Author

Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage - page 426. (Read 1382189 times)

hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 08, 2015, 04:27:20 PM
Thanks, and where i can learn about how much block was found yesterday or today ? It seems the last days we found less than 144 blocks/day.

We still don't have a webpage that explains all of this clearly. It's on the todo list, but for the time being we're trying to focus on testing, code quality, and storage.

Your best resource is probably here: https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sia/blob/master/doc/Consensus.md

edit: ackh! some of those facts are out of date.
member
Activity: 110
Merit: 10
July 08, 2015, 04:10:15 PM
its very strange, week ago i found 6-7 blocks every day, but last days only 4-5 blocks every day,whas is fu***** going on ?

The difficulty increased at block 8000
Thanks, and where i can learn about how much block was found yesterday or today ? It seems the last days we found less than 144 blocks/day.
hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 08, 2015, 04:00:14 PM
its very strange, week ago i found 6-7 blocks every day, but last days only 4-5 blocks every day,whas is fu***** going on ?

The difficulty increased at block 8000
member
Activity: 110
Merit: 10
July 08, 2015, 03:56:24 PM
its very strange, week ago i found 6-7 blocks every day, but last days only 4-5 blocks every day,whas is fu***** going on ?
legendary
Activity: 2716
Merit: 1094
Black Belt Developer
July 08, 2015, 04:40:15 AM
network moving very slowly, let's hope it settles to a lower difficulty soon.
hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 06, 2015, 07:44:58 PM
How does one back up their wallet in windows? What directory is it located at and what is the filename?

If you are using version 0.3.3.3,  the file is in the same directory as the siad executable.

Try sia/resources/app/Sia/wallet/wallet.dat
hero member
Activity: 597
Merit: 504
July 06, 2015, 04:42:04 PM
How does one back up their wallet in windows? What directory is it located at and what is the filename?
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
July 06, 2015, 12:25:25 PM
Any news about stock exchanges?

If you mean currency exchanges, we are still a ways out.

If you mean stock exchanges, we are very, very far from being listed on stock exchanges.

If and when Nebulous Inc gets listed on the stock exchange, it would be quite a statement if you could give first dibs (pre ipo/ipo) to the people on this forum who have supported the network from the beginning.

Screw banks, I hope Greece decides to go with Bitcoin for their national currency. Peer to peer is the future of everything from car rides (uber) to package delivery (amazon delivery app) etc.. This idea is gold. I hope you guys stick with it because this has amazing potential and even though I don't have the technical ability to take advantage of its development aspect, I want to still be a part of it as much as I can via investment. I'm currently a miner, been thinking of uploading movies/software for people to download anonymously to increase SIA's exposure.

Anyway enough of my rant. Keep up the great work guys you're pioneers.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
July 06, 2015, 05:33:32 AM
For those interested in trying more beta software, check out staging.siafiles.com

Currently, the site only works with '.sia' files, which are a lot like .torrent files. Unfortunately, you can't use '.sia' files with the UI, you have to use siac. To create a file, run
Code:
siac renter share [nickname] [outputname.sia]
To load a file into sia, run
Code:
siac renter load [filename.sia]
Then the UI should show the file, and you should be able to download it. Or you can download it from siac using
Code:
siac renter download [nickname] [the/place/to/download/file.jpg]

In the next week or so we will be adding ascii support. The code for staging.siafiles.com can be found here: https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sunfish/tree/staging

Eventually, sunfish will be directly integrated into the UI.

Additional things in the roadmap:

+ Multi-GB uploads, instead of capping at 500mb
+ uploading entire folders, instead of just 1 file at a time
+ rewritten, plugin-based UI (with tutorials for how to make your own plugins
+ exchange friendly wallet API
+ safer wallets (pregenerated addresses, encrypted wallet files, unique filenames for all wallets)
+ faster blockchain download + verification
+ smaller memory footprint for siad (currently between 1GB & 2GB, I believe we can get it to 1/4 of that)
+ no need to restart siad after loading new addresses or wallets, rescanning will be automatic (but may take a few minutes)

This is great! Keep up the hard work Cool
hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 06, 2015, 03:06:45 AM
Any news about stock exchanges?

If you mean currency exchanges, we are still a ways out.

If you mean stock exchanges, we are very, very far from being listed on stock exchanges.
full member
Activity: 152
Merit: 100
July 06, 2015, 02:21:42 AM
Any news about stock exchanges?
hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 06, 2015, 01:23:21 AM

What about importing siafunds in the GUI wallet, showing them and allowing them to be transfered, etc?

definitely also on the roadmap. That stuff is included in the exchange-friendly wallet API and the plugin-friendly UI. We want siafunds to be on exchanges along with siacoins.
legendary
Activity: 1232
Merit: 1001
July 06, 2015, 01:11:09 AM
Additional things in the roadmap:

+ Multi-GB uploads, instead of capping at 500mb
+ uploading entire folders, instead of just 1 file at a time
+ rewritten, plugin-based UI (with tutorials for how to make your own plugins
+ exchange friendly wallet API
+ safer wallets (pregenerated addresses, encrypted wallet files, unique filenames for all wallets)
+ faster blockchain download + verification
+ smaller memory footprint for siad (currently between 1GB & 2GB, I believe we can get it to 1/4 of that)
+ no need to restart siad after loading new addresses or wallets, rescanning will be automatic (but may take a few minutes)

What about importing siafunds in the GUI wallet, showing them and allowing them to be transfered, etc?
hero member
Activity: 543
Merit: 501
July 06, 2015, 01:02:20 AM
For those interested in trying more beta software, check out staging.siafiles.com

Currently, the site only works with '.sia' files, which are a lot like .torrent files. Unfortunately, you can't use '.sia' files with the UI, you have to use siac. To create a file, run
Code:
siac renter share [nickname] [outputname.sia]
To load a file into sia, run
Code:
siac renter load [filename.sia]
Then the UI should show the file, and you should be able to download it. Or you can download it from siac using
Code:
siac renter download [nickname] [the/place/to/download/file.jpg]

In the next week or so we will be adding ascii support. The code for staging.siafiles.com can be found here: https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sunfish/tree/staging

Eventually, sunfish will be directly integrated into the UI.

Additional things in the roadmap:

+ Multi-GB uploads, instead of capping at 500mb
+ uploading entire folders, instead of just 1 file at a time
+ rewritten, plugin-based UI (with tutorials for how to make your own plugins
+ exchange friendly wallet API
+ safer wallets (pregenerated addresses, encrypted wallet files, unique filenames for all wallets)
+ faster blockchain download + verification
+ smaller memory footprint for siad (currently between 1GB & 2GB, I believe we can get it to 1/4 of that)
+ no need to restart siad after loading new addresses or wallets, rescanning will be automatic (but may take a few minutes)
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
July 04, 2015, 08:34:47 AM

Quote
Error calling /host/announce : host address not reachable; ensure you have forwarded port 9982

How to fix it?



The FAQ in this thread says:

This error gets returned if siad is unable to connect to itself over the internet. Most of the time, this means that you have not forwarded your ports. You may also see this error if you are behind a firewall or are using some kind of VPN. If you are unsure how to forward your ports, check out portforward.com, a site that can help you forward your port. Most of the time, forwarding your ports is easy, you just have to see how to do it the first time. Sia's default ports are 9981 and 9982. If you are using the default ports, please forward both of those ports.


http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
July 04, 2015, 08:08:22 AM

The miners are securing the network and keeping it up.
For the actualy development of the coin and of the storage feature, there is no difference on who mines which coins.

Who mines which coins doesn't make a difference...  
hero member
Activity: 556
Merit: 500
July 04, 2015, 07:16:38 AM
actually trying the miner (linux) but every time the whole system is crashing after some seconds, anyone else experienced this?

which version? if on linux, better compile the latest git version yourself.

that's a good idea ty, ok now it looks like it works, linux is ubuntu 14.01 (64bit).


was happy to early, frozed directly after i posted it, also while mining is active, it makes some graphical errors on my screen until it finally freezes.
will try it again when i have some free time.

You have to play around with the miner settings. Increasing -I gives you more hashrate but also makes your computer less stable. Increasing -C is good to a point but it'll slow down the rate at which you get updates.

I think the readme on the repo is fairly comprehensive at this point.

tried it, also with standard settings (here it is -I 16, yes i read the repo Wink ), but it freezes no matter what i do, all other processes running well (as example also mining and other things).
are the settings enough, i have 2 gpus (both amd)
Quote

for the first gpu as example (every miner thread in a seperate terminal):
    - export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
    - export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
    - sia_miner -d 0
 

i tried the precompiled version and also tried the self compilated executable.


are you saying the miner itself freezes? ...

or the entire machine? ... which is quite rare in linux ...

i had run all ours under fedora 19 x64 with the precompiled versions - and they were quite solid ...

not sure about the latest - havent tested and wont be able to until next week now ...

#crysx

yes exact (machine is freezing), old versions worked but were very slow.
legendary
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
July 04, 2015, 02:04:40 AM
I've sent PM if give away still available Smiley

Anyway, does anyone can guide me how to mine sia using gpu? Really appreciate for any help.
Thank You.

Sent them. Here is the link to the Slack invite. https://siatalk-slackin.herokuapp.com/ There is a mining channel in there where you can discuss mining and the filesharing channel has a pastebin file of the miner you can add if you want to test that function of the wallet. The github release of the miner also has some decent instructions in it too. https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sia-GPU-Miner/releases

Edit: oh, I see you are already there in Slack! Welcome.
legendary
Activity: 2716
Merit: 1094
Black Belt Developer
July 03, 2015, 06:34:42 PM
Just wanted to say that "announce" was working for me, now for some reason it doesn't work any longer, but no changes to the router configuration has been made.

EDIT: Maybe I know why: my external IP has changed in the meantime. Relaunching the wallet fixed the issue.
legendary
Activity: 2870
Merit: 1091
--- ChainWorks Industries ---
July 03, 2015, 08:51:08 AM
actually trying the miner (linux) but every time the whole system is crashing after some seconds, anyone else experienced this?

which version? if on linux, better compile the latest git version yourself.

that's a good idea ty, ok now it looks like it works, linux is ubuntu 14.01 (64bit).


was happy to early, frozed directly after i posted it, also while mining is active, it makes some graphical errors on my screen until it finally freezes.
will try it again when i have some free time.

You have to play around with the miner settings. Increasing -I gives you more hashrate but also makes your computer less stable. Increasing -C is good to a point but it'll slow down the rate at which you get updates.

I think the readme on the repo is fairly comprehensive at this point.

tried it, also with standard settings (here it is -I 16, yes i read the repo Wink ), but it freezes no matter what i do, all other processes running well (as example also mining and other things).
are the settings enough, i have 2 gpus (both amd)
Quote

for the first gpu as example (every miner thread in a seperate terminal):
    - export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
    - export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
    - sia_miner -d 0
 

i tried the precompiled version and also tried the self compilated executable.


are you saying the miner itself freezes? ...

or the entire machine? ... which is quite rare in linux ...

i had run all ours under fedora 19 x64 with the precompiled versions - and they were quite solid ...

not sure about the latest - havent tested and wont be able to until next week now ...

#crysx
Jump to: