Pages:
Author

Topic: [EDU] How to spot a scammer (Read this before lending your coins!) - page 3. (Read 211823 times)

Activity: 68
Merit: 0
I agree with many of the items on this list. But, why items 3 through 8? I think that for items 3-7, if you are genuinely new to this and not a scammer, you would not know any better, especially 5-7

3. Use of a seemingly realistic first/last name as their forum account name
4. Signs posts with full name
5. Straight out of Newbie mode right into Lending (requesting a loan of course)
6. Straight out of Newbie mode right into Currency Exchange (PayPal, Liberty Reserve, Western Union)
7. Straight out of Newbie mode and selling gift cards/codes/Steam games of any kind (they'll often be purchased with stolen CC info, leaving you holding the bag later on down the road)

I'm also curious about number 8:
8. Any user blatantly claiming to be female

How did that come about? Are those who are genuinely female screwed?

Again, I'm a noob and just trying to understand...

hehehehe, that point 8 really got me wondering too. Albeit the points are pretty much solid, but i won't bet my balls on them because the points can be circumvented too and at times, it can be rendered invalid.
Activity: 5
I agree with many of the items on this list. But, why items 3 through 8? I think that for items 3-7, if you are genuinely new to this and not a scammer, you would not know any better, especially 5-7

3. Use of a seemingly realistic first/last name as their forum account name
4. Signs posts with full name
5. Straight out of Newbie mode right into Lending (requesting a loan of course)
6. Straight out of Newbie mode right into Currency Exchange (PayPal, Liberty Reserve, Western Union)
7. Straight out of Newbie mode and selling gift cards/codes/Steam games of any kind (they'll often be purchased with stolen CC info, leaving you holding the bag later on down the road)

I'm also curious about number 8:
8. Any user blatantly claiming to be female