Pages:
Author

Topic: New demonstration CPU miner available - page 17. (Read 386150 times)

legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091
February 14, 2011, 01:34:01 PM
Tried this on osx 10.6, using gcc 4.2.1, which does not have the builtin byte swap, apparently:

Code:
#if ((__GNUC__ > 4) || (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ >= 3))
#define WANT_BUILTIN_BSWAP
#else
#include
#endif

But the current master HEAD (6d2882937f8b2a5291ae68ae9ea985ad5271d0fb) does not have this byteswap.h file.

byteswap.h is provided by your OS.  cpuminer will probably need a few minor patches before building on osx.   Patches welcome!

Quote
Also, using ./autogen.h left me with a weird check for libcurl in configure:

Code:
LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,
  AC_MSG_ERROR([Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1]))

Why is that weird?  That's the standard CURL autotools macro invocation.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
February 14, 2011, 10:17:52 AM
Tried this on osx 10.6, using gcc 4.2.1, which does not have the builtin byte swap, apparently:

Code:
#if ((__GNUC__ > 4) || (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ >= 3))
#define WANT_BUILTIN_BSWAP
#else
#include
#endif

But the current master HEAD (6d2882937f8b2a5291ae68ae9ea985ad5271d0fb) does not have this byteswap.h file.

Also, using ./autogen.h left me with a weird check for libcurl in configure:

Code:
LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,
  AC_MSG_ERROR([Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1]))

full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
February 14, 2011, 08:46:52 AM
I am getting slightly slower speeds with this version, compared to 0.6.1. Using an AMD 640 and 4way I was getting 2839 per core, now 2819.

The same with me. Although I can go back (almost) to the old hashspeed by commenting out the following lines in sha256_4way.c
Code:
//if (fulltest(phash, ptarget)) {
  *nHashesDone = nonce;
  *nNonce_p = nonce + j;
  return nonce + j;
//}

fulltest returns true all the time anyway in the current version.
member
Activity: 92
Merit: 10
February 14, 2011, 12:49:17 AM
cpuminer version 0.7 is released (see top of thread for URLs).


I am getting slightly slower speeds with this version, compared to 0.6.1. Using an AMD 640 and 4way I was getting 2839 per core, now 2819. Running on Windows 7.

Also, for whatever strange reason, my GPU miner (poclbm) gives better rates (an extra 5000 khash/sec on a 5850) when my CPU is nearly maxed out. With this new version, I am not seeing as much of a boost like I was with 0.6.1. For now I will stick with the old version...
newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 11:59:55 PM
Hi,

Thanks @jgarzik, bitcoin-cpuminer is ready for debian and ubuntu:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.48507

Greeting's.
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 12:18:46 PM
Thanks for the help... turns out I wasn't donating enough!
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 11:39:43 AM
is grizzly.fire:redlake real? I tried and got your error, but when I tried my login:password everything worked

C:\Documents and Settings\User>C:\CPU-miner\minerd.exe --url http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 --userpass vitsum.two:******

and there must not be "=" just space " "
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 10:58:47 AM
Here's what I happens...

C:\>cd cpu-miner

C:\>CPU-miner>minerd.exe --url=http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 --userpass=grizzly.fire:redlake

1 miner threads started, using SHA256 'c' algorithm.
HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 400
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


I know how to spell my worker names, I have my mining pool account open on the other tab. I've literally tried this a hundred times, in various combinations.. Ever since I installed this latest version, my puddinpop miner fails to work as well. Sad

I can't seem to figure this out, it's really frustrating.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 10:07:31 AM
probably you type wrong pass or username.
on mining.bitcoin.cz - username has such format username.worker
in my case it is vitsum.worker1
this worker should be registered at your account
i tried to enter wrong username/pass and got the same error, so I suggest you to recheck it =)
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 09:51:47 AM
I got the same thing as dishwara, pretty sure I spelled it right.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 09:01:26 AM

C:\CPU-miner\minerd.exe --url=http://minining.bitcoin.cz:8332  --userpass=***:***
not minining.
mining
legendary
Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016
February 13, 2011, 08:45:40 AM
1 miner threads started, using SHA256 'c' algorithm.
HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 400
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds

C:\CPU-miner\minerd.exe --url=http://minining.bitcoin.cz:8332  --userpass=***:***

Windows 7 32 bit, not same workers.
How to solve?
legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091
February 13, 2011, 07:23:11 AM
So what command line do I write to execute the new program?

I've tried...

minerd -url=mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -user=XXXX.XXXX -password=XXXXXXX

but all I get is the help options?

The help shows you need two dashes (--), but you are providing only one dash (-).
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 07:05:38 AM
try --userpass=worker.ID:pass

Didn't work. I still get the program options menu.
hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 505
February 13, 2011, 06:24:48 AM
try --userpass=worker.ID:pass
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
February 13, 2011, 05:34:47 AM
So what command line do I write to execute the new program?

I've tried...

minerd -url=mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -user=XXXX.XXXX -password=XXXXXXX

but all I get is the help options?

is there a way I can change or see the program settings so I don't have to constantly write that in to start the program?

Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 726
Merit: 500
February 12, 2011, 09:12:03 PM
Changes:
- Re-use CURL object, thereby reuseing DNS cache and HTTP connections.  Pool users are strongly encouraged to upgrade to this version of cpuminer.

This is a very welcome update.  I was using IPs rather than hostnames to partially work around this problem.  Thanks!
legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091
February 12, 2011, 09:04:36 PM
cpuminer version 0.7 is released (see top of thread for URLs).

Changes:
- Re-use CURL object, thereby reusing DNS cache and HTTP connections.  Pool users are strongly encouraged to upgrade to this version of cpuminer.
- Use bswap_32, if compiler intrinsic is not available.  Fixes "__builtin_bswap32" compile problems.
- Disable full target validation (as opposed to simply H==0) for now

SHA1: 9fb370d019e475d9a01a34c42fbcbcae823d971b  cpuminer-installer-0.7.zip
MD5: 3546f606c99bdba9ad2796ecfa86f2cc  cpuminer-installer-0.7.zip

legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091
February 12, 2011, 08:48:28 PM
I'm sorry but it's me again))

after I added CFLAGS
./configure CFLAGS="-I/usr/local/include"
and then run "make"
I get another error Smiley

Quote
vitsum# make
make  all-recursive
Making all in compat
Making all in jansson
gcc  -I/usr/local/include -pthread   -o minerd cpu-miner.o sha256_generic.o  sha256_4way.o sha256_via.o  sha256_cryptopp.o util.o -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl -rpath=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib -lssl -lcrypto -lz compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread
sha256_via.o(.text+0x49): In function `scanhash_via':
/root/cpuminer-0.6.1/miner.h:27: undefined reference to `__builtin_bswap32'
sha256_via.o(.text+0xd5):/root/cpuminer-0.6.1/miner.h:27: undefined reference to `__builtin_bswap32'
sha256_via.o(.text+0x189):/root/cpuminer-0.6.1/miner.h:27: undefined reference to `__builtin_bswap32'
util.o(.text+0xb44): In function `swab32':
: undefined reference to `__builtin_bswap32'
*** Error code 1

Stop in /root/cpuminer-0.6.1.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /root/cpuminer-0.6.1.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /root/cpuminer-0.6.1.

What do I do wrong?

This is a bug in the current version, that is fixed in git.  Scroll up for the bswap fix, check out the fix from the git repository, or wait for the next release.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
February 12, 2011, 08:33:17 PM
Thank you Cerebrum for your code contributions.  I think such code review is great and eagerly await the packaging into the next version of the client (thanks jgarzik).
Pages:
Jump to: