Author

Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX] - page 512. (Read 3426976 times)

legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000
Guys, I really want to give ccminer a try but still hit a wall when compiling. I am strictly Linux. Don't do windoze. Most of my machines run Xubuntu 13.10. Some 12.04. Trying to compile on one with 13.10. I've seen where we should use CUDA 5.5 but the version in the repos is 5.0.14 I believe. I've tried compiling from the downloaded zip source and building directly from GIT. The result is the same regardless. It seems I get almost all the way there then...

Code:
Running pass 'Live Variable Analysis' on function '@_Z24myriadgroestl_gpu_sha256Pj'
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Are these guides what I need to get past this hurdle?
http://askubuntu.com/questions/380609/anyone-has-successfully-installed-cuda-5-5-on-ubuntu-13-10-64-bit
http://n00bsys0p.co.uk/blog/2014/01/23/nvidia-cuda-55ubuntu-1310-saucy-salamander

If not, can you point me to information that will?

The CUDA toolkit 5.5 (or 6.0) can be downloaded from nVidia

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-55-archive
https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads

versions for older Ubuntu versions often deploy just fine on newer releases.
They have .deb packages as well as self-installing packages with .sh extension.

getting newer nVidia drivers like the nvidia-331 driver package is also generally
not a problem. On older Ubuntu releases it may require adding the x-swat or
xorg-edgers PPA's before sudo apt-get install nvidia-331 works

Christian


Hey Christian,

I am really trying to learn to compile but have a question.

When clicking on the ccminer.sln it brings up the Microsoft Visual Studio Express for Windows Phone. Is this the correct progarm to compile with or is there a different version that I have to down load and use? The reason I ask is everytime I try and run that program I get a "(.vcxproj) is not supported by this version or applicatiom".

I am trying to do this on Windows 7 64bit version.

sr. member
Activity: 346
Merit: 250
Guys, I really want to give ccminer a try but still hit a wall when compiling. I am strictly Linux. Don't do windoze. Most of my machines run Xubuntu 13.10. Some 12.04. Trying to compile on one with 13.10. I've seen where we should use CUDA 5.5 but the version in the repos is 5.0.14 I believe. I've tried compiling from the downloaded zip source and building directly from GIT. The result is the same regardless. It seems I get almost all the way there then...

Code:
Running pass 'Live Variable Analysis' on function '@_Z24myriadgroestl_gpu_sha256Pj'
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Are these guides what I need to get past this hurdle?
http://askubuntu.com/questions/380609/anyone-has-successfully-installed-cuda-5-5-on-ubuntu-13-10-64-bit
http://n00bsys0p.co.uk/blog/2014/01/23/nvidia-cuda-55ubuntu-1310-saucy-salamander

If not, can you point me to information that will?

The CUDA toolkit 5.5 (or 6.0) can be downloaded from nVidia

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-55-archive
https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads

versions for older Ubuntu versions often deploy just fine on newer releases.
They have .deb packages as well as self-installing packages with .sh extension.

getting newer nVidia drivers like the nvidia-331 driver package is also generally
not a problem. On older Ubuntu releases it may require adding the x-swat or
xorg-edgers PPA's before sudo apt-get install nvidia-331 works

Christian

Highest version in the repos for nvidia driver is 319. I had trouble with the 331 driver as well. Kept getting "please exit X server". When I did a sudo service lightdm stop it put me at a BlkSOD. I'll look up the PPA later and give that a try. Will post results here. Thanks!
member
Activity: 76
Merit: 12
Dotc,

Thanks for all those tips! Smiley

Maybe that's why my 750ti has always been really stable.  On my Win 7 machine I don't have a screen saver on, but I do have it turn off the display after 45 min.

Try changing your settings so Windows never turns the display off or goes to screen saver and then just turn the display off manually.  I've fixed a similar issue by doing that before.

sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
I don't get it. Does running on Linux improve performance? I thought since Nvidia caters to windows users,which form a majority of it's customers,they have drivers that are more efficient on windows than on any other platform. Or is performance the same whichever platform is used?
hero member
Activity: 756
Merit: 502
Guys, I really want to give ccminer a try but still hit a wall when compiling. I am strictly Linux. Don't do windoze. Most of my machines run Xubuntu 13.10. Some 12.04. Trying to compile on one with 13.10. I've seen where we should use CUDA 5.5 but the version in the repos is 5.0.14 I believe. I've tried compiling from the downloaded zip source and building directly from GIT. The result is the same regardless. It seems I get almost all the way there then...

Code:
Running pass 'Live Variable Analysis' on function '@_Z24myriadgroestl_gpu_sha256Pj'
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Are these guides what I need to get past this hurdle?
http://askubuntu.com/questions/380609/anyone-has-successfully-installed-cuda-5-5-on-ubuntu-13-10-64-bit
http://n00bsys0p.co.uk/blog/2014/01/23/nvidia-cuda-55ubuntu-1310-saucy-salamander

If not, can you point me to information that will?

The CUDA toolkit 5.5 (or 6.0) can be downloaded from nVidia

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-55-archive
https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads

versions for older Ubuntu versions often deploy just fine on newer releases.
They have .deb packages as well as self-installing packages with .sh extension.

getting newer nVidia drivers like the nvidia-331 driver package is also generally
not a problem. On older Ubuntu releases it may require adding the x-swat or
xorg-edgers PPA's before sudo apt-get install nvidia-331 works

Christian
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050
wouldn't mine with anything having a passive cooler  Undecided
sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
Mining comparison would depwnd what your mining.

As for the linux issue, you need to use cuda 5.5 from their website. Will most likely be the stable release for ubuntu 12.04
legendary
Activity: 1151
Merit: 1001
Is there anywhere a speed comparison in mining between 750Ti and 260X ?
I want to buy a low profile card which can be used for gaming (mainly WoT) and mining.
Found KFA2 750Ti and XFX 260X (passive cooler, so it will need additional fan for mining)

Prices are almost equal.. so I wonder which one is faster.
sr. member
Activity: 346
Merit: 250
Guys, I really want to give ccminer a try but still hit a wall when compiling. I am strictly Linux. Don't do windoze. Most of my machines run Xubuntu 13.10. Some 12.04. Trying to compile on one with 13.10. I've seen where we should use CUDA 5.5 but the version in the repos is 5.0.14 I believe. I've tried compiling from the downloaded zip source and building directly from GIT. The result is the same regardless. It seems I get almost all the way there then...

Code:
Running pass 'Live Variable Analysis' on function '@_Z24myriadgroestl_gpu_sha256Pj'
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Are these guides what I need to get past this hurdle?
http://askubuntu.com/questions/380609/anyone-has-successfully-installed-cuda-5-5-on-ubuntu-13-10-64-bit
http://n00bsys0p.co.uk/blog/2014/01/23/nvidia-cuda-55ubuntu-1310-saucy-salamander

If not, can you point me to information that will?
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050
http://alienbabeltech.com/main/using-maxwells-gtx-750-ti-dedicated-physx-card/4/
It should give an improvement over not using it Wink But your game needs to support PhysX (not just physics Tongue ) in order for this to work.
And I guess a PCIe riser wouldn't help either Tongue
well ghost support physX but it definitely doesn't support physics... (trajectory of projectile not aligned with gun barrels   Grin)
may-be it got corrected, I didn't play since quite some time now...
sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
the 750Ti by itself directly into the board i think would perform great in physx. nvidia control panel picks it as the best device over my 780
but over the risers it struggles a little on physx intense games, while mining that is. when i'm not mining it runs perfect but i do have to slightly lower the physx level in some games
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 500
http://alienbabeltech.com/main/using-maxwells-gtx-750-ti-dedicated-physx-card/4/
It should give an improvement over not using it Wink But your game needs to support PhysX (not just physics Tongue ) in order for this to work.
And I guess a PCIe riser wouldn't help either Tongue
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050
We as a community should really learn how to compile, distributing that work-load.

As of now we, the Windows users, rely on Christian, bigjme and a few mores effort and time for a greatly appriciated but, from what I understand, a relatively easy task. bigjme even wrote a tutorial for compilation, if I remember correctly? Anyway, I will try to learn it this weekend

Yep i wrote a tutorial. Its basic and simple. But not too hard to follow



EDIT

so a few of you may remember a while back when i mentioned i was having issues gaming on my 780 while mining on my 750Ti's
the issue went away when i turned off mining but while it was on i had huge amounts of lag even in some older games. i found that this was down to physx being turned on.... an issue which seemed strange to me.

So being me i was lookin through the nvidia control panel just and decided to go into the Physx tab, and guess what i found? my system had set one of my 750Ti's as my default physx device! meaning while i mined the card struggled its ass off. and while i wasn't the card was able to render physx all be it slowly over the x1 usb riser.

so if anyone else has this issue where their mining on a different display to their miners, and you notice the issue in games, check those settings Wink
lol, that's good I wanted to ask you if using phyx on the 750ti was giving improvement in game (but I was assuming you wouldn't try  Grin)
sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
We as a community should really learn how to compile, distributing that work-load.

As of now we, the Windows users, rely on Christian, bigjme and a few mores effort and time for a greatly appriciated but, from what I understand, a relatively easy task. bigjme even wrote a tutorial for compilation, if I remember correctly? Anyway, I will try to learn it this weekend

Yep i wrote a tutorial. Its basic and simple. But not too hard to follow



EDIT

so a few of you may remember a while back when i mentioned i was having issues gaming on my 780 while mining on my 750Ti's
the issue went away when i turned off mining but while it was on i had huge amounts of lag even in some older games. i found that this was down to physx being turned on.... an issue which seemed strange to me.

So being me i was lookin through the nvidia control panel just and decided to go into the Physx tab, and guess what i found? my system had set one of my 750Ti's as my default physx device! meaning while i mined the card struggled its ass off. and while i wasn't the card was able to render physx all be it slowly over the x1 usb riser.

so if anyone else has this issue where their mining on a different display to their miners, and you notice the issue in games, check those settings Wink
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 250
I see more problems with this coin.

a) the lack of chat rooms, e.g. to separate different languages and topics

b) what's preventing me from setting up 1000 wallets, distributing the coins to all wallet and spamming the whole room with advertising from each individual wallet?

c) lack of private messages

d) newest messages appear on top - why isn't the design more like any other instant messaging or chat app ?


Yeah, fair critique - lets see if the dev (or a team working with him) can improve things and handle some of these issues. As of now, I would not mine it even if I could (binary).

I'll stick to JPC, although I the most unlucky guy mining it. On the pool I am on, I have found so many blocks that I would have more coins solo-mining it Wink
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 250
I believe there is no new build, just source updated for nist5?

this was a 30 minute hack, so that's just a source code update.

We as a community should really learn how to compile, distributing that work-load.

As of now we, the Windows users, rely on Christian, bigjme and a few mores effort and time for a greatly appriciated but, from what I understand, a relatively easy task. bigjme even wrote a tutorial for compilation, if I remember correctly? Anyway, I will try to learn it this weekend
hero member
Activity: 756
Merit: 502
I see more problems with this coin.

a) the lack of chat rooms, e.g. to separate different languages and topics

b) what's preventing me from setting up 1000 wallets, distributing the mined coins to all wallet and spamming the whole room with advertising from each individual wallet?

c) lack of private messages

d) newest messages appear on top - why isn't the design more like any other instant messaging or chat app ?
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 250
there is a new algo NIST

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/anntac-talkcoin-official-thread-573998

from the post:  Algorithms: NIST5: BLAKE - Grøstl - JH - Keccak - Skein

and NIST5 is in ccMiner github version (no version number bump)

Unlike quarkCoin, there is probably not much of an nVidia advantage here because they've removed the divergence from Quark, and also the BMW algorithm.

If you really need to talk, then this coin is for you.

use -a nist5

this is very much untested. I will be solo'ing talkcoin for a while... allright. Works.

Code:
[2014-05-08 09:50:02] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 31014 khash/s (yay!!!)

Maturing of blocks takes >1000 blocks. Meh. Will be a while before I can start to jabber.

Christian



Damn, you are fast! Great work as usual Smiley Some nice ideas in the coin too, but the lack of encryption of the chat messages is a real flaw and should be integrated.
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
there is a new algo NIST

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/anntac-talkcoin-official-thread-573998

from the post:  Algorithms: NIST5: BLAKE - Grøstl - JH - Keccak - Skein

and NIST5 is in ccMiner github version (no version number bump)

Unlike quarkCoin, there is probably not much of an nVidia advantage here because they've removed the divergence from Quark, and also the BMW algorithm.

If you really need to talk, then this coin is for you.

use -a nist5

this is very much untested. I will be solo'ing talkcoin for a while... allright. Works.

Code:
[2014-05-08 09:50:02] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 31014 khash/s (yay!!!)

Maturing of blocks takes >1000 blocks. Meh. Will be a while before I can start to jabber.

Christian


i guest i will continue mining qb till tomorow...i never compile before and im to tired to learn it now so will wait for compile version
hero member
Activity: 756
Merit: 502
I believe there is no new build, just source updated for nist5?

this was a 30 minute hack, so that's just a source code update.
Jump to: