Pages:
Author

Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only) - page 29. (Read 1958260 times)

newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Is mining on the CPU less effective than GPU, and that is why solutions aren't coming up as commonly as they do in a GPU based miner?
hero member
Activity: 838
Merit: 507
I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.
Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
I'm not sure I understand what the question is. Anyway, cpuminer defaults to starting as many mining threads as logical CPU cores, which normally gives the best results performance-wise. If your CPU does not support hyper-threading, then logical cores are basically the same as physical cores; if it does support hyper-threading, you will have 2 logical cores per physical.

Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.
You will see that message every time a solution (a share if you're mining in a pool) is accepted or rejected by the server. Since finding solutions is a random process, the message is not supposed to come up at regular intervals.

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share
If you're mining solo it means you found a block, if you're mining in a pool it means you found a share.
The percentage refers to how many of the solutions you've submitted so far have been accepted.
legendary
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Just using this for the first time....

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.

Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.


Thanks all!
sr. member
Activity: 470
Merit: 250
Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles
I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Sounds like you ran out of resources on that particular box. Care to share some system information? Architecture, distro, kernel version, what kind of other programs you have running at the same time, and the output of free and ulimit -s would be nice.


Appreciate the help.  Alas, when I just came back from a weekend trip and tried to reproduce, I couldn't.  FYI, it is a Gentoo Linux system built on a AMD A4-6300 APU.  Super low end, only 15 kh/s between the two cpus, but the system is running a 7870 and I couldn't see wasting the cycles.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
I need vps windown. Who can sponsor me, or help me find a place for [Suspicious link removed], thanks Cry Cry Cry Cry
member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.

If you are using a windows system, the easiest way is to go to the folder where you have your miner.
Create a new text file called Miner.txt   
Open the file and paste in   "minerd.exe  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password" without the " " and changing settings to match your pool.
Save it. Then rename it Miner.bat    You may need to switch off the "Hide extensions for known file types" option in windows.
Now if you click on Miner.bat it should open your mining program.
If it opens in a text editor, it is named Miner.bat.txt  , you just can't see the .txt bit.
If it flashes up and disapears, you have something not set correctly.
If you add "pause" to the  bottom of your miner.bat file, it will stop before disappearing.
That should let you see what needs changing.
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 1001
hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.
hero member
Activity: 798
Merit: 1000
Ok, this might be a stupid question but...

I've downloaded the win64 version of cpuminer from the first page in this thread, and I try running it with a batch file containing:

$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://useast.middlecoin.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password

as in the first page.

CPU miner very quickly opens then shuts again too quickly to read what is in the terminal.  I get the same response when I run:

$ ./minerd --help

Try minerd.exe   

The ./minerd is for Linux/UNIX/Mac (specifying ./ means "in this directory" for executables).

$ means just the commandline prompt in Linux.  Windows equivalent would be C:\
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
Ok, this might be a stupid question but...

I've downloaded the win64 version of cpuminer from the first page in this thread, and I try running it with a batch file containing:

$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://useast.middlecoin.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password

as in the first page.

CPU miner very quickly opens then shuts again too quickly to read what is in the terminal.  I get the same response when I run:

$ ./minerd --help
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword
ooks like you're digging Doge. thank you but I want to dig CGB. you can help me. thanks for reading
hero member
Activity: 838
Merit: 507
Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword

It's been said before, but let me repeat it: the -s option does nothing when you mine in a pool (both when using Stratum and when using long polling). It only makes sense to use it if you are mining solo.

Also, for optimal performance it is usually best to have exactly one thread per logical (as opposed to physical) core, which is what cpuminer does by default. The -t option is normally used to start fewer threads, so as to limit the system load.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
thank you. but I still can not run on Win 2008 64 bit vps. you please give me the full version to run on vps can not windown 2008. thank you very much. I've downloaded at http://cgb.smalltimeminer.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted but apparently it is not enough to run. thank you very much
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
I need a CPU Windows Miner. I downloaded it from http://cgb.smalltimeminer.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted
I however seem to run properly or can not fault. someone please help me. I need 64 bit windown.
thank you Cry
hero member
Activity: 838
Merit: 507
I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Sounds like you ran out of resources on that particular box. Care to share some system information? Architecture, distro, kernel version, what kind of other programs you have running at the same time, and the output of free and ulimit -s would be nice.


How do I get the 64 bit version to work with doge.netcodepool.org? The command line on their getting started page isn't right, it doesn't recognize --scrypt. Remove one - and it still doesn't work.
There's no "--scrypt" (that's cgminer/bfgminer) or "-scrypt" option. The correct syntax is "--algo=scrypt", or "-a scrypt", as you can see from the output of "minerd --help".
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
Sun Fire T1000 6-core @ 1GHz
Oracle Solaris 11.1

at 24 threads each gets .06kh/s =1.44kh/s

They're $75 on ebay, 180W power consumption.

If I mine all month I can turn $10 of power into 75 cents worth of altcoins Cheesy

compiling with -O3 made this .07 per thread, for a total of 1.68Kh/s
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
How do I get the 64 bit version to work with doge.netcodepool.org? The command line on their getting started page isn't right, it doesn't recognize --scrypt. Remove one - and it still doesn't work.

Tried this

minerd -scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.netcodepool.org:4093 -u Galane.workername -p mypasswordonlyIknow

and that does nothing at all, not even an error message. This is the CPU miner program that pool recommends, would be nice if they also had correct directions on how to use it.

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on a Dell Inspiron E1505 with 4 gig (3.25 thanks to stupid Intel chipset hobbling) RAM, Core2 Duo T5600 1.83 GHz CPU. I only really use the laptop when I'm away from home so it may as well earn its keep when not being used.
sr. member
Activity: 470
Merit: 250
Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles
I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Any chance for a quick save here?  I know its got to be something trivial... in fact, I think I've seen it before and figured it out, but can't recall what I did.

Thanks,

Cassey
Pages:
Jump to: