Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 483. (Read 5806057 times)

legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
Yeah, how else are you going to get it onto the other machines? Dangers?

I said network share.  That's assuming you can reach your miners via network.. which may be a false assumption.

There is plenty of malware that is USB key aware.  I'd hesitate to use a USB key anywhere except for absolutely trusted sources. 

M
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Is it possible to intercept cgminer in some way when it hangs and restart it? Every couple of days, cgminer just hangs...
Stop and start it daily?
I (and others) have posted a linux script and a windows batch file to run cgminer in a loop over and over again.
You can either have the API on and send a 'quit' to it once a day or work out how many shares you should produce on average per day and get cgminer to exit after generating that many shares (--shares N)

1GH/s should generate on average a bit over 20,000 1-difficulty shares a day.

The current calculation is, however, based on shares, not 1-difficulty shares, so if there's a need to change that to 1-difficulty shares (or a need to not change that) speak up Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 349
Merit: 250
Is it possible to intercept cgminer in some way when it hangs and restart it? Every couple of days, cgminer just hangs...
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Also, that little echo script thing you have goin on is mega cute bro. Mad props.

Yeah, I like it too.  I made an echo notice based on Kano's script.



Code:
@echo off

:Loop
cls
color 0C
REM NOW=YYYY-MM-DD_HHMMSS
REM file name = "miner-session.%NOW%.log"

Set NOW=%date:~10,4%-%date:~4,2%-%date:~7,2%_%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%%time:~6,2%

cgminer --scrypt -I 12,16 -g 1 --shaders 800,1120 --no-submit-stale --auto-fan --gpu-fan 0-99,20-80 --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 800-925,820-900 --gpu-memclock 1050,1000 --temp-target 77,79 --temp-overheat 80,85 --temp-cutoff 90,95 -o http://litecoinpool.org:9332 -u Panda.1 -p 12345 --failover-only -o http://notroll.in:6332 -u Panda.failover1 -p 12345  2> "miner-session.%NOW%.log"

REM use these to enable the API stuff...
REM --api-network --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.0.0/24 --api-description DoubleTrouble
cls
@color 02
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo    cgMiner has quit.
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo Auto restarting in 15 sec
@echo.
@echo If you want to cancel
@echo the restart, press:
@echo.
@echo   Ctrl+C, Y, ENTER

@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo Waiting for user input
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -

@ping -n 15 127.0.0.1 > NUL
GOTO Loop

It gives me time to quit the endless loop, time to read the notice, etc.  Somehow "@echo off" doesn't work, i keep seeing "echo" in the output, so that's why I also @ the other echos.
hero member
Activity: 981
Merit: 500
DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize
So set up a windows or SMB share depending on what you run. Use a NAS box for it whatever. Just put the uncompressed version on the network they are all on. At least I assume they aren't scattered all over the globe. If they are you could always use a VPN to get to your data. It isn't hard to get to the uncompressed file if you really want to and having 7z on ONE computer to extract it and copy to a NETWORK ACCESSABLE location isn't hard. Remote file access isn't so hard. I suppose sneaker-net is a little slow but it does work too.

Just seems silly to me to complain about a decompression program that doesn't have to be installed on more then one computer to decompress the files. Granted then you couldn't download it directly from Cons server for every mining rig you have.

Still to me it seems trivially simple to do. I don't know how your network is setup but the fastest IP host I have ever personally used was maybe 10% of my network throughput for wired connections. Granted that was a University after hours and I think we could hit 85MB/s downstream. It was also over 15 years ago bu most people don't pay for that kind of dedicated connection. The file is trivially small, decompressing is fast. Copying locally is far faster then extracting several places. At least for me.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said. 

It's about half the size, either way it's a one second download.

A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.

Seems pretty special to me, What use would a mining rig have for it otherwise? Installing it on your main pc is one thing. If your trying to convince me that installing a secondary program on numerous pc's, to save a 3mb download is a good deal. Give it a rest.
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
Do you still use XP?
I do find XP to be simplistic and comforting, compared to Vista or even 7. That said, I'd never use XP > 7 for my main computer.
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.



Umm...
1) What driver/SDK?
2) Why don't you try updating to the newest CGMiner: 2.7.6?
3) A 5970 has 3200 shaders each. Why are you using "--shaders 1792"? Where did you even get that number?
newbie
Activity: 63
Merit: 0
I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.

Off-topic, but like ck was saying, I can't believe someone that's so ahead of the curve technology wise (by even USING bitcoin) would be so against this. And then he goes on saying how there's "no point to using 7z". But there is a point, it's a better program, and the files it generates are better in every way, not to mention how lightweight 7z is in the first place.

Do you still use XP? A dumbphone? CRT television? Even if you do, it doesn't make you right, and doesn't mean you're making the right choice. Technology won't stagnate just because you're unwilling to move forward with the rest of us. That's the whole point of technology in the first place, since it seems you have forgotten. But then you also had the gall to come in here with your ignorance, complain about 7z while arguing with multiple people as if you knew it wasn't a good program. Does it ever end?

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.

http://i45.tinypic.com/11hwjr7.png

Sorry if this is obvious, but first, try using the latest cgminer.
Also, that little echo script thing you have goin on is mega cute bro. Mad props.
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 10
Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.

legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.


Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said.  A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
Yeah, how else are you going to get it onto the other machines? Dangers?
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 100
Thanks to dlasher, SAC, burger, and especially ckolivas and kano; my BFL single is now running on my R-Pi!  Soon I will re-post dlasher's guide with the corrections I used to make it work for me.  (First I will test with a fresh Raspbian install.)

Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-28 13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):433.4 (avg):714.6 Mh/s | Q:4  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:300%  U:17.1/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 2  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 2  LW: 15  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 18.5
 Connected to http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user
 Block: 00000038ba38b354b3fd8173cd55cebb...  Started: [13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BFL 0:  45.7C         | 771.9/918.7Mh/s | A:13 R:0 HW:0 U:18.54/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-28 13:26:27] Started cgminer 2.7.6
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337/LP
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 0 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8331 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:33] Accepted 00e6e730 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:38] Accepted 09631bd0 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a45652a8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a79f96ba Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:48] Accepted 280b28cf Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0

Nice that you got it working!
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
Move along nothing to see here

Downloading a windows executable zip from from a random irate user of free software - bad idea for anyone considering it ...
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.
You mean you don't download the same linux .iso files over and over, just because you can?! Then what fun is the internet?!
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything.

Nor does he owe you anything...
Seriously, if you're so hung up about the compression format, don't use cgminer.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.
But when I put "d" it goes down to 8, but at 12 I can still watch 1080 video with no video lag (just mouse lag). Besides, at i12 I hash at 153-159, and at i8 it goes WAY down to 21-25kh which is unacceptable.

I'll just leave it at 12 while working/watching video, and kick it on 16 when i go to sleep. Thanks.
Jump to: