Pages:
Author

Topic: Gekko - a javascript trading bot and backtesting platform - page 6. (Read 147818 times)

newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
I think you should try Screen instead of nohup for that purpose, it should do better job of preserving the environment which may be important when process needs input. There are no disadvantages in using it instead of nohup.

For some reason OpenShift hates screen and I spent a good hour yelling at my server. In searching for the problem I found tmux which has similar capability and isn't hated by OpenShift. Thanks, dude! Fist bump.

And if anyone wants to get Gekko running on a server I can personally attest to feasibility of running it on a free OpenShift server without the need for an open terminal instance with tmux.
legendary
Activity: 1974
Merit: 1076
^ Will code for Bitcoins
Hey, good people. I have gotten Gekko running on my local machine as well as on a free OpenShift server. But now I want to get Gekko running without the need for a terminal instance open, and so am trying to get it running with nohup. Here's the problem:

Code:
       You configured Gekko to mail you advice, Gekko needs your email
        password to send emails (to you). Gekko is an opensource project
        [ http://github.com/askmike/gekko ], you can take my word but always
        check the code yourself.


        WARNING: If you have not downloaded Gekko from the github page above we
        CANNOT guarantuee that your email address & password are safe!

prompt: password:

events.js:72
        throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
              ^
Error: EBADF, read

My log shows:

Code:
prompt: password: 

events.js:72
        throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
              ^
Error: EBADF, read

My password is stored in config.js. Why is it still prompting for a password? Is it in fact prompting for a password, or is it just saying that it is? Because with the password stored when I run Gekko normally I have to press enter at the prompt: password: line. Or is the problem something else entirely?

Thanks, guys!


I think you should try Screen instead of nohup for that purpose, it should do better job of preserving the environment which may be important when process needs input. There are no disadvantages in using it instead of nohup.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Hey, good people. I have gotten Gekko running on my local machine as well as on a free OpenShift server. But now I want to get Gekko running without the need for a terminal instance open, and so am trying to get it running with nohup. Here's the problem:

Code:
       You configured Gekko to mail you advice, Gekko needs your email
        password to send emails (to you). Gekko is an opensource project
        [ http://github.com/askmike/gekko ], you can take my word but always
        check the code yourself.


        WARNING: If you have not downloaded Gekko from the github page above we
        CANNOT guarantuee that your email address & password are safe!

prompt: password:

events.js:72
        throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
              ^
Error: EBADF, read

My log shows:

Code:
prompt: password: 

events.js:72
        throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
              ^
Error: EBADF, read

My password is stored in config.js. Why is it still prompting for a password? Is it in fact prompting for a password, or is it just saying that it is? Because with the password stored when I run Gekko normally I have to press enter at the prompt: password: line. Or is the problem something else entirely?

Thanks, guys!
legendary
Activity: 2086
Merit: 1015
got an error while installing Shocked anyone can help?

Quote
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! Windows_NT 6.1.7601
npm ERR! argv "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs
\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "install"
npm ERR! node v0.12.0
npm ERR! npm  v2.5.1
npm ERR! code ENOGIT

npm ERR! not found: git
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed using git.
npm ERR! This is most likely not a problem with npm itself.
npm ERR! Please check if you have git installed and in your PATH.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     C:\Users\LxiR\Documents\GitHub\gekko\npm-debug.log

Install git http://git-scm.com/download/win

I'll check into it thanks. I sould have mentioned Im running ubuntu.

The error you quoted and the provided solution is not for the error you reported. In your case did you run npm so all the dependencies are installed? It looks like one of the node_modules was not installed properly.
Code:
npm install

Should you find you also need to install git on ubuntu it's extremely simple:
Code:
sudo apt-get install git


Quote
I sould have mentioned Im running ubuntu.
Never would have guessed you were running that since your user name is 'i heart ubuntu' Wink
newbie
Activity: 44
Merit: 0
got an error while installing Shocked anyone can help?

Quote
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! Windows_NT 6.1.7601
npm ERR! argv "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs
\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "install"
npm ERR! node v0.12.0
npm ERR! npm  v2.5.1
npm ERR! code ENOGIT

npm ERR! not found: git
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed using git.
npm ERR! This is most likely not a problem with npm itself.
npm ERR! Please check if you have git installed and in your PATH.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     C:\Users\LxiR\Documents\GitHub\gekko\npm-debug.log

Install git http://git-scm.com/download/win

I'll check into it thanks. I sould have mentioned Im running ubuntu.
full member
Activity: 175
Merit: 100
got an error while installing Shocked anyone can help?

Quote
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! Windows_NT 6.1.7601
npm ERR! argv "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs
\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "install"
npm ERR! node v0.12.0
npm ERR! npm  v2.5.1
npm ERR! code ENOGIT

npm ERR! not found: git
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed using git.
npm ERR! This is most likely not a problem with npm itself.
npm ERR! Please check if you have git installed and in your PATH.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     C:\Users\LxiR\Documents\GitHub\gekko\npm-debug.log

Install git http://git-scm.com/download/win
full member
Activity: 175
Merit: 100
Would any gekko users be interested in a data service for gekko?

I built a candle aggregator that watches any market across several exchanges and have successfully integrated my candle api into gekko. This allows me to get gekko running on a market without gekko watching the market (Gekko gets all the data it needs on startup no more waiting x amount of hours before starts advising ), it also allows me to back test markets very easily. A other advantage to this is not relying on gekko to create its candles based on the trades it fetches since i have seen this to be very problematic instead it fetches candles from a central api server. I still have some work to do before i can publish the candle fetcher component for gekko. I plan on storing up to 6 months of trade data for now per market. New markets are auto discovered and marked as "NEW" and a new exchanges.js is generated and available for download every time we find a new market (this can be done programmatically so you don't have to replace the exchanges.js file every time).

Pricing model :

Request per Day    Limit    Costs  
10  300   Free
1,440  50,000   0.1 BTC
5,000  150,000   0.2 BTC
15,000  1,500,000   0.5 BTC
30,000  5,000,000   1 BTC


So here is the big question, How many of you would use or pay for this type of service ?


 
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
got an error while installing Shocked anyone can help?

Quote
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm WARN `git config --get remote.origin.url` returned wrong result (https://git
hub.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git) undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! git clone https://github.com/naddison36/bitfinex.git undefined
npm ERR! Windows_NT 6.1.7601
npm ERR! argv "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs
\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "install"
npm ERR! node v0.12.0
npm ERR! npm  v2.5.1
npm ERR! code ENOGIT

npm ERR! not found: git
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed using git.
npm ERR! This is most likely not a problem with npm itself.
npm ERR! Please check if you have git installed and in your PATH.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     C:\Users\LxiR\Documents\GitHub\gekko\npm-debug.log
newbie
Activity: 44
Merit: 0
Hello! Can anyone help? Installed on Ubuntu via github instructions. All seemed OK. I have inputed my API/secret and other info into the config file as well.

When launching in the terminal I use "nodejs gekko" and I get this message. Thanks for any help!

Quote
iheartubuntu@gateway-SX2865:~/Desktop/gekko-master$ nodejs gekko

module.js:340
    throw err;
          ^
Error: Cannot find module 'lodash'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:338:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:280:25)
    at Module.require (module.js:364:17)
    at require (module.js:380:17)
    at Object. (/home/iheartubuntu/Desktop/gekko-master/gekko.js:22:9)
    at Module._compile (module.js:456:26)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:474:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:356:32)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:312:12)
    at Function.Module.runMain (module.js:497:10)
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
great to see some exchanges added! I am testing the bot with different settings on btce and cryptsy (only papertrading). Would be great to see the backtester running. Is the (broken) sourcecode for backtesting on github somewhere? I did only find the /docs/backtesting.md

Edit: I got this error on cryptsy for the second time:
Quote
2015-02-05 20:53:57 (DEBUG):    Processed trades, sleeping for a minute...
2015-02-05 20:54:45 (DEBUG):    Requested DRK/BTC trade data from Cryptsy ...

SyntaxError: Unexpected token <
    at Object.parse (native)
    at Request._callback (/home/user/gekko/node_modules/cryptsy-api/cryptsy.js:53:27)
    at Request.self.callback (/home/user/gekko/node_modules/cryptsy-api/node_modules/request/request.js:344:22)
    at Request.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:98:17)
    at Request. (/home/user/gekko/node_modules/cryptsy-api/node_modules/request/request.js:1239:14)
    at Request.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at IncomingMessage. (/home/user/gekko/node_modules/cryptsy-api/node_modules/request/request.js:1187:12)
    at IncomingMessage.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at _stream_readable.js:920:16
    at process._tickCallback (node.js:415:13)


hello. I ave a similare problem.
newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
Without having looked, this appears to be a 404 type error, Cryptsy may have changed their api
newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
Should be, i was able to find the bug and helped askmike fix it on github: https://github.com/askmike/gekko/issues/262
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Bitfinex seems fixed, testing it now...


Thanks!
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1018
HoneybadgerOfMoney.com Weed4bitcoin.com
Anyone tried make an arbitrage with that script?

I'm certain its possible - but now how you're thinking.  Not like you can just press 'print money now' button or anything.  Your charts are wrong when it comes to trying to play arbitrage - look at the actual order book spreads and also realize that you're looking at stale data - your eyeballs see a number that 100s (perhaps 1000s) or bots have also seen and ran against 'settings'.  The spread you see has either 1) already vanished by the time you log in to see how much is left or 2) is so tiny that you're making something like a .17% profit on a market volume of .0002458BTC or something in that magnitude. 

I always get tempted to 'try something out' then I login to see that the number shown on the ticker is an average of the spread and not the available liquid for you to buy from or sell to.

To answer your specific question - NO probably not.  However it could happen this way on either cross-exchange arbitrage or perhaps on cross-market arbitrage:

Run two different instances of Gekko pointed to each exchange sharing the same reddis beacon and reading off of each other's data (it was a theoretical proposed solution that seems imply that a larger dataset can be used for different instances of Gekko to read from and make use of).

I'm lurking on this thread to see if others forked it and put in coinsetter functionality yet, its on my radar atm if not.




newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
Anyone tried make an arbitrage with that script?
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
Okay Gekko is find in watching market/making advice with Kraken for me. Smiley

But when it comes to trade I've got this error :

Code:
TypeError: Cannot read property 'error' of null
    at set (/Users/*/gekko/exchanges/kraken.js:176:81)
    at KrakenClient.bound (/Users/*/gekko/node_modules/lodash/dist/lodash.js:729:21)
    at Request._callback (/Users/*/gekko/node_modules/kraken-api/kraken.js:144:15)
    at Request.self.callback (/Users/*/gekko/node_modules/kraken-api/node_modules/request/request.js:121:22)
    at Request.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:98:17)
    at Request. (/Users/*/gekko/node_modules/kraken-api/node_modules/request/request.js:978:14)
    at Request.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at IncomingMessage. (/Users/*/gekko/node_modules/kraken-api/node_modules/request/request.js:929:12)
    at IncomingMessage.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at _stream_readable.js:920:16

Any idea how to fix that ?

I know kraken is not really supported now but I really like this market !

EDIT : I had some pending orders which may have blocked gekko. I've deleted them and it worked but I had this erro message just after. :s


I get a similar error

Code:
TypeError: Cannot read property 'error' of null
    at set (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\exchanges\kraken.js:176:81)
    at KrakenClient.bound (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\node_modules\lodash
\dist\lodash.js:729:21)
    at Request._callback (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\node_modules\kraken-
api\kraken.js:148:15)
    at Request.self.callback (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\node_modules\kra
ken-api\node_modules\request\request.js:373:22)
    at Request.emit (events.js:98:17)
    at Request. (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\node_modules\krake
n-api\node_modules\request\request.js:1318:14)
    at Request.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at IncomingMessage. (C:\Users\Wow\Desktop\gekko-master\node_modul
es\kraken-api\node_modules\request\request.js:1266:12)
    at IncomingMessage.emit (events.js:117:20)
    at _stream_readable.js:944:16

does anybody know how to fix this?

Thanks
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Im getting the following error configuring Bitfinex...

Code:

(DEBUG): Requested BTC/USD trade data from Bitfinex ...

SyntaxError: Unexpected token u
    at Object.parse (native)

Any tips to fix that?

Thanks! 


newbie
Activity: 100
Merit: 0
Lol , change the strategy.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
Stop using the bot?
sr. member
Activity: 472
Merit: 254
Anlik Coin Fiyatlari BTCkur.com
Ok this is really not working out for me. I kept the bot on for about a week now
From 0.5BTC I got 0.27BTC left
So from $165 I got down to $100

Any advise?
Pages:
Jump to: