Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 636. (Read 5806103 times)

Vbs
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Ok, one unrolled branch then!  Wink

Code:
#elif defined VECTORS2
          if (!W[117].x) {
               output[FOUND] = FOUND;
       output[NFLAG & W[3].x] = W[3].x;
            if (!W[117].y)
                         output[NFLAG & W[3].y] = W[3].y;
          }
          else if (!W[117].y) {
               output[FOUND] = FOUND;
       output[NFLAG & W[3].y] = W[3].y;
          }
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Updated the 2.3.0 package with -1 extension which includes a fixed phatk kernel. Links in top post. This shouldn't affect other kernels...

If it ends up affecting other kernels, I'll have to release a full new version tomorrow.
hero member
Activity: 1652
Merit: 569
Catalog Websites
awesome update. the new kernel gives me a +2% increase in mh/s.  
i have a suggestion.
i like how you can set the intensity to d and it changes the intensity to maintain desktop interactivity. but its just a little bit too intense for me in windows but is perfect while playing world of tanks (weird, i thought gaming would be more intense)  so i keep having to change the intensity depending on what i'm doing.

my suggestion is that you make an option to set the intensity to d -2  or d -1  or something. so the intensity is still dynamic but is 1 or 2 less (or more) than d.
some people might want to use d +1 or d +2. who knows?  for me, intensity of d -1 would be perfect.
Read what it says at startup when your run dynamic intensity... sigh.
lol
ty
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
awesome update. the new kernel gives me a +2% increase in mh/s.  
i have a suggestion.
i like how you can set the intensity to d and it changes the intensity to maintain desktop interactivity. but its just a little bit too intense for me in windows but is perfect while playing world of tanks (weird, i thought gaming would be more intense)  so i keep having to change the intensity depending on what i'm doing.

my suggestion is that you make an option to set the intensity to d -2  or d -1  or something. so the intensity is still dynamic but is 1 or 2 less (or more) than d.
some people might want to use d +1 or d +2. who knows?  for me, intensity of d -1 would be perfect.
Read what it says at startup when you run dynamic intensity... sigh.
hero member
Activity: 1652
Merit: 569
Catalog Websites
awesome update. the new kernel gives me a +2% increase in mh/s.  
i have a suggestion.
i like how you can set the intensity to d and it changes the intensity to maintain desktop interactivity. but its just a little bit too intense for me in windows but is perfect while playing world of tanks (weird, i thought gaming would be more intense)  so i keep having to change the intensity depending on what i'm doing.

my suggestion is that you make an option to set the intensity to d -2  or d -1  or something. so the intensity is still dynamic but is 1 or 2 less (or more) than d.
some people might want to use d +1 or d +2. who knows?  for me, intensity of d -1 would be perfect.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
Ok, my findings so far:
5850 on SDK 2.5

2.2.7 ~400MH/s with phatk120213

2.3.0 ~320MH/s with phatk120222
2.3.0 ~400MH/s with phatk120213 *but* lots of HW errors!

So it seems the hashrate drop is in the kernel changes?  Huh
The old kernel is simply not compatible with the current one.

Well this makes me fucking angry. All I can do is shake my fist even harder at ATI for the changes just SHOULD NOT CAUSE THIS as they're meant to be trivial changes. Well more fucking quick fucking releases to deal with fucking ATI fucking fail. Rollback phatk fucking time.

Yeah and people were bashing me when I was screaming Nvidia.

ATI will probably never fix these bugs in their SDK and drivers.

CPU bug, SDK 2.6, 8 GPU hardcoded limit, needs to be linked to xserver at all times.

If only Nvidia would wake up and see that we are waiting for the 4608 shader dual GPU.

Hopefully the integer performance is much better this time around and they implement a variation of BFI_INT or bitalign.

So when will you release the fixed cgminer ?

Thank you !
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Btw, why check for 'result' in the first place? Isn't that a redundant check?

Using now,
Code:
#elif defined VECTORS2
          if (!W[117].x) {
              output[FOUND] = FOUND;
      output[NFLAG & W[3].x] = W[3].x;
          }
  if (!W[117].y) {
              output[FOUND] = FOUND;
      output[NFLAG & W[3].y] = W[3].y;
          }
Seems to work! Grin

No, you're doing two branches on the common path now. We want as few branches as possible in the common path. It doesn't matter if we do 2 extra checks in the uncommon (i.e. found share) path.
vip
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000
AKA: gigavps
I have posted a bounty to get better documentation around the --scan-serial option for linux -> https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/bounty-5-btc-clear-instructions-for-cgminers-scan-serial-option-65879

If you have this knowledge, you can make some quick btc...  Wink
Vbs
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Btw, why check for 'result' in the first place? Isn't that a redundant check?

Using now,
Code:
#elif defined VECTORS2
          if (!W[117].x) {
              output[FOUND] = FOUND;
      output[NFLAG & W[3].x] = W[3].x;
          }
  if (!W[117].y) {
              output[FOUND] = FOUND;
      output[NFLAG & W[3].y] = W[3].y;
          }
Seems to work! Grin
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
OK, fixed it:
"bool result = any(W[117] == 0)" seems to be the slow op, changing back to the bitwise AND "W[117].x & W[117].y" (and the next if to !result), gets me back at ~400MH/s.
Goddamn. Thanks for that. The any() function is meant to be faster than manually unrolling it the way I did in the old version. I guess I shouldn't put any faith in their hardware functions...

sigh...
Vbs
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
OK, fixed it:
"bool result = any(W[117] == 0)" seems to be the slow op, changing back to the bitwise AND "W[117].x & W[117].y" (and the next if to !result), gets me back at ~400MH/s.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Ok, my findings so far:
5850 on SDK 2.5

2.2.7 ~400MH/s with phatk120213

2.3.0 ~320MH/s with phatk120222
2.3.0 ~400MH/s with phatk120213 *but* lots of HW errors!

So it seems the hashrate drop is in the kernel changes?  Huh
The old kernel is simply not compatible with the current one.

Well this makes me fucking angry. All I can do is shake my fist even harder at ATI for the changes just SHOULD NOT CAUSE THIS as they're meant to be trivial changes. Well more fucking quick fucking releases to deal with fucking ATI fucking fail. Rollback phatk fucking time.
Vbs
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Ok, my findings so far:
5850 on SDK 2.5

2.2.7 ~400MH/s with phatk120213

2.3.0 ~320MH/s with phatk120222
2.3.0 ~400MH/s with phatk120213 *but* lots of HW errors!

So it seems the hashrate drop is in the kernel changes?  Huh
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Buy this account on March-2019. New Owner here!!
thank you ckvolias for this big release on my Birthday! Smiley
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
My 6770 runs waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster with the diablo kernel.

I was reliably getting around 185-190 Mhash/sec with poclbm.  Now it's reliably around 202 with diablo.  Really noice!

Hmm. my 6770 runs around 230 Nhash/sec with phatk at 1030/300 clocks. -v2 -w256

I haven't been able to reliably run my 6770 above 960.
That doesn't mean you can't try -k phatk -v 2 -w 256
Based on what tenzor says, 960/1030 * 230 means you should be able to get 214

edit: He changed that to 220-225?  * 960/103 is 205 which is not far off what you're getting... Try it anyway  Wink

edit2: DONT FORGET SDK MATTERS!
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
I haven't been able to reliably run my 6770 above 960.
Ok. @960/300 I have 220-225
cgminer 2.2.6

Edit:
Summary:
@960/300 = 220-225
@1000/300 = around 230

cgminer 2.2.6
-I 9 -v 2 -w 256 -k phatk
SDK 2.4, ubuntu, catalyst 11.6
legendary
Activity: 916
Merit: 1003
My 6770 runs waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster with the diablo kernel.

I was reliably getting around 185-190 Mhash/sec with poclbm.  Now it's reliably around 202 with diablo.  Really noice!

Hmm. my 6770 runs around 230 Nhash/sec with phatk at 1030/300 clocks. -v2 -w256

I haven't been able to reliably run my 6770 above 960.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
My 6770 runs waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster with the diablo kernel.

I was reliably getting around 185-190 Mhash/sec with poclbm.  Now it's reliably around 202 with diablo.  Really noice!

Hmm. my 6770 runs around 230 Nhash/sec with phatk at 1030/300 clocks. -v2 -w256
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
My 6770 runs waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster with the diablo kernel.

I was reliably getting around 185-190 Mhash/sec with poclbm.  Now it's reliably around 202 with diablo.  Really noice!
Excellent, that's more the sort of news I was hoping for  Grin
legendary
Activity: 916
Merit: 1003
My 6770 runs waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster with the diablo kernel.

I was reliably getting around 185-190 Mhash/sec with poclbm and phatk.  Now it's reliably around 202 with diablo.  Really noice!

I did notice that suddenly my poclbm performance dropped from around 185 to like 165 with this new release.  But I'm not complaining because of the pleasant diablo surprise.
Jump to: