Pages:
Author

Topic: ZTEX USB-FPGA Modules 1.15x and 1.15y: 215 and 860 MH/s FPGA Boards - page 17. (Read 182443 times)

legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1002
Great job Nelisky, works perfectly! I hope, it will be included in the next release of cgminer.

Thank you Smiley

A Pull Request has been issued to the main cgminer repository so I'm sure it will get included soon.
legendary
Activity: 966
Merit: 1000
did anyone measure the current (A) that take the 1.15x and 1.15y ztex boards ?
member
Activity: 107
Merit: 10
Great job Nelisky, works perfectly! I hope, it will be included in the next release of cgminer.
donator
Activity: 305
Merit: 250
I am using this USB hub:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00483WRZ6/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

MB to 1 master hub then to 10 additional hubs then to the 1.15x

You can get away with just powering the master hub, but the power adapter will get hot if you run a number of boards.
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
Any recommendations for USB hub? Need to connect 25 FPGAs.

+1

I'm using this USB-Hub without any problems so far. No need to power the hub.

Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-port Hub:
(en) http://www.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=608536
(de) http://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/523198



[edit] image added.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1002
Another minor issue. While starting cgminer logs:

Code:
...
[2012-05-04 15:05:16] ZTEX 002:009-04A346343E: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 15:05:17] ZTEX 002:009-04A346343E: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 15:05:18] ZTEX 002:010-04A3476278: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
...

seems that oldfreq isn't proper initialized:

Code:
int libztex_setFreq(struct libztex_device *ztex, uint16_t freq) {
...
        if (oldfreq == -1)
                applog(LOG_WARNING, "%s: Frequency set to %0.2f Mhz",
                       ztex->repr, ztex->freqM1 * (ztex->freqM + 1));




Yep, I have this one in my todo already. But since it is really a minor annoyance I've been focusing on the more urgent stuff. I'll try to fix that one with the next push.
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
Another minor issue. While starting cgminer logs:

Code:
...
[2012-05-04 15:05:16] ZTEX 002:009-04A346343E: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 15:05:17] ZTEX 002:009-04A346343E: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 15:05:18] ZTEX 002:010-04A3476278: Frequency change from 1024.00 to 200.00 Mhz
...

seems that oldfreq isn't proper initialized:

Code:
int libztex_setFreq(struct libztex_device *ztex, uint16_t freq) {
...
        if (oldfreq == -1)
                applog(LOG_WARNING, "%s: Frequency set to %0.2f Mhz",
                       ztex->repr, ztex->freqM1 * (ztex->freqM + 1));

legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1002
Missing a minor info about the fpga number on the quad. For instance:
Code:
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz

does not say which of the 4 quads you are talking about. Put a suffix "-1" ... "-4" at the end of the serial number. In this way:
Code:
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370-1: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz

Hope this is possible.

Sure thing. I'll have that in soon.
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 500
Runnig great without errors on all my boards:
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
I have a test branch with support for ZTEX 1.15y quad boards. Anyone willing to give it a try please grab the source at https://github.com/nelisky/cgminer/tree/ztex-120417

If you are unable to compile it yourself I might be able to provide binaries on some platforms.

Compiled... and it's running on 2 Quads. Great job!!!


Code:
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:43] Accepted 710365f7.ca63213a ZTX 1 pool 0
[2012-05-04 12:50:43] Accepted 6b11ae9f.70effa52 ZTX 6 pool 0
[2012-05-04 12:50:51] ZTEX 001:014-04A346BE51: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:52] ZTEX 001:014-04A346BE51: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:52] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370: Frequency change from 216.00 to 212.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:52] ZTEX 001:014-04A346BE51: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:52] ZTEX 001:014-04A346BE51: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz
[2012-05-04 12:50:54] Accepted b7f4faac.c6f9861c ZTX 1 pool 0
[2012-05-04 12:50:55] Accepted 1af6ea76.aa90d4f9 ZTX 6 pool 0
[2012-05-04 12:50:58] Accepted 47e2c5b7.ef88efee ZTX 3 pool 0

Missing a minor info about the fpga number on the quad. For instance:
Code:
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz

does not say which of the 4 quads you are talking about. Put a suffix "-1" ... "-4" at the end of the serial number. In this way:
Code:
[2012-05-04 12:50:41] ZTEX 003:005-04A3466370-1: Frequency change from 212.00 to 216.00 Mhz

Hope this is possible.
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
I have a test branch with support for ZTEX 1.15y quad boards. Anyone willing to give it a try please grab the source at https://github.com/nelisky/cgminer/tree/ztex-120417

If you are unable to compile it yourself I might be able to provide binaries on some platforms.

Compiled... and it's running on 2 Quads. Great job!!!
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 500
For example multi platform mining? (so u don't need Java and u can plug your boards into the GPU miners that u already hav in use)
Better GUI (I mean the visible screen with all the info like stales, has rate, etc.)
Multipool option

End of thinking capability :p

Go read cgminer thread for all the benefits Wink
legendary
Activity: 966
Merit: 1000
I can tell u that cgminer works charming with all my boards (running since yesterday. Ill post a pic)

any advance ?
what the differenc to btcminer of ztex ?
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 500
I can tell u that cgminer works charming with all my boards (running since yesterday. Ill post a pic)
member
Activity: 107
Merit: 10
Great job Nelisky,
I'll try to test it today and I hope Iwon't burn my Ztex board  Tongue.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1002
I have a test branch with support for ZTEX 1.15y quad boards. Anyone willing to give it a try please grab the source at https://github.com/nelisky/cgminer/tree/ztex-120417

If you are unable to compile it yourself I might be able to provide binaries on some platforms.
legendary
Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000
BitMinter
It's only one chip from the board that doesn't work on my side. Looks like i got the ztex trio Cry

Edit: Ztex offered me to send the board in Smiley

donator
Activity: 367
Merit: 250
ZTEX FPGA Boards
If there are problems with particular boards, please send me the complete logs (from starting the board till occurrence of the problem) per email (). I cannot help If I do not know what is going on.
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100

Please post some pics lol. Of your board that is.

I'm facing some nasty DCOD problems. Yesterday evening the boards ran 2x 212, 1x 208 and 1x 204. When I woke up board nr3 is down. Overheat protection.

Same problem here. My top-board (228, 232, 235, 224) was down in  the morning due to Overheat protection. But I think it's not a cooling issue, rather than a power issue. The board was running super stable for days. Yesterday I changed the setup to another room. PSU is a Cooler Master Gold 700W and the setup consumes 400W at the power plug (CPU, 2x 5870, 3x Ztex Quad).

I power the Quads from one PCIe power cable. This cable has 1x PCIe-6/8 and 1x PCIe-6 connector. PCIe cable to Quad's is wired in this way (the little o is the pin of the PCIe connector):
Code:
            o-12v Q1 o-GND Q1
PCIe-6 (1)  o-       o-GND Q1
            o-12v Q2 o-GND Q2

            o-       o-GND Q2
PCIe-6 (2)  o-       o-GND Q3
            o-12v Q3 o-GND Q3


The Quad which came down over night is Q3 and is connected to the second PCIe-6 plug of the power cable, which in turn extends from the first PCIe-6/8 plug. Maybe this is the problem (GND wires)?
legendary
Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000
BitMinter

Please post some pics lol. Of your board that is.

I'm facing some nasty DCOD problems. Yesterday evening the boards ran 2x 212, 1x 208 and 1x 204. When I woke up board nr3 is down. Overheat protection. An other one is down to 200 MHz. I removed nr3 and placed it again with the same result. But this time all the other chips follow the downclock. 10 seconds and you have a dead board. I switched power supply with the same result. Going to re-upload the firmware this evening and screwing down the heatsinks. I dislike the weakness of the PCB it looks like it's bending a bit. Not sure if that is part of the problem. I'm pretty pissed but I know this from my 1.15d board. I'm ready for some clamp action.
Pages:
Jump to: