Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 480. (Read 5806057 times)

hero member
Activity: 631
Merit: 500
thanks for all your hard work, ckolivas.

i tried this on linux, but got the following errors:

Code:
 [2012-10-04 14:06:42] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-10-04 14:06:42] Switching pool 0 http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 to stratum+tcp://api-stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333
 [2
   012-10-04 1[42:00162:-4130]- 0P4o o1l4 :00 6s:t4r3a]t uPmo+otlc p0: /s/tarpait-usmt+rtactpu:m/./baiptic-ositnr.actzu:m3.3b3i3t caoliinv.ecz:3333 alive
 [2012-10-04 14:06:43] Switching pool 1 http://mine3.btcguild.com:8332 to stratum+tcp://198.154.98.196:9332
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Rejected bb6e3804 Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Rejected 9de81d7d Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:50] Rejected 544a476e Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:59] Rejected e177e632 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:59] Rejected c7ea7fd8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:07:06] Rejected 972a4688 Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce

and then i get 0 accepts


BTW, I also had to add the strtod fix in driver-bitforce.c (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=printpage;topic=94420.0) to get things going.

....

just checked debug output and it keeps saying:
Code:
 [2012-10-04 14:13:27] Failed to parse a \n terminated string in recv_line
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Stratum update

The code has been in testing for a while now, and numerous issues have been ironed out. I've been mining with it for a few days in a mixture of regular pools + stratum pools and things seem to working out okay. I've just managed to get it building and working on windows and have created the first binary for people to start testing it. It's still not mature enough for a full release, but at some stage I need people to start testing it so I can sort out issues as they arise.

If you're on linux, and can use git, checkout the stratum branch and build from that.
git pull -a && git checkout stratum

For those on windows, here is a test binary.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Just drop  it into your existing 2.7.6 directory. It will still read version 2.7.6, but don't let that fool you. For stratum to be active, you need - of course - to mine on one of the 2 pools that currently support it: slush's pool and btcguild . The way I've set up the code, you shouldn't need to do anything special to mine stratum, just use your regular settings (or you can plug in the stratum info directly if you're so inclined). The advantages to the miner should be far far less network communications with less network delays which should also translate into less rejects. Of course the real advantage is to the pools and for the ability to scale to much higher hashrates with the advent of ASICs.

Lots has been written about it here (though it may be rather confusing):
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-stratum-mining-protocol-asic-ready-108533

EDIT: There is NO proxy support whatsoever for stratum at this stage.
hero member
Activity: 988
Merit: 1000
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.


Um... I didn't think cgminer had stratum support yet?

EDIT: must be using a proxy.

M
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1236151
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.


Um... I didn't think cgminer had stratum support yet?

EDIT: must be using a proxy.

M
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.
full member
Activity: 150
Merit: 100
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks
hero member
Activity: 988
Merit: 1000
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.
full member
Activity: 150
Merit: 100
Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Scrypt mining is still broken in that it can not utilize high thread concurrencies (I need to use a thread concurrency of 24000 for my 7950s to mine effectively).  The bug seems to be with the calculation for memory allocation.  It can be easily duplicated by setting the thread concurrency above 8192, eg 12288.  In reaper, any thread concurrency may be used as long as it is a multiple of 64 and produces a memory padding that fits within the card's memory space.

Using "set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100" in Windows allows the program to run, but it doesn't hash at all and does not create a memory pad on the GPU.

I reported this several weeks ago and it still hasn't been addressed.
That's cause I have no idea what the problem is. Setting GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT does nothing on windows, only linux.
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
Scrypt mining is still broken in that it can not utilize high thread concurrencies (I need to use a thread concurrency of 24000 for my 7950s to mine effectively).  The bug seems to be with the calculation for memory allocation.  It can be easily duplicated by setting the thread concurrency above 8192, eg 12288.  In reaper, any thread concurrency may be used as long as it is a multiple of 64 and produces a memory padding that fits within the card's memory space.

Using "set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100" in Windows allows the program to run, but it doesn't hash at all and does not create a memory pad on the GPU.

I reported this several weeks ago and it still hasn't been addressed.
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0
In that case it might actually be the pool's fault setting a high rolltime and then rejecting the shares as late.
Thank you ckolivas, was afraid it may be something to do with the pool. I did find some other threads also stating that if time on the pool server was drifting too far it may be the cause too, hopefully Graet can uncover the issue cause I dont want to pool jump.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/

Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
Will be happy to look into that more but so far it has seemed to be occouring independant of what version I run of either .

I tried your suggestion and jumped to another pool and I am at a:276 with only r:5 and those were all prevhash-stale. So it may be pool dependent, I even have I=18 right now and no issues with rejections.

In that case it might actually be the pool's fault setting a high rolltime and then rejecting the shares as late.
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0


I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
for what its worth BFG miner 2.6.4 still gets the time-too-old with ozcoin. Thats the only 2.6.4 windows version I was able to find.

UPDATE:
Also 2.6.4 of cgminer does it. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/cgm2.6.4.jpg
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0
I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
TY for finding that, the oldest copy I had on hand was 2.6.5 and the oldest windows version avail on his site is 2.6.6 so I had no way to test lower versions without a lot of digging.
hero member
Activity: 914
Merit: 500

Is this new? If so, can you pinpoint which version it started from? If not, is it unique to lc.ozco.in ?
Fairly recent yes. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.txt  Log file with debug turned on. I haven't tried another pool lately, will try that now.

As for version I had been running bfgminer, all the way up to 2.8.1 was getting the error so switched back to cgminer then have tried cgminer 2.7.5.
Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.

I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
sr. member
Activity: 294
Merit: 250
version 12.Cool

Does CGMiner support a version with sunglasses?

LOL, forgot that an 8 next to an ) made sunglasses. I have version 12.8
vip
Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

Is this new? If so, can you pinpoint which version it started from? If not, is it unique to lc.ozco.in ?
Fairly recent yes. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.txt  Log file with debug turned on. I haven't tried another pool lately, will try that now.

As for version I had been running bfgminer, all the way up to 2.8.1 was getting the error so switched back to cgminer then have tried cgminer 2.7.5.
Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
hey con,
don't remember seeing it in 2.7.4, but I only fired a gpu back up last night on 2.7.5 to see if I could replicate rahlquist issue.
spoke to kano briefly before on irc Smiley
I'll fire up a 2.7.4 and check
awake: I wont be long
G

edit: it is there i'll regress through some versions in morning unless rahlquist spots the change before
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0

Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
What was the earliest version that did -scrypt? I just tried 2.6.5 and it does it with ozcoin too. ( log https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.6.5.txt )
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0

Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
Will be happy to look into that more but so far it has seemed to be occouring independant of what version I run of either .

I tried your suggestion and jumped to another pool and I am at a:276 with only r:5 and those were all prevhash-stale. So it may be pool dependent, I even have I=18 right now and no issues with rejections.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/

Is this new? If so, can you pinpoint which version it started from? If not, is it unique to lc.ozco.in ?
Fairly recent yes. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.txt  Log file with debug turned on. I haven't tried another pool lately, will try that now.

As for version I had been running bfgminer, all the way up to 2.8.1 was getting the error so switched back to cgminer then have tried cgminer 2.7.5.
Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
Jump to: