Pages:
Author

Topic: XPM - Issue with mining....reward 5 XPM - page 2. (Read 3112 times)

sr. member
Activity: 399
Merit: 250
Then I think your CPU is just not the beast we all think it should (at least for Primeocin mining)...

What kind of internet connection do you have? Maybe latency is very high...

Also post the contnts of ./primecoin/primecoin.conf please.


PS... you can watch closely what primecoin does while using:

Code:
watch 'primecoind getmininginfo'

if you want lesser updates than every 2 seconds than use e.g:

Code:
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo'

(every 5 seconds)

or even for a bit more info:

Code:
watch -n 5 -d 'primecoind getmininginfo && primecoind getdifficulty && primecoind listtransactions "*" 1 0'


member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
Get htop and view CPU usage from the command line in real time, so you'll exactly see what your cores do and if they are at 100%.

Code:
sudo apt-get install htop
htop

I get 5000pps from a AMD Phenom 1090 (3.2Ghz) / 16GB RAM / Ubuntu 13.04 64bit from mikhaels hp3 on my desktop... I think your Xeon should do more...
How much memory does the machine have?

If it is lacking memory then create a swap file:

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

Update: Just compiled hp4 and getting up to 6000pps with the same config. Memory usage is around 3.9 from 16GB for my desktop ubuntu.

Oooo... nice program this htop Cheesy
CPUs are around 99% to 85%

Just 1GB memory. 114MB in use.
sr. member
Activity: 399
Merit: 250
Not on github but on sourceforge...
legendary
Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000
Compile the source here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/xpm-ann-primecoin-high-performance-hp14-released-255782

You should get a massive boost in PPS.

This source is no longer available??
sr. member
Activity: 399
Merit: 250
Get htop and view CPU usage from the command line in real time, so you'll exactly see what your cores do and if they are at 100%.

Code:
sudo apt-get install htop
htop

I get 5000pps from a AMD Phenom 1090 (3.2Ghz) / 16GB RAM / Ubuntu 13.04 64bit from mikhaels hp3 on my desktop... I think your Xeon should do more...
How much memory does the machine have?

If it is lacking memory then create a swap file:

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

Update: Just compiled hp4 and getting up to 6000pps with the same config. Memory usage is around 3.9 from 16GB for my desktop ubuntu.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 502
I tested on 2 INTEL Xeon E5410 (4 cores each, 2.33GHz, 2x 6MB L2 cache). This is a total of 8 cores, I think that this is very close to your configuration (with "8 cpus" you mean 8 cores I guess).

I am getting ~4000 pps on this cpu. So there is definitely something wrong with your setup.

First, try to compile and install GMP yourself:

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get remove libgmp3 libgmp3-dev
wget ftp://ftp.gmplib.org/pub/gmp/gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
tar jxvf gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
cd gmp-5.1.2
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then, you should compile mikaelh2's high-performance primecoind:

Code:
wget http://sourcefwget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp4/primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2/download -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2
tar jxvf primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src
CFLAGS="-O2" CPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"
strip primecoind
cp primecoind

Use this for your primecoin.conf:

Code:
rpcuser=
rpcpassword=
sievesize=2000000
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
gen=-1
server=1

Now you should have exactly the same setup as my test setup - except that you have some Ghz more. Let me know if this works for you! As I said, ~4000 pps.
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10

primecoind  %CPU  between 700-800
what mean this?




Sounds like the miner is properly using the CPUs at least, that number means 90-100% usage across all 8 cpus. I think recompiling with the latest libgmp is your best route.

I'd hazard a guess that it's not properly threading the CPUs, as you get similar pps as my i7-920 @ stock. AKA it's running your 8 4 core CPUs as 1 8 core cpu.

huh
i have too 920 on desktop pc, i'm doing with it around 3300....


Open up your makefile, and add -O3 -march=native -s and recompile it from source.

Also, do that with libgmp for even more performance.

DON'T do that with GMP. GMP is already tuned for greatest performance, and using "-O3" can sometimes break code.


Maybe i will try it, just to know if are any differnece.
Like I said I'm using libgmp3. Should run like libgmp?
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0

primecoind  %CPU  between 700-800
what mean this?




Sounds like the miner is properly using the CPUs at least, that number means 90-100% usage across all 8 cpus. I think recompiling with the latest libgmp is your best route.

I'd hazard a guess that it's not properly threading the CPUs, as you get similar pps as my i7-920 @ stock. AKA it's running your 8 4 core CPUs as 1 8 core cpu.
sr. member
Activity: 287
Merit: 250
Open up your makefile, and add -O3 -march=native -s and recompile it from source.

Also, do that with libgmp for even more performance.
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
PPS is not a good measure for performance.

True. But how to explain that my laptop is doing 1500PPS and 8 cpu together just a bit more......doesn't seem right to me (i think)


can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?

not sure how to check it   Huh
"top"  or some other command?
use system monitor, it should be able to tell you.

have just terminal/cmd
You're running GNOMEless then? hmm. top should work

primecoind  %CPU  between 700-800
what mean this?


newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
PPS is not a good measure for performance.

True. But how to explain that my laptop is doing 1500PPS and 8 cpu together just a bit more......doesn't seem right to me (i think)


can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?

not sure how to check it   Huh
"top"  or some other command?
use system monitor, it should be able to tell you.

have just terminal/cmd
You're running GNOMEless then? hmm. top should work
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
PPS is not a good measure for performance.

True. But how to explain that my laptop is doing 1500PPS and 8 cpu together just a bit more......doesn't seem right to me (i think)


can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?

not sure how to check it   Huh
"top"  or some other command?
use system monitor, it should be able to tell you.

have just terminal/cmd
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
PPS is not a good measure for performance.

True. But how to explain that my laptop is doing 1500PPS and 8 cpu together just a bit more......doesn't seem right to me (i think)


can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?

not sure how to check it   Huh
"top"  or some other command?
use system monitor, it should be able to tell you.
full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
Try ubuntu 12.04 if you have time Smiley
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
my E5630 does 3096 pps and my E5645 4318 pps both windows (running modified version hp4

you are talking for 1 cpu-each, right?
seems fair that pps
member
Activity: 97
Merit: 10
my E5630 does 3096 pps and my E5645 4318 pps both windows (running modified version hp4
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
PPS is not a good measure for performance.

True. But how to explain that my laptop is doing 1500PPS and 8 cpu together just a bit more......doesn't seem right to me (i think)


can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?

not sure how to check it   Huh
"top"  or some other command?
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
July 16, 2013, 06:35:11 PM
#9
can you see if all your cpus are getting pegged at 100%?
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
July 16, 2013, 06:33:56 PM
#8
PPS is not a good measure for performance.
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
July 16, 2013, 06:29:58 PM
#7
Hello,

here is my problem. I have a server with 8 cpu (8 x Intel Xeon L5420 @ 2.50GHz).
I'm mining around 2000 PPS, I hardly believe that is doing just 2k pps..I have setgenerate true -1
I'm sure that is possible to get much more pps (i think).
Running on Ubuntu 10.04. Version hp4 from mikaelh.
So i'm giving a reward 5 XPM to solve this problem.
I tried almost everything. I was playing with setgenerate true 1........30.....100...200 but still no more than 2000 PPS.
I'm completely lost. Can't get it work properly.
Any idea what is the problem?

Thanks
according to mikaelh's post

Q: Why is my performance worse on Linux?
A: This version relies on libgmp to do most of the complex calculations. Make sure your libgmp is up-to-date. Old versions do not support newer CPUs. I suggest compiling your own libgmp from latest source code for maximum performance.



libgmp is not supported for ubuntu 10.04, i had to install libgmp3


set generate set how many cores you are using. -1 will use all of them.

Make sure you are using the 64bit version of the miner as well.

yes it's 64bit
tried all of them still nothing Sad


Compile the source here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/xpm-ann-primecoin-high-performance-hp14-released-255782

You should get a massive boost in PPS.

i have already this  Wink

Hello,

here is my problem. I have a server with 8 cpu (8 x Intel Xeon L5420 @ 2.50GHz).
I'm mining around 2000 PPS, I hardly believe that is doing just 2k pps..I have setgenerate true -1
I'm sure that is possible to get much more pps (i think).
Running on Ubuntu 10.04. Version hp4 from mikaelh.
So i'm giving a reward 5 XPM to solve this problem.
I tried almost everything. I was playing with setgenerate true 1........30.....100...200 but still no more than 2000 PPS.
I'm completely lost. Can't get it work properly.
Any idea what is the problem?

Thanks

I think this is what your looking for let know if this helps http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341.msg2361#msg2361

not sure what do you mean :S

try chemists sse build, since that cpu doesn't have avx some of the newer hp avx builds dont work to well

https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.2716037

AeSZAm1BWParxJJZbNwPqnd5CQCncychqG
if you found this helpful

i had Chemisist version but was doing around 1000-1200PPS


___________
thanks any1 for help



Pages:
Jump to: