Pages:
Author

Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go. - page 8. (Read 285112 times)

sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Quote
You have quite a bit running ? I can see iceweasel, several instances of AMDOverdriveCtl, a java application and phoenix. I would suggest you first reboot your PC and start applications one by one. Once you see the usage go up then let me know whats pushing it up that high and I will help more.

Iceweasel was to post the screenshot.
AMDOverdriveCtl is open to control the fans
a java application is for the hopper
pheonix is for the...phoenix.

is it possible to use fanctrl in AMDOverdriveCtl any other way? Without keeping it open? My system has 7 gpu.

If your just using AMDOverdriveCtl just for your fans I would just use the standard AMD tools. Didn't I help you out on a bash script the other day ? If you want a small bash script to start your fans and overclock your cards use this little script to set your fans and overclock your cards. It's been setup for four cards if you have more or less add / remove from the loop.

3 cards would be
Code:
for i in 0 1 2; do

6 cards would be
Code:
for i in 0 1 2 3 4 5; do


Code:
#!/bin/bash
#globals

FANSPEED=80 #fanspeed as percentage
CCLOCK=990 # Core clock speed
MCLOCK=300 # Memory clock speed

#Meat & Potatoes
aticonfig --od-enable
for i in 0 1 2 3; do
  DISPLAY=:0.$i sudo aticonfig --pplib-cmd="set fanspeed 0 $FANSPEED"
  sudo aticonfig --odsc="$CCLOCK,$MCLOCK" --adapter=$i
done

hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Quote
You have quite a bit running ? I can see iceweasel, several instances of AMDOverdriveCtl, a java application and phoenix. I would suggest you first reboot your PC and start applications one by one. Once you see the usage go up then let me know whats pushing it up that high and I will help more.

Iceweasel was to post the screenshot.
AMDOverdriveCtl is open to control the fans
a java application is for the hopper
pheonix is for the...phoenix.

is it possible to use fanctrl in AMDOverdriveCtl any other way? Without keeping it open? My system has 7 gpu.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Code:
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# top

top - 14:14:24 up  6:10,  4 users,  load average: 1.55, 1.71, 1.56
Tasks: 185 total,   4 running, 178 sleeping,   0 stopped,   3 zombie
Cpu(s): 34.5%us, 45.6%sy,  0.0%ni, 12.3%id,  7.6%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   6121188k total,  2335816k used,  3785372k free,   145312k buffers
Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,   848604k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
 2652 root       5   0  439m  80m  46m S 67.4  1.3 267:18.30 Xorg               
31064 user       1   0  655m  82m  29m S  4.3  1.4   0:08.77 firefox-bin       
12329 root       6   0  258m  28m  14m R  2.0  0.5   3:01.08 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12331 root       7   0  258m  27m  14m R  2.0  0.5   2:46.21 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12336 root       5   0  258m  27m  14m R  1.7  0.5   2:48.54 AMDOverdriveCtr   
 3206 root       1   0 77588  17m 6592 S  1.0  0.3   1:13.97 ulatencyd         
12337 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  1.0  0.4   1:33.04 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12335 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  0.7  0.4   1:34.22 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12338 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  0.7  0.4   1:33.01 AMDOverdriveCtr   
 3924 user       1   0  234m  12m 9132 S  0.3  0.2   0:24.21 lxpanel           
12334 user       1   0  233m  11m 8364 S  0.3  0.2   0:27.17 lxterminal         
12339 root       1   0  254m  23m  14m S  0.3  0.4   0:51.07 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12341 user       1   0 1872m  75m  10m S  0.3  1.3   0:57.30 java               
16066 root       1   0     0    0    0 S  0.3  0.0   0:00.24 kworker/0:2       
16244 user       1   0  342m  82m  28m S  0.3  1.4   0:11.17 phoenix.py     

You have quite a bit running ? I can see iceweasel, several instances of AMDOverdriveCtl, a java application and phoenix. I would suggest you first reboot your PC and start applications one by one. Once you see the usage go up then let me know whats pushing it up that high and I will help more.
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Code:
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# top

top - 14:14:24 up  6:10,  4 users,  load average: 1.55, 1.71, 1.56
Tasks: 185 total,   4 running, 178 sleeping,   0 stopped,   3 zombie
Cpu(s): 34.5%us, 45.6%sy,  0.0%ni, 12.3%id,  7.6%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   6121188k total,  2335816k used,  3785372k free,   145312k buffers
Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,   848604k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
 2652 root       5   0  439m  80m  46m S 67.4  1.3 267:18.30 Xorg               
31064 user       1   0  655m  82m  29m S  4.3  1.4   0:08.77 firefox-bin       
12329 root       6   0  258m  28m  14m R  2.0  0.5   3:01.08 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12331 root       7   0  258m  27m  14m R  2.0  0.5   2:46.21 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12336 root       5   0  258m  27m  14m R  1.7  0.5   2:48.54 AMDOverdriveCtr   
 3206 root       1   0 77588  17m 6592 S  1.0  0.3   1:13.97 ulatencyd         
12337 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  1.0  0.4   1:33.04 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12335 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  0.7  0.4   1:34.22 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12338 root       1   0  252m  21m  14m S  0.7  0.4   1:33.01 AMDOverdriveCtr   
 3924 user       1   0  234m  12m 9132 S  0.3  0.2   0:24.21 lxpanel           
12334 user       1   0  233m  11m 8364 S  0.3  0.2   0:27.17 lxterminal         
12339 root       1   0  254m  23m  14m S  0.3  0.4   0:51.07 AMDOverdriveCtr   
12341 user       1   0 1872m  75m  10m S  0.3  1.3   0:57.30 java               
16066 root       1   0     0    0    0 S  0.3  0.0   0:00.24 kworker/0:2       
16244 user       1   0  342m  82m  28m S  0.3  1.4   0:11.17 phoenix.py     
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
In a root terminal when i check cpu usage using the top command, xorg is using a lot of cpu, anywhere from 40% to 97%...why would this be?

I wouldn't know I haven't seen the same behavior here ? Whats the CPU monitor reading in the taskbar ?

Code:
    top - 12:54:48 up 2 min,  4 users,  load average: 0.38, 0.37, 0.15
    Tasks: 117 total,   1 running, 113 sleeping,   0 stopped,   3 zombie
    Cpu(s):  3.6%us,  0.7%sy,  0.0%ni, 95.6%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.2%si,  0.0%st
    Mem:   1091588k total,   714676k used,   376912k free,   102904k buffers
    Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,   425492k cached
     
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
     2558 root      20   0  235m  17m 5344 S   11  1.6   0:04.14 Xorg             
     3446 root      20   0  212m  11m 8444 S    1  1.0   0:01.01 x-terminal-emul   
     2054 root      20   0 90616 3912 3196 S    1  0.4   0:00.69 vmtoolsd         
     3442 user      20   0  162m 7056 5684 S    1  0.6   0:00.28 gksu             
     2967 root      -2   0  4120 2072 1724 S    0  0.2   0:00.15 watchdog         
     3463 root      20   0 19256 1312  964 R    0  0.1   0:00.27 top               
        1 root      20   0 10608  812  688 S    0  0.1   0:02.16 init             
        2 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd         
        3 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.04 ksoftirqd/0       
        4 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/0:0       
        5 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/u:0       
        6 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/0       
        7 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/0       
        8 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/1       
        9 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/1:0       
       10 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.01 ksoftirqd/1       
       11 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.20 kworker/0:1
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
In a root terminal when i check cpu usage using the top command, xorg is using a lot of cpu, anywhere from 40% to 97%...why would this be?
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
What drivers are you waiting for? 11.9?  Smiley

Yup should be out in a few weeks maybe sooner. LinuxCoin is now rocking xorg 1.11 Wink
newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0
What drivers are you waiting for? 11.9?  Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Just waiting for AMD to catch up on the drivers and LinuxCoin v1.0alpha, here's a quick screen shot of the wallpaper I've just complete. Please remember I'm no graphical designer Cheesy




Hi drgr33n,

when I activate your munin-phoenix plugin I get this (and more errors) in the munin-node.log:

Code:
...
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Error output from phoenix_accept:
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] No protocol specified
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Traceback (most recent call last):
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]   File "/etc/munin/getatinumber.py", line 5, in
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]     devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
...
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Error output from phoenix_stats:
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] No protocol specified
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Traceback (most recent call last):
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]   File "/etc/munin/getatinumber.py", line 5, in
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]     devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
...

If I execute "python /etc/munin/getatinumber.py" over SSH I get the same error until I do:

Code:
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0

after this I get the correct answer executing "python /etc/munin/getatinumber.py". Do you have a suggestion on how to solve this problem with the munin plugin?

I'll take a look at this during this week. Thanks for reporting !!
member
Activity: 65
Merit: 10
Hi drgr33n,

when I activate your munin-phoenix plugin I get this (and more errors) in the munin-node.log:

Code:
...
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Error output from phoenix_accept:
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] No protocol specified
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Traceback (most recent call last):
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]   File "/etc/munin/getatinumber.py", line 5, in
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]     devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
...
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Error output from phoenix_stats:
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] No protocol specified
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] Traceback (most recent call last):
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]   File "/etc/munin/getatinumber.py", line 5, in
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241]     devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
2011/09/10-15:30:03 [12241] pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
...

If I execute "python /etc/munin/getatinumber.py" over SSH I get the same error until I do:

Code:
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0

after this I get the correct answer executing "python /etc/munin/getatinumber.py". Do you have a suggestion on how to solve this problem with the munin plugin?
newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0

In case it helps with diagnostics, below is the error message I get when I try to run Smartcoin after a LinuxCoin reboot.  It appears to be related to OpenCL.

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1
File "/opt/smartcoin/smartcoin_devices.py", line 5, in
    devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
done.

Are you root when running smartcoin?  If this is over ssh search this thread for magic-cookie - you'll need to run a few commands to get it working, it's here somewhere.

Thanks, there is nothing here about magic cookies but I did get it working again by following the instructions for SSH X11 forwarding on the LinuxCoin wiki.
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
Hi...

Runs on my win 7 desktop but on my laptop crashes and says something X could not find graphics hardware then I am dumped into the linux dir

I am on a msi gx 660r  win 7 64bit    usb 3.0   ati 5870 mobility

donator
Activity: 798
Merit: 500


i'm pretty new to linux so really don't know how to run a memtest. My setup is 3 6950's with an raidmax 1000 w power supply.  The max it will let me go up to is around 840 mz I keep them at around 820-825.   The wierd thing is even when I'm not mining.  The linux coin will be booted up, and if I just touch the mouse, it will crash and go into the welcome splash screen asking me for my password.  

As far as the final version with Gui miner, it gives me the choice of all my cards, but only the first one works.  Even though its pointed at the other cards it will spike the cpu and seems like its mining from the cpu.  (it says something like AMD (something) at the bottom of gui miner) I really don't know exactly what it says cause I dont have it loaded right now.  



Open root terminal, are the cards listed with
Code:
aticonfig --lsa

If not, copy and paste the output from
Code:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf


In case it helps with diagnostics, below is the error message I get when I try to run Smartcoin after a LinuxCoin reboot.  It appears to be related to OpenCL.

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1
File "/opt/smartcoin/smartcoin_devices.py", line 5, in
    devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
done.

Are you root when running smartcoin?  If this is over ssh search this thread for magic-cookie - you'll need to run a few commands to get it working, it's here somewhere.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
2 btc to the person who an help me. 

First off on linuxcoin 0.2b.  It will crash sometimes and I can't figure out why.  I dont have my cards fully overcolocked.  Sometimes it'll just be when I move the mouse, It'll just go to the welcome screen and freeze my mining.  One of my other rigs has the same cards and has been running without a problem.  I'm not sure what I did differently. 

I'd really like to install the final version, but the GUI miner wont recognize my other 2 cards.  It does the first one.  It seems to try to mine form my cpu when I try to use the other cards even though it seems to recognize that the cards are there.

Ok hope someone can help me, getting pretty frustrating.  I've tried to get intouch with the linuxcoin creator for a few days but never received a response, would love to give him the btc's since he needs it but I can't wait forever.

Please post your full hardware specs. including your video card clocks and power supply brand and wattage. 

You said that your cards aren't fully overclocked.  Are they overclocked at all? If so, one of the cards may not be able to overclock at all without introducing instability problems.

The problem could also be power supply related.  Faulty or inadequate power supplies can produce all sorts of strange behavior.

Have you run Memtest on your RAM?  Ten passes of Memtest without any errors would completely rule out the RAM as an issue, but it takes a long time (depending on the amount of RAM).  Two passes without error should be sufficient as a quick test.

I can't help you much with GUI Miner specifically, as I only use the command line.  However, how are you sure that it recognizes all of your cards (Keep in mind I've never used GUI Miner)?  Does GUI Miner list all of your cards somewhere?  If not, can you post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf?

Have you tried running phoenix or poclbm through the command line?  Are you able to get one of them to recognize and use all of your GPUs?

If this helps at all, please send drgr33n the bitcoins, not me.



i'm pretty new to linux so really don't know how to run a memtest. My setup is 3 6950's with an raidmax 1000 w power supply.  The max it will let me go up to is around 840 mz I keep them at around 820-825.   The wierd thing is even when I'm not mining.  The linux coin will be booted up, and if I just touch the mouse, it will crash and go into the welcome splash screen asking me for my password. 

As far as the final version with Gui miner, it gives me the choice of all my cards, but only the first one works.  Even though its pointed at the other cards it will spike the cpu and seems like its mining from the cpu.  (it says something like AMD (something) at the bottom of gui miner) I really don't know exactly what it says cause I dont have it loaded right now. 

full member
Activity: 150
Merit: 100
2 btc to the person who an help me. 

First off on linuxcoin 0.2b.  It will crash sometimes and I can't figure out why.  I dont have my cards fully overcolocked.  Sometimes it'll just be when I move the mouse, It'll just go to the welcome screen and freeze my mining.  One of my other rigs has the same cards and has been running without a problem.  I'm not sure what I did differently. 

I'd really like to install the final version, but the GUI miner wont recognize my other 2 cards.  It does the first one.  It seems to try to mine form my cpu when I try to use the other cards even though it seems to recognize that the cards are there.

Ok hope someone can help me, getting pretty frustrating.  I've tried to get intouch with the linuxcoin creator for a few days but never received a response, would love to give him the btc's since he needs it but I can't wait forever.

Please post your full hardware specs. including your video card clocks and power supply brand and wattage. 

You said that your cards aren't fully overclocked.  Are they overclocked at all? If so, one of the cards may not be able to overclock at all without introducing instability problems.

The problem could also be power supply related.  Faulty or inadequate power supplies can produce all sorts of strange behavior.

Have you run Memtest on your RAM?  Ten passes of Memtest without any errors would completely rule out the RAM as an issue, but it takes a long time (depending on the amount of RAM).  Two passes without error should be sufficient as a quick test.

I can't help you much with GUI Miner specifically, as I only use the command line.  However, how are you sure that it recognizes all of your cards (Keep in mind I've never used GUI Miner)?  Does GUI Miner list all of your cards somewhere?  If not, can you post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf?

Have you tried running phoenix or poclbm through the command line?  Are you able to get one of them to recognize and use all of your GPUs?

If this helps at all, please send drgr33n the bitcoins, not me.

newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0
I'm experiencing a recurring problem that I hope can be addressed in the next version of LinuxCoin: after one of my two GPUs freezes and triggers a reboot, LinuxCoin (0.2 final version) fails to identify either card and I have to reinstall everything from scratch.  My cards are not seriously overclocked (5850s @ 840 Mhz) and one or the other freezes about once a day.  Having to do a complete reinstall every day is not my idea of productive mining.

In case it helps with diagnostics, below is the error message I get when I try to run Smartcoin after a LinuxCoin reboot.  It appears to be related to OpenCL.

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1
File "/opt/smartcoin/smartcoin_devices.py", line 5, in
    devices = p.get_devices(device_type=cl.device_type.GPU)
pyopencl.RuntimeError: clGetDeviceIDs failed: device not found
done.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
2 btc to the person who an help me. 

First off on linuxcoin 0.2b.  It will crash sometimes and I can't figure out why.  I dont have my cards fully overcolocked.  Sometimes it'll just be when I move the mouse, It'll just go to the welcome screen and freeze my mining.  One of my other rigs has the same cards and has been running without a problem.  I'm not sure what I did differently. 

I'd really like to install the final version, but the GUI miner wont recognize my other 2 cards.  It does the first one.  It seems to try to mine form my cpu when I try to use the other cards even though it seems to recognize that the cards are there.

Ok hope someone can help me, getting pretty frustrating.  I've tried to get intouch with the linuxcoin creator for a few days but never received a response, would love to give him the btc's since he needs it but I can't wait forever.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
New version set for release nxt week some time. anything you guys want included send me an email to [email protected]. The cut off point will be thursday Wink
hero member
Activity: 798
Merit: 1000
Any chance you'd be adding a bithopper package to the repo? Smiley
I can't get it to work on LinuxCoin

This'd get me using LinuxCoin for sure Smiley
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
I've installed Linuxcoin to a USB, but when I boot, a welcome screen appears wanting login credentials.
I have tried user: user, pass: live and user: root, pass but neither will get me in.

Happens sometimes after a crash, if it does, just hit enter and it will proceed to the desktop, no credentials needed.
Pages:
Jump to: