Author

Topic: bitHopper: Python Pool Hopper Proxy - page 116. (Read 355689 times)

member
Activity: 102
Merit: 10
July 31, 2011, 01:39:39 AM
Not sure about "Then each of the packages mentioned in the readme should detect
where the python directory is to install into."

I found out that if you install python first, the other packages you need to install will detect your python installation and install into the right place. There are three packages you need:
https://launchpad.net/pyopenssl
http://pypi.python.org/pypi/zope.interface
http://twistedmatrix.com/trac

getting there with python-2.7.2.msi
now i just have to learn how to install an .egg
what fun like the good old days

A .egg is the same as a .zip. Just change the extension.
full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 102
July 31, 2011, 01:29:44 AM
yea, they can't handle it
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
July 31, 2011, 01:28:24 AM
Oh no it's starting to lag. Just went red, anyone else?
legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
July 31, 2011, 01:19:46 AM
Already got >120 shares. Smiley

Let's hope this is a short one!
member
Activity: 69
Merit: 10
respecttheslider
July 31, 2011, 01:02:40 AM
getting there with python-2.7.2.msi
now i just have to learn how to install an .egg
what fun like the good old days
legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
July 31, 2011, 12:48:11 AM
If you refer to my problem before, I installed the wrong (Python3) version of pyopenssl. A simple addition of a "2" in the right spot fixed it...

Python simply is split now in "python2" and "python" (=python3) in Arch, no real biggie. Also nothing did break yet on updates so far, keeping fingers crossed!
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
July 31, 2011, 12:44:33 AM
Python 3 has a bunch of things which break backward compatibility, so scripts written for Python 2.x often need alteration to run on Python 3.x. Complicating the issue is that Arch seems to have no way of installing multiple versions of programs/libraries and they have been actively hostile to the idea in the past. Arch, then, is not something you would run anything remotely important on, since it's likely to break the next time you run pacman.
member
Activity: 69
Merit: 10
respecttheslider
July 31, 2011, 12:42:33 AM
I see the problem notepad was making the README unreadable.

WordPad to the rescue-



legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
July 31, 2011, 12:40:54 AM
Try Python 2.7 instead - I'm not sure if Python 3 already works with all the libraries, or try https://rapidshare.com/files/3783777823/bithopper.zip which has all the requirements already bundled.
member
Activity: 69
Merit: 10
respecttheslider
July 31, 2011, 12:31:19 AM
would like to try to run in win32
installed Twisted 11.0.0 for Python 2.7 ( msi |  exe)
not sure what to do
thanks

I'm on Win7 x64. I'll tell you what I've learned.

1) Install python first. Then each of the packages mentioned in the readme should detect where the python directory is to install into.
2)Read / research forum, and download and unzip your desired fork of bitHopper. It seems c00w's is the most well rounded.
3)Edit the users/paswords/api's/roles in the pool.cgf.default and rename it to pool.cfg
4)Create a shortcut to python.exe to launch the bitHopper server.
     4a) Open your shortcut's properties and change the "Target" and "Start in:" fields to match your file locations.
     Example:
     Target: C:\python27\python.exe C:\bitHopper\bithopper.py
     Start in: C:\bitHopper\ (The "Start in:" directory must be bitHopper's directory)
5) Open your shortcut. Point your miner to localhost:8337 and your browser to http://localhost:8337/stats.

That should get you going, however there is much to learn before you fully understand everything you can or should do with bH.
Tried above this just open and closes
installed:
python-3.2.1.msi
Twisted-11.0.0.winxp32-py2.7.msi
Not sure about "Then each of the packages mentioned in the readme should detect
where the python directory is to install into."
Will reboot and see if that helps.  Thanks for the guidance
--slippy
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
July 31, 2011, 12:11:48 AM
OK, slush still isn't hopping away at .1*difficulty like its supposed to.  Is there a specific version of c00w's bithopper that does this?  

Edit:  May have figured out what I was doing wrong.  When you hit the green button on the stats page it sets it to mine instead of "mine_slush".  Manually setting it to "mine_slush" on the stats page seems to have stopped it mining there.  Will monitor to see if that fixed it.
legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
July 31, 2011, 12:01:20 AM
Parapinaikos, that's not exactly as I suggested it - at least in the pool.py and website.py version of your pull request "application_path" isn't even used. Also __file__ will always exist, it will just point to a wrong path when being frozen ("compiled").

Edit:
For clarification: the code I posted was the whole "try:" block. Why did you do the changes, were there errors?
my bad, there were no errors I copy pasted poorly Sad
Could you please copypaste again (this time correctly Tongue ) and create another pull request? Thanks a lot! As soon as this is in, I might be able to provide single exe-file distributions (+ pools.cfg.default + index.html + README) of every commit from then on! Smiley

ok, pm sent
database.py still has a line too much (line 18 in your file) and thanks for adding the imports!
Maybe that "os.path.abspath(...)" stuff is needed too (making that line in the elif: "application_path = os.path.dirname(os.path.abspath(__file__))" then...)? Just making sure it doesn't break for people with weird installation paths...

Anyways, looking forward to some autobuild action. Was a nice learning experience to set this stuff up!
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
July 30, 2011, 11:39:02 PM
Nah he ran it for 1hr on the new beta server port 8837, karma allways existed for donaters though.

Is there a minimum donation amount to get round karma constantly? 
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 502
July 30, 2011, 11:22:16 PM
I've spent some time playing with the stats page formatting and colors. I don't really have any experience in any form of coding, but I think I have something pretty cool here. I wanted to share this to get your opinions and see if you think it's worth posting the code.

http://www.myimagespace.com/public/view/full/7491

My goal was to have the red / yellow / green across the entire stat line, but I cant get the getColor function to work for everything. Red is for disable/api_disable, yellow is for info, and green is for currently mining. I was thinking about black for backup, but it doesn't look right without the ability to extend across the entire stat line.

Let me know what you think. If you have any suggestions, I can change colors but that's about it.

Used some shade of blue for backup or orange. ;P
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 502
July 30, 2011, 11:21:00 PM
So this is basically a way for him to reward people who are not hopping I am guessing.  Since he turns it on at his discretion, I would guess that he will always do so after 43% to reward his loyal miners.  Sounds like a pretty good idea, although a 1% bonus isn't gonna make me stop hopping.

Nah he ran it for 1hr on the new beta server port 8837, karma allways existed for donaters though.
member
Activity: 102
Merit: 10
July 30, 2011, 11:09:03 PM
I've spent some time playing with the stats page formatting and colors. I don't really have any experience in any form of coding, but I think I have something pretty cool here. I wanted to share this to get your opinions and see if you think it's worth posting the code.

http://www.myimagespace.com/public/view/full/7491

My goal was to have the red / yellow / green across the entire stat line, but I cant get the getColor function to work for everything. Red is for disable/api_disable, yellow is for info, and green is for currently mining. I was thinking about black for backup, but it doesn't look right without the ability to extend across the entire stat line.

Let me know what you think. If you have any suggestions, I can change colors but that's about it.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
July 30, 2011, 11:04:34 PM
So this is basically a way for him to reward people who are not hopping I am guessing.  Since he turns it on at his discretion, I would guess that he will always do so after 43% to reward his loyal miners.  Sounds like a pretty good idea, although a 1% bonus isn't gonna make me stop hopping.
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 502
July 30, 2011, 10:55:03 PM
round karma last for few hours , its over Wink

Will only update if you donate now.
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
July 30, 2011, 10:53:52 PM
Down to .8% stales on the beta pool for MtRed.  Makes no sense, but im not complaining.

Yeah my stales are slowly going down to now. At 1.2% from 1.5%.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
July 30, 2011, 10:51:05 PM
Down to .8% stales on the beta pool for MtRed.  Makes no sense, but im not complaining.

Does the round karma update regularly?  Because I am still seeing 0 even after an hour of mining. . .
Jump to: