Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN] Tangible Cryptography suspends Bitcoin related transaction. - page 5. (Read 66745 times)

Activity: 476
Merit: 250
based on the letter we believe they have some significant misunderstandings on how this technology works.

You are too polite.

He's a good businessman. Wink
Tangible Cryptography LLC
OK, total newb here, but the U.S. IS the land of suit/countersuit. Couldn't Tangible Cryptography take steps to protect itself and any investors by seeking legal redress from the Commonwealth of Virginia for any loss or possible loss of income due to interference with its business on the basis of such a vague charge? Go on the offensive! Fight back! (grin)

Simple answer is no.  The notice from the commonwealth only indicates we "may" be engaged unlicensed money transmission.  There is only a demand to cease "if" we are engaged in activity which requires licensure.  However it is prudent for us to stop at this time until we have clarity on the position of the government.  At this point it is our intent to avoid an adversarial situation which likely will be costly and time consuming and instead open a dialog with the commission as Bitcoin is an emergent technology and based on the letter we believe they have some significant misunderstandings on how this technology works.
Activity: 746
Merit: 253
Most state money transmission laws are concerned primarily with protecting the public from people of low character running off with funds, as opposed to the Feds, who are interested in making sure no one moves a penny without "proper oversight." Once OP's attorney makes it clear that he is simply purchasing virtual goods, I bet he'll be right back to business.

It could be a somewhat difficult case because of how broadly worded the Virginia law is.

Quote from: VA Code § 6.2-1900
"Money transmitter" means a person engaged in the business of money transmission.