Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 484. (Read 5806057 times)

legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Is there even a normal zip of the new cgminer on here? I feel like throwing my computer through the wall every time I come here, for the new update.
Use 7-zip - it's free and you won't be breaking the winzip license like almost everyone does with winzip ...
http://www.7-zip.org/

Why would you be breaking the license? It's a free download. Installing a new compression software on a dozen computers for no purpose, is absurd.

So wait, you're happy to go to great lengths to set up your hardware to mine, install special software for it to do so, drivers sdk etc and configure them, and then you're happy to download my free software from my website that I pay for for you to have free unrestricted access to, and you're complaining because you have to install 7z?


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
Here is my guide for people like me who are not familiar with linux to get cgminer running on a Raspberry Pi.  Note that dlasher and burger did 99% of the work here.  I just verified it and added some comments.  Thanks guys!  

Of course, big thanks to ckolivas and kano for doing the other 99.99% of the work writing cgminer.   Grin  The first week of my mined bitcoins will be donated to you two.  (If you think it is worth adding all or part of this to the README, please do.  Or just a link to this post?)

Start with a fresh install of the Raspbian OS.  I used the 2012-09-18 release.
On first boot, configure the keyboard, password, locale and timezone as appropriate.
Optionally, change the memory_split, ssh and boot_behavior.  
Choose "update" to get any recent updates.
Choose and reboot.   (type "sudo reboot" at command prompt)

A) If you have choosen boot_behavior to boot direct to desktop, open an LXterminal window.

B) If you have choosen boot_behavior to NOT boot direct to desktop, log in.  You now have 2 choices:
  1) (recommended) type "startx" to start the desktop then open an LXterminal window.
  2) use the command line directly


All of the following commands are typed at the command line.
Do NOT type anything on lines starting with "##" (including the "##") as these are comments for you.

Code:
## Install all required tools
sudo apt-get install build-essential git dh-autoreconf libcurl4-gnutls-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-dev libncurses-dev libudev-dev yasm screen
## This will ask you:
##    Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
## Press Y and Enter   (Then wait many minutes for it to finish)

## Get the latest version of cgminer
cd /usr/src
sudo git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

## Set the flags for the compiler
CFLAGS="-g -O2 -W -Wall"

## Configure cgminer
## Do not type any un-used options.  See the README of cgminer for details.
## For example if you do not have any Butterfly Labs hardware, to not type "--enable-bitforce"
sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev
## I have a BFL single so I used:
##    sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-bitforce --with-libudev
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish
## When done, you should see a block of text that starts with something like this:
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##    cgminer 2.7.6
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##
##    Configuration Options Summary:
##
## If you do not see that or the last line is an error, do not continue.


## build cgminer
sudo make clean
sudo make
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish

## Connect and power up your FPGA hardware then run cgminer
## Substitute the proper values you use for yourpool, yourport, youruser, and yourpassword
/usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -S auto -o http://www.yourpool.com:yourport -u youruser -p yourpassword
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)

Oh, I thought "d" was for "desktop mode."
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1468
...
Does somebody have similar issues and if yes what can be done to resolve them?

And as always it happens at night:) I know that it can happen randomly but never during day Sad
I run my cgminer in a loop
http://pastebin.com/Z4pG26uF
(my cgminer is just another script 'cgminer.sh' that runs cgminer with the options I want)

Thus if it ever crashes, it leaves a core and then restarts

Do something like that - if it actually crashes - so it just restarts (with a 5 second sleep)

Obviously, in my case, I certainly want this to help find bugs and help with fixing them
(so I also compile -g and without -O2) but yeah it makes it easy to find bugs and also keep mining

Is this something that can be done in windows 7 64bit? whit some program/scripts that loop and restart would be great..........When cgminer stop mining for some reason..........pool or others...........
Also i use task manager to set priority 2 real-time. ist there a permanent way to do that?

i have C:\cgminer\cgminer.exe

anyone know? i can offer 2btc for working solution

PS you are doing great work kano & ckolivas

Regards Testit



Try my akbash
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
Thanks to dlasher, SAC, burger, and especially ckolivas and kano; my BFL single is now running on my R-Pi!  Soon I will re-post dlasher's guide with the corrections I used to make it work for me.  (First I will test with a fresh Raspbian install.)

Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-28 13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):433.4 (avg):714.6 Mh/s | Q:4  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:300%  U:17.1/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 2  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 2  LW: 15  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 18.5
 Connected to http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user
 Block: 00000038ba38b354b3fd8173cd55cebb...  Started: [13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BFL 0:  45.7C         | 771.9/918.7Mh/s | A:13 R:0 HW:0 U:18.54/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-28 13:26:27] Started cgminer 2.7.6
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337/LP
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 0 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8331 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:33] Accepted 00e6e730 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:38] Accepted 09631bd0 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a45652a8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a79f96ba Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:48] Accepted 280b28cf Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Is there a way to make mining on a PC that has a AMD 7950 and Intel HD Graphics possible?

My Motherboard is a Z68, I would like to connect 1 or 2 Computer Displays to the HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard and 1 or 2 displays to my AMD 7950.

When I start Cgminer it says too many gpus or something along those lines.
Yes there is, but you will need to use a combination of parameters to these options: -d, --remove-disabled, --gpu-platform and --gpu-map. Start with 'cgminer -n' to read  what cgminer finds and then read the advanced section on gpu-map in the readme.

So this allows me to use the 7950 to mining when it's not doing much in windows 7?
I can have 2 displays connected to 7950 and 2 displays connected to Z68 HD3000 and just before I start gaming I just disable 7950 in cgminer?

Obviously primary display in windows 7 needs to be connected to 7950 so that games start on 7950.
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.
full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
Is there a way to make mining on a PC that has a AMD 7950 and Intel HD Graphics possible?

My Motherboard is a Z68, I would like to connect 1 or 2 Computer Displays to the HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard and 1 or 2 displays to my AMD 7950.

When I start Cgminer it says too many gpus or something along those lines.
Yes there is, but you will need to use a combination of parameters to these options: -d, --remove-disabled, --gpu-platform and --gpu-map. Start with 'cgminer -n' to read  what cgminer finds and then read the advanced section on gpu-map in the readme.

So this allows me to use the 7950 to mining when it's not doing much in windows 7?
I can have 2 displays connected to 7950 and 2 displays connected to Z68 HD3000 and just before I start gaming I just disable 7950 in cgminer?

Obviously primary display in windows 7 needs to be connected to 7950 so that games start on 7950.

Ok if you need the HD7950 for gaming you can't mine on it at the same time without a noticeable lag.  Disable lucid MVP and connect a cable to your mobo and then use just HD3000 for gaming. Mine on the 7950.

Thanks for suggestion but I do not want to game on HD3000, I want to mine on the 7950 only when I'm not gaming (I'm not gaming 90% of the time.)
legendary
Activity: 2716
Merit: 1240
Hope you'll find it, let me know if I can help you any further Smiley
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 100
When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so...

Code:
apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
Thanks but that did not work for me:
Code:
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# apt-file search libudev.h
bash: apt-file: command not found

- The linux n00b

Edit: I hope this is not too off-topic but I believe it will be useful for other (n00b) users to get cgminer working on their Raspberry Pi.  Or at least those that want to compile from source.  Now that I think about it, didn't someone offer pre-compiled binaries for the RPi?  Or was that for one of the Bitcoin clients???


can't you just do:

Code:
apt-get install libudev-dev
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so...

Code:
apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
Thanks but that did not work for me:
Code:
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# apt-file search libudev.h
bash: apt-file: command not found

- The linux n00b

Edit: I hope this is not too off-topic but I believe it will be useful for other (n00b) users to get cgminer working on their Raspberry Pi.  Or at least those that want to compile from source.  Now that I think about it, didn't someone offer pre-compiled binaries for the RPi?  Or was that for one of the Bitcoin clients???
SAC
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Ah crap.  I scrolled up and I see the problem:

Quote
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for OpenCL... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for library containing addstr... -lncurses
checking for yasm... /usr/bin/yasm
checking if yasm version is greater than 1.0.1... yes
checking libudev.h usability... no
checking libudev.h presence... no
checking for libudev.h... no
configure: error: libudev not found
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Fixing now...

Edit: Or I'm trying to fix it but I'm clueless (apparently).  I tried:
Quote
apt-get install libudev

with no luck.  If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.

When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so to find it install apt-file.

Code:

apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Never built on that - but the ./autogen.sh should work that way fine with 2.7.6
I guess there's more to getting it working - you'll need to ask P_Shep I guess?
He seems to get it working on the usual hardware Smiley
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
Ah crap.  I scrolled up and I see the problem:

Quote
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for OpenCL... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for library containing addstr... -lncurses
checking for yasm... /usr/bin/yasm
checking if yasm version is greater than 1.0.1... yes
checking libudev.h usability... no
checking libudev.h presence... no
checking for libudev.h... no
configure: error: libudev not found
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Fixing now...

Edit: Or I'm trying to fix it but I'm clueless (apparently).  I tried:
Quote
apt-get install libudev

with no luck.  If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

For Raspbian, my steps went something like this:
<... snip ...>

Thank you VERY much for this guide.  I did encounter a problem with this step:

Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# bash ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev
Running autoreconf -if...
Configuring...
configure: WARNING: you should use --build, --host, --target
configure: WARNING: invalid host type:  --enable-modminer
checking build system type... Invalid configuration ` --enable-modminer': machine ` --enable' not recognized
configure: error: /bin/bash ./config.sub  --enable-modminer failed
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Then I remembered I did not need modminer (no HW for me - YET) so I trimmed it down to the command that I needed:
Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# bash ./autogen.sh --enable-bitforce --with-libudev
 

... and it worked.  But then "make all" also failed:
Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# make all
make: *** No rule to make target `all'.  Stop.

root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# ls -l M*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2470 Sep 27 20:31 Makefile.am
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 91117 Sep 27 20:47 Makefile.in

Now I'm stuck.  Damnit - I hate being a n00b at new stuff!   Wink  (Although I used linux in a previous life a little bit, I'm mostly a Windblows guy.   Grin )
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Hey Kano,

did that now, exactly same crash, this is my "debugging info":

...

warning: Can't read pathname for load map: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler. (<-- That means I/O Error in german)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Core was generated by `./cgminer -o http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u ocminer_bkw02 -p ****** -o http://pit'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
256                     uint32_t nonce = pcd->res[entry];
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
#1  0x00007f4e485ccefc in start_thread ()
   from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0
#2  0x00007f4e47a3659d in clone () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#3  0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
(gdb)

Is that of any help ??
Yep - thanks. The line doesn't explain the problem - but it shows it's at least in findnonce when it crashes for you - so probably a bug I introduced.

I've also thought of a easy (should have thought of before Tongue) way to try reproduce it myself.
Add 1 to each nonce value returned should give me LOTS of HW errors to hopefully get the same result.

I'll try sort that out later today - thanks for the info.
If I can't get it to happen I'll ask for more help to run a debug version I'll put up for you.
But I'll let you know first.
Jump to: