Pages:
Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 101. (Read 5805523 times)

legendary
Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000

Sadly never found an answer to this. I tried to get this to go through with mingw with no luck. Its got to be something wierd with the current mingw version but all I got from the mingw newsgroup was that is was my fault mingw didn't work.  Search back a few months here for mentions of mingw and theres about 2 pages of attempts to get a solution that never came to flortition.

You may want to try mxe though then you'll need to find you way on their issues board where they did say it compiles for them with instruction they gave me in their issues area on github I haven't tried any further since u1's came to be supported

Thanks for the head up.

Edit:

After searching on google, look like i found the problem. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms737629%28v=vs.85%29.aspx
There is some wrong include on util.h line 32. Base on the article, winsock.h must be include before ws2tcpip.h.
Code:
#elif defined WIN32
          #include
          #include

Other problem is  Windows.h header defaults to including the Winsock.h which will conflict with the declarations in the Winsock2.h.

So this is the adjustment.
Code:
#elif defined WIN32
#ifndef WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
        #define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
        #endif

#include
#include
#include
        #include
        #include


But then i got other error  Cheesy
Code:
  CCLD   cgminer.exe
cgminer-cgminer.o: In function `clean_up':
C:\MinGW\msys\1.0\home\Zinc\cgminer/cgminer.c:8794: undefined reference to `time
EndPeriod'
cgminer-cgminer.o: In function `hashmeter':
C:\MinGW\msys\1.0\home\Zinc\cgminer/cgminer.c:6096: undefined reference to `llro
und'
cgminer-cgminer.o: In function `clean_up':
C:\MinGW\msys\1.0\home\Zinc\cgminer/cgminer.c:8794: undefined reference to `time
EndPeriod'
cgminer-cgminer.o: In function `main':
C:\MinGW\msys\1.0\home\Zinc\cgminer/cgminer.c:9657: undefined reference to `time
BeginPeriod'
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer.exe] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2

hero member
Activity: 546
Merit: 500
Hi ck,

I got this error message while trying to compile cgminer for windows using mingw. Any clue?

"autoreconf -fvi" done without error
"CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure" also done without error

Thanks  Smiley

Code:
Making all in ccan
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer/ccan'
  CC     opt/libccan_a-helpers.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-opt.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-parse.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-usage.o
  AR     libccan.a
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer/ccan'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:38:2: error: #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible
th winsock.h. Include winsock2.h instead."
 #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible with winsock.h. Include winsock2.h inste
."
  ^
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:147:8: error: redefinition of 'struct ip_mreq'
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from c:\mingw\include\windows.h:93:0,
                 from cgminer.c:42:
c:\mingw\include\winsock.h:315:8: note: originally defined here
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:390:13: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'freeaddrinfo'
 void WSAAPI freeaddrinfo (struct addrinfo*);
             ^
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:391:12: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'getaddrinfo'
 int WSAAPI getaddrinfo (const char*,const char*,const struct addrinfo*,
            ^
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:393:12: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'getnameinfo'
 int WSAAPI getnameinfo(const struct sockaddr*,socklen_t,char*,DWORD,
            ^
make[2]: *** [cgminer-cgminer.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Sadly never found an answer to this. I tried to get this to go through with mingw with no luck. Its got to be something wierd with the current mingw version but all I got from the mingw newsgroup was that is was my fault mingw didn't work.  Search back a few months here for mentions of mingw and theres about 2 pages of attempts to get a solution that never came to flortition.

You may want to try mxe though then you'll need to find you way on their issues board where they did say it compiles for them with instruction they gave me in their issues area on github I haven't tried any further since u1's came to be supported
legendary
Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000
Hi ck,

I got this error message while trying to compile cgminer for windows using mingw. Any clue?

"autoreconf -fvi" done without error
"CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure" also done without error

Thanks  Smiley

Code:
Making all in ccan
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer/ccan'
  CC     opt/libccan_a-helpers.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-opt.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-parse.o
  CC     opt/libccan_a-usage.o
  AR     libccan.a
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer/ccan'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:38:2: error: #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible
th winsock.h. Include winsock2.h instead."
 #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible with winsock.h. Include winsock2.h inste
."
  ^
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:147:8: error: redefinition of 'struct ip_mreq'
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from c:\mingw\include\windows.h:93:0,
                 from cgminer.c:42:
c:\mingw\include\winsock.h:315:8: note: originally defined here
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from ./util.h:32:0,
                 from ./miner.h:27,
                 from ./sha2.h:36,
                 from cgminer.c:52:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:390:13: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'freeaddrinfo'
 void WSAAPI freeaddrinfo (struct addrinfo*);
             ^
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:391:12: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'getaddrinfo'
 int WSAAPI getaddrinfo (const char*,const char*,const struct addrinfo*,
            ^
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:393:12: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
ttribute__' before 'getnameinfo'
 int WSAAPI getnameinfo(const struct sockaddr*,socklen_t,char*,DWORD,
            ^
make[2]: *** [cgminer-cgminer.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Zinc/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Wheres a good place to find the math to find out if you can get a block at a certain speed. I haven't tried tweaking the settings on an antminer but I'd like to have solo mine as an option on that if its got enough kick to find and complete a few blocks.

I'd love to hope sometime in the future there'd be somekind of collection mode in cgminer so if I find myself with more devices like the s1 I can treat them like a single pooled device. I have to assume I'd have to do some stuff to make sure that if I have enough separated Gh's that I can complete a block in the time allotted[sot of speak]. No one else is mining so I'd love to have a borg hive manner [I think] for my hashings.
There is never a guarantee that you can "complete a block in time". It's just purely random. That said, it's easy to work out on average how long it takes. Look at your work utility, WU, that's how many diff1 attempts per minute you are doing, and the difficulty is displayed on the screen (currently 6.1 billion). So at a work utility of 1000, you need 6100000000 / 1000 minutes on average to find a block.
hero member
Activity: 546
Merit: 500
Before I was getting messages about blocks and submitted hashes.  Now it seems to be returning info from the blocksize method but not mining. Do you think I'm mining?  thanks


At 3.130Gh/s you'd expect to find, on average, solo mining, a block once every ...
97,194days 5hr 1min 47sec

So yeah don't expect anything but block notifications for a few hundred years.

WU will tell you if you are mining.

... and an aside ... you are running 4.2.0 ... update to 4.2.3

Wheres a good place to find the math to find out if you can get a block at a certain speed. I haven't tried tweaking the settings on an antminer but I'd like to have solo mine as an option on that if its got enough kick to find and complete a few blocks.

I'd love to hope sometime in the future there'd be somekind of collection mode in cgminer so if I find myself with more devices like the s1 I can treat them like a single pooled device. I have to assume I'd have to do some stuff to make sure that if I have enough separated Gh's that I can complete a block in the time allotted[sot of speak]. No one else is mining so I'd love to have a borg hive manner [I think] for my hashings.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Doesn't really make sense since if it can talk to it, it will mine on it.
If it can't mine on it, then that would be coz it can't talk to it thus it can't tell it to turn the led off.

It is possible to enable/disable a device using the USB menu. I have sometimes slow nanofurys because of several reasons. To find them I disable and wait. Then I try to find the cold one. If the LED would be switched off, it would be much easier.

Disable doesn't currently turn them off, it just stops sending them work because the init sequence is involved and once they're running I try and not visit the init/shutdown code as the driver design assumes it will only ever be done once and prefers to just drop the device if it fails and lets it be hotplugged again if need be. I can revisit it.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Thanks, I'm getting old but won't last it out Smiley. Anyway just wanted to try it out along with pooling.  Peace.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Before I was getting messages about blocks and submitted hashes.  Now it seems to be returning info from the blocksize method but not mining. Do you think I'm mining?  thanks


At 3.130Gh/s you'd expect to find, on average, solo mining, a block once every ...
97,194days 5hr 1min 47sec

So yeah don't expect anything but block notifications for a few hundred years.

WU will tell you if you are mining.

... and an aside ... you are running 4.2.0 ... update to 4.2.3
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Doesn't really make sense since if it can talk to it, it will mine on it.
If it can't mine on it, then that would be coz it can't talk to it thus it can't tell it to turn the led off.

It is possible to enable/disable a device using the USB menu. I have sometimes slow nanofurys because of several reasons. To find them I disable and wait. Then I try to find the cold one. If the LED would be switched off, it would be much easier.

It is possible to add an API command to send commands to devices that are being mined on.
e.g. switch led on/off could be possible if the command is documented somewhere.
(and yes we'll consider a post about it here on the forum as documentation ...)

However, since I don't have any nanofuries I don't know anything about them (and can't test changes)
We'll see what Con has to say about it Smiley
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Before I was getting messages about blocks and submitted hashes.  Now it seems to be returning info from the blocksize method but not mining. Do you think I'm mining?  thanks

hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
Hi,

Using cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u xxx -p xxx --btc-address 1Q51EGQbiKNwznDtXByUHAbCL9XtiP9ndU which

is from my receive address in my bitcoin wallet on my PC, solo mining.

I get this output, three weeks ago I did not use the --btc-address and got the expected output, then it throw an error on the default btc-address.

Code:
 cgminer version 4.2.0 - Started: [2014-04-12 14:29:33]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):3.798G (avg):3.130Gh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:15  WU:44.0/m
 ST: 6  SS: 0  NB: 7  LW: 5888  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to 127.0.0.1 diff 6.12G without LP as user joe
 Block: 7022bade...  Diff:6.12G  Started: [15:22:41]  Best share: 1.02K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB device management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 1: ANU 0:                         | 1.597G/1.594Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 WU:22.2/m
 2: AMU 1:                         | 335.6M/335.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 WU: 5.1/m
 3: ANU 1:                         | 1.592G/1.594Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:5 WU:22.5/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2014-04-12 14:55:26] Block height change to 295460 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:01:38] Block height change to 295461 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:02:35] Block height change to 295462 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:21:09] Block height change to 295463 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:22:41] Block height change to 295464 detected on pool 0


Thanks for any help you can give.

Where's the error?
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Hi,

Using cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u xxx -p xxx --btc-address 1Q51EGQbiKNwznDtXByUHAbCL9XtiP9ndU which

is from my receive address in my bitcoin wallet on my PC, solo mining.

I get this output, three weeks ago I did not use the --btc-address and got the expected output, then it throw an error on the default btc-address.

Code:
 cgminer version 4.2.0 - Started: [2014-04-12 14:29:33]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):3.798G (avg):3.130Gh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:15  WU:44.0/m
 ST: 6  SS: 0  NB: 7  LW: 5888  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to 127.0.0.1 diff 6.12G without LP as user joe
 Block: 7022bade...  Diff:6.12G  Started: [15:22:41]  Best share: 1.02K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB device management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 1: ANU 0:                         | 1.597G/1.594Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 WU:22.2/m
 2: AMU 1:                         | 335.6M/335.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 WU: 5.1/m
 3: ANU 1:                         | 1.592G/1.594Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:5 WU:22.5/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2014-04-12 14:55:26] Block height change to 295460 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:01:38] Block height change to 295461 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:02:35] Block height change to 295462 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:21:09] Block height change to 295463 detected on pool 0
 [2014-04-12 15:22:41] Block height change to 295464 detected on pool 0

Thanks for any help you can give.
member
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
Doesn't really make sense since if it can talk to it, it will mine on it.
If it can't mine on it, then that would be coz it can't talk to it thus it can't tell it to turn the led off.

It is possible to enable/disable a device using the USB menu. I have sometimes slow nanofurys because of several reasons. To find them I disable and wait. Then I try to find the cold one. If the LED would be switched off, it would be much easier.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Is it possible to extend cgminer to switch of the led of a nanofury not using? It would be easier to find the faulty one.
Doesn't really make sense since if it can talk to it, it will mine on it.
If it can't mine on it, then that would be coz it can't talk to it thus it can't tell it to turn the led off.
member
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
Is it possible to extend cgminer to switch of the led of a nanofury not using? It would be easier to find the faulty one.
full member
Activity: 239
Merit: 250
Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159291
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159311
This is their custom fork of cgminer + driver. They do not have proper diff checking in their code. That's the sort of thing you get with a poorly done custom driver by a manufacturer. Tell them to fix their driver. In the interim try to use a pool that allows you to use a fixed diff that matches whatever the device is set to.

Someone with reading comprehension...amazing. Excuse me, Just sick of no one reading what I write and then telling me I'm wrong.

The diff. was set to '1000', I lowered it to '256' and it seems to be working petty good. I may lower it to '128', to see if it gives a more stable result. I have next to no idea how stratum works, so feel free to give any further advice how ever small it may be. If they will fix it, I bet it won't be for a while. I will pass this along though.

Thanks!
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159291
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159311
This is their custom fork of cgminer + driver. They do not have proper diff checking in their code. That's the sort of thing you get with a poorly done custom driver by a manufacturer. Tell them to fix their driver. In the interim try to use a pool that allows you to use a fixed diff that matches whatever the device is set to.
full member
Activity: 239
Merit: 250
Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159291
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.6159311
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.

AAAnd we have a Winner! Smiley

Thank you very much!

Code:
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4: Device failed to respond to restart
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4 failure, disabling!
[2014-04-10 16:19:21] Hotplug: Icarus added ANU 9
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?
This.

stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.
Pages:
Jump to: