Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN] Elacoin | Released | Fair Elastic Scrypt Mining | No Premine - page 79. (Read 133939 times)

Activity: 168
Merit: 100
I think it's great that you think that it's not possible to hide trojans/keyloggers etc. in source code.
What makes you think I think so? It's 3 commits, not a rocket science to get into.
https://github.com/elacoin/elacoin/commits/master
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1052
May the force bit with you.
I'm not going to have to compile it for windows myself, am I? Because I'm not a computer programmer, I don't know how...

Hopefully a trusted member could post a binary. But even then...
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
I think the point people are making is that he could make all code/binaries open for code review etc. with or without testnet-genesis block if he wanted to. The more I think about it, the more it seems like a (fairly smart) scam. Having a set release time would guarantee 100s if not 1000s of downloads before anyone have peer-reviewed the code and should the code contain intelligently written wallet stealers or/and keyloggers/trojans chances are he would make out like a bandit in just a few minutes.
Source code is already on github. It will be a few changes prior to launch, and anyone can review.
On the other hand, windows-kids can't into programming and always will "double click the exe's"  Smiley

I think it's great that you think that it's not possible to hide trojans/keyloggers etc. in source code.

As long as they do a fork of the Litecoin code on github looking over the code is easy with diff compare. Anything malicious would stick out like a sore thumb.
Activity: 96
Merit: 10
Have people compiled this without any problems?  https://github.com/elacoin/elacoin

It compiles and creates the client but when I start it crashes/closes instantly.  I get these warnings during compiling but it finishes seemingly ok.