Pages:
Author

Topic: Can I trust BTC exchanges? - page 10. (Read 21741 times)

Activity: 1456
Merit: 251
September 04, 2015, 11:55:02 AM
Howdy,
I've been using one for a couple months now and it's given no reason to mistrust it. But it seems weird to me sending my money to an intermediary that's neither a wallet nor a bank and is entirely online. Feels like the money is hanging out in some nowhere zone that isn't completely under my control...

Dies any one else feel this way or do I just not understand this stuff well enough yet?

Thanks!

You feel like the money is hanging out in some nowhere zone because it is  Cheesy Never leave you bitcoin on exchanges for longer than you need to it is not safe to not control your own bitcoin there is a saying if you don't control the private key you don't own bitcoin and that is true. Any minute they could up and leave and what could you do?

there is a saying if you don't control the private key you don't own bitcoin

same aplies to gold, always always remember the goldrule, it applies to all:

if it's not in your hands, it's not yours.

etch it on your brain Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1470
Merit: 1002
September 04, 2015, 11:50:19 AM
Exchange is only good for one thing in my opinion. Got there buy your coins and leave! No bigger chunk of fiat money or cryptos should be placed there for a longer time!

No one are discussing this. The concern of the author of the thread is the trust to exchanges and not to leave the money there. He doubt the process of exchange and not to speak to leave the money there....

I have few bitcoins in the bter exchange and there are for more than 6 months
This exchange has been hacked in February this year and my bitcoin disappear from there.
So every 2-3month they try to cover and pay us a very little percentage until they pay the total amount of lost bitcoins.
So there is no trust in exchanges, even though bter had 7,170 btc in their "cold" wallet
legendary
Activity: 924
Merit: 1006