Author

Topic: [ANN] [MINT] Mintcoin (POS / 5%) [NO ICO] [Fair distro, community maintained] - page 186. (Read 1369778 times)

legendary
Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000
Kaspa
thanks for the insight coolbeans, not many coins have 20 days to wait before minting with a max stake age. AC has 14 days to wait but there is no max stake age... I'm just sync'n my ac wallet after 189 days so it should be interesting to see if I get any back to back even tho I don't hold more than 5k of them.

I don't quite get how getting pos blocks back to back could bring a coin down or is something else involved?
Activity: 574
Merit: 500
FLT has an interesting incentive along the POS staking, a daily drip of coins for keeping the wallet open.
Activity: 613
Mintcoin: Get some
So, all minters, run wallets 24/7 Wink
Yes. This is where the protection and the security of the coin comes from. A higher participation rate the better. I have been tracking the participation rate since March 2014, and the percentage of total coins in existence that are staking is pretty high... about 50-70%. So theoretically, an attacker would need to obtain at least 26%-36% of the entire Mintcoin money supply in order to attack it. That is quite a large investment in the coin. If the participation rate was only like 10%, then an attacker would only need just over 5% to attack on the coin. So the security comes from everyone getting on and minting. And so that would require an attacker to hold a higher % of coins in order to attack it. More likely than not, if someone actually were able to obtain like 25-35% of the total coin supply, they would probably rather choose to pump it up and make a profit on the coin, rather than attack it, destroy/dump it and make it all worthless. So it is more secure if it requires more coins to attack it, and this comes from the participation rate of all coin holders. Even if you are not successfully making a minting every-day keeping your wallet online for minting, helps secure the network.