Pages:
Author

Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released! - page 79. (Read 397616 times)

hero member
Activity: 812
Merit: 1000
Can anyone recommend another good VPS provider? I max out my droplets at DO...

What are you running at DO ? With the 10$ droplets I get 600pps (sievesize=1M, sieve%age=8) which will not pay for itself mining.
I think vps mining was good last weeks but not anymore. Maybe amazon EC2 with high cpu option but those cost quite a lot !

I think no one will share what they use...many say private vps provider and that's about it, so they can keep getting 40 blocks per day.
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
I'm running 20 8-cores, or about 100K PPS.
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Can anyone recommend another good VPS provider? I max out my droplets at DO...

What are you running at DO ? With the 10$ droplets I get 600pps (sievesize=1M, sieve%age=8) which will not pay for itself mining.
I think vps mining was good last weeks but not anymore. Maybe amazon EC2 with high cpu option but those cost quite a lot !
hero member
Activity: 874
Merit: 1000
In case you're wondering... here's the code to update to HP6

UPDATE TO HP6
primecoind stop
wget -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2 "http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp6/primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2"
tar -xvjf primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2
rm -rf ~/primecoin
mv primecoin-0.1.1-hp6 primecoin
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-

sudo rm -rf /usr/local/bin/primecoind
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.

primecoind --daemon
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo & primecoind listaccounts'
not yet on git Sad

git clone https://bitbucket.org/mikaelh/primecoin-hp

Is HP6
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
Can anyone recommend another good VPS provider? I max out my droplets at DO...

Or maybe a solid dedicated server?
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
Can anyone recommend another good VPS provider? I max out my droplets at DO...
legendary
Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008
/dev/null
In case you're wondering... here's the code to update to HP6

UPDATE TO HP6
primecoind stop
wget -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2 "http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp6/primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2"
tar -xvjf primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2
rm -rf ~/primecoin
mv primecoin-0.1.1-hp6 primecoin
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-

sudo rm -rf /usr/local/bin/primecoind
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.

primecoind --daemon
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo & primecoind listaccounts'
not yet on git Sad
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
In case you're wondering... here's the code to update to HP6

UPDATE TO HP6
primecoind stop
wget -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2 "http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp6/primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2"
tar -xvjf primecoin-0.1.1-hp6.tar.bz2
rm -rf ~/primecoin
mv primecoin-0.1.1-hp6 primecoin
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-

sudo rm -rf /usr/local/bin/primecoind
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.

killall primecoind
cd
./run-primecoind
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo & primecoind listaccounts'
sr. member
Activity: 363
Merit: 250
sievepercentage=1
sievesize=1000000

with sievepercentage=1,  I got biggest PPS and more chainspermin. Is it good?

Good question.. can anyone attest to this?

Increased PPS 1K-2K. Did not increase CPM for me (i7 860 @ 3.22 quad). 0 blocks 12 hrs.

Edit : Tried on testnet, it was the worst results I've seen yet. 1 block in 5 min, gave up.

Other notes (updating) ...
sieve% above 15 crashes client on testnet as soon as mining starts.

SS : 4000000 S% : 15% = 3 BPM
SS : 4000000 S% : 14% = 40 CPM, 6600 PPS, 3+ BPM  <-- sweet spot so far. Ended up beating best HP5 setting by a little after 10 min. Does not work on mainnet for me.
SS : 4000000 S% : 13% = 2.3 BPM
SS : 4000000 S% : 11% = 37 CPM, 6800 PPS, 2.6 BPM
SS : 2000000 S% : 14% = 36 CPM, 7284 PPS, 2.0 BPM  Works on mainnet @ 1849 PPS, 12 CPM (highest I've seen so far).
SS : 2200000 S% : 14% = 44 CPM, 7079 PPS, 2.1 BPM  Works on mainnet @ 1835, 10 CPM (highest so far)

Over a longer period of time the above settings may equal out. 15% gave block spurts of 4-6 @ a time, while 14% gave steady blocks over entire time and "appeared" faster due to this lack of stalls between blocks.

Update : Once again settings that work fine on testnet shut down the client immediately upon mining.  It's the 4M setting which works fine for HP5. I'm going to try to find the max sievesize for my i7 again since it appears to be lower for HP6 than HP5 (is this due to the higher difficulty or difference in builds?). Update 2 : The highest sievesize I can get on mainnet (i7 quad) is 2200000.

Observation : Higher sievesize settings always increased blocks per minute in HP5 & HP6. Adjusting sieve% also affected BPM's and it has sweet spots as you can see above. I recommend finding the highest sievesize first (that will work on  mainnet for you), then adjust sieve% for best results (on testnet) to find your sweet spot. Anything above 2200000 would shut the client down immediately in HP6 (for my i7 quad).

Since it appears (to me at least) that a larger sievesize increases BPM's, I will mention that HP3 gave 2 BPM (in 10 min runs) on testnet with SS : 6553600 and this will work on mainnet. However, I'm not positive that large of a sievesize was even supported in HP3 and it may be going to a default setting. However, with that in mind I set the sievesize to the default and results were much worse.
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
my hp5 win 8 64 qt clients were crashing on open (since diff 9 maybe) when I upgraded to hp6 it would still crash right away, but I had sievesize at 4000000 in conf; removed that (or set to 1M) and it runs and mines just fine on all machines.  would like to know good settings.

Nothing found since hp6, and using 2 i7 laptops running ~4kpps (300-840 5-chains/h) each on same wallet

Lately it's just trickle, like one every other day if lucky:

2013-07-20T23:46:31   Mined   12.34
2013-07-20T08:33:30   Mined   12.35
2013-07-18T04:36:15   Mined   12.52
2013-07-16T10:59:58   Mined   12.54
2013-07-15T21:51:30   Mined   12.62
2013-07-15T21:46:54   Mined   12.62
2013-07-15T19:59:33   Mined   12.65
2013-07-15T05:53:27   Mined   12.80
2013-07-14T11:52:08   Mined   13.47
2013-07-14T07:52:02   Mined   14.08
2013-07-14T00:49:44   Mined   15.63

sr. member
Activity: 321
Merit: 250
-hp6 released!

[...]
 This release attempts to fix the random crash while mining. I'm not sure if it's actually fixed because I have heard both positive and negative reports. The crash is more likely with high number of cores. 16 and 32 core machines are suffering the most.
[...]

As far as as I can say it runs better, but I've had one crash on Windows 7 64-Bit (Phenom 2 X4 955 -> 4 cores):
Code:
Title: MinGW Runtime Assertion
Assertion failed!
Program:
C:\Progam Files\primecoin-0.1.1-hp6-win64\primecoin-qt.exe
File: src/checkqueue.h, Line 141

Expression: pqueue -> nTotal == pqueue -> nIdle
I can add a screenshot, but I thought text that can be searched for by other users might be needful Wink
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000
How much time it takes to found a block?
I just using this primecoin-hp on my i7 with the mining speed about 4000-5000 pps for couple of days and still nothing...
Is it how it should be?
I've been consistently finding blocks once per day with my Core 2 Quad 9400 OC'ed to 3.5GHz on the second windows client.  My pps is usually around 2500, so I'm either very lucky or something is wrong on your end.  

your very lucky:

primespersec: 21575
chainspermin: 56
immature: 12.34  (about 12 hours ago)


Or, we could just have things set up incorrectly.

Not likely...  i have found many blocks, but less then one a day for the last 4 days.  it is just getting that much more difficult!

edit:  ( I turn the rigs down to about 7-8k during the heat of the day )
legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1022
is a gpu miner out?

any word?
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
How much time it takes to found a block?
I just using this primecoin-hp on my i7 with the mining speed about 4000-5000 pps for couple of days and still nothing...
Is it how it should be?
I've been consistently finding blocks once per day with my Core 2 Quad 9400 OC'ed to 3.5GHz on the second windows client.  My pps is usually around 2500, so I'm either very lucky or something is wrong on your end. 

your very lucky:

primespersec: 21575
chainspermin: 56
immature: 12.34  (about 12 hours ago)


Or, we could just have things set up incorrectly.
hero member
Activity: 874
Merit: 1000
2M sievesize mandatory now?
full member
Activity: 122
Merit: 100
It's looking like mining is getting significantly less profitable without a gpu miner.

says the guy with 400-500k pps. lulz

It's not free to run that many pps. This morning it was looking like I might not beat my costs by that much. I know how it looks though Wink
member
Activity: 182
Merit: 10
My pps went down after I changed the sievesize from 1M to 2M.  Should I be worried, or is this "normal"?

it's normal !

Question. Any way to change sieve % in Debug console (Windows QT)?
full member
Activity: 122
Merit: 100
/primecoin-hp/src# primecoind stop
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)


Your primecoin daemon was started with a different password in the config file. Just kill it off by typing:
Code:
killall primecoind

Same thing over, and over again. I have killed it, and hes coming back.

If you followed Mikaelh's build instructions then you have a script running that restarts primecoind when you kill it. You need to kill the run-primecoin script first then primecoind.
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 255
/primecoin-hp/src# primecoind stop
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)


Your primecoin daemon was started with a different password in the config file. Just kill it off by typing:
Code:
killall primecoind

Same thing over, and over again. I have killed it, and hes coming back.

Code:
ps aux | grep *.sh

Find the script that is restarting it and kill it using "kill pid".
sr. member
Activity: 294
Merit: 250
/primecoin-hp/src# primecoind stop
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)


Your primecoin daemon was started with a different password in the config file. Just kill it off by typing:
Code:
killall primecoind

Same thing over, and over again. I have killed it, and hes coming back.
Pages:
Jump to: