Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 126. (Read 418542 times)

member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 28, 2017, 06:53:00 AM
Edit 2:
Suggestion :

add
Code:
 REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET - 1))
in this section:
Code:
   # If utilization is lower than threshold count them:


So really the question becomes, should RESTART be reset to 0 after just 5 times through the main loop regardless of what happens with utilization?



Thats exactly why I added the suggestiion in edit 2.
The decrementing happens only if there were low utilization detected so if all is good it will be incremented by each cycle...

I already wrote "Merely decrementing the counter is a bad idea because it is incremented every time through the main loop so this approach would only lead to it staying the same." ...and if it stays the same, RESTART will never get reset to 0, thus breaking the script.
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 28, 2017, 06:44:42 AM
Edit 2:
Suggestion :

add
Code:
 REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET - 1))
in this section:
Code:
   # If utilization is lower than threshold count them:


So really the question becomes, should RESTART be reset to 0 after just 5 times through the main loop regardless of what happens with utilization?



Thats exactly why I added the suggestiion in edit 2.
The decrementing happens only if there were low utilization detected so if all is good it will be incremented by each cycle...
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 28, 2017, 04:08:26 AM
So I tested more and I think the original works better, why?
With your suggestion REBOOTRESET keeps going up, and when 1 no problem occurs it will reset it to 0
But with original code REBOOTRESET resets every 5 cycles, so after failures wdog should check 5 cycles again until it resets the REBOOTRESET again

Edit 1:
Also it resets after 3main restart, so it will start from 0 after 3main restart, So your suggestion should works too.
I think it has potential to do better, we should work on it.
Problem is it adds to it whether there is low util or not, I think it should only get   REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET + 1)) if there was no problems at all.


Edit 2:
Suggestion :

add
Code:
 REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET - 1))
in this section:
Code:
   # If utilization is lower than threshold count them:

I think you are getting closer to understanding the code but are still not there. Merely decrementing the counter is a bad idea because it is incremented every time through the main loop so this approach would only lead to it staying the same. Keep in mind that the important part of what REBOOTRESET does is determine when to reset variable RESTART. RESTART is what determines if we do another miner restart or a whole host restart. So really the question becomes, should RESTART be reset to 0 after just 5 times through the main loop regardless of what happens with utilization?
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 28, 2017, 02:32:08 AM

I tested both scenarios with a small change in your Debug code
Used ewbf and set threshold to 100 to see what happenes

added this at the end before done
Code:
   echo "Debug: JEEP=$JEEP, COUNT=$COUNT, RESTART=$RESTART REBOOTRESET=$REBOOTRESET"

With the original code, wdog resets REBOOTRESET after 5 cycles, with your proposal REBOOTRESET keeps adding up, and wont resets after 5.
So my conclusion is the original code should be correct.  


With the THRESHOLD set to 100, you would almost always have a utilization error so the miner would be restarting and eventually the host. This code is not intended for that situation. In fact, your test proves just the opposite of your conclusion. The REBOOTRESET should continue to increase until such a point as the watchdog detects normal mining operations at which point it will hit the else part part of the if (JEEP=0) and will find that REBOOTRESET is greater than 5 and will then set both REBOOTRESET and RESTART to 0.

REBOOTRESET increases by every cycle (10 seconds), no matter if there is a low util, no miner, ...
Take a look at the code you see its on top, before checking utilization

Edit:
I have only 2 cards on my test rig, so I set threshold to 100 to see whats happening when there is low utilization

But when I read your logic again, that should be it, not the way it is now
will test more later

Yeah, when looking at the code, check the other places where REBOOTRESET is changed. Note it is just after 3main is killed:
Code:

         echo ""
         RESTART=$(($RESTART + 1))
         REBOOTRESET=0
         COUNT=$GPU_COUNT


So, I think the intent of developer was to find a way to reset variable RESTART to 0 to avoid unnecessary host reboots and the best way to do that is only if you can make it through the main loop without any "below utilization" problems.

Also, another minor bug is that REBOOTRESET is never initialized at the beginning of the script. The first reference to it is when it is incremented by 1 within the main [while] loop. I am not sure why that doesn't throw an error.


So I tested more and I think the original works better, why?
With your suggestion REBOOTRESET keeps going up, and when 1 no problem occurs it will reset it to 0
But with original code REBOOTRESET resets every 5 cycles, so after failures wdog should check 5 cycles again until it resets the REBOOTRESET again

Edit 1:
Also it resets after 3main restart, so it will start from 0 after 3main restart, So your suggestion should works too.
I think it has potential to do better, we should work on it.
Problem is it adds to it whether there is low util or not, I think it should only get   REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET + 1)) if there was no problems at all.


Edit 2:
Suggestion :

add
Code:
 REBOOTRESET=$(($REBOOTRESET - 1))
in this section:
Code:
   # If utilization is lower than threshold count them:
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 28, 2017, 01:53:31 AM
I cannot get my hashes for a gtx 1070 to get past 26ish mining eth no matter what I do.

Running nvOC 19 1.4

Is 26 just what linux can do or do I need to keep trying to solve this issue and get higher hashes?

What are your settings? I get 29 MH ETH and 280 MH DCR with PL 125 Core -50 and M 900 from Zotac 1070 mini.

I'm getting 28.8 on the minis. I was getting 26 with the stock settings. I posted earlier today looking for some better settings. I just started messing with it and ended with PL=125, Core=150, and MEM at 600 on the Mini. I'm running three of them.

Anyone else have recommended settings for a 1070, preferably a mini? And thanks for posting y'all's.

Edit: I am now using your 125/-50/900 values and now each of my three cards are cranking out 30Mh/s of ETH. Thanks for the numbers.

With gigabyte 1070 I get
Ethahsh : 30-31 MH/s,  Power 130, CC -200, MC 800
Equihash: 470 Sol/s, Power 125, CC 150, MC 600

Have a look here too : https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/all-oc-settings-in-one-place-2176936
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 10:07:49 PM
I cannot get my hashes for a gtx 1070 to get past 26ish mining eth no matter what I do.

Running nvOC 19 1.4

Is 26 just what linux can do or do I need to keep trying to solve this issue and get higher hashes?

What are your settings? I get 29 MH ETH and 280 MH DCR with PL 125 Core -50 and M 900 from Zotac 1070 mini.

I'm getting 28.8 on the minis. I was getting 26 with the stock settings. I posted earlier today looking for some better settings. I just started messing with it and ended with PL=125, Core=150, and MEM at 600 on the Mini. I'm running three of them.

Anyone else have recommended settings for a 1070, preferably a mini? And thanks for posting y'all's.

Edit: I am now using your 125/-50/900 values and now each of my three cards are cranking out 30Mh/s of ETH. Thanks for the numbers.
hero member
Activity: 895
Merit: 504
November 27, 2017, 09:48:19 PM
I cannot get my hashes for a gtx 1070 to get past 26ish mining eth no matter what I do.

Running nvOC 19 1.4

Is 26 just what linux can do or do I need to keep trying to solve this issue and get higher hashes?

What are your settings? I get 29 MH ETH and 280 MH DCR with PL 125 Core -50 and M 900 from Zotac 1070 mini.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 09:00:46 PM
I cannot get my hashes for a gtx 1070 to get past 26ish mining eth no matter what I do.

Running nvOC 19 1.4

Is 26 just what linux can do or do I need to keep trying to solve this issue and get higher hashes?
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 08:14:30 PM
Hi guys!

I mined Zcash and later ZEN! Now i tried NICE_EQUIHASH - start the terminal - settings loaded - screen terminated

So why i cannot mine on Nicehash? What happens?

Thanks for answer

Nice greets

Check screenlog.0 in your home directory for clues.

The miner dont starts at NICE_EQUIHASH, so i have no screens in the screenlog.0
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 27, 2017, 08:00:10 PM
Hi guys!

I mined Zcash and later ZEN! Now i tried NICE_EQUIHASH - start the terminal - settings loaded - screen terminated

So why i cannot mine on Nicehash? What happens?

Thanks for answer

Nice greets

Check screenlog.0 in your home directory for clues.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 07:58:34 PM
Hi guys!

I mined Zcash and later ZEN! Now i tried NICE_EQUIHASH - start the terminal - settings loaded - screen terminated

So why i cannot mine on Nicehash? What happens?

Thanks for answer

Nice greets
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 27, 2017, 07:52:19 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.


Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.


That appears to be a filesystem problem. Are you running nvOC from a USB stick or SSD?

Tis a USB, but worked perfectly fine before upgrading to 1.4

I ran into a similar issue with a pretty high quality USB drive. I extended the partitions using the tool included in nvOS and that bought me about an extra week. Fortunately, that was more time than it took for a new, 60GB SSD to be delivered.

I have been using these and have had no issues:

https://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-Endurance-Free-download-SP060GBSS3S60S25AE/dp/B01M2UUACN/ref=sr_1_13?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1511829978&sr=1-13&keywords=ssd

or if you are really in a hurry and live in the states in a metro area, you can pay a little bit more for a very similar one and get it that day:

https://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-Performance-Free-download-SP060GBSS3S55S25/dp/B00D4AVN3G/ref=sr_1_12?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1511830241&sr=1-12&keywords=ssd

Hope this helps.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 07:17:34 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.
https://imgur.com/a/QL5K8

Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.


That appears to be a filesystem problem. Are you running nvOC from a USB stick or SSD?

Tis a USB, but worked perfectly fine before upgrading to 1.4

I ran into a similar issue with a pretty high quality USB drive. I extended the partitions using the tool included in nvOS and that bought me about an extra week. Fortunately, that was more time than it took for a new, 60GB SSD to be delivered.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 03:59:08 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.
https://imgur.com/a/QL5K8

Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.


That appears to be a filesystem problem. Are you running nvOC from a USB stick or SSD?

Tis a USB, but worked perfectly fine before upgrading to 1.4
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 27, 2017, 03:31:21 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.


Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.


Looks like a USB reached end of it's life
just grab a 30$ SSD and save your self
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 27, 2017, 03:30:04 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.


Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.


That appears to be a filesystem problem. Are you running nvOC from a USB stick or SSD?
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 03:26:21 PM
Hello,

got a problem with rig stop mining, doesn't autoreboot, screen is all green with warning box with nondescript characters. Hard reboot required, attached error screen on reboot.
https://imgur.com/a/QL5K8

Asus H270-plus
6x 1080ti
intel G3930

Any help would be much appreciated.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
November 27, 2017, 02:17:24 PM
ok Found
Total speed: 1811 Sol/s
INFO 15:01:17: GPU0 Accepted share 35ms [A:993, R:0]
INFO: Detected new work: d2d1
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Cannot connect to the pool
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Cannot connect to the pool
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Stratum subscribe timeout

INFO: Target: 0003333333333333...
INFO: Detected new work: cce3
CUDA: Device: 0 GeForce GTX 1070, 8112 MB PCI: 0000:01:00.0
CUDA: Device: 1 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:03:00.0
CUDA: Device: 2 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:04:00.0
CUDA: Device: 3 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:05:00.0
CUDA: Device: 1 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 0 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 2 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 3 Selected solver: 0
INFO: Detected new work: cce4
INFO 15:16:20: GPU3 Accepted share 37ms [A:1, R:0]
INFO 15:16:26: GPU3 Accepted share 37ms [A:2, R:0]
Temp: GPU0 53C GPU1 51C GPU2 49C GPU3 51C
GPU0: 457 Sol/s GPU1: 456 Sol/s GPU2: 464 Sol/s GPU3: 454 Sol/s
Total speed: 1831 Sol/s


Well, that appears to be the answer to your original question. Your rig stopped mining after 15 hours because the miner lost connectivity to the pool. Either your rig lost connectivity or the pool was down.

Sure zcash.pro was down at 15:00
Thanks
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 27, 2017, 02:06:43 PM

I tested both scenarios with a small change in your Debug code
Used ewbf and set threshold to 100 to see what happenes

added this at the end before done
Code:
    echo "Debug: JEEP=$JEEP, COUNT=$COUNT, RESTART=$RESTART REBOOTRESET=$REBOOTRESET"

With the original code, wdog resets REBOOTRESET after 5 cycles, with your proposal REBOOTRESET keeps adding up, and wont resets after 5.
So my conclusion is the original code should be correct.  


With the THRESHOLD set to 100, you would almost always have a utilization error so the miner would be restarting and eventually the host. This code is not intended for that situation. In fact, your test proves just the opposite of your conclusion. The REBOOTRESET should continue to increase until such a point as the watchdog detects normal mining operations at which point it will hit the else part part of the if (JEEP=0) and will find that REBOOTRESET is greater than 5 and will then set both REBOOTRESET and RESTART to 0.

REBOOTRESET increases by every cycle (10 seconds), no matter if there is a low util, no miner, ...
Take a look at the code you see its on top, before checking utilization

Edit:
I have only 2 cards on my test rig, so I set threshold to 100 to see whats happening when there is low utilization

But when I read your logic again, that should be it, not the way it is now
will test more later

Yeah, when looking at the code, check the other places where REBOOTRESET is changed. Note it is just after 3main is killed:
Code:

         echo ""
         RESTART=$(($RESTART + 1))
         REBOOTRESET=0
         COUNT=$GPU_COUNT


So, I think the intent of developer was to find a way to reset variable RESTART to 0 to avoid unnecessary host reboots and the best way to do that is only if you can make it through the main loop without any "below utilization" problems.

Also, another minor bug is that REBOOTRESET is never initialized at the beginning of the script. The first reference to it is when it is incremented by 1 within the main [while] loop. I am not sure why that doesn't throw an error.
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 27, 2017, 01:54:41 PM
ok Found
Total speed: 1811 Sol/s
INFO 15:01:17: GPU0 Accepted share 35ms [A:993, R:0]
INFO: Detected new work: d2d1
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Cannot connect to the pool
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Cannot connect to the pool
ERROR: Lost connection with the server.
INFO: Attempt to restore connection.
ERROR: Stratum subscribe timeout

INFO: Target: 0003333333333333...
INFO: Detected new work: cce3
CUDA: Device: 0 GeForce GTX 1070, 8112 MB PCI: 0000:01:00.0
CUDA: Device: 1 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:03:00.0
CUDA: Device: 2 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:04:00.0
CUDA: Device: 3 GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB PCI: 0000:05:00.0
CUDA: Device: 1 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 0 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 2 Selected solver: 0
CUDA: Device: 3 Selected solver: 0
INFO: Detected new work: cce4
INFO 15:16:20: GPU3 Accepted share 37ms [A:1, R:0]
INFO 15:16:26: GPU3 Accepted share 37ms [A:2, R:0]
Temp: GPU0 53C GPU1 51C GPU2 49C GPU3 51C
GPU0: 457 Sol/s GPU1: 456 Sol/s GPU2: 464 Sol/s GPU3: 454 Sol/s
Total speed: 1831 Sol/s


Well, that appears to be the answer to your original question. Your rig stopped mining after 15 hours because the miner lost connectivity to the pool. Either your rig lost connectivity or the pool was down.
Jump to: