won't lie with this one, as it won't count hardware errors as hashrate. Also my hardware error count is significantly lower with this on the Saturn dev machine I was sent.

Here's a direct link to the binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
Note that WU also includes the fakedmisrepresented hashrate in the regular binary included in knc firmware.
legendary
Activity: 1442
Merit: 1001
October 27, 2013, 10:42:07 PM
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer

Note also that this is perfectly safe and only saves the cgminer binary to the ramdisk which means that if you have any issues or reboot it will just go back to the usual cgminer built in. It is also compatible with any of the kncminer firmwares, though I find 0.96.1 to be the best for me.

Thanks for the effort, ckolivas. For me this wasn't an improvement - went from around 537GH/s to 498GH/s. Granted I only ran it for 20 minutes, but with 0.97 I get back up to 537 with the stock software in less than 2 minutes.

Looking forward to future revisions!
That's because it's an honest number now, and not the added smoke & mirrors of including errors in averages...
and the error rate is lower, lol

Perhaps - my pool numbers aren't that bad, though. Maybe if we post our WU numbers instead of just pure hashrate/errors?
legendary
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
LIR DEV
October 27, 2013, 10:36:06 PM
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer

Note also that this is perfectly safe and only saves the cgminer binary to the ramdisk which means that if you have any issues or reboot it will just go back to the usual cgminer built in. It is also compatible with any of the kncminer firmwares, though I find 0.96.1 to be the best for me.

Thanks for the effort, ckolivas. For me this wasn't an improvement - went from around 537GH/s to 498GH/s. Granted I only ran it for 20 minutes, but with 0.97 I get back up to 537 with the stock software in less than 2 minutes.

Looking forward to future revisions!
That's because it's an honest number now, and not the added smoke & mirrors of including errors in averages...
and the error rate is lower, lol
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
October 27, 2013, 10:35:32 PM
What are your hardware errors?  from my understanding knc versions don't subtract hardware error from your current has its showing you.    But his code dose.  So depending on what your hardware errors are you could be doing better?  Or am i misunderstand this?


Though on a side note my hardware error rate is slowly creeping back up to 6.8 already.  Going to try and downgrade to 9.6.1 my self and see if its any better.
legendary
Activity: 1442
Merit: 1001
October 27, 2013, 10:28:12 PM
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer

Note also that this is perfectly safe and only saves the cgminer binary to the ramdisk which means that if you have any issues or reboot it will just go back to the usual cgminer built in. It is also compatible with any of the kncminer firmwares, though I find 0.96.1 to be the best for me.

Thanks for the effort, ckolivas. For me this wasn't an improvement - went from around 537GH/s to 498GH/s. Granted I only ran it for 20 minutes, but with 0.97 I get back up to 537 with the stock software in less than 2 minutes.

Looking forward to future revisions!
legendary
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
LIR DEV
October 27, 2013, 10:21:14 PM
lower error rate +1
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Hell?
October 27, 2013, 10:13:58 PM
Where is the connections step by step with putty?

he literally just posted them above.
legendary
Activity: 2408
Merit: 1004
October 27, 2013, 10:09:37 PM
Where is the connections step by step with putty?
sr. member
Activity: 278
Merit: 250
October 27, 2013, 10:07:23 PM
Thanks ckolivas.  It works very well.  Only been running a few minutes and straight away the speed is higher and error rate lower.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
October 27, 2013, 09:50:28 PM
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer

Note also that this is perfectly safe and only saves the cgminer binary to the ramdisk which means that if you have any issues or reboot it will just go back to the usual cgminer built in. It is also compatible with any of the kncminer firmwares, though I find 0.96.1 to be the best for me.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
October 27, 2013, 09:32:48 PM
I've just created a kncminer branch on my github and have imported their most current code and built my first binary for this. It is not a full firmware and the only thing users may note is the hashrate won't lie with this one, as it won't count hardware errors as hashrate. Also my hardware error count is significantly lower with this on the Saturn dev machine I was sent.

Here's a direct link to the binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

You'll have to ssh into the kncminer and copy and use that file directly. Hopefully the libraries all match between my dev environment and the default kncminer operating system which means the binary should just work if you run it like on any other OS.
I'm still learning linux, but would love to try this...  
I'll let someone post a clear procedure before I try... ug.Thank you cklovas!

I second this.
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer


Thanks!  my hardware errors would never go below 7.1  now they keep dropping 6.9,6.8,6.7............down to 5.4 and looks like it keeps getting lower.  And hash is sitting at 545 GH/s for now.... lets see what this bad boy will do.

Update.... Down to 4.9 so far...  Up to 548 GH/s average on cgminer  and first time i have seen a jump over 700 on Eligius..... only if there was a way to make it stay there lol...
https://i.imgur.com/YMsRaz1.png
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Bitcoin For All
October 27, 2013, 09:24:38 PM
A little more info on the "screen" command for those who are curious.

http://www.computerhope.com/unix/screen.htm

The command switches are given as well...

screen is a full-screen window manager that multiplexes a physical terminal between several processes (typically interactive shells). Each virtual terminal provides the functions of a DEC VT100 terminal and, in addition, several control functions from the ISO 6429 (ECMA 48, ANSI X3.64) and ISO 2022 standards (e.g. insert/delete line and support for multiple character sets). There is a scrollback history buffer for each virtual terminal and a copy-and-paste mechanism that allows moving text regions between windows.

When screen is called, it creates a single window with a shell in it (or the specified command) and then gets out of your way so that you can use the program as you normally would. Then, at any time, you can create new (full-screen) windows with other programs in them (including more shells), kill existing windows, view a list of windows, turn output logging on and off, copy-and-paste text between windows, view the scrollback history, switch between windows in whatever manner you wish, etc. All windows run their programs completely independent of each other. Programs continue to run when their window is currently not visible and even when the whole screen session is detached from the user's terminal. When a program terminates, screen (per default) kills the window that contained it. If this window was in the foreground, the display switches to the previous window; if none are left, screen exits.


Info here will help you to actually run the "screen"....
http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-screen-command-howto.html

Note that you should "detach" after viewing the miner screen... before closing the ssh session.


hth
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Bitcoin For All
October 27, 2013, 09:12:02 PM
I just put the case on our Saturn and it went from 42.5C to about 49.0 on the first module and 49.5 on the second.

It did seem to give an almost immediate jump in the Hash Rate. It makes no sense ot me as circuits generally run better when coller -- but a biger Hash rate is a Better Hash Rate -- so....

Still at .95 Software.

Have not tried the CKolvas version of the software -- though I do know how to update it. Just don't want to touch a working unit unless there is a clear and worthwhile gain.

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
October 27, 2013, 09:11:33 PM
I've just created a kncminer branch on my github and have imported their most current code and built my first binary for this. It is not a full firmware and the only thing users may note is the hashrate won't lie with this one, as it won't count hardware errors as hashrate. Also my hardware error count is significantly lower with this on the Saturn dev machine I was sent.

Here's a direct link to the binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

You'll have to ssh into the kncminer and copy and use that file directly. Hopefully the libraries all match between my dev environment and the default kncminer operating system which means the binary should just work if you run it like on any other OS.
I'm still learning linux, but would love to try this...  
I'll let someone post a clear procedure before I try... ug.Thank you cklovas!

I second this.
ssh into your kncminer if you know its IP address is 192.168.1.X:

Code:
ssh -l root 192.168.1.X
screen -d -r
q
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
q is to quit the already running cgminer
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1000
October 27, 2013, 09:09:03 PM
.
sr. member
Activity: 1176
Merit: 265
October 27, 2013, 08:55:43 PM
+ another Smiley
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1000
October 27, 2013, 08:51:00 PM
I've just created a kncminer branch on my github and have imported their most current code and built my first binary for this. It is not a full firmware and the only thing users may note is the hashrate won't lie with this one, as it won't count hardware errors as hashrate. Also my hardware error count is significantly lower with this on the Saturn dev machine I was sent.

Here's a direct link to the binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

You'll have to ssh into the kncminer and copy and use that file directly. Hopefully the libraries all match between my dev environment and the default kncminer operating system which means the binary should just work if you run it like on any other OS.
I'm still learning linux, but would love to try this...  
I'll let someone post a clear procedure before I try... ug.Thank you cklovas!

I second this.
Jump to: