Pages:
Author

Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread - page 9. (Read 267691 times)

Activity: 17
Merit: 0
cgminer sorted out.

vcore was way up at 0.78v (meter designed for MUCH higher voltages and currents; only reads to two decimals; first I've ever seen decimals on it - don't usually worry about them when dealing with 6kvAC or 300vDC). Dialed the pot down and was gratified to see the voltage drop. Settled on 0.60v at 150MHz, 8.1-ish GH/s 0HWerr. The heat sink is still too hot to touch for more than 15 or 20 seconds, but I have heat sensitive fingers. I don't have a reliable way to measure the temp but I feel comfortable leaving it here for passive cooling. I'm still hoping moving it to hub with known power ratings will help.

As a day-1 newbie, I can tell you that a hub with a supplemental usb-powered fan makes all the difference in the world.  I am currently running (4) of these little guys in an 10-port powered Anker hub with zero errors at 275Mhz, 15gH/s each.  Haven't used my voltmeter yet, but the sinks and PCB under the chip are very warm but not hot at all.  Going to up the freq +5MHz daily until I draw errors or hit 300MHz, whichever comes first.

This forum, along with the README for cgminer made it surprisingly simple.

Until someone with more experience with stick OCing jumps in I guess you could try upping the frequency until you start getting HWs and then upping the vcore just enough to stop getting HWs.
The goal is, as I understood it, to have the lowest vcore possible for target frequency (with higher frequencies requiring higher voltage, obviously).

Yeah, I have 2.1a/port so power draw shouldn't be an issue.  Just gonna +5/day until I either hit an error wall, or reach 300.
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
cgminer sorted out.