Pages:
Author

Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining - page 21. (Read 418244 times)

full member
Activity: 340
Merit: 103
It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE
Updated guide: Test/Run nvOC 19-2.1 beta side-by-side with 19-2.0 on previous stable images.
from an edit of the previous original @papampi guide to include the new easy-to-use upgrade commands


Side-bv-side beta testing with this guide is only possible if you can edit gnome-terminal profiles, by either gui settings (via TeamViewer) or dconf.(via ssh)


Step 1:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release.git /home/m1/NVOC/testing
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
bash nvOC miners-upgrade
cp 1bash.template 1bash
Edit your new 1bash you find in :
Code:
/home/m1/NVOC/testing/1bash


Step 2:
Create new gnome-terminal profile and start up command:

gnome-terminal menus: Edit > Preferences > Profiles > Clone the existing 'mining' profile and edit the clone.

Rename the cloned mining profile to "testing" or whatever you like.

In 2nd tab from left, "Command" change 2unix path in custom command.

from :
Code:
/home/m1/2unix
to:
Code:
/home/m1/NVOC/testing/2unix

Choose the default "Profile used when launching ..." to the one you made.


Step 3:
It's better to reboot, to start fresh.
After reboot gnome-terminal will start with the new testing profile.


Switch back to 2.0:
To switch back to 19-2.0 stable just change the default "Profile used when launching ..." in gnome-terminal profiles again to 'mining' and you're done.


Update nvOC to latest commit:

Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
bash nvOC upgrade

In case you're still on old revisions where that command was not yet available, do instead:
Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
git stash && git pull

Update nvOC/miners to latest commit:

Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing/
bash nvOC miners-upgrade

Always keep a copy of your 1bash (old, new, beta, ....) in a safe place.
Please post your issues and found bugs here in bitcointalk forum or (better to avoid messing with people using the stable 2.0) in GitHub issues.
Always attach a report generated by:
Code:
bash nvOC report


List of all contributions is available on top of each script (dev log)


So, is it possible to folow this guide using git sync when i use 19.2.1 image if i use all the comands in NVOC\minning insteaf of NVOC\testing ?
full member
Activity: 340
Merit: 103
It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE
Hello,

Anyone using bminer to mine Ethash?
Do you see any differences in hash rate between miner and ethminer?
I tried to run them side by side, but I cannot see any noticeable difference in speed.

What do you think?

@CryptAtomeTrader44  said something about thet in some previous posts.


I use Bminer because at the beta2 start, there wasn't been possible to use Claymore for NICE_ETHASH coin checking in WTM_PROFIT SWITCHING. I hadn't seen any hasrate différence between claymore and Bminer.
Precisley, i mine only ETH, or ETC with Bminer. I saw it's possible tu DUAL mine with it, but i don't.
I don't retry to mine on nicehash with claymore.

Is seems to me that Bminer is slightly more stable.
full member
Activity: 340
Merit: 103
It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE
Can anyone help me?
Should you invest in a digger at this point?

That's a good question.

In the crypto-World, it is common to read and hear (Youtube): invest only what you are willing to lose.

This is especially valid when you want to speculate only on the exchanges that have multiplied since 1 year.

With mining, it's a little different. You will have to buy the equipment, which requires some technicals knowledges, although this last year, RIG mining are sold all mounted and ready to use, I do not recommend. You risk to loose some interest tu mount yourself you own machine. That is an amazing task.
Of course, all this has a financial cost (the hardware cost has dropped a little since the last two months, but the difficulty of the main cryptos has also increased sharply, except for XMR since they forked).

In addition to these parameters to manage, you will have to spend a lot of time maintaining, optimizing and updating your machine. This is not a problem for technicians, engineers and other geeks who spend a lot of time in their spare time.
Finally, although this is not obvious, you will also have to trade (and learn how to do it! What in my case, is far from a panacea because I start from ZERO!). Yes, to trade because it is very obvious that it will be necessary at the right time and not to sell down or buy high (because you will do diversification inevitably).

Conclusion: Only YOU, have the answer to this question. What is cartain is that no one can win more without taking risks. And you will be without stops subject to your emotions during the bearish period as bullish, oscillating between depression and euphoria. All humans traders knows that, and they have to control themselves to be raesonable in their positions.

I repeat: invest only what you are willing to lose. Do not beat speed and precipitation.

And start with a RIG of 2 or 3 GPUs, no more. This way you can get an idea of ​​the time it can take to maintain, monitor and optimize. Then, if you think it's worth it after 3 or 4 months, then make two small RIGs (6 GPU) or a big RIG 12 GPU.

Happy mining  Cool

Translated with google translate
newbie
Activity: 86
Merit: 0
Can anyone help me?
Should you invest in a digger at this point?
jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
Hello,

Anyone using bminer to mine Ethash?
Do you see any differences in hash rate between miner and ethminer?
I tried to run them side by side, but I cannot see any noticeable difference in speed.

What do you think?

@CryptAtomeTrader44  said something about thet in some previous posts.
jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
the first time ever I heard about that SSD resize issue. you guys seriously need to consider that there are people like me who dont want to hook up a fucking display to a rig every time they want to install one. now I shall use gparted to do things but rig reboots every time when display is connected wtf guys seriously. this is ultra annoying when I update rigs by remote and now don't have local access whos idea was this?


If it has not resized automatically it is a bug and not an intended behavior. I suggested the gparted way only as a workaround for your specific situation. I would not suggest you to test the beta version without a monitor.

Just to have a clue on what happened to you: was the latest 2.0 w/ auto-expand image working for you or you previously used 1.4+update or 2.0 w/o auto-expand?
sr. member
Activity: 602
Merit: 250
guys I still get an error when trying to mine lbry with a maxwell card (980ti). Is this something that will be supported in the future?
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
the first time ever I heard about that SSD resize issue. you guys seriously need to consider that there are people like me who dont want to hook up a fucking display to a rig every time they want to install one. now I shall use gparted to do things but rig reboots every time when display is connected wtf guys seriously. this is ultra annoying when I update rigs by remote and now don't have local access whos idea was this?

I want to thank you for infos though Luke!

The img is fully compressed so it doesnt have much space left, at first boot it gives a warning but you should let it do its firstboot processes and it will reboot to expand to full size of the SSD/HDD/USB.
There should be no need to use gparted to expand, it should do it by its first reboot.
member
Activity: 126
Merit: 10
Hello,

Anyone using bminer to mine Ethash?
Do you see any differences in hash rate between miner and ethminer?
I tried to run them side by side, but I cannot see any noticeable difference in speed.

What do you think?
fk2
jr. member
Activity: 67
Merit: 2
the first time ever I heard about that SSD resize issue. you guys seriously need to consider that there are people like me who dont want to hook up a fucking display to a rig every time they want to install one. now I shall use gparted to do things but rig reboots every time when display is connected wtf guys seriously. this is ultra annoying when I update rigs by remote and now don't have local access whos idea was this?

I want to thank you for infos though Luke!
jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
Updated guide: Test/Run nvOC 19-2.1 beta side-by-side with 19-2.0 on previous stable images.
from an edit of the previous original @papampi guide to include the new easy-to-use upgrade commands


Side-bv-side beta testing with this guide is only possible if you can edit gnome-terminal profiles, by either gui settings (via TeamViewer) or dconf.(via ssh)


Step 1:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release.git /home/m1/NVOC/testing
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
bash nvOC miners-upgrade
cp 1bash.template 1bash
Edit your new 1bash you find in :
Code:
/home/m1/NVOC/testing/1bash


Step 2:
Create new gnome-terminal profile and start up command:

gnome-terminal menus: Edit > Preferences > Profiles > Clone the existing 'mining' profile and edit the clone.

Rename the cloned mining profile to "testing" or whatever you like.

In 2nd tab from left, "Command" change 2unix path in custom command.

from :
Code:
/home/m1/2unix
to:
Code:
/home/m1/NVOC/testing/2unix

Choose the default "Profile used when launching ..." to the one you made.


Step 3:
It's better to reboot, to start fresh.
After reboot gnome-terminal will start with the new testing profile.


Switch back to 2.0:
To switch back to 19-2.0 stable just change the default "Profile used when launching ..." in gnome-terminal profiles again to 'mining' and you're done.


Update nvOC to latest commit:

Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
bash nvOC upgrade

In case you're still on old revisions where that command was not yet available, do instead:
Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing
git stash && git pull

Update nvOC/miners to latest commit:

Code:
cd /home/m1/NVOC/testing/
bash nvOC miners-upgrade

Always keep a copy of your 1bash (old, new, beta, ....) in a safe place.
Please post your issues and found bugs here in bitcointalk forum or (better to avoid messing with people using the stable 2.0) in GitHub issues.
Always attach a report generated by:
Code:
bash nvOC report


List of all contributions is available on top of each script (dev log)
jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
A few points to help you having a better testing experience:

- Please do not use /home/m1/nvOC or any other script inside your home folder. All the 2.1 related stuff is inside NVOC/mining, including the nvOC script for making reports, that's why any command you run with ./nvOC failed with 'no files found' errors, that one is a leftover from old dev versions. Again, in the current 2.1 testing image there are side-by-side both an old pre-2.1 dev version and 2.1-beta. I invite you to nuke from the last beta image everything inside /home/m1/ which is related to nvoc except the NVOC/mining folder. To correctly generate a report do:

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ cd NVOC/mining
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ bash nvOC report

- Maybe there's some problem with the partition auto-expand, check your partition size and if it is not as large as it should be resize it manually and continue testing the nvOC scripts as usual, at this stage we have no special interest in testing what happens after a first boot with the legacy code,

- Since many of you are getting confused by the coexistence of the two versions inside the 2.1-beta image I still recommend as the best option to test 2.1-beta is following @papampi guide to install 2.1-beta inside a working 2.0 image.

- The version included in the 2.1-beta image you find in NVOC/mining is itself quite old already, you should really pull updates even before starting to test doing:

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ cd NVOC/mining
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ git stash && git pull
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ bash nvOC miners-upgrade
  then create a new 1bash from a copy of NVOC/mining/1bash.template, which will be placed into NVOC/mining/1bash, and start testing.

- The latest nvOC script which was not included in the 2.1-beta image let you install new updates by just doing:

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ cd NVOC/mining
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ bash nvOC upgrade
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ bash nvOC miners-upgrade

and of course this is already valid for testers who follow the @papampi guide for 2.1-beta testing.
fk2
jr. member
Activity: 67
Merit: 2
I tested further. this time I plugged in a display to the single card. I always see xorg.conf problem, rebooting. this loops.

I decided to reimage again. at first boot I left a display in. I get a message in ubuntu stating the hdd only has 40mb left an in terminal I saw some partition problem but then the rig restarts. If so,eone can tell me where to find a logfile with the problem I will deliver.
fk2
jr. member
Activity: 67
Merit: 2
I installed clean 2.1 image this week and had some successful mining test with three cards 1060/1070/1080
Now I added some cards. That didn't work. Now nothing works anymore, not even a single 1070.

Code:

Software info:
Report ver    :  v0019-2.0.002
nvOC (1bash)  :  nvOC v0019-2.1 - Community Release
nvOC (3main)  :  nvOC v0019-2.1 - Community Release
1bash ver     :  v0019-2.1.0028
3main ver     :  v0019-2.1.0022
5watchdog ver :  v0019-2.0.018
6tempcontrol v:  v0019-2.1.0006
wtm switch ver:  v0019-2.0.0021
Kernel        :  4.4.0-128-generic
OS            :  Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
System        :  (gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.9)
nvidia driver :  390.67

Hardware info:
Motherboard   :  ASUS PRIME Z270-A  Rev 1.xx
BIOS ver.     :  1203 12/25/2017
CPU Model     :  Celeron(R) CPU G3900 @ 2.80GHz
CPU Cores     :  2 (Cores + Threads)
Mem Total     :         3984504 kB
Mem Free      :         3545768 kB
Swap Total    :               0 kB
Swap Free     :               0 kB
  Ethernet      :  Intel I219-V

HDD and Partion info:
NAME    SIZE FSTYPE TYPE ROTA HOTPLUG TRAN   VENDOR   MODEL             REV MOUNTPOINT
sda    55.9G        disk    0       0 sata   ATA      Patriot Flare    21.1
├─sda1    9M vfat   part    0       0
└─sda2 55.9G ext4   part    0       0                                       /

VGA info:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

1bash settings:
1bash version .............: v0019-2.1.0028
LOCAL or REMOTE ...........: REMOTE
TEAMVIEWER started ........: NO
SSH daemon started ........: YES
SLOW_USB_KEY_MODE .........: NO
SRR .......................: NO

Watchdog ..................: YES
SYSRQ Reboot ..............: NO
Watchdog Cycle ............: 15
GPU Utilization Threshold .: 70
Alternate Pool ............: NO

Temp Control ..............: YES
MANUAL_FAN ................: NO
TARGET_TEMP ...............: 65
__FAN_ADJUST ..............: 5
POWER_ADJUST ..............: 5
ALLOWED_TEMP_DIFF .........: 2
RESTORE_POWER_LIMIT .......: 85
MINIMAL_FAN_SPEED .........: 50
MAXIMAL_FAN_SPEED .........: 95

CLEAR_LOGS_ON_BOOT ........: NO
AUTO_UPDATE ...............: STABLE
AUTO_REBOOT ...............: NO
_Parallax_MODE (upPaste)...: NO

TELEGRAM_MESSAGES .: NO
TELEGRAM_ALERTS ...: NO

HEADLESS MODE:.............: NO
GPUPowerMizerMode_Adjust...: NO
ETH Pill ..................: YES

POWERLIMIT MODE ...........: GPU_SPECIFIC
GPU0 Power Limit ..........: 110
OVERCLOCK MODE ............: GPU_SPECIFIC
GPU0 Core Overclock ........: 125
GPU0 Memory Overclock ......: 1500

GLOBAL WORKERNAME .........: YES
AUTO WORKERNAME ...........: CUSTOM
WORKERNAME ................: Icemine01
plusCPU ...................: NO

COIN ......................: ETH
ALGO ......................: ETHASH
MINER .....................: CLAYMORE
ETH WORKER ................: Icemine01
ETH ADDRESS ...............: icemine...
ETH POOL ..................: us-east.ethash-hub.miningpoolhub.com
ETH PORT ..................: 20535
ETHASH INTENSITY ..........:



Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC miner-log
tail: cannot open '/home/m1/NVOC/mining/nvoc_logs/screenlog.0' for reading: No such file or directory
tail: no files remaining
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$ ps -ef |grep 3main
m1        1862  1770  0 08:00 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --color=auto 3main
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC master-log
tail: cannot open '/home/m1/NVOC/mining/nvoc_logs/screenlog.0' for reading: No such file or directory
tail: cannot open '/home/m1/NVOC/mining/nvoc_logs/tempcontrol-screenlog.0' for reading: No such file or directory
tail: cannot open '/home/m1/NVOC/mining/nvoc_logs/watchdog-screenlog.0' for reading: No such file or directory
tail: cannot open '/home/m1/NVOC/mining/nvoc_logs/8_wtmautoswitchlog' for reading: No such file or directory
tail: no files remaining
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC start
Restarting nvOC tasks....

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused
Failed to parse arguments: Cannot open display:
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$


Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC start-service
Starting nvOC service..
Job for nvoc.service failed because the control process exited with error code. See "systemctl status nvoc.service" and "journalctl -xe" for details.
● nvoc.service - nvOC Service
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/nvoc.service; static; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: inactive (dead)

Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: Stopped nvOC Service.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: Starting nvOC Service...
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: nvoc.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=217
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: Failed to start nvOC Service.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: nvoc.service: Unit entered failed state.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: nvoc.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: nvoc.service: Service hold-off time over, scheduling restart.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: Stopped nvOC Service.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: nvoc.service: Start request repeated too quickly.
Jun 28 08:02:20 m1-desktop systemd[1]: Failed to start nvOC Service.
m1@m1-desktop:~/NVOC/mining$

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC restore-xorg
Restoring default nvOC xorg.conf ...
WARNING: timestamping does nothing in combination with -O. See the manual
for details.

--2018-06-28 08:02:51--  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/xorg.conf
Resolving raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)... 151.101.112.133
Connecting to raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)|151.101.112.133|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2018-06-28 08:02:51 ERROR 404: Not Found.

Default xorg.conf restored, Rebooting system in 5 sec.
System may reboot again if HEADLESS_MODE=YES

didn't help
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
I think a while back I read somewhere that ethpool is paying uncle rewards by random to workers so if you have more workers your chance to get uncles are higher
Some miners are spreading their cards into multiple miners/workers to get their chance higher.
So instead of having a worker with 200Mh/s they split it to 10 workers with 20Mh/s.
Not 100% sure, if anyone has more info on this please share.
Some info here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/dont-be-a-fool-stop-mining-on-ethpool-right-now-3970569

So is that why you want to use docker to separate GPUs?



jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
The only case I can think of in which managing miners in containers is worth enough is that you want to push those containers into a set of different rigs running the docker engine. If this is the case I would recommend you to push 1bash settings files on each rig instead of containers, or to dockerize the whole nvOC repo and push it at once.

If instead you intended to run on a single rig the docker engine to isolate each miner in its own container than I think it could be a big overkill. YOu will probably loose a lot of resources (power at most) and raise a lot in complexity. nvidia-docker just gives all containers access to the same driver instance, if you crash the driver all containers crash, if you crash a miner nothing else happens, which is basically the same happening now without containers.
Remember what containers are meant for: share resources of a machine, switching between multiple applications from different "users" without having to setup that machine specifically, keeping all containers isolated, being quickly self-deployable and portable.
sr. member
Activity: 602
Merit: 250
What you think about implementing into NVOC nvidia-docker and run miner for each isolated GPU in docker container?
jr. member
Activity: 128
Merit: 1
Nice, will update KTccminer also.

If you have pulled latest changes in the beta testing tree you will find some new commands have been added to the ./nvOC script to help you managing upgrade of both nvOC itself and miners collection. If you scared by the under the hood git-related stuff it may help you take confidence with the upgrade process. If you are sill on older beta revisions and you would like to get those new commands you need to 'manually' pull them by executing a 'git pull' command from inside your beta installation path.
full member
Activity: 340
Merit: 103
It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE

I tried to recompile last KTccminer but i don't succeded. I post an issue :
https://github.com/KlausT/ccminer/issues/249?_pjax=%23js-repo-pjax-container


The issue is solved. Klaust post a reply with good makefile modified by him that solved my compilation problems.

KTccminer can be updated
full member
Activity: 340
Merit: 103
It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE
Another question : Where do the variable $NVOC come from Huh? Which script launch it at firt time in all theses collection scripts ?

Both gnome-terminal (by profile custom command) and systemd (if you setup nvoc to run as a service) starts nvOC by running 2unix. The $NVOC variable is automatically set to proper value with the path to your running nvOC version. In your case NVOC is set to '/home/m1/NVOC/mining'. Its value is reported m minerinfo web page amd 'bash nvOC report' as well.

In gnome terminal, It's Ok, but what file in systemd Huh i'm not sure that i understand correctly how system works exactly.

Is it judicious to wait an other ubuntu distrib to make a package.

I like this idéeo to git clone and synchronize with github, but i'm not really familiar yet with it.

I will post you some errors in WTM on github. It seem theses errors are aleatory.
Pages:
Jump to: