Pages:
Author

Topic: OLD: BFGMiner 3.10.0: modular ASIC+FPGA, GBT+Strtm, RPC, Mac/Lnx/W64, AntU1, DRB - page 75. (Read 1193358 times)

newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
ok , fixed my own issue by surprise, googling the error message.

needed to install autoconf uthash-dev and lib tool packages.

then used

Code:
./autogen.sh && ./configure --enable-bitfury
make


bfgminer is streaming output rather than holding it in a block of text, but i think this might be bacuase i've ssh'd onto the ubuntu box. not sure why it won't show the desktop after login, need to fix that next.

however this is worrying, is it not?

Code:
BIF0 39.4C | 5s: 0.00 avg: 0.00 u:361.7 Mh/s | A:32 R:3+0(8.6%) HW:352/ 91%

looks to me like a busted chip...
anyone agree or disagree?
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
can anyone help me with my install of bfgminer on ubuntu? i can do it through apt-get but that only gets me 3.8.0 and i need 3.9.0 to use the new code fixes for bit fury.

so i have done the following...


Code:

cd ~
mkdir bin
cd bin
sudo git clone https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer ~/bin/bfgminer
cd bfgminer

sudo ./autogen.sh


which runs but comes up with the following error

Code:
./autogen.sh: 20: ./autogen.sh: autoreconf: not found

which i take to mean its looking for an autoconf file, which isn't there. does it need to be?

the next step is (from reading the help on github)

Code:
sudo ./configure.ac --enable-bitfury

but this step also fails, 'command not found'.

anyone else going through this and know what the fix is?
and i know the obvious answer is to use the repos, but they aren't updated.

thanks,
sr. member
Activity: 440
Merit: 250
I have been using Cgminer for almost a year now.  However if bfgminer is compatable with antminer u1 and technobit hex boards I will convert now.  I have pre order for both of those and its become a pain to get everything running on diffrent hosts. 
legendary
Activity: 1778
Merit: 1008
Best of luck in the move. Always a mess, that.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
Hi Luke-Jr

Do you have any information yet, regarding the AntMiner u1  from BitMain?

They will be starting to ship in bulk, in the next few days.
I have a sample unit and some cgminer-specific code.
I believe I have some documentation too, but not sure if it applies to these units or is up to date.
There is a bitmain-asic.ko in the bundled OpenWrt firmware, which I do not see code for.

Lately, I have been moving to my new house. Not 100% done yet, but I need to be able to claim it as my primary residence before 2014, so that is my top priority for now.
That being said, I plan to spend time looking more into writing a BFGMiner driver for AntMiner in the next 48 hours.
If I need to reverse engineer the protocol from cgminer code, it will probably take longer than that to have it working.
If anyone wants to help me get this going faster, a PM with the most recent specs (if they exist) and/or bitmain-asic.ko source would be helpful.

Thanks for the heads up.
House moving and new year, at the same time as writing code?
I think you deserve some time off.    Grin
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Hi Luke-Jr

Do you have any information yet, regarding the AntMiner u1  from BitMain?

They will be starting to ship in bulk, in the next few days.
I have a sample unit and some cgminer-specific code.
I believe I have some documentation too, but not sure if it applies to these units or is up to date.
There is a bitmain-asic.ko in the bundled OpenWrt firmware, which I do not see code for.

Lately, I have been moving to my new house. Not 100% done yet, but I need to be able to claim it as my primary residence before 2014, so that is my top priority for now.
That being said, I plan to spend time looking more into writing a BFGMiner driver for AntMiner in the next 48 hours.
If I need to reverse engineer the protocol from cgminer code, it will probably take longer than that to have it working.
If anyone wants to help me get this going faster, a PM with the most recent specs (if they exist) and/or bitmain-asic.ko source would be helpful.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
Hi Luke-Jr

Do you have any information yet, regarding the AntMiner u1  from BitMain?

They will be starting to ship in bulk, in the next few days.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
You will need to compile from source to get the most recent version

Hi,
that i know but in the release info is written that i can direct install the latest version with pacman.
Some distros take a while to update when new versions are released.
I don't maintain those.
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
You will need to compile from source to get the most recent version

Hi,
that i know but in the release info is written that i can direct install the latest version with pacman.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
Hi,
you wrote:

Latest release: 3.9.0 (announcement & changes)
Arch: pacman -S bfgminer

If i try to install it the version but i get only:
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$  sudo pacman -S bfgminer
warning: bfgminer-3.8.1-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Packages (1): bfgminer-3.8.1-1

Total Installed Size:   1.42 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$ uname -a
Linux xyz 3.10.25-1-ARCH #1 PREEMPT Mon Dec 23 16:07:25 MST 2013 armv6l GNU/Linux

can any body help me to get the actual version?

thanks for your help

deagel

You will need to compile from source to get the most recent version
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Hi,
you wrote:

Latest release: 3.9.0 (announcement & changes)
Arch: pacman -S bfgminer

If i try to install it the version but i get only:
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$  sudo pacman -S bfgminer
warning: bfgminer-3.8.1-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Packages (1): bfgminer-3.8.1-1

Total Installed Size:   1.42 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
Code:
[minepeon@xyz ~]$ uname -a
Linux xyz 3.10.25-1-ARCH #1 PREEMPT Mon Dec 23 16:07:25 MST 2013 armv6l GNU/Linux

can any body help me to get the actual version?

thanks for your help

deagel
hero member
Activity: 798
Merit: 1000
The Anker hubs are as picky as any other.  Mine doesn't work with one of the three PCs here - doesn't work at all on the AMD machine, and just about works on the NUC.  Works OK on the main PC.

yes. the spec on the hub is only part of the story, also the supplied power supply can be suspect.(even new ones)

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.2700634

there are lots of hub comments on this thread

Yup, whenever I can I replace my Anker/Orinoco/AITech 10x USB3 hubs' power supplies with this one:
Sabrent AD-LCD12 LCD Monitors 12V 6A 72W AC Adapter Power Supply


You can get them from Amazon.com here: http://goo.gl/9GCPw7
They go for under $10 usually and well worth the cost.  The Anker's become much less tempermental when using these power supplies.

To bring this back to the topic of the thread....
This allows me to run Block Erupter, Red Fury, and Bi*Fury USB's plus a USB Fan on the same instance of BFGMiner without issues.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
The Anker hubs are as picky as any other.  Mine doesn't work with one of the three PCs here - doesn't work at all on the AMD machine, and just about works on the NUC.  Works OK on the main PC.

yes. the spec on the hub is only part of the story, also the supplied power supply can be suspect.(even new ones)

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.2700634

there are lots of hub comments on this thread
hero member
Activity: 1246
Merit: 501
The Anker hubs are as picky as any other.  Mine doesn't work with one of the three PCs here - doesn't work at all on the AMD machine, and just about works on the NUC.  Works OK on the main PC.
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 1142
Ιntergalactic Conciliator
i will get an anker one of these days i have order it from amazon and i am waiting it. But if there is problem general with usb hubs in linux and with bfgminer i think will be a problem and with anker.
The strange is that bfgminer have problem only in linux and not in windows i dont know why. I forgot to mention that my linux distro is ubuntu 13.10,
I want to get it work because i like to make a rig with my atom laptop that runs lubuntu 13.10. Also there i have the same problem with bfgminer and hub
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
I have a problem with all the bfgminers versions in linux.


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=386074.new#new

 I use it because is the only miner programme that can handle nanofury usb erupter and i have one of them and the rest is simple asicminer 333. Bfgminer works perfect when i plugged usb erupters  direct to my desktop pc but when i plugged  them to a dlink hub then after a while most of them disconnect and failed to work.
The problem is only in linux system and only with bfgminer all versions. I have try it and to windows with the same version of bfgminer and there was not any problem there.
Also cgminer has no problem with hub in windows and linux but i cant use it because it didnt support nanofury.
Any idea why i have this this dc in hub under linux?

do you have another hub?  if so its worth a try.
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 1142
Ιntergalactic Conciliator
I have a problem with all the bfgminers versions in linux.


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=386074.new#new

 I use it because is the only miner programme that can handle nanofury usb erupter and i have one of them and the rest is simple asicminer 333. Bfgminer works perfect when i plugged usb erupters  direct to my desktop pc but when i plugged  them to a dlink hub then after a while most of them disconnect and failed to work.
The problem is only in linux system and only with bfgminer all versions. I have try it and to windows with the same version of bfgminer and there was not any problem there.
Also cgminer has no problem with hub in windows and linux but i cant use it because it didnt support nanofury.
Any idea why i have this this dc in hub under linux?
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
problem starting new 3.9 after downloading zip


Downgrade libcurl to the one 3.8.1 used for now.
Problem is actually due to GCC 4.8, but there is a semi-workaround...
I'll rebuild the Win32 ZIPs with it.
legendary
Activity: 1820
Merit: 1001
problem starting new 3.9 after downloading zip

legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
NEW VERSION 3.9.0, DECEMBER 25 2013

Merry Christmas!

Human readable changelog:
  • hashbusterusb: Voltage/VRM controls, and support for identify function (5 second LED colour change).
  • nanofury: Support for identify function by turning LED off for 5 seconds.
  • twinfury: Support for voltage information/control.
  • Linux: New udev rules file to automatically put supported (and autodetectable) mining devices in the "video" UNIX group.

Full changelog:
  • Update official Win32 build compiler and library:
    • Upgrade GCC from 4.8.1 to 4.8.2
    • Upgrade libcurl from 7.28.1 to 7.34.0
  • Update official Win64 build compiler and library:
    • Upgrade GCC from 4.7.3 to 4.8.2
    • Upgrade mingw64-runtime from 2.0.8 to 3.0.0
  • Green-on-red title colours for Christmas release
  • write_config: Include http-port and stratum-port options
  • Interpret F1 as a request for Help
  • Bugfix: SSM: Free old _ssm_notify before replacing it
  • Bugfix: SSM: Clean _ssm_cur_job_work as needed to avoid memory leaks
  • Support matching --scan with lowlevel devid
  • cgpu_match: Unit test for USB device path matching
  • Bugfix: cgpu_match: Handle digits in dname (x6500)
  • cgpu_match: More unit tests (dname with digit)
  • cgpu_match: More unit tests (dname and case insensitivity)
  • Display "NO DEVICES FOUND" line in place of device list, when there are none
  • bitfury: Use drv_set_defaults to enable setting baud before probe
  • bitfury: Split out SPI port configuration option ("baud") to its own function
  • drv_set_defaults wrapper function around cgpu_set_defaults for use with options that may need to be set during probe
  • bitfury: Set poll interval to start iteration before responses are processed
  • modminer: Check identification begins with "ModMiner" to avoid false detection
  • Bugfix: hashbusterusb: Correct return value of hashbusterusb_vrm_unlock
  • Support for installing a udev rules file for Linux
  • twinfury: Remove unused variable to silence warning
  • cgpu_request_control should be a noop when called from the main thread
  • Bugfix: Handle errors creating a vcom devid more gracefully
  • Bugfix: _wlog: Allocate enough space for complete copy of log line
  • bfsb: Remove unused clock_gettime
  • Bugfix: bfsb: Remove useless slot_on which was never properly initialised
  • Bugfix: When QueryDosDevice fails, skip trying to parse its (undefined) results
  • hashbusterusb: Voltage should be in volts (not millivolts) for RPC
  • hashbusterusb: Provide access to VRM stuff from RPC
  • hashbusterusb: Use cgpu_request_control interface to safely access device from outside main thread
  • hashbusterusb: Include Voltage in RPC stats
  • Bugfix: hashbusterusb: Ensure unlock code is always allocated, even if null
  • hashbusterusb: Abstract code into hashbusterusb_vrm_lock
  • hashbusterusb: Abstract code into hashbusterusb_vrm_unlock
  • hashbusterusb: Abstract code into hashbusterusb_set_voltage
  • Bugfix: hashbusterusb: Check for voltage change error correctly
  • Abstract mutex_request code from X6500 driver into generic device API interface
  • hashbusterusb: Use standard identification behaviour
  • hashbusterusb: Abstract hashbusterusb_set_colour function
  • hashbusterusb: Get voltage with temperature
  • hashbusterusb: Clean up unused variable warnings
  • hashbusterusb: Use bitfury_wlogprint_status for osc6_bits displaying in Manage TUI
  • Bugfix: hashbusterusb: Remove ignored prompt for VRM lock
  • hashbusterusb: Use Manage/osc6_bits code from main bitfury driver
  • hashbusterusb: Provide access to VRM and identification in Manage TUI
  • hashbusterusb: Shutdown PSU
  • nanofury: Support identify function by turning off LED for 5 seconds
  • nanofury: nanofury_state structure
  • bitfury: Set poll interval to start iteration before responses are processed
  • Twinfury: moved voltage reading to the thread init function
  • Twinfury supply voltage initial reading: error log improved
  • Twinfury: Reading supply voltage on startup
  • Voltage scaling for twinfury implemented
Pages:
Jump to: