Pages:
Author

Topic: delete - page 8. (Read 23927 times)

Activity: 252
Merit: 251
October 11, 2011, 12:07:07 PM
How can the code not be ready if it's running a production system? That doesn't inspire confidence.

I see you live in lala open source world where everyone is writing source for the utopia project. In case you're unaware there are many trolls abound with no skills who like to copy things. It's mainly to annoy them so they can't start their little "I have 51% protected chain tooo like SolidCoiiiiiiin" before we've established SC as the only chain with said security features. That is what I mean by "Ready".

The thousands of people who have downloaded the client didn't need source to run it. How many wouldn't run it unless it had source? 5? 10? 100? Not very many is it. I'm not like most people who contribute in the open source industry, my background is closed source, high end applications which were and still are run by hundreds of thousands of people around the world. I'm more of a realist I guess you can say and look at ways to maximize user acceptance more than elitist open source developers.
Activity: 294
Merit: 252
October 11, 2011, 11:57:31 AM
What does source code do ?

You realize that almost everything we know about the functioning of Bitcoin comes from the source code, right?

If you could understand all I've written why haven't you written it? Why have I discovered many vulnerabilities in Bitcoin over my course of refactoring the source?

If you could understand Bitcoin so well, why did you not write it? *facepalm*

It proves beyond a doubt that people do not read the source code, or at least, do not understand it, and the Bitcoin code has been out there for a while. In the end if you're not an advanced programmer you'll be relying on experts to "break it down" for you, right?

I am a programmer. Maybe not advanced enough to write Bitcoin, but enough to get a general idea of what it's doing.