Pages:
Author

Topic: VanitySearch (Yet another address prefix finder) - page 6. (Read 31225 times)

legendary
Activity: 2394
Merit: 5531
Self-proclaimed Genius
why do i occasionally get this error after running the program for few hours?
Since it run for hours, look for hardware or software issues specially the GPU and its driver.
You're basically straining the GPU's processes for hours so hardware issues that's not occurring at idle may show symptoms.
If it's Vanitysearch, you should get errors right off the bat.

Is there any additional command line options that you've added?
hero member
Activity: 1423
Merit: 504
why do i occasionally get this error after running the program for few hours?


Start Sun Jan  1 00:21:00 2023
Base Key: C6AB3FFC716A4DF46849D6887E7327EE78DE482B370BB5AF58DD815F5A449504
Number of CPU thread: 0
GPU: GPU #0 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (6x128 cores) Grid(48x128)
[106.21 Mkey/s][GPU 106.21 Mkey/s][Total 2^40.40][Prob 0.0%][50% in 3.02455e+32y][Found 0]  GPUEngine: Launch: unknown error


What version are of VS you running?
What version of cuda?
It's a Cuda error.
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
why do i occasionally get this error after running the program for few hours?


Start Sun Jan  1 00:21:00 2023
Base Key: C6AB3FFC716A4DF46849D6887E7327EE78DE482B370BB5AF58DD815F5A449504
Number of CPU thread: 0
GPU: GPU #0 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (6x128 cores) Grid(48x128)
[106.21 Mkey/s][GPU 106.21 Mkey/s][Total 2^40.40][Prob 0.0%][50% in 3.02455e+32y][Found 0]  GPUEngine: Launch: unknown error
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
Thank you.
member
Activity: 107
Merit: 61
what does it need to make the RTX 4090 compatible with tools like VanitySearch, BitCrack, etc... ? Is this something we can fix ourselves by just adding a particular ccap file into the sources of the program so it can compile? Or does it need something on CUDA side? Any clues ?
It's the compiler that doesn't support the 8.9 compute capability, not the program. Just upgrade CUDA toolkit to version 11.8 or newer.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
Which card is faster in computing RTX 2060 Super 8GB or RTX 3060 12GB?

RTX 3060 is slightly better

VanitySearch seems to not support the latest Nvidia RTX 4090 GPU. This list says it has CCAP 8.9 and I did edit Makefile in Vanitysearch accordingly. Unfortunately the make process fails with
Quote
8.9 unsupported compute capability

is there any known fix to this how we can have run VanitySearch with the 8.9 CCAP ?


what does it need to make the RTX 4090 compatible with tools like VanitySearch, BitCrack, etc... ? Is this something we can fix ourselves by just adding a particular ccap file into the sources of the program so it can compile? Or does it need something on CUDA side? Any clues ?
member
Activity: 173
Merit: 12
Which card is faster in computing RTX 2060 Super 8GB or RTX 3060 12GB?
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
VanitySearch seems to not support the latest Nvidia RTX 4090 GPU. This list says it has CCAP 8.9 and I did edit Makefile in Vanitysearch accordingly. Unfortunately the make process fails with
Quote
8.9 unsupported compute capability

is there any known fix to this how we can have run VanitySearch with the 8.9 CCAP ?
legendary
Activity: 2856
Merit: 7410
Crypto Swap Exchange
VanitySearch may not compute a good gridsize for your GPU, so make several tries using -g options in order to find best performances.

What is the best and most efficient way to determine and use the optimum gridsize for a GPU?

The author was asked similar question in past and he only recommend to try different number[1]. Personally i'd recommend you to see benchmark list created by DaveF[2] as reference. Of course there are general guide to choose total block/grid on CUDA[3-4], but i've no idea whether it can be applied to VanitySearch's gridsize.

[1] https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.54144836
[2] https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.50823897
[3] https://stackoverflow.com/a/9986748
[4] http://selkie.macalester.edu/csinparallel/modules/CUDAArchitecture/build/html/2-Findings/Findings.html
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
VanitySearch may not compute a good gridsize for your GPU, so make several tries using -g options in order to find best performances.

What is the best and most efficient way to determine and use the optimum gridsize for a GPU?
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
You're right. I thought the most difficult work is the sha256 part. I imagined running the sha256 calcs on a ASIC miner and perform the rest through GPU to save time and thus increase speed.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
Sorry if this seems like a dumb question. But wouldn't it be more effective and much more performant to use an ASIC miner for the computational tasks of VanitySearch instead of a modern GPU? My GPU does 1,750 MKeys/sec and in comparison to that a GekkoScience Compac F USBminer does about 300 GHashes per second. Is there possibly a VanitySearch version that uses such a Compac F for the calculation and thus works much faster, any clues ?
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
Workaround:

Instead of using g++-11 compiler you should install and use g++-9 and re-compile from scratch. There's obviously going something wrong when using version 11. But Version9 works!!!

I'm pretty sure version 11 or perhaps 10 introduced some default optimization flag which breaks the checksum computation algorithm for the GPU code. Might want to look into compiling with -g or -O0.


have you python version of group addition ? i tryed to understund how VanitySearch group addition works but c+ is hard to me
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 6660
bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org
Workaround:

Instead of using g++-11 compiler you should install and use g++-9 and re-compile from scratch. There's obviously going something wrong when using version 11. But Version9 works!!!

I'm pretty sure version 11 or perhaps 10 introduced some default optimization flag which breaks the checksum computation algorithm for the GPU code. Might want to look into compiling with -g or -O0.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
Workaround:

Instead of using g++-11 compiler you should install and use g++-9 and re-compile from scratch. There's obviously going something wrong when using version 11. But Version9 works!!!

Code:
$ ./VanitySearch -check
Quote
$ ./VanitySearch -check
GetBase10() Results OK
Add() Results OK : 400.000 MegaAdd/sec
Mult() Results OK : 48.077 MegaMult/sec
Div() Results OK : 15.152 MegaDiv/sec
R1=1000003D1
R2=1000007A2000E90A1
Field characteristic size: 256bits
ModInv()/ModExp() Results OK
ModInv() Edge cases Results OK
.Avg = 6.13
ModInv() Results OK : 929.515 KiloInv/sec
ModInv() cycles : 2685.26
ModSqrt() Results OK !
IntGroup.ModInv() Results OK : 12.757 MegaInv/sec
ModMulK1() Results OK : 47.549 MegaMult/sec
ModSquareK1() Results OK : 53.285 MegaSqr/sec
ModInv() Cost : 114.7 S
ModMulK1order() Results OK : 8.427 MegaMult/sec
Check Generator :OK
Check Double :OK
Check Add :OK
Check GenKey :OK
Adress : 15t3Nt1zyMETkHbjJTTshxLnqPzQvAtdCe OK!
Adress : 1BoatSLRHtKNngkdXEeobR76b53LETtpyT OK!
Adress : 1Test6BNjSJC5qwYXsjwKVLvz7DpfLehy OK!
Adress : 16S5PAsGZ8VFM1CRGGLqm37XHrp46f6CTn OK!
Adress : 1Tst2RwMxZn9cYY5mQhCdJic3JJrK7Fq7 OK!
Adress : 3CyQYcByvcWK8BkYJabBS82yDLNWt6rWSx OK!
Adress : 31to1KQe67YjoDfYnwFJThsGeQcFhVDM5Q OK!
Adress : bc1q6tqytpg06uhmtnhn9s4f35gkt8yya5a24dptmn OK!
Check Calc PubKey (full) 1ViViGLEawN27xRzGrEhhYPQrZiTKvKLo :OK
Check Calc PubKey (even) 385cR5DM96n1HvBDMzLHPYcw89fZAXULJP:OK
Check Calc PubKey (odd) 18aPiLmTow7Xgu96msrDYvSSWweCvB9oBA:OK
GPU: GPU #0 NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU (40x128 cores) Grid(320x128)
Seed: 1663082517
1.553 GigaKey/sec
ComputeKeys() found 7711 items , CPU check...
^C

and the calculated pub addresses are correct now. I'm happy so far  Cool
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
No, the second computer I used is something completely different. But I want to emphasize that I compiled with a simple
Code:
make
and thus no GPU support. The test I run after the successful compile is just
Code:
./VanitySearch -check
again, no GPU is in use here.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
Well, I did some more checks and troubleshooting and have found maybe some valuable information that may leed finding the culprit.

What I simply did: downloading a specific release version, unzip and then just run "make" so it won't get compiled with gpu support. Then I execute "./VanitySearch -check" to see if it works or fails.

I started from latest release 1.19 and went down step by step. Release version 1.13 is the one that works without errors. Everything later than 1.13 will throw an error on my computer.

I continued playing around with 1.13, mean I first reverted everything back
Code:
make clean

then modified the Makefile and replaced lines 33-36 to fit to my system
Quote
CXX        = g++
CUDA       = /usr/local/cuda-11.7
CXXCUDA    = /usr/bin/g++-11
NVCC       = $(CUDA)/bin/nvcc

and the compiled again with GPU support. Please note that you need to specify the ccap variable name in lower-case, else it won't work. This was corrected in later version in future.

Code:
make gpu=1 ccap=86 all

Code:
./VanitySearch -check
Quote
GetBase10() Results OK
Add() Results OK : 1.250 GigaAdd/sec
Mult() Results OK : 60.606 MegaMult/sec
Div() Results OK : 8.000 MegaDiv/sec
ModInv()/ModExp() Results OK
ModInv() Results OK : 430.389 KiloInv/sec
IntGroup.ModInv() Results OK : 14.674 MegaInv/sec
ModMulK1() Results OK : 21.432 MegaMult/sec
ModSquareK1() Results OK : 20.982 MegaMult/sec
ModMulK1order() Results OK : 9.701 MegaMult/sec
ModSqrt() Results OK !
Check Generator :OK
Check Double :OK
Check Add :OK
Check GenKey :OK
Adress : 15t3Nt1zyMETkHbjJTTshxLnqPzQvAtdCe OK!
Adress : 1BoatSLRHtKNngkdXEeobR76b53LETtpyT OK!
Adress : 1Test6BNjSJC5qwYXsjwKVLvz7DpfLehy OK!
Adress : 16S5PAsGZ8VFM1CRGGLqm37XHrp46f6CTn OK!
Adress : 1Tst2RwMxZn9cYY5mQhCdJic3JJrK7Fq7 OK!
Adress : 3CyQYcByvcWK8BkYJabBS82yDLNWt6rWSx OK!
Adress : 31to1KQe67YjoDfYnwFJThsGeQcFhVDM5Q OK!
Adress : bc1q6tqytpg06uhmtnhn9s4f35gkt8yya5a24dptmn OK!
Check Calc PubKey (full) 1ViViGLEawN27xRzGrEhhYPQrZiTKvKLo :OK
Check Calc PubKey (even) 1Gp7rQ4GdooysEAEJAS2o4Ktjvf1tZCihp:OK
Check Calc PubKey (odd) 18aPiLmTow7Xgu96msrDYvSSWweCvB9oBA:OK
GPU: GPU #0 NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU (40x0 cores) Grid(320x128)
Seed: 63852
1.488 GigaKey/sec
ComputeKeys() found 7712 items , CPU check...
^C

Then I ran a real test and the results were all correct. Works!

Summary so far: Whatever change were made after 1.13 obviously leads to the mentioned error.. Anyone is welcome to test and try to reproduce. Maybe Jean_Luc can test and proof and fix this ?

EDIT: On a different computer I download the latest master 1.19 version, unzipped, executed "make && ./VanitySearch -check" and it worked like a charm. That means on another computer there's no issue. I am not sure what the error is related to. Any hints? Jean_Luc, do you happen to be there and give us some hints?
legendary
Activity: 2394
Merit: 5531
Self-proclaimed Genius
without providing the argument to compile with GPU capabilities. -snip-
it still throws errors. Tried the release and master branch. IMHO the bug is not in the GPU/Cuda part but somewhere else ?
I think you should start with the compiler or other requirement, see if you satisfied the required versions, specially gcc since
you already tried the release which should work without an issue, also compiled without CUDA.

Other that that, I have no other comment since I can't reproduce it.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 731
Bitcoin g33k
No luck here. I did

Code:
make clean && make all

without providing the argument to compile with GPU capabilities. But when I run

Code:
./VanitySearch -check

it still throws errors. Tried the release and master branch. IMHO the bug is not in the GPU/Cuda part but somewhere else ?
legendary
Activity: 2394
Merit: 5531
Self-proclaimed Genius
Just tried this. No luck! I also tried using all the available codes for my GPU which I got with
-snip-
You also tried it without a -gpu parameter and it still produced an invalid WIF PrvKey and address...
Anyways, have you tried to compile the source code from vanitysearch's releases instead of the master branch?

I think the best course of action is to support the existing issue in GitHub by adding more info.
The developer may need it to fix the issue.
Pages:
Jump to: