Pages:
Author

Topic: The big VTC Vertcoin settings thread - page 44. (Read 264260 times)

newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
February 03, 2014, 10:15:22 AM
HD5870 works fine with  these settings:


"intensity" : "18",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "5600",
"shaders" : "0",
"gpu-engine" : "910-910",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1300",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"api-listen" : true,
"api-mcast-port" : "4028",
"api-port" : "4028",
"auto-fan" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",


http://prntscr.com/2p5hxa

Noh  hw errors, and wu higher than khs rate
newbie
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
February 03, 2014, 08:03:23 AM
Anyone running vertminer 0.5.3 on BAMT?

I got the latest version from GitHub and installed it with these instructions:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4668635

It works, but seems I can't change GPU settings. Not from thecgminer.conf, not from the command line, not from the vertminer. Also, I can't see the card temps at all. The web monitor shows the temps just fine though on http://myip/cgi-bin/status.pl

Even the ./vertminer --help shows only these gpu options, so I suppose the rest are actually missing?
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--gpu-dyninterval Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)
--gpu-platform Select OpenCL platform ID to use for GPU mining (default: -1)
--gpu-threads|-g Number of threads per GPU (1 - 10) (default: -1)
--lookup-gap  Set GPU lookup gap for scrypt mining, comma separated
--intensity|-I Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 21,default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

The only way to change core/mem is to set new defaults in gpu bios and flash the card with that. Which is a bit annoying when searching for the best values.. Undecided

Had this same problem two different times (two weeks apart so I forgot the solution) - be sure to run ./buildit.sh and NOT sudo ./buildit.sh. running as superuser seems to break the Open-GL / ADL stuff from what I can tell (assuming you copied the ADL_SDK .h files into the appropriate folder?)

I managed to make it myself. If you want to build it on BAMT it's quite easy:

1 - Open Root Terminal (or Run LXTERMINAL)
2 - Type: cd ~/Downloads/ *(if this folder does not exist, "type: mkdir ~/Downloads/" then type cd ~/Downloads/)
3 - Type: git clone https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu
4 - Wait for it to clone the GIT for vertminer
5 - Type: cp /opt/miners/cgminer/ADL_SDK/* ~/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/ADL_SDK/
6 - Type: cd vertminer-gpu
7 - Type: ./buildit.sh

You've succesfully built/compiled vertminer-gpu and now you need to set up a .sh (shell) that starts vertminer with your config of choice.

1 - Still in the Terminal window, Type: cd /home/user/Desktop
2 - Now type: nano start.sh and enter the following code:
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100 #if you mine with 280x or 7970, set this to 200
export CGMINER_BIN=/root/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/vertminer
$CGMINER_BIN --scrypt-vert \
--config "/home/user/Desktop/config.conf \

3 - press CTRL + O (Write Out to file) - Save it as start.sh - then press CTRL + X
4 - Type: chmod +x start.sh
5 - Now type: nano config.conf and enter the following code:
Code:
{
"pools" : [
    {
        "url" : "stratum+tcp://yourpool.org:3333",
        "user" : "yourusername",
        "pass" : "yourpassword"
    },
],
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : false,
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",
"gpu-fan" : "0-100",
"intensity" : "SET PREFERRED INTENSITY",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "SET YOUR TC HERE",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "60",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "SET YOUR THREADS HERE",
"gpu-engine" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-memclock" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"queue" : "9",
"scan-time" : "30",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
6 - CTRL + O and save it as config.conf - then press CTRL + X
7 - Type: screen and hit space
8 - Type: ./start.sh and this will launch vertminer-gpu with your config, and voila!

If you ever need to edit your config, open it with leafpad or edit with nano (i.e: nano /home/user/Desktop/config.conf)

Need help? Ask me. Want to throw some VTC to me? Vga61x3oxTV5CQDtqSW1KVdWjZnFeh3zJ9
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
February 03, 2014, 06:00:31 AM
how many Ram i need for the system ? pls

my hd 7970 only has 230k with 1100/1500 i12 tc 5600
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1006
February 03, 2014, 04:31:34 AM
i swear, adaptive-n-scrypt with 4gb ram only is an even crazier voodoo than regular scrypt.

none of my rigs have the same settings.

ffs.

hell, -g 4 and tc 4096 apparently can work.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

member
Activity: 99
Merit: 10
February 02, 2014, 06:11:06 PM
3x Sapphire 7870 GHz edition 205KH/s each total of ~620KH/s (just about WU of 500KH/s).

./vertminer [] --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 16192 -g 1 --intensity 19  --temp-target 75 --gpu-engine 940 --gpu-memclock 1250

I live in New England and have this rig in the basement with a small fan pointed towards it. Things stay right around 55C at 40% fan.

I ran the same settings and got the same results on 1 sapphire 7870 card, but my hardware errors are through the roof. Can you tell me about any errors?

That's weird. I've been running this for about 60 hours and I have a total of 15 HW errors across 3 cards. I experienced this when I originally installed these cards. I had a card that wasn't "tight" on the motherboard and when it was put understress it would HW error like crazy. I would shutdown your machine, reseat it and try again (just food for thought).

it just seems like TC is way too high. I'll try to tighten the card. it works fine without HW errors with a lower TC. I'll let you know how it goes.
bmL
member
Activity: 95
Merit: 10
February 02, 2014, 05:49:41 PM
r9 290x - about 440 khash/s

thread-concurrency 32765
gpu-powertune 7
inteinsity 21
memclock 1500
engine 1025
lookup-gap 2
worksize 256

and remember to not allow your card to get above 94 temp because it will auto drop clocks.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
February 02, 2014, 02:44:07 PM
2x Powercolor 7850 1GB (OC GPU/MEM 1130/1360)

settings: --thread-concurrency 4096 -I 12

2 x 161 Kh/s

newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
February 02, 2014, 12:14:21 PM
3x Sapphire 7870 GHz edition 205KH/s each total of ~620KH/s (just about WU of 500KH/s).

./vertminer [] --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 16192 -g 1 --intensity 19  --temp-target 75 --gpu-engine 940 --gpu-memclock 1250

I live in New England and have this rig in the basement with a small fan pointed towards it. Things stay right around 55C at 40% fan.

I ran the same settings and got the same results on 1 sapphire 7870 card, but my hardware errors are through the roof. Can you tell me about any errors?

That's weird. I've been running this for about 60 hours and I have a total of 15 HW errors across 3 cards. I experienced this when I originally installed these cards. I had a card that wasn't "tight" on the motherboard and when it was put understress it would HW error like crazy. I would shutdown your machine, reseat it and try again (just food for thought).
member
Activity: 99
Merit: 10
February 02, 2014, 10:07:30 AM
3x Sapphire 7870 GHz edition 205KH/s each total of ~620KH/s (just about WU of 500KH/s).

./vertminer [] --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 16192 -g 1 --intensity 19  --temp-target 75 --gpu-engine 940 --gpu-memclock 1250

I live in New England and have this rig in the basement with a small fan pointed towards it. Things stay right around 55C at 40% fan.

I ran the same settings and got the same results on 1 sapphire 7870 card, but my hardware errors are through the roof. Can you tell me about any errors?
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
February 02, 2014, 09:35:19 AM
http://i.imgur.com/DNpFRuA.png

3 x 7970 --> 3 x 370 Kh/s

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

vertminer --scrypt-vert --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --gpu-threads 2 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-target 75 --gpu-fan 35-95 --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050 --gpu-memclock 1470 --gpu-vddc 1.081

full member
Activity: 159
Merit: 100
February 02, 2014, 03:59:13 AM
3x Sapphire 7870 GHz edition 205KH/s each total of ~620KH/s (just about WU of 500KH/s).

./vertminer [] --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 16192 -g 1 --intensity 19  --temp-target 75 --gpu-engine 940 --gpu-memclock 1250

I live in New England and have this rig in the basement with a small fan pointed towards it. Things stay right around 55C at 40% fan.

why WU is not the same as hashrate? ( I've got similar problrm wu 10% less then hashrate )
full member
Activity: 159
Merit: 100
February 02, 2014, 03:55:46 AM
Is it possible to mine VRT with 4 GB of system RAM?

yes I ve got 4gb works fine at 170kh on r9 270
considering buying more ram
full member
Activity: 194
Merit: 100
February 02, 2014, 03:43:04 AM
Anyone running vertminer 0.5.3 on BAMT?

I got the latest version from GitHub and installed it with these instructions:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4668635

It works, but seems I can't change GPU settings. Not from thecgminer.conf, not from the command line, not from the vertminer. Also, I can't see the card temps at all. The web monitor shows the temps just fine though on http://myip/cgi-bin/status.pl

Even the ./vertminer --help shows only these gpu options, so I suppose the rest are actually missing?
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--gpu-dyninterval Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)
--gpu-platform Select OpenCL platform ID to use for GPU mining (default: -1)
--gpu-threads|-g Number of threads per GPU (1 - 10) (default: -1)
--lookup-gap   Set GPU lookup gap for scrypt mining, comma separated
--intensity|-I Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 21,default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

The only way to change core/mem is to set new defaults in gpu bios and flash the card with that. Which is a bit annoying when searching for the best values.. Undecided

Had this same problem two different times (two weeks apart so I forgot the solution) - be sure to run ./buildit.sh and NOT sudo ./buildit.sh. running as superuser seems to break the Open-GL / ADL stuff from what I can tell (assuming you copied the ADL_SDK .h files into the appropriate folder?)
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
February 02, 2014, 02:00:17 AM
Anyone running vertminer 0.5.3 on BAMT?

I got the latest version from GitHub and installed it with these instructions:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4668635

It works, but seems I can't change GPU settings. Not from thecgminer.conf, not from the command line, not from the vertminer. Also, I can't see the card temps at all. The web monitor shows the temps just fine though on http://myip/cgi-bin/status.pl

Even the ./vertminer --help shows only these gpu options, so I suppose the rest are actually missing?
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--gpu-dyninterval Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)
--gpu-platform Select OpenCL platform ID to use for GPU mining (default: -1)
--gpu-threads|-g Number of threads per GPU (1 - 10) (default: -1)
--lookup-gap   Set GPU lookup gap for scrypt mining, comma separated
--intensity|-I Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 21,default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

The only way to change core/mem is to set new defaults in gpu bios and flash the card with that. Which is a bit annoying when searching for the best values.. Undecided
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
February 01, 2014, 05:42:44 PM
3x Sapphire 7870 GHz edition 205KH/s each total of ~620KH/s (just about WU of 500KH/s).

./vertminer [] --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 16192 -g 1 --intensity 19  --temp-target 75 --gpu-engine 940 --gpu-memclock 1250

I live in New England and have this rig in the basement with a small fan pointed towards it. Things stay right around 55C at 40% fan.
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
February 01, 2014, 05:37:50 PM
Pulled the latest source from github and saw a ~3% jump in hashrate - just a heads up (https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu/commits/master)

I just copied the latest https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu/blob/master/scrypt140124.cl file from that github link and overwrote the scrypt140121.cl in the vertminer.0.5.2 folder.

Deleted the matching .bin file so the miner compiles a new bin and now getting 367khs now on my R9280xs, up from the 360khs using the scrypt140121.cl that came with Vertminer 0.5.2

Can someone compile a new Windows version from that github so we can use vertminer 0.5.3?
on my 280x hashrate decreases from 340 to 290 with the new .cl file from github.

Strange... both my 4 x R9280x rigs are up from360 to 367-368 after updating that cl file.

Anyone else tried it and any success?
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
February 01, 2014, 05:25:50 PM
my R9 290 Hynix(475 khash) & Elpida(450 khash) settings, I have 8gb of system memory. 13.12WHQL drivers with newest AMD SDK, Windows 8.1 x64 pro.

--Thread-concurrency 24550
-I 20
--gpu-engine 1040/1000
--gpu-memory 1500/1500
 
Powertune: 50% (in AB)
undrevolt -12 mV (although shouldnt have anything to do with hashrate.)


Vkeev6vHsYm5HtZV4EXBq7d7oiagPUMSAk

cheers Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
February 01, 2014, 05:24:08 PM
Pulled the latest source from github and saw a ~3% jump in hashrate - just a heads up (https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu/commits/master)

I just copied the latest https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu/blob/master/scrypt140124.cl file from that github link and overwrote the scrypt140121.cl in the vertminer.0.5.2 folder.

Deleted the matching .bin file so the miner compiles a new bin and now getting 367khs now on my R9280xs, up from the 360khs using the scrypt140121.cl that came with Vertminer 0.5.2

Can someone compile a new Windows version from that github so we can use vertminer 0.5.3?
on my 280x hashrate decreases from 340 to 290 with the new .cl file from github.
sr. member
Activity: 276
Merit: 250
February 01, 2014, 05:12:07 PM
Is it possible to mine VRT with 4 GB of system RAM?
member
Activity: 99
Merit: 10
February 01, 2014, 03:46:56 PM
Has anyone managed to find a setup for the 7850 that will not give HW Errors above -I 10 ?

I've tried a number of the setup's on here for the 7850/r9 270 and they all come out with the same results, anything I 11 or above gives hw errors, i10 and under doesn't, although at i10 it's hash rate is at 70kh, which is 10kh slower then my old 6770!


My Powercooler 7850 is getting 170 kh/s at only 950 clock and 750 mem.
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o xxx -u xxx -p xxx -I 12 -w 256 -g 2 -v 1 --thread-concurrency 4000 --lookup-gap 2
Pages:
Jump to: