Author

Topic: [ANN] AEON [2019-09-27: Upgrade to version 0.13.0.0 ASAP HF@1146200 Oct 25] - page 141. (Read 625666 times)

hero member
Activity: 500
Merit: 500
git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon
cd aeon
git checkout feaa1170b73c7d751c44ec22a111016ead728ce4
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -G "Visual Studio 14 2015 Win64" -DBOOST_ROOT=d:\boost_1_63_0 -DBOOST_LIBRARYDIR=d:\boost_1_63_0\lib64-msvc-14.0 ..
-- The C compiler identification is MSVC 19.0.24210.0
-- The CXX compiler identification is MSVC 19.0.24210.0
-- Check for working C compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe
-- Check for working C compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe
-- Check for working CXX compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Looking for pthread.h
-- Looking for pthread.h - not found
-- Found Threads: TRUE
-- Boost version: 1.63.0
-- Found the following Boost libraries:
--   system
--   filesystem
--   thread
--   date_time
--   chrono
--   regex
--   serialization
--   program_options
--   atomic
-- Found Git: C:/Users/Dan/AppData/Local/GitHub/PortableGit_f02737a78695063deace08e96d5042710d3e32db/cmd/git.exe
-- Found PythonInterp: C:/Users/Dan/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python36/python.exe (found version "3.6.1")
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: C:/Users/Dan/Documents/GitHub/aeon/build

MSBuild Project.sln /p:Configuration=release /m

You can find compilation output here
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rfsbu335b277ubm/aeon_compiling.rar?dl=0


i'm sorry, i can't reproduce this bug.
with same instructions, this is the content of build/src/release and build/tests/release on my side.




in your output log, i noticed some messages about "xamarin", did you use a special toolchain?
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
Hi Devs,
I'm using aeon 0.9.11.0 on linux and frequently got this message:

[P2P4][sock 16] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Is this ok?
Thanks.

It appears to be an annoying but harmless message related to peers that disconnect. In discussion on IRC someone stated that it started happening last year (which would have been during a period of no code changes), probably due to the network getting larger with more people running wallets on a part time basis.

I'll look at cleaning up the handling of it, but I don't want to put a lot of time into this code base when we are rebasing to a newer one.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250

Reorganizations happen when there is temporarily a disagreement about what the longest chain is. It happens in every Cryptocurrency, and the shorter the block time, the more frequent it happens.

Understood thanks 👍🏻
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
What's that?

2017-Apr-06 19:05:37.047321 [P2P4]----- BLOCK ADDED AS ALTERNATIVE ON HEIGHT 810515
id:     
PoW:   
difficulty:     185958015
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.425931 [P2P9]###### REORGANIZE on height: 810515 of 810515 with cum_difficulty 29038167421497
 alternative blockchain size: 2 with cum_difficulty 29038353454389
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.982411 [P2P9]----- BLOCK ADDED AS ALTERNATIVE ON HEIGHT 810515
id:     
PoW:   
difficulty:     185958015
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.994414 [P2P9]REORGANIZE SUCCESS! on height: 810515, new blockchain size: 810517

Reorganizations happen when there is temporarily a disagreement about what the longest chain is. It happens in every Cryptocurrency, and the shorter the block time, the more frequent it happens.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
What's that?

2017-Apr-06 19:05:37.047321 [P2P4]----- BLOCK ADDED AS ALTERNATIVE ON HEIGHT 810515
id:     
PoW:   
difficulty:     185958015
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.425931 [P2P9]###### REORGANIZE on height: 810515 of 810515 with cum_difficulty 29038167421497
 alternative blockchain size: 2 with cum_difficulty 29038353454389
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.982411 [P2P9]----- BLOCK ADDED AS ALTERNATIVE ON HEIGHT 810515
id:     
PoW:   
difficulty:     185958015
2017-Apr-06 19:10:17.994414 [P2P9]REORGANIZE SUCCESS! on height: 810515, new blockchain size: 810517
full member
Activity: 122
Merit: 100
Swinging from buildings in my spare time.
Block time is 4 minutes. However, the last couple of hours there have been fewer than expected blocks. It happens.

The number of coins don't matter, although the size of the transaction in bytes can make a difference (bigger txs are harder to fit in a block).

Block explorers that I know of

minergate.com
chainradar.com


Thanks ... all of my transactions have shown up.   Probably it did take a lot of block space since my wallet is filled with 0.5 transactions from mining.

Yup that is exactly what causes problems like this. I had the same issue on other coins.
hero member
Activity: 1923
Merit: 538
what happened when you did this line:

git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon

That should output a bunch of info and create a directory called aeon. From your description it looks like that didn't happen.

yes it did output a lot of info, for a long time, going up to 100 %



BTW this line:

git checkout v0.9.9.0

should always be changed to the current version (unless you have some specific reason to want an older one). Right now that is v0.9.11.0, so:

git checkout v0.9.11.0


ok, i tried with the three versions 9, 10 and 11 and got the same response (not a git repository)


thank you for the quick response
from it, I understand that only the version line has to be changed
anyway i can try again
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
what happened when you did this line:

git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon

That should output a bunch of info and create a directory called aeon. From your description it looks like that didn't happen.

BTW this line:

git checkout v0.9.9.0

should always be changed to the current version (unless you have some specific reason to want an older one). Right now that is v0.9.11.0, so:

git checkout v0.9.11.0
hero member
Activity: 1923
Merit: 538
building on ubuntu or in a virtual machine running ubuntu is not hard. I think all you need to do is:

apt-get install build-essential cmake
git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon
cd aeon
git checkout v0.9.9.0
make
cd build/release/src
./aeond

could you write again this processus with the recent modifications,
because i tried to install it on ubuntu 14-4 and it was blocked after
cd aeon: error message was: no dossier of this type
-make: no target found, stop;
-git reference: not a git repository
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
I understand this yes. I have a public and a private pool. I use diff designation with my private pool and have explained this to many miners on my public pool. We use xxxxxxxaeonxxxaddressxxxx.(diff here)  example xxxx.5000 dependent on the miners best submission rate within 15-30 sec intervals so as to reduce load to the pool. I have been mining this way for over a year now, thank you for the explanation and perhaps I will now try the -m function in 2.0 (which I use with some of my rigs)

You're welcome.
The program I mentioned is for Cuda only, though.
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
You mean software? Same as I have been with much better luck before updates.

Yes, I meant software, sorry.

Are you talking from a miner's perspective or a Pool mantainer perspective?
Its a pool,(I am an operator) I understand the averaging nature of blockfinding but I believe the network is being slowed down somehow in general considering other peripheral reports regarding tx's. I have no proof of this it is purely observational.

Just answered above Smiley
I understand this yes. I have a public and a private pool. I use diff designation with my private pool and have explained this to many miners on my public pool. We use xxxxxxxaeonxxxaddressxxxx.(diff here)  example xxxx.5000 dependent on the miners best submission rate within 15-30 sec intervals so as to reduce load to the pool. I have been mining this way for over a year now, thank you for the explanation and perhaps I will now try the -m function in 2.0 (which I use with some of my rigs)
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
You mean software? Same as I have been with much better luck before updates.

Yes, I meant software, sorry.

Are you talking from a miner's perspective or a Pool mantainer perspective?
Its a pool,(I am an operator) I understand the averaging nature of blockfinding but I believe the network is being slowed down somehow in general considering other peripheral reports regarding tx's. I have no proof of this it is purely observational.

Just answered above Smiley
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
You mean software? Same as I have been with much better luck before updates.

Yes, I meant software, sorry.

Are you talking from a miner's perspective or a Pool mantainer perspective?
Its a pool,(I am an operator) I understand the averaging nature of blockfinding but I believe the network is being slowed down somehow in general considering other peripheral reports regarding tx's. I have no proof of this it is purely observational.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
You mean software? Same as I have been with much better luck before updates.

Yes, I meant software, sorry.

Are you talking from a miner's perspective or a Pool mantainer perspective?

In any case the solution is the same.

Normally a miner goes to the getting Ready section of the pool, has a look at the configs and addresses the port with the lowest difficulty. After which he/she calls it a day.

If the software on pool's side works, and talks appropriately with mining software it may work, but this introduces an overhead to pool's brain that finds itself continuously calculating the appropriate diff for each connected miner, getting meanwhile a certain amount of shares which are simply Beyond its own calculating power.

A possible solution exists: educating the miners to set their own diff, according to their own hardware power.
This is done by carefully running their mining software distinguishing each pc of the rig from the others by the username.rig config.

But most important thing is to set a multiplier factor if using mining software that allows for it.
I.e., under ccminer-2.0-rc2-cuda-8.0 which supports Aeon, there is the -m option that defines the multipling factor of the diff as agreed by handshake with pool.
A GTX1070 will have nearly the double of Aeon hashing power of a GTX1050Ti which in turn will be roughly 6/4 of a GTX960M. GTX940M will be 1/8th of GTX1070.
So if mining software tells you the handshake had been at Diff 1 for GTX940M, it will be a good idea to set it at -m 1 and GTX1070 will be -m 8 . As a starting point. The other ones will be set accordingly.
The connection will be done with the lowest starting diff port of the pool, which will be relieved from a lot of useless work.
Miner will see a much more constant hash rate (and more money).
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
You mean software? Same as I have been with much better luck before updates.
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
Finding blocks pool mining, very bad luck! Anyone else?
810289      188267818   cece5e7a3b76be01bfa70eb240de346cdccd0343b9ed4c8f4b1b2a6c78469026   4/5/2017, 10:46:13 PM   272%
810144      177517822   e8eaeb6a8bd2cd5fcdc3b56181a3fac373cbfb6c6cdd778cddc7ca01345ce73d   4/5/2017, 12:41:01 PM   750%

What SW are you using?
Linux platform or Win?

EDIT:
What SW you use in order to mine

Linux,  what is SW?
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
Finding blocks pool mining, very bad luck! Anyone else?
810289      188267818   cece5e7a3b76be01bfa70eb240de346cdccd0343b9ed4c8f4b1b2a6c78469026   4/5/2017, 10:46:13 PM   272%
810144      177517822   e8eaeb6a8bd2cd5fcdc3b56181a3fac373cbfb6c6cdd778cddc7ca01345ce73d   4/5/2017, 12:41:01 PM   750%

What SW are you using?
Linux platform or Win?

EDIT:
What SW you use in order to mine
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101
Finding blocks pool mining, very bad luck! Anyone else?
810289      188267818   cece5e7a3b76be01bfa70eb240de346cdccd0343b9ed4c8f4b1b2a6c78469026   4/5/2017, 10:46:13 PM   272%
810144      177517822   e8eaeb6a8bd2cd5fcdc3b56181a3fac373cbfb6c6cdd778cddc7ca01345ce73d   4/5/2017, 12:41:01 PM   750%
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon
cd aeon
git checkout feaa1170b73c7d751c44ec22a111016ead728ce4
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -G "Visual Studio 14 2015 Win64" -DBOOST_ROOT=d:\boost_1_63_0 -DBOOST_LIBRARYDIR=d:\boost_1_63_0\lib64-msvc-14.0 ..
-- The C compiler identification is MSVC 19.0.24210.0
-- The CXX compiler identification is MSVC 19.0.24210.0
-- Check for working C compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe
-- Check for working C compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe
-- Check for working CXX compiler: D:/Programmi (x86)/Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0/VC/bin/x86_amd64/cl.exe -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Looking for pthread.h
-- Looking for pthread.h - not found
-- Found Threads: TRUE
-- Boost version: 1.63.0
-- Found the following Boost libraries:
--   system
--   filesystem
--   thread
--   date_time
--   chrono
--   regex
--   serialization
--   program_options
--   atomic
-- Found Git: C:/Users/Dan/AppData/Local/GitHub/PortableGit_f02737a78695063deace08e96d5042710d3e32db/cmd/git.exe
-- Found PythonInterp: C:/Users/Dan/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python36/python.exe (found version "3.6.1")
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: C:/Users/Dan/Documents/GitHub/aeon/build

MSBuild Project.sln /p:Configuration=release /m

You can find compilation output here
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rfsbu335b277ubm/aeon_compiling.rar?dl=0

sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
.
..
Solution file generated.
Compilation created two .exe files into ...../aeon/build/tests/Release dir.
crypto-tests.exe
hash-tests.exe

For the remaining part 63 errors (compiling from GIT shell).
...

aeond.exe and simplewallet.exe are located in build/release/src

all the errors during the compilation are on the test build (build/release/tests) and can be ignored for now. debug of this part is on the todo list!
I don't have Windows so I can't comment on the compile errors you seem to be getting. Hopefully Arux can figure out what is going wrong


Nope, they're NOT.
There stand:
common.lib
crypto.lib
ringct.lib
Jump to: