Pages:
Author

Topic: 2013-06-13 Latest from FinCEN - page 4. (Read 6963 times)

Activity: 490
Merit: 501
June 14, 2013, 04:32:49 PM

Now another question what if we never change to fiat and use the bitcoins to make purchases lets say for non-business related expenses?

Hey! Look over there! *quickly runs the other way*

heh. I'm not a lawyer or a tax accountant. What you are asking is uncharted territory. Gov.s aren't stupid. They are going to demand their piece of the action one way or another. Once enough people start using Bitcoins in their daily transactions the Gov. will notice and demand their taxes. It will probably take some time though. Perhaps the day will come when the Gov. will accept the taxes on the bitcoin portion of your income in bitcoins. Most likely though, they will factor in some average exchange rate like they do for capital gains made on multiple stock purchases all liquidated at once.
donator
Activity: 406
Merit: 252
Study the past, if you would divine the future.
June 14, 2013, 04:19:39 PM
What do you guys think about a business like mine, Coingig.com, we allow sellers to create a store and sell products to other users. We have an intermediary escrow system that keeps the bitcoin the buyer pays and we don't release it to the seller until the buyer has received their item.

Are we classified as a money transmitter? I would guess so, what are everyone's thoughts, what is the best way to work with FINCEN to remain open?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

In my opinion, if you are not offering to exchange for fiat, you should be fine. But, keep detailed records. If you are making any kind of money off this enterprise, fiat or otherwise, sooner or later the Taxman will request his due.