Author

Topic: [ANN] AEON [2019-09-27: Upgrade to version 0.13.0.0 ASAP HF@1146200 Oct 25] - page 138. (Read 625666 times)

newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
The autosave is every 12 hours. I agree that isn't needed for the most part (catching up with some resync if you don't save often is no big deal) and is bad on low mem platforms. I'll take a look at adding a command line option. Should be easy.


EDIT: I committed some code to master that adds a --disable-save option. This turns off the automatic saves every 12 hours. Manual saves and saving on exit still work.

If you pull and build you will get it, or wait for the next release.


My public node is updated and running with the --disable-save option. Thanks!
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
please help) i'm getting this message when trying to start simplewallet (v0.9.11.0) as a daemon on unix

2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671640 Failed to read line.
2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671652 Read command:
2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671682 Failed to read line.
2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671692 Read command:
2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671706 Failed to read line.
2017-Apr-18 00:53:16.671714 Read command:

i'm using only 2 arguments --wallet-file= and --password=
i see in log file that wallet is opened ok and after this neverending message, for aeond helps --no-console, but for simplewallet no such command

guys please help, any idea?

I'm not sure there is a good way to run the wallet as a true daemon. I think you might need to use screen or tmux. Maybe someone else knows of a way though.

If using the wallet as a daemon take care to ensure that access to the wallet rpc port is limited. It can be used to send your coins.
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
The autosave is every 12 hours. I agree that isn't needed for the most part (catching up with some resync if you don't save often is no big deal) and is bad on low mem platforms. I'll take a look at adding a command line option. Should be easy.


EDIT: I committed some code to master that adds a --disable-save option. This turns off the automatic saves every 12 hours. Manual saves and saving on exit still work.

If you pull and build you will get it, or wait for the next release.

newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
You can get rid of this autosaving feature by commenting out this line in the source code and then recompiling:
https://github.com/aeonix/aeon/blob/master/src/cryptonote_core/cryptonote_core.cpp#L591

It will still save on exit or if you type 'save' in the daemon, but it will stop doing the autosave every hour or day or whatever.
Awesome, thanks! You just saved me some time digging through the source.
legendary
Activity: 3136
Merit: 1116
Please let me know if your public node turns to be stable and if so I will add it as a resource in the OP
Based on my own testing, it is rock solid stable. Very fast network connection but it has a data transfer cap after which it costs me more fiat $$.

The only problem I encountered is that this server (VPS with Ubuntu 16.04) has only 4GB memory, so it has to swap out the blockchain when it loads, and swap it in when it saves. This is really only a problem on saving because it results in a "busy" message when a remote wallet attempts to sync during the blockchain save operation. Obviously it would report as busy even with more RAM, it just takes longer to save given the memory limitation. I might modify the source and recompile it so it does not periodically auto-save, which would effectively give it more uptime.

I plan to keep this server up indefinitely. I'm also working on a second server (physical box) with more memory but which will have a lower speed connection that is uncapped. Once I have the second server up, I will post a detailed description of my steps in case anyone else wants to spin up their own public node.

Thanks.

You can get rid of this autosaving feature by commenting out this line in the source code and then recompiling:
https://github.com/aeonix/aeon/blob/master/src/cryptonote_core/cryptonote_core.cpp#L591

It will still save on exit or if you type 'save' in the daemon, but it will stop doing the autosave every hour or day or whatever.
newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
Please let me know if your public node turns to be stable and if so I will add it as a resource in the OP
Based on my own testing, it is rock solid stable. Very fast network connection but it has a data transfer cap after which it costs me more fiat $$.

The only problem I encountered is that this server (VPS with Ubuntu 16.04) has only 4GB memory, so it has to swap out the blockchain when it loads, and swap it in when it saves. This is really only a problem on saving because it results in a "busy" message when a remote wallet attempts to sync during the blockchain save operation. Obviously it would report as busy even with more RAM, it just takes longer to save given the memory limitation. I might modify the source and recompile it so it does not periodically auto-save, which would effectively give it more uptime.

I plan to keep this server up indefinitely. I'm also working on a second server (physical box) with more memory but which will have a lower speed connection that is uncapped. Once I have the second server up, I will post a detailed description of my steps in case anyone else wants to spin up their own public node.

Thanks.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
Another independent study about Privacy issues in RingCT does this affect Aeon? https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7e8g-wJId8md3FYUGF0TlB5NjQ/view sorry if this is a rather elemental question I am not a very technical user
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
@Carlos78
Probably you're right, but even on my Gtx750Ti I can detect fairly lower temps than I would score at the same 600H/s if I would mine with CPU
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
If anyone using nvidia GPU for mining AEON, what software are you using for it? I've tried ccminer-2.0-cuda, it gives me only 800H/s on GTX 970.

Using the very same SW with a GTX1070 and it scores 1.035KH/s so you should be pretty much satisfied.
Also, it would be useful to know your GPU and GPU memory frequencies.
Besides that what switches (options) are you using and what pool?
What temperatures are you reading?
It would be a clever idea to ask the SW author himself in his own thread https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-ccminer-23-opensource-gpl-tpruvot-770064


Yes, I've tried on GTX 1070, same results as you have. I suggest that it is waste of resources to mine AEON on nvidia GPU, at least with current miners, that support CUDA.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
If anyone using nvidia GPU for mining AEON, what software are you using for it? I've tried ccminer-2.0-cuda, it gives me only 800H/s on GTX 970.

Using the very same SW with a GTX1070 and it scores 1.035KH/s so you should be pretty much satisfied.
Also, it would be useful to know your GPU and GPU memory frequencies.
Besides that what switches (options) are you using and what pool?
What temperatures are you reading?
It would be a clever idea to ask the SW author himself in his own thread https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-ccminer-23-opensource-gpl-tpruvot-770064
hero member
Activity: 1150
Merit: 502
If anyone using nvidia GPU for mining AEON, what software are you using for it? I've tried ccminer-2.0-cuda, it gives me only 800H/s on GTX 970.

I'm using a custom-made software that I have no plans to reveal. If u want to try my gigaminer u got to pay me at least 90 btc. With my hashrate, I'm breaking records across this land though mining is not my main priority as of now. In fact, I don't even spend my time on that shit. I just live like in paradise trying to understand why the entire world is that stupid.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
Can the monero link block explorer affect aeons privacy? http://monerolink.com/ 
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
If anyone using nvidia GPU for mining AEON, what software are you using for it? I've tried ccminer-2.0-cuda, it gives me only 800H/s on GTX 970.
wck
member
Activity: 70
Merit: 10
Just for trying I'm CPU mining on Minergate with minerd
minerd -a cryptonight-lite -o stratum+tcp://aeon.pool.minergate.com:45690 -u mylogin_email -p x -t 2

Yet according to my own dashboard I'm not mining.

Any idea?

Thanks in advance

I switched from Minergate because it seemed the AEON I was making was less than 1/2 what I should have made.   In fact after switching to https://aeon.kryptopool.com/ I started making more than double what I was at the same hash rate.   I tried to inform Minergate support but they just told me everything at their pool was correct.   I don't believe it for a second.   For the same amount of hashing you should only see less than a 5% difference between pools.   I personally believe someone is stealing coins at the Minergate pool.
eeX
hero member
Activity: 961
Merit: 500
Soldo.IN [SLD]
MG is VERY strange pool.

They have a lot of problems with withdrawals last time, especially with XMR.
They have obsolete software and can't fix it properly.

Support is not responsive at all.

But they didn't steal even a penny from my earnings in result, as opposed to Polonoiex - they still didn't get me my MCN's......
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!

https://minergate.com/calculator/cryptonote

Note: Don't use minergate's pool, your hashrate will be lower and they scam users trying to withdraw XMR. if you managed to withdraw XMR from here i don't want to hear it, i've tried everything and after 3-4 support tickets and just as many excuses they are without a doubt selective scamming at best

Note taken. Thanks Smiley
hero member
Activity: 724
Merit: 500
Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!

https://minergate.com/calculator/cryptonote

Note: Don't use minergate's pool, your hashrate will be lower and they scam users trying to withdraw XMR. if you managed to withdraw XMR from here i don't want to hear it, i've tried everything and after 3-4 support tickets and just as many excuses they are without a doubt selective scamming at best
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
Just for trying I'm CPU mining on Minergate with minerd
minerd -a cryptonight-lite -o stratum+tcp://aeon.pool.minergate.com:45690 -u mylogin_email -p x -t 2

Yet according to my own dashboard I'm not mining.

Any idea?

Thanks in advance
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
Smooth, thanks for the info. Based on your explanation, I reviewed the Monero code for the restricted rpc options. Then I commented out the corresponding commands in the aeon core_rpc_server.h, then recompiled. This was quick and dirty (I'm sure there is a more elegant solution).

I can successfully connect, refresh, and TX from a remote simplewallet. The commands save_bc and start/stop_mining now don't work (as expected), they throw an error in simplewallet. The only problem was bc_height didn't work from the remote simplewallet, but it does work correctly locally. I'm not sure why that is.

Anyone is welcome to test this server. If you break it, I won't cry.
34.201.20.65
RPC port 11181

For example:
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181

I'd appreciate any input from the other members of the community, especially if there is something I've overlooked. My eventual goal is to create a GUI wallet for Windows which doesn't require a local node. Thanks.

Please let me know if your public node turns to be stable and if so I will add it as a resource in the OP
legendary
Activity: 3136
Merit: 1116
Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!

There's really no such thing as a profitability calculator for CPU mining, afaik. I think your only real options are Aeon, Monero or other Cryptonight algo coin, or a Yescrypt algo coin (Myriadcoin or BSTY I think). So, maybe mine for a day on each and see what seems best.
Jump to: