Pages:
Author

Topic: OLD: BFGMiner 3.10.0: modular ASIC+FPGA, GBT+Strtm, RPC, Mac/Lnx/W64, AntU1, DRB - page 74. (Read 1193218 times)

legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Hi Luke,

Hope the holiday session is going well.

I am struggling and need a hand with NFY devices on the Raspberry PI.  I finally got one and managed to compile hidapi correctly (I think) and bfgminer

finds the devices correctly;-

Code:
bfgminer -D -T -d?
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] setrlimit: Soft fd limit not being changed from 1024 (FD_SETSIZE=1024; hard limit=4096)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] Started bfgminer 3.9.0
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] hidapi_try_lib: Couldn't load libhidapi.so: libhidapi.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] hidapi_try_lib: Couldn't load libhidapi-0.so: libhidapi-0.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] hidapi_try_lib: Successfully loaded libhidapi-hidraw.so
 [2014-01-01 11:52:55] hid_devinfo_scan: Found "NanoFury NF1 v0.6" serial "0000023445"
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:001 (path=(null), vid=1d6b, pid=0002, manuf=Linux 3.10.25-1-ARCH dwc_otg_hcd, prod=DWC

OTG Controller, serial=bcm2708_usb)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:002 (path=(null), vid=0424, pid=9512, manuf=(null), prod=(null), serial=(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:003 (path=(null), vid=0424, pid=ec00, manuf=(null), prod=(null), serial=(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:004 (path=(null), vid=1a40, pid=0201, manuf=(null), prod=USB 2.0 Hub [MTT], serial=

(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:006 (path=(null), vid=1a40, pid=0101, manuf=(null), prod=USB 2.0 Hub [MTT], serial=

(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:005 (path=(null), vid=3322, pid=5544, manuf=(null), prod=USB 2.0 Hub [MTT], serial=

(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:007 (path=(null), vid=1a40, pid=0101, manuf=(null), prod=USB 2.0 Hub [MTT], serial=

(null))
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:008 (path=(null), vid=04d8, pid=00de, manuf=Microchip Technology Inc., prod=NanoFury

NF1 v0.6, serial=0000023445)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found hid device at hid:/dev/hidraw0 (path=/dev/hidraw0, vid=04d8, pid=00de, manuf=Microchip Technology Inc.,

prod=NanoFury NF1 v0.6, serial=0000023445)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] lowlevel_scan: Found mcp2210 device at hid:/dev/hidraw0 (path=/dev/hidraw0, vid=04d8, pid=00de, manuf=Microchip Technology Inc.,

prod=NanoFury NF1 v0.6, serial=0000023445)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] Devices detected:
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56]  NanoFury NF1 v0.6 by Microchip Technology Inc. (driver=nanofury; procs=1; serial=0000023445; path=/dev/hidraw0)
 [2014-01-01 11:52:56] Timers: Using clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC_RAW)

Unfortunatly when I start bfgminer

./bfgminer -S NFY:/dev/hiddev0 -c /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf

It will seg fault and core dump;-

Code:
 [2014-01-01 12:02:07] Loaded configuration file /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf
 [2014-01-01 12:02:07] Probing for an alive pool
 [2014-01-01 12:02:09] Network difficulty changed to 1.18G ( 8.45Ph/s)
 [2014-01-01 12:02:09] Switching to pool 1 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 - first alive pool
 [2014-01-01 12:02:09] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 (getblocktemplate)
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] API running in IP access mode on port 4028
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] mcp2210_set_cfg_gpio: Failed to set current GPIO config
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] NFY 0: checkport failed
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] NFY 0 failure, exiting
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] Pool 0 http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 alive
 [2014-01-01 12:02:10] Switching to pool 0 http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I really don't do much with coding (being an OS guy) but I compiled -g and here is the backtrace;-

Code:
gdb /home/minepeon/bfgminer/bfgminer core.22907
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.6.2
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "armv6l-unknown-linux-gnueabihf".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
...
Reading symbols from /home/minepeon/bfgminer/bfgminer...done.
[New LWP 22930]
[New LWP 22931]
[New LWP 22932]
[New LWP 22933]
[New LWP 22934]
[New LWP 22935]
[New LWP 22936]
[New LWP 22908]
[New LWP 22927]
[New LWP 22907]
[New LWP 22918]
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
Core was generated by `/home/minepeon/bfgminer/bfgminer -S NFY:/dev/hiddev0 -c /opt/minepeon/etc/miner'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x000af24c in nanofury_shutdown (thr=0x1bb3f78) at driver-nanofury.c:369
369             struct mcp2210_device * const mcp = state->mcp;
(gdb) bt
#0  0x000af24c in nanofury_shutdown (thr=0x1bb3f78) at driver-nanofury.c:369
#1  0x000474fc in miner_thread (userdata=0x1bb3f78) at deviceapi.c:732
#2  0xb6eb8d2c in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#3  0xb6cbbad8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#4  0xb6cbbad8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
Backtrace stopped: previous frame identical to this frame (corrupt stack?)

I am running as root as you say in the README and have modprobed everything you required;-

Code:
leds_gpio               2091  0
led_class               3712  1 leds_gpio
spi_bcm2708             4755  0
i2c_dev                 5573  0
i2c_bcm2708             3949  0
snd_bcm2835            16222  0
snd_pcm                81485  1 snd_bcm2835
snd_page_alloc          5188  1 snd_pcm
snd_timer              19925  1 snd_pcm
snd                    58851  3 snd_bcm2835,snd_timer,snd_pcm
bcm2708_rng             1032  0
rng_core                4190  1 bcm2708_rng
ipv6                  303991  0

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Neil
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
pressing m show me that threads are ok, one do 275 and the other 275 as well, this mean that diff 0 is the diff of the network?

ok after some tests, i see that i'm not accepting any share

i just used the cgminer string: --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.cipherpool.com:8838 -u  -p --gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -S opencl:auto
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Diff 0?  That looks wrong.  Have you tried a different (working) pool?
Diff 0 is normal for scrypt.
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
no, mmh maybe is the pool? it can be yeah...

i tried with a different coin and pool, but still the same result, diff 0..
hero member
Activity: 1246
Merit: 501
Diff 0?  That looks wrong.  Have you tried a different (working) pool?
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
sr. member
Activity: 447
Merit: 250
Ouch, how could I miss the readme.gpu file?  Embarrassed

I've no dedicated hardware, but adding -S opencl:auto did the trick.

Thank you very much and sorry for being so dumb.

Anyway I suppose this is a bug...?
I was just trying to help out and not be critical about the readme's.  Been a techie for over 30 years and I still read all the text files.  My main point was to show you where I found the info.

And, to continue on...

The NEWS.txt file has several entries to show changes to GPU/opencl. 

I found an entry to shows it was not a bug:
Quote
- cpu/opencl: Always disable by default; removes deprecated -G option entirely

Looks like the entry in the README.GPU.txt may be in error since by default, it will not be enabled even without other mining devices.
hero member
Activity: 731
Merit: 503
Libertas a calumnia
Ouch, how could I miss the readme.gpu file?  Embarrassed

I've no dedicated hardware, but adding -S opencl:auto did the trick.

Thank you very much and sorry for being so dumb.

Anyway I suppose this is a bug...?
sr. member
Activity: 447
Merit: 250
Hello,
I would like to use bdgminer to use my gpu but it does not recognise it.
Clinfo lists it just fine:
clinfo | grep DEV
  Device Type:                                   CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU
  Device Type:                                   CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU
and poclbm is able to mine with it without any problem

I'm under Ubuntu.

Can someone tell me how to understand/debug why bfgminer is not using my device?

Thanks!
Does the README.GPU.txt help:
Quote
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY ON GPU USAGE (SEE ALSO README.scrypt FOR SCRYPT MINING):

By default, BFGMiner will NOT mine on any GPUs unless it cannot find any
dedicated mining devices. If you wish to use both dedicated mining devices, as
well as your GPU to mine, you can explicitly enable it with the -S opencl:auto
option.

Single pool, regular desktop:

bfgminer -S opencl:auto -o http://pool:port -u username -p password

Do you have any other mining devices on the same machine?

What are you using for a startup command?
hero member
Activity: 731
Merit: 503
Libertas a calumnia
Hello,
I would like to use bdgminer to use my gpu but it does not recognise it.
Clinfo lists it just fine:
clinfo | grep DEV
  Device Type:                                   CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU
  Device Type:                                   CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU
and poclbm is able to mine with it without any problem

I'm under Ubuntu.

Can someone tell me how to understand/debug why bfgminer is not using my device?

Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 574
Merit: 500
Hi,
you wrote:

Latest release: 3.9.0 (announcement & changes)
Arch: pacman -S bfgminer

If i try to install it the version but i get only:
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$  sudo pacman -S bfgminer
warning: bfgminer-3.8.1-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Packages (1): bfgminer-3.8.1-1

Total Installed Size:   1.42 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$ uname -a
Linux xyz 3.10.25-1-ARCH #1 PREEMPT Mon Dec 23 16:07:25 MST 2013 armv6l GNU/Linux

can any body help me to get the actual version?

thanks for your help

deagel

Have you tried

cat /proc/version
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
Does bfgminer for Windows have a fail over feature where by if one pool fails the miner will fail over to the second, and if the and when the first pool come back up the miner will flip back to the first like it does on hardware miners?

If so how do I configure this on the command line?

Thanks

Check the readme for additional pool options, the default is failover.
Just add another -o : -u -p to the existing command line.
legendary
Activity: 4256
Merit: 8551
'The right to privacy matters'

    How soon for  antminer usb sticks?          [/list]

    Did you even look at the thread before posting?  No?  Thought not.

    If you'd bothered to read the thread, you'd have seen this post less than 10 posts above yours: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4208318

     Roll Eyes

    oh well missed it. i was tired when I posted last night. thanks for pointing out what i missed.
    newbie
    Activity: 45
    Merit: 0
    Previous Bitfountain (aka "ASICMiner") products did not support long polling, but it is certainly beneficial and perhaps worth adding to BFGMiner.

    That would be great if you could - currently running the Cube through slush's proxy seems a little more efficient than through bfg's - but I'd rather use bfg.

    Same here, I agree with HellDiverUK, if longpoll support could be added to BFGMiner that would be awesome. Thanks for all your hard work on this program Luke-Jr, I enjoy using it.
    hero member
    Activity: 630
    Merit: 501
    Does bfgminer for Windows have a fail over feature where by if one pool fails the miner will fail over to the second, and if the and when the first pool come back up the miner will flip back to the first like it does on hardware miners?

    If so how do I configure this on the command line?

    Thanks
    hero member
    Activity: 1246
    Merit: 501

      How soon for  antminer usb sticks?          [/list]

      Did you even look at the thread before posting?  No?  Thought not.

      If you'd bothered to read the thread, you'd have seen this post less than 10 posts above yours: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4208318

       Roll Eyes
      legendary
      Activity: 4256
      Merit: 8551
      'The right to privacy matters'
      hero member
      Activity: 756
      Merit: 500
      What's the word on adding Drillbit device support?
      newbie
      Activity: 11
      Merit: 0
      id noticed that in the output, but it was working fine until 3.9.0

      that said, this box has now had so many installs and uninstalls of the bfg and cg miners any one of them could have removed it.

      whats the actual package name? edit: libncurses5-dev
      legendary
      Activity: 2576
      Merit: 1186

      bfgminer is streaming output rather than holding it in a block of text, but i think this might be bacuase i've ssh'd onto the ubuntu box.
      Compiled without curses support.
      Pages:
      Jump to: