Pages:
Author

Topic: [BTE] The Bytecoin Information Thread - page 9. (Read 80193 times)

legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
November 12, 2018, 02:28:37 PM
I'm not a coder, but I think I get the gist of what you are trying to do. I want to use the current client to mine, but am leery about what will happen when block 48464 is reached. I suspect Ahmed Bodi and his clones will be waiting to scarf all the blocks with large ASIC machines. This seems all the more likely as at current difficulty mining BTC with anything but an S9 or better is a waste of time and electricity. Will your code be in place and working when 48464 is reached?

BTW, I still cannot connect to any machine other than your two. Is any one else running a node besides you and I? TIA.


Oh, I have never been able to make reliable time-frame estimates.  I can pretty much turn on the Hard Turtle extensions now, but they are not fully tested.  The problem is that there is no windows client.  I have spent my time on the extensions, and assume that someone else can compile a windows client when the time comes, and if not I can do it at the end.

So long as we are the steadfast miners, all we have to do is refuse to honor strip mined blocks, and I can do that manually, so I am not really very worried.

full member
Activity: 368
Merit: 100
November 12, 2018, 11:59:17 AM
I'm not a coder, but I think I get the gist of what you are trying to do. I want to use the current client to mine, but am leery about what will happen when block 48464 is reached. I suspect Ahmed Bodi and his clones will be waiting to scarf all the blocks with large ASIC machines. This seems all the more likely as at current difficulty mining BTC with anything but an S9 or better is a waste of time and electricity. Will your code be in place and working when 48464 is reached?

BTW, I still cannot connect to any machine other than your two. Is any one else running a node besides you and I? TIA.
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
November 12, 2018, 11:38:19 AM
OK, that makes it clearer. I see the block count currently went from 58414 to 58421. Did you mine those with the new code?


I mined these blocks with a slightly modified version of the Ahmed-Bodi code that I modified about 18 months ago.  This is the same code that all of you have connected with on my server.  The version that actually produced and accepted blocks had some preliminary ideas for Hard Turtle technology.  Originally I had activated them at block 58414.  I no longer remember why I chose that block number, but at the time it seemed safely far in the future.  This was not a complete solution and it rejected some blocks.

I pushed the activation block back to 58463, the end of the current interval, so they are now de-activated.  This preliminary technology is mostly obsolete, but that version of the client does have some programming jigs in place to let me get a better view of how the code works.

This past month I made a version of the client that works with cpuminer from https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer.git and allows anyone to put their bytecoin 8-address in as either "user" or "pass."  This version exposes the getblocktemplate (GBT) interface.  Last month I bought a mining contract on eBay to test this before I made an announcement, and the test failed.  This left me with a client that anyone could use with a cpu miner, but not with an ASIC.  This may be advantageous as we are fighting against strip-mining, but I still wanted to be able to use contract miners.

I decided to look for a stratum server and test whether it would work with a contract from eBay and my modifications.  The  mining of blocks 58414 to 58421 was a test of the ckpool stratum server with bytecoin.  I bought an 8 hour mining contract on eBay.  The ckpool server is on a linode, so that my personal equipment is not exposed to lots of mischief.  This test succeeded in a solo-mining configuration as you saw, but has some other problems.

I haven't decided whether to look for other stratum servers, or make some modifications to ckpool.  I haven't found a good forum to discuss these choices, so I am going much of this project alone.  
----

Sigh, this is my first major C++ project.  At this point I think I have pretty good comprehension of the block-chain structure, the code of the source client, the trade offs involved in the various decisions, a specialized application concept for the near future, and I have made "Hello World" on the Android.  

My current thought is to completely re-mine the bytecoin block-chain leaving it at difficulty 1, with all existing transactions intact, and compatible with both the legacy client and the Hard Turtle client, forking at the next interval or so.  I believe this can be accomplished in a single evening using an eBay mining contract.  There are some administrative / design decisions that go along with this.  I may re-mine the block-chain several times, once for each decision, then "let the market decide."

I think I am at the point where I can publish some of the design alternatives for comment.  I wanted to be sure I was clear headed on the ideas before I did this, and also that I was knowledgeable enough that I could finish coding faster than someone with a hostile  agenda.
full member
Activity: 368
Merit: 100
November 12, 2018, 08:03:07 AM
OK, that makes it clearer. I see the block count currently went from 58414 to 58421. Did you mine those with the new code?


Don't you mean ahead from 58414to 58463?  You just can't jump 50 blocks ahead.

I built an instance of ckpool and connected a 1.15 TH/s miner to it.  I mined 7 blocks in 8 hours.  This was configured as a standalone miner, so it was not suitable as a mining pool with many users.

I identified a configuration problem that created difficulties at block 58414.  I have pushed that problem back to block  58463.

The database support, ckdb, did not build effortlessly so I can't bring up multi-user support at the moment.



I mean, the code I am running treats some things differently after for block 58463 and before vs 58464 and after.  Previously the limit was 58414, I had forgotten that, and it made a problem.


legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
November 12, 2018, 01:19:39 AM
Don't you mean ahead from 58414to 58463?  You just can't jump 50 blocks ahead.

I built an instance of ckpool and connected a 1.15 TH/s miner to it.  I mined 7 blocks in 8 hours.  This was configured as a standalone miner, so it was not suitable as a mining pool with many users.

I identified a configuration problem that created difficulties at block 58414.  I have pushed that problem back to block  58463.

The database support, ckdb, did not build effortlessly so I can't bring up multi-user support at the moment.



I mean, the code I am running treats some things differently after for block 58463 and before vs 58464 and after.  Previously the limit was 58414, I had forgotten that, and it made a problem.

full member
Activity: 368
Merit: 100
November 11, 2018, 09:28:59 PM
Don't you mean ahead from 58414to 58463?  You just can't jump 50 blocks ahead.

I built an instance of ckpool and connected a 1.15 TH/s miner to it.  I mined 7 blocks in 8 hours.  This was configured as a standalone miner, so it was not suitable as a mining pool with many users.

I identified a configuration problem that created difficulties at block 58414.  I have pushed that problem back to block  58463.

The database support, ckdb, did not build effortlessly so I can't bring up multi-user support at the moment.


legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
November 11, 2018, 06:59:10 PM
I built an instance of ckpool and connected a 1.15 TH/s miner to it.  I mined 7 blocks in 8 hours.  This was configured as a standalone miner, so it was not suitable as a mining pool with many users.

I identified a configuration problem that created difficulties at block 58414.  I have pushed that problem back to block  58463.

The database support, ckdb, did not build effortlessly so I can't bring up multi-user support at the moment.

newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
November 07, 2018, 01:18:58 PM
We are only 50 blocks away from the next difficulty adjustment. I am supplying the network with 500 TH/s to support the coin. Any dvelopers here looking to build a cool project for this coin?
newbie
Activity: 90
Merit: 0
November 04, 2018, 02:20:34 AM
I need 10 BTE. Can anyone donate?
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
October 27, 2018, 02:51:24 AM
I have rented a machine at linode, and have set up a node for some testing there.

You may put your address in as the user.  This can be either a bitcoin address, or a bytecoin address.

I have not been successful with the rent-an-ASIC miners with this setup.  I am able to use the J.Garzik cpu miner.  You should be able to CPU mine at the moment.

It is not defined whether I will keep or discard any blocks mined at this time.


Code:
{
"_comment1" : "Any long-format command line argument ",
"_comment2" : "may be used in this JSON configuration file",
        "_comment3" : "Use your own bitcoin address as the user",

"url" : "http://seed-prime.bte.vima.austin.tx.us:46332",
"user" : "1ZgFUZmYU9s3sBYAyBumTGvNaVcEnq17b",
"pass" : "ignored",
"algo" : "sha256d",

"protocol-dump" : true,
"debug" : true,
"threads" : "4",
"scantime" : "120"
}



If you make an otherwise empty .bytecoin directory and add the following to your bytecoin.conf file you should be able to follow the progress as the blocks are mined.

Code:
checkpoints=0
rpcport=46332
port=46333
connect=seed-prime.bte.vima.austin.tx.us


There will be problems.  I don't know what they will be.  This is a test.
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
October 10, 2018, 12:22:12 AM
In the event that I mine BTE block 58115, I might pay some to a previous miner.

You can submit a previously mined address for consideration at https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSenAetfDoIAEQddL7rmQJFw4dLqIq2P1ms2hMigX5zrSc5LoQ/viewform?usp=sf_link

--- clarification 2017-12-20 ---

For example, one of the submissions begins 8Qmq.  This address does not show up in my database of coinbase transactions.  Again, any submissions should be for addresses that have previously been paid by mining, e.g., the transaction is in transaction 0 of the block.

I have
heightaddressearnings
71898QmQTRcwoq6PFw2Qm3pAXdrXMegPDzzQ9750.00000000
84388QmQ6nfi6uHRKF05ayyFrJZK4hq2KNY14n50.00000000


In my current testing, I am running 2 instances of cpuminer with variations of the configuration file shown below.
The user is different in the two configuration files.

If the test is successful, the payout in the coinbase will match a correct Bytecoin address that
is provided for the user in the file.  This will open the possibility that I can run a mining server in the future.

You may wish to have a version of cpuminer operational and ready to reconfigure. 
You should be able to test it on your own machine, using the existing
client that you have.
 
This setup supports getblocktemplate.  It does not support stratum.  The current difficulty is 1.

You may also wish to submit some address to the Google form referenced above.  The submitted addresses will be tested so that they are valid, and they have received payment in a coinbase transaction.

Code:
{
"_comment1" : "Any long-format command line argument ",
"_comment2" : "may be used in this JSON configuration file",

"url" : "http://[fdbf:946a:5c97:0:a00:27ff:fe1b:854f]:6332",
"user" : "8MT7kyLUL5Jom6yhCQUTHtRz869kaEX91b",
"pass" : "repair blockchain",
"threads" : "1",
"protocol-dump" : true,
"debug" : true,
"algo" : "sha256d",
"scantime" : "120"
}
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
October 08, 2018, 02:33:38 PM
I would similar to consider the stream of modern stops over the net , and over the code , and the port between the extension code and mineworkers . Whether anyone is up to rush on that code , I'd similar to recognise .
newbie
Activity: 90
Merit: 0
October 08, 2018, 02:21:23 PM
More BS.

I have friends in Peru and Canada and they both claim that hard turtle is killing the mining. I have to agree since the blockchain was stuck for 30+ days.


I fixed it Prof. Please stop Hard Turtleling the crypto. Its affecting the coin in Canada and Peru.
full member
Activity: 368
Merit: 100
October 08, 2018, 08:14:28 AM
More BS.


I fixed it Prof. Please stop Hard Turtleling the crypto. Its affecting the coin in Canada and Peru.
newbie
Activity: 90
Merit: 0
October 08, 2018, 07:21:52 AM
I fixed it Prof. Please stop Hard Turtleling the crypto. Its affecting the coin in Canada and Peru.
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
October 03, 2018, 08:07:12 PM


That is the last block that I have here, Sun Aug 26 12:00:06 2018

I typically have 5 to 7 connections at any time, so I assume this is the actual state for the network.

My interpretation is that no one is mining at the moment.

Do you want to mine?

Prof, is this happening because you are Hard Turtling the blockchain? Please explain

No.  Things should work for anyone who mines.  At the current difficulty, you have to have an ASIC.  I calculate that my 83 GHz/s Avalon will take maybe 15 hours to find a block, so there may not be many willing miners at the moment.

If you absolutely want a block, you should be able to rent-a-miner online, run your own client synced up to mine, and get satisfaction.

newbie
Activity: 90
Merit: 0
October 02, 2018, 08:07:20 AM

My blocks are stuck WTF is happening guys!!

What is the last block number or hash that you have?


Block 58,376

That is the last block that I have here, Sun Aug 26 12:00:06 2018

I typically have 5 to 7 connections at any time, so I assume this is the actual state for the network.

My interpretation is that no one is mining at the moment.

Do you want to mine?

Prof, is this happening because you are Hard Turtling the blockchain? Please explain
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
October 01, 2018, 11:24:10 AM

My blocks are stuck WTF is happening guys!!

What is the last block number or hash that you have?


Block 58,376

That is the last block that I have here, Sun Aug 26 12:00:06 2018

I typically have 5 to 7 connections at any time, so I assume this is the actual state for the network.

My interpretation is that no one is mining at the moment.

Do you want to mine?
newbie
Activity: 90
Merit: 0
September 30, 2018, 05:42:43 PM
What "Bytecoin" are you talking about? Bytecoin (BTE) which is this thread or Btyecoin (BCN) the copycat?


My blocks are stuck WTF is happening guys!!

What is the last block number or hash that you have?


Block 58,376
legendary
Activity: 1246
Merit: 1002
September 28, 2018, 10:46:37 AM
What "Bytecoin" are you talking about? Bytecoin (BTE) which is this thread or Btyecoin (BCN) the copycat?


My blocks are stuck WTF is happening guys!!

What is the last block number or hash that you have?
Pages:
Jump to: