Author

Topic: [ANN] AEON [2019-09-27: Upgrade to version 0.13.0.0 ASAP HF@1146200 Oct 25] - page 139. (Read 625666 times)

sr. member
Activity: 1246
Merit: 274
Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 101

I think he means "mining pool" the translation I believe is "swimming pool"?
hero member
Activity: 561
Merit: 500
hero member
Activity: 561
Merit: 500
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
...
Not an error. It just means some connection was made to your p2p port that did not correctly identify as an AEON node.
but aeond doesn't starts

Oh sorry misread. That is a corrupt p2pstate file. Delete p2pstate.bin and try again
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
...
maybe it is possible to download the blockchan and insert it inside .aeon folder ?  because whole week i'm trying to sinchronize it. Can somebody help me?
there are some links for 0.9.8.0 blockchain, give it a try (with a 0.9.10.0 or 0.9.11.0 daemon)
via google drive:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18080837
or cli (same source)
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18091732
and another one through mega:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18325956
2017-Apr-13 20:59:09.366906 ERROR /home/aciddom/aeon11/src/p2p/net_node.inl:113 Exception at [node_server::init_config], what=invalid signature
update 10 and 11

Not an error. It just means some connection was made to your p2p port that did not correctly identify as an AEON node.
newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
Smooth, thanks for the info. Based on your explanation, I reviewed the Monero code for the restricted rpc options. Then I commented out the corresponding commands in the aeon core_rpc_server.h, then recompiled. This was quick and dirty (I'm sure there is a more elegant solution).

I can successfully connect, refresh, and TX from a remote simplewallet. The commands save_bc and start/stop_mining now don't work (as expected), they throw an error in simplewallet. The only problem was bc_height didn't work from the remote simplewallet, but it does work correctly locally. I'm not sure why that is.

Anyone is welcome to test this server. If you break it, I won't cry.
34.201.20.65
RPC port 11181

For example:
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181 #incorrect
./simplewallet --daemon-host 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181
or
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65:11181

I'd appreciate any input from the other members of the community, especially if there is something I've overlooked. My eventual goal is to create a GUI wallet for Windows which doesn't require a local node. Thanks.
hero member
Activity: 500
Merit: 500
...
maybe it is possible to download the blockchan and insert it inside .aeon folder ?  because whole week i'm trying to sinchronize it. Can somebody help me?
there are some links for 0.9.8.0 blockchain, give it a try (with a 0.9.10.0 or 0.9.11.0 daemon)
via google drive:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18080837
or cli (same source)
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18091732
and another one through mega:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.18325956
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
I've seen several mentions of the need for public nodes.

Does a public node have any special requirements beyond an IP address and aeond on an open port? How much data transfer per month?

You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
I've seen several mentions of the need for public nodes.

Does a public node have any special requirements beyond an IP address and aeond on an open port? How much data transfer per month?
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250

cmake 3.4.3, boost 1.63 static, git 2.11.0.windows.3

other stuff: python 3.5.1, visual studio community 2015 (msbuild 14.0.23107.0), commands are typed through Git Shell

about boost static:
Code:
cd c:\local\boost_1_63_0
bootstrap.bat
b2 --toolset=msvc-14.0 variant=release link=static threading=multi runtime-link=static address-model=64
if you don't distribute your executables, no need to compile boost, you can use binaries https://sourceforge.net/projects/boost/files/boost-binaries/1.63.0/ (shared libs)


Here:
CMake 3.7.2, boost same, git 2.10.1.windows.1, Python 3.6.1150.0 .

I'll try with your cmake version.

Thanks

IMPORTANT EDIT:
Visual Studio community 2015 and msbuild 14.0.25420.1 here (VS 2015 Update 3).
This might well be the clue.
hero member
Activity: 500
Merit: 500
@Arux

When you did compile 0.9.11 for win, which versions of CMake, Boost and Git did you use?
Just to crosscheck.

Thanks in advance
cmake 3.4.3, boost 1.63 static, git 2.11.0.windows.3

other stuff: python 3.5.1, visual studio community 2015 (msbuild 14.0.23107.0), commands are typed through Git Shell

about boost static:
Code:
cd c:\local\boost_1_63_0
bootstrap.bat
b2 --toolset=msvc-14.0 variant=release link=static threading=multi runtime-link=static address-model=64
if you don't distribute your executables, no need to compile boost, you can use binaries https://sourceforge.net/projects/boost/files/boost-binaries/1.63.0/ (shared libs)


hero member
Activity: 1923
Merit: 538
what happened when you did this line:

git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon

That should output a bunch of info and create a directory called aeon. From your description it looks like that didn't happen.

yes it did output a lot of info, for a long time, going up to 100 %



BTW this line:

git checkout v0.9.9.0

should always be changed to the current version (unless you have some specific reason to want an older one). Right now that is v0.9.11.0, so:

git checkout v0.9.11.0


ok, i tried with the three versions 9, 10 and 11 and got the same response (not a git repository)


thank you for the quick response
from it, I understand that only the version line has to be changed
anyway i can try again


i tried again today, unsuccessful

it says aeon repertory exist already, but then does not work and cannot be removed, at least with my knowledge

how to suppress the previous failed installation ?
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
@Arux

When you did compile 0.9.11 for win, which versions of CMake, Boost and Git did you use?
Just to crosscheck.

Thanks in advance
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
cross-post from reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/64mwbt/tinymonerocold_is_now_able_to_create_aeon_cold/
a few months ago, i made an iso to facilitate monero cold wallet creation. and it's now supports Aeon

it's a personal initiative and absolutely not an official part of the project

https://github.com/Arux-BTT/TinyMoneroCold/releases

Thank you Arux. Added a link to OP.
hero member
Activity: 500
Merit: 500
...
How do you send coins out from an AEON cold wallet?  Is there a way to import the wallet into the AEON simple wallet?
AFAIK there's no solution for now to securely send aeon from a cold wallet, it's only recently possible on monero (https://github.com/monero-project/monero/pull/1140/commits/bba6af9064cb95596039f5a8f7ea460d3dedef0d)
cold storage on aeon is useful for secure long term storage.
to import a cold wallet into simplewallet, use
Code:
simplewallet --restore-deterministic-wallet
and follow instructions, you'll need your 24 words seed.
remember that once the wallet is on a connected computer, it becomes a hot wallet.
wck
member
Activity: 70
Merit: 10
cross-post from reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/64mwbt/tinymonerocold_is_now_able_to_create_aeon_cold/
a few months ago, i made an iso to facilitate monero cold wallet creation. and it's now supports Aeon

it's a personal initiative and absolutely not an official part of the project



https://github.com/Arux-BTT/TinyMoneroCold/releases

WOW!  Very cool!

How do you send coins out from an AEON cold wallet?  Is there a way to import the wallet into the AEON simple wallet?
hero member
Activity: 500
Merit: 500
cross-post from reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/64mwbt/tinymonerocold_is_now_able_to_create_aeon_cold/
a few months ago, i made an iso to facilitate monero cold wallet creation. and it's now supports Aeon

it's a personal initiative and absolutely not an official part of the project



https://github.com/Arux-BTT/TinyMoneroCold/releases
legendary
Activity: 3136
Merit: 1116
Hi guys. Need help. i stuck on sinchronization of block chain!!! 2 days i see this message
Block with id: <2fb394d67664ed3d20939a533c7c13088001b49e63f2e892af2315d81c90a442> failed to add transaction to blockchain storage
[P2P3]tx with id: <04136f79f83d366137f37af3c6c3754fe59353a1247fabd9f358e2b85372d1a7> in block id: <2fb394d67664ed3d20939a533c7c13088001b49e63f2e892af2315d81c90a442> already in blockchain
try to sinchronize on final update of aeond on linux
i try to synchronize from 0 block

That is a very strange error, as that block is from 2 years ago. Are you by chance trying to use a 32 bit build?

Linux x64
aeond build from this repository - https://github.com/aeonix/aeon.git
now i've deleted everything in .aeon and start from begining

Did you have any power outages or unexpected shutdown or you killed aeond with 9s or anything when you were trying to sync the first time?
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
Hi guys. Need help. i stuck on sinchronization of block chain!!! 2 days i see this message
Block with id: <2fb394d67664ed3d20939a533c7c13088001b49e63f2e892af2315d81c90a442> failed to add transaction to blockchain storage
[P2P3]tx with id: <04136f79f83d366137f37af3c6c3754fe59353a1247fabd9f358e2b85372d1a7> in block id: <2fb394d67664ed3d20939a533c7c13088001b49e63f2e892af2315d81c90a442> already in blockchain
try to sinchronize on final update of aeond on linux
i try to synchronize from 0 block

That is a very strange error, as that block is from 2 years ago. Are you by chance trying to use a 32 bit build?
Jump to: