Author

Topic: EWBF's CUDA Zcash miner - page 140. (Read 2164327 times)

sr. member
Activity: 288
Merit: 250
June 09, 2017, 03:21:25 PM
[...] How to pre-set GPU's fan speed to 100 percent?
Ununtu server, headless [...]
i tried the same (plus applying OC settings) recently and ended giving up running headless (= running without gnome or other desktops) as nvidia-drivers seem to need a desktop environment for some odd reason (especially nvidia-smi).
but IIRC setting GPU-speeds worked but i couldn't apply any OC-settings without a desktop (now I'm running these in a terminal window within gnome which works fine).

try running this shellscript (replace with your users home-folder-name):
Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash

export XAUTHORITY=/home//.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0

nvidia-settings -a '[gpu0]/GPUFanControlState=1'
nvidia-settings -a '[fan0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=95'  # i'd recommend against using 100% here
nvidia-settings -a '[gpu1]/GPUFanControlState=1'
nvidia-settings -a '[fan1]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=95'
# ... and so on (repeat for additional cards)

Thank you! I will check it out
sr. member
Activity: 288
Merit: 250
June 09, 2017, 01:43:47 PM
I ha e 2x 1080ti and both seem to stop mining after 10-30 minutes.  EWBF will try to restart the threads but eventually gives up.  My script loops and restarts EWBF and it's fine again for another 10-30 minutes.

Currently at 60% power limit, +240/-300 core/mem.  Does the same even if I lower settings such as power limit and/or core.

PSU should be fine... A Corsair HX 1050W. 

Check GPU's temperature
hero member
Activity: 677
Merit: 500
June 09, 2017, 01:03:37 PM
I ha e 2x 1080ti and both seem to stop mining after 10-30 minutes.  EWBF will try to restart the threads but eventually gives up.  My script loops and restarts EWBF and it's fine again for another 10-30 minutes.

Currently at 60% power limit, +240/-300 core/mem.  Does the same even if I lower settings such as power limit and/or core.

PSU should be fine... A Corsair HX 1050W. 
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 10
June 09, 2017, 11:52:13 AM
[...] How to pre-set GPU's fan speed to 100 percent?
Ununtu server, headless [...]
i tried the same (plus applying OC settings) recently and ended giving up running headless (= running without gnome or other desktops) as nvidia-drivers seem to need a desktop environment for some odd reason (especially nvidia-smi).
but IIRC setting GPU-speeds worked but i couldn't apply any OC-settings without a desktop (now I'm running these in a terminal window within gnome which works fine).

try running this shellscript (replace with your users home-folder-name):
Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash

export XAUTHORITY=/home//.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0

nvidia-settings -a '[gpu0]/GPUFanControlState=1'
nvidia-settings -a '[fan0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=95'  # i'd recommend against using 100% here
nvidia-settings -a '[gpu1]/GPUFanControlState=1'
nvidia-settings -a '[fan1]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=95'
# ... and so on (repeat for additional cards)
sr. member
Activity: 288
Merit: 250
June 09, 2017, 11:01:33 AM
Hi EWBF_

How to pre-set GPU's fan speed to 100 percent?
Ununtu server, headless

Or anybody know how to do that?
full member
Activity: 223
Merit: 101
June 09, 2017, 09:06:53 AM
970 can do that but power efficiency is not the same as 1060

Yep, mine takes 210 watts according to the miner  Tongue
how is 1 gtx 1080 ti 100%tdp? I am curious, I might get one Smiley

I'm doing 750-775Sol/s at max oc with 95% power limit. The key with the 1080ti/titan xp is to undervolt, you'll get better better OC and stability while consuming less power and getting lower temps.
981mv seems to be my sweet spot, using around 250 watts.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 08:30:08 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

NVML is comes with nvidia drivers, error "Cannot run workers." almost always speaks about non existent or incorrectly installed gpu driver.

Also when i plug the display on hdmi port of the gpu it shows nothing, the fans are moving, looks like its off or something.

http://www.guru3d.com/content-page/guru3d-driver-sweeper.html
then reinstall driver.

i did it.. still the same.. should i try on linux?.. maybe doesnt have these issues there.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 07:51:20 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

NVML is comes with nvidia drivers, error "Cannot run workers." almost always speaks about non existent or incorrectly installed gpu driver.

Also when i plug the display on hdmi port of the gpu it shows nothing, the fans are moving, looks like its off or something.

Exactly the same problem
full member
Activity: 240
Merit: 100
June 09, 2017, 07:47:55 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

NVML is comes with nvidia drivers, error "Cannot run workers." almost always speaks about non existent or incorrectly installed gpu driver.

Also when i plug the display on hdmi port of the gpu it shows nothing, the fans are moving, looks like its off or something.

http://www.guru3d.com/content-page/guru3d-driver-sweeper.html
then reinstall driver.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 06:09:47 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

NVML is comes with nvidia drivers, error "Cannot run workers." almost always speaks about non existent or incorrectly installed gpu driver.

Also when i plug the display on hdmi port of the gpu it shows nothing, the fans are moving, looks like its off or something.
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 160
June 09, 2017, 05:37:29 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

NVML is comes with nvidia drivers, error "Cannot run workers." almost always speaks about non existent or incorrectly installed gpu driver.
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 160
June 09, 2017, 05:32:58 AM
I've been using your excellent mining software for over a month on my 5 750ti rig. But I recently upgraded two of the 750 Ti cards to GTX 1060 cards, so now I have three 750 Ti's and two 1060's (with another on the way). I do have a very modest overclock setup for all the cards with MSI's Afterburner (I was overclocking the 750 Ti cards before I got the 1060 cards).

So your miner was rock solid with the 5 750 Ti's (overclocked) but now I'm having trouble with the 1060's included in the mix. What's weird is that everything goes great for a long while and then suddenly I get this for all five cards:

Thread exited with code: 73

It tries to restart but fails and then I get stuck in a loop with this error:

Thread exited with code: 46

and it tries to restart fails then code 46 again, over and over.

Really frustrating to spend $500 on hardware and then be stymied because of a stability problem. Any idea what's going on?

Hi, may be many reasons why this happens, error 73 break down the cuda context, and all gpu stops with the same error, (this error unrecoverable and helps only miner restart), so the cause of the problem can be one gpu, and you need to find which one, and then check this gpu separately. And first, what you need to do is make sure that you have enough PSU power. Make all the tests on stock gpu settings.
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 05:25:08 AM
This miner is good, but you must have a modern hardware in case you want to have a profit.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 04:15:58 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

Exactly the same problem appeared this morning?
Maybe it's an attack on the miners

ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work! <<<<<<<<<<< No Drivers here or corrupted. Try to reinstall OS or make clean uninstall, if you know how to do it.
Never change PCI-Express slots with even the same card on Windows machines to prevent a long trip to issue world. Better use Linux.

what do you mean reinstall OS, you mean win7 ?
member
Activity: 219
Merit: 30
June 09, 2017, 03:18:15 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

Exactly the same problem appeared this morning?
Maybe it's an attack on the miners

ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work! <<<<<<<<<<< No Drivers here or corrupted. Try to reinstall OS or make clean uninstall, if you know how to do it.
Never change PCI-Express slots with even the same card on Windows machines to prevent a long trip to issue world. Better use Linux.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 02:14:37 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

Exactly the same problem appeared this morning?
Maybe it's an attack on the miners
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 01:25:59 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

What type of GPU?

I've got GIGABYTE GTX 1060 G1 6gb

Can anyone help please !

I got a nvml.dll error after adding a new card to my existing rig. What I did was to reinstall the NVidia drivers. This might fix your problem.

I did reinstall many times, updated at latest drivers. Also when i run UI miner of nheqminer and it keeps saying that GPU is detected but you are running an old drivers, please update drivers to 376 or something, i keep uninstalling drivers, and reinstalling the latest he keeps saying that i am runing an old drivers.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 01:18:34 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

What type of GPU?

I've got GIGABYTE GTX 1060 G1 6gb

Can anyone help please !
What is your overclock settings, driver version and os?

i haven't touch the overclocking settings, driver version are the latest of nvidia. im running win7 64bit.

i also installed the nvml library, still same problem.
sr. member
Activity: 480
Merit: 250
June 09, 2017, 12:32:04 AM
I've been using your excellent mining software for over a month on my 5 750ti rig. But I recently upgraded two of the 750 Ti cards to GTX 1060 cards, so now I have three 750 Ti's and two 1060's (with another on the way). I do have a very modest overclock setup for all the cards with MSI's Afterburner (I was overclocking the 750 Ti cards before I got the 1060 cards).

So your miner was rock solid with the 5 750 Ti's (overclocked) but now I'm having trouble with the 1060's included in the mix. What's weird is that everything goes great for a long while and then suddenly I get this for all five cards:

Thread exited with code: 73

It tries to restart but fails and then I get stuck in a loop with this error:

Thread exited with code: 46

and it tries to restart fails then code 46 again, over and over.

Really frustrating to spend $500 on hardware and then be stymied because of a stability problem. Any idea what's going on?
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
June 09, 2017, 12:00:40 AM
Hi,

i got this error:

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: User defined.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Cannot initialize NVML. Temperature monitor will not work!
INFO: Target: 00083126e978d4fd...
ERROR: Cannot run workers.

C:\Users\koke\Desktop\New folder (6)\Zec miner 0.3.3b>

What type of GPU?

I've got GIGABYTE GTX 1060 G1 6gb

Can anyone help please !

I got a nvml.dll error after adding a new card to my existing rig. What I did was to reinstall the NVidia drivers. This might fix your problem.
Jump to: