Pages:
Author

Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread - page 98. (Read 61918 times)

member
Activity: 88
Merit: 85
YES!!  thx. this works for me.
The sticks indeed differ from each other, but now i can run em @ their own best frequency. For now i am not tuning the voltage. Seems my 1st stick was a good one Smiley

Running 1st stick @ 600 Mhz and 2nd @ 425 Mhz looks like this is max for both.

This option is what does it for me now: --gekko-serial "GS-xxxxxxxx" running two separate instances now. Wonder if cgminer is adapted so only 1 instance is needed, based on serialnumber.

Anyway thx for the help.



+1

Even on that nice hub, keep in mind the power output will still be constrained by the power input and the shared regulators.

While the "All" option is still available near the site's page navigation, click it and search for "serial".

Well tried to search and knew there was a thread handling the serials, but could not find it anymore. I know it was a 2pac thread, but even could not find it.

My power is good, using a single rail 12v power supply. used it for older technobit miners in the past (these miners where pulling much more power), now dedicated to suppling the hub.
newbie
Activity: 23
Merit: 29
THe other question i got about the serial option to make sticks run on different freq, any1 know more about that? possibble or not.

Yeah, I’m the one who asked for the serial number targeting added to the cgminer code.

Sadly, there is no current way of setting multiple frequencies to the same type of asic in once instance of cgminer. So here’s what you do:

Get your serial numbers.  You can verify them with

Code:
cgminer -T --usb-dump 1 > usbinfo.txt

then open usbinfo.txt and look for the following section(s):

Code:
       Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
        Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'
        Serial 'GS-10019785'

Take your normal cgminer launch command and modify like this to include all 2pacs you want at the same frequency:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10019785" --gekko-2pac-detect --gekko-2pac-freq 100

 --gekko-2pac-detect only finds 2pac's.  The --gekko-serial will only find the serials listed in the format shown above.  Yes, that hyphen in GS- is critical.

Make another script for units you want at a different frequency:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-2pac-detect --gekko-2pac-freq 200

This will find the rest of your 2pacs (no serial lookup) and run them at 200.  You would need to start this script after the first - unless you want to specify all your serials like this:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GGS-10019358,GS-10021759,GS-10021553,GS-10021581" --gekko-2pac-detect --gekko-2pac-freq 200

For the newpac:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.newpac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10030095" --gekko-newpac-detect --gekko-newpac-boost --gekko-newpac-freq 400

You can combine these as needed as well - combining newpacs and 2pacs together, as well as compacs and terminus in the same manners.

Example:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.0 -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10000058,GS-10019358,GS-10021759,GS-10021553,GS-10021581,GS-10030095" --gekko-compac-detect --gekko-2pac-detect --gekko-newpac-detect --gekko-newpac-boost --gekko-compac-freq 200 --gekko-2pac-freq 250 --gekko-newpac-freq 425

This would run the selected 4 sticks at: 200 if it’s a compac (GSC 10000058), 250 if it’s a 2pac (GSD 10019358, GSD 10021759, GSD 10021553, GSD 10021581) or 425 if it’s a newpac (GSH 10030095) (with newpac-boost for pools that support it).  Note that the --gekko-xxxx-detect options aren't needed here, unless you also had a terminus connected and on its own cgminer instance, but they can be useful depending on your setup and how you want to group together devices.

Here are all the flags you can use:

For detecting only one type of gekkoscience asic's:

--gekko-compac-detect, --gekko-2pac-detect, --gekko-terminus-detect and --gekko-newpac-detect

For setting frequency:

--gekko-compac-freq, --gekko-2pac-freq, --gekko-terminus-freq, and --gekko-newpac-freq,

For ramping up frequency over time on 2pac & Terminus (not supported on Newpac. The Compac hardware itself supports it, but the code needed for it isn't enabled in vthoang/cgminer yet. (I sent a pull request for it though!)):

--gekko-start-freq 25 --gekko-step-freq 6 --gekko-step-delay 30

(Starts all supported units at 25MHz (minimum), and steps up 6.25MHz (6.25MHz is the minimum step) every 30 seconds until it reaches the --gekko-xxxxx-freq.)

Serial lookup:

--gekko-serial "GS-10019785,GS-10021212,GS-10033333,GS-10033334"

But anyways, Here is what I use right now (I have a troublesome 2pac (GSD 10019785) separated out for testing at the moment - I have been able to get it stable for 2 weeks now at default stock speed and stock voltage - though still with a solid white light.  It won’t take any overclocking over 125, but at least I don't have to underclock it to 25 anymore!):

First script file:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10019785" --gekko-2pac-freq 100

2nd script file (a mix of 1 compac, 4 2pac's and 1 newpac.):

Code:
cgminer --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10000058,GS-10019358,GS-10021759,GS-10021553,GS-10021581,GS-10030095" --gekko-start-freq 100 --gekko-step-freq 25 --gekko-step-delay 10 --gekko-newpac-boost --gekko-compac-freq 250 --gekko-2pac-freq 200 --gekko-newpac-freq 425 -c miner_conf.json

miner_conf.json contents:

Code:
{
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-allow": "W:127.0.0.1",
    "log-file": "cgminer.log",
    "pools": [
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp:\/\/pool.ckpool.org:3333",
            "user": "1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh",
            "pass": "x"
        },
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp:\/\/solo.ckpool.org:3333",
            "user": "1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh",
            "pass": "x"
        }
    ]
}

Yeah, I’m lazy and haven't set up that single 2pac for a fail-over to solo.ckpool!  Not that it’s really needed for a single stock speed 2pac though!
Also, the serial for the compac and the newpac isn't needed - since I only have one of each.  But I plan to change that in the future - at least the newpac!  

One other note: Yes, I use "--suggest-diff 1" - my mix of 6 stated above has ckpool auto-correct it to ~112, and the single stock 2pac to ~7.  (32 (the default suggested for ckpool) on the stock single 2pac will still work - you just wont see as much activity)

TL;DR:

figure out your serial numbers, and what frequency each should run at.

take all the identical ones and group them together.

combine groups of generations (compac, 2pac, newpac, etc) into one command to reduce the amount of cgminer instances (if desired)(example: [3 newpacs @ 400, 3 2pacs @ 200, 5 compacs @ 150], and a separate script with: [1 newpac @ 500, 6 2pacs @ 250, 1 compac @ 250], etc.)

profit!
vh
hero member
Activity: 699
Merit: 666
Quote from: WilcoWi link=topic=5053833.msg50020682#msg50020682
Btw i use GS hub...

+1

Even on that nice hub, keep in mind the power output will still be constrained by the power input and the shared regulators.

While the "All" option is still available near the site's page navigation, click it and search for "serial".
member
Activity: 88
Merit: 85
thx, i'll try adjust voltage just a little bit.
My 1st stick runs very very cool @ 600 Mhz, so adjusting a little bit wont be a problem.
The fans i got work well Smiley
Btw i use GS hub

THe other question i got about the serial option to make sticks run on different freq, any1 know more about that? possibble or not.
vh
hero member
Activity: 699
Merit: 666
Is this the point where i have to adjust the voltage of the 2nd stick? like sayd in the first pages of this thread.
Or is it not usefull to adjust voltage?
Bit in doubt here

voltage setting (potentiometer) and available power (hub) has an affect to the max stable MHz.

As gt_addict mentioned, its effect varies per stick.

If you want to test voltage tuning, focus in on one stick (without anything else drawing power) and adjust 1-2 degrees at time.
Try to stay within a few degrees of its original setting.

Each time you move clockwise that it consumes more power and runs hotter, even at lower frequencies.

If unchecked, this can quickly lead to heat based damage so keep it as low as you can, or don't change it at all.
copper member
Activity: 190
Merit: 111
https://www.419mining.com
Yes i know i can run em on their own frequencies its @ this forum how to do that. But thats why i am in doubt, should i run different instances or adjust voltage?

You wont need to adjust the stock voltage, it will get you up to 600Mhz, if the stick will support it, not all are built the same and some just wont make it to exactly 600Mhz. Try starting out lower, around 300 or 400Mhz, then raise the frequency by 10 or 20 and watch it for a week.
Dont worry about the HW errors, just watch your hashrate. does it match where it should or did it go down? Do this till you find the sticks top frequency. Most can get up around 575Mhz if done right.
You can check your voltage setting by referring to vh's previous post (https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.48600421) and make sure its at the stock setting.

and P.S. LOTS AND LOTS OF COOLING.
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Not that im aware of. There is the serial option to differentiate the sticks but not sure if that can be used to specify a freq for individual sticks.
member
Activity: 88
Merit: 85
They arent all equal unfortunately. I have a few sticks and run them all on the speed of the fastest one for ease. You could have a different instances of cgminer open for each stick and run them all at individual frequencies.

Yes i know i can run em on their own frequencies its @ this forum how to do that. But thats why i am in doubt, should i run different instances or adjust voltage?

Meanwhile did seach @ forum and found this: cgminer -o stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje -p x --gekko-compac-freq 150 --gekko-newpac-freq 175 --gekko-newpac-boost

But that is for different sticks, is it possible to use options for same sticks (newpac), but running them @different frequencies just using one line?
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
question: got my 2nd newpac today with GS USB hub.
the 2nd gekko can't run on 600 Mhz like the 1st one. It wil stay @ 6GH/s when doing 600 Mhz.
@ 450 Mhz the 2nd stick does work normally like the 1st one, but above that its is staying behind.

Is this the point where i have to adjust the voltage of the 2nd stick? like sayd in the first pages of this thread.
Or is it not usefull to adjust voltage?
Bit in doubt here

They arent all equal unfortunately. I have a few sticks and run them all on the speed of the fastest one for ease. You could have a different instances of cgminer open for each stick and run them all at individual frequencies.
member
Activity: 88
Merit: 85
question: got my 2nd newpac today with GS USB hub.
the 2nd gekko can't run on 600 Mhz like the 1st one. It wil stay @ 6GH/s when doing 600 Mhz.
@ 450 Mhz the 2nd stick does work normally like the 1st one, but above that its is staying behind.

Is this the point where i have to adjust the voltage of the 2nd stick? like sayd in the first pages of this thread.
Or is it not usefull to adjust voltage?
Bit in doubt here
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 10
Heatsink upgrade project going well.  Test unit with original 2Pac finally finished and going through post-upgrade stress testing.

https://i.imgur.com/3lDmkQP.jpg
You're not seeing things, it glows under UV light...

https://i.imgur.com/BIZPiWi.jpg?1
The 2 x NewPacs have been disassembled and awaiting conformal coating to dry before heatsink upgrade.  Waiting for tiny clamps from Amazon.

So far with the upgrade 40x40x20mm heatsink, she's running just slightly above room temp doing stable at 175MHZ on a lousy Anker USB hub.  Run so cool my thermometer refuses to measure temp (I'm using a human thermometer since I don't have an electronic or cooking thermometer).

Will be upgrading the NewPac with a 40x40x20 and a 60x60x10 and see how each does.

I think I need to order a few more NewPac sticks...
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Thanks rockmoney, hopefully i will have time this weekend to print them and get them sized correctly. Its going to involve some fine motor skills to get the text cut out nicely with a knife lol
sr. member
Activity: 439
Merit: 297
www.amazon.com/shops/MinersSupply
Its not a stand or box its a different top plate. Something ive always wanted to try but ideally need a copy/file of the decal/sticker thats on top of the black edition hub. Then I can start the process and see how it turns out.

I did it for you, to make up owing you something, which I will message you about soon. I hosted 2 scans on Google Drive - one was so large in file size, it wouldn't allow me to make any edits until after scan completed. Hope they help!  Wink

File #1: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1q7b7roLqhO5RJD0tf1mH_3JbHZjB65Wx/view?usp=drivesdk

File #2: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vYn0UYEnU09uBqffu6c_eoTtmXmlgl5N/view?usp=drivesdk

Google Photos Open/Shared Album Link: https://photos.app.goo.gl/XQDqfbJdu7rGo9tY6
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
I have a 3D object Model of the top plate if you're interested.

Cheers for the offer but its just the text/layout I need. When I get time I may well have to dismantle my hub and scan in the top section. Hopefully that would work but wont know until I give it a go.
jr. member
Activity: 35
Merit: 24
Yes do not hesitate, it can be interresting for newpac users!
copper member
Activity: 190
Merit: 111
https://www.419mining.com
Its not a stand or box its a different top plate. Something ive always wanted to try but ideally need a copy/file of the decal/sticker thats on top of the black edition hub. Then I can start the process and see how it turns out.

I have a 3D object Model of the top plate if you're interested.
legendary
Activity: 4256
Merit: 8551
'The right to privacy matters'
I have an idea to do with some nice fans and a sidehack hub.

Will post soon.
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Thanks, oh! sure it's possible to make a more design model Smiley But when you need to clean it to remove dust
i prefer get a simple model to build/unbuild Smiley

At the begining i wanted to make a model with invisible fans, but when i tested, it was not pratical...

else, publish your! i'm curious Smiley it's cool to give the choice to this topic users Smiley

PS: I printed the first one a user made, but there was to much air flux lost...

Its not a stand or box its a different top plate. Something ive always wanted to try but ideally need a copy/file of the decal/sticker thats on top of the black edition hub. Then I can start the process and see how it turns out.
jr. member
Activity: 35
Merit: 24
Hi

Oh yes! It was cool when i started my setup, but (maybe my fan was bad...) i can't get more than 500/515 MHS else my keys become
zomby each 6 hours...

My setup is in the most fresh room of my home, but the other miners (apollo scrypt) make so much hot air in this room (and a TUPOLEV sound...)...

For this reason, i create this one Smiley

See ya!
copper member
Activity: 190
Merit: 111
https://www.419mining.com
Hey Filax, Great job with the model/printing. I think the model you are referring to is our stand. The first iteration did have closed walls with vents but the heat dissipation was actually far better once we removed the enclosure and allowed the air to move freely once the heat sinks had been passed. Our plan was to add ducting to direct the flow directly over the heat sinks but we couldnt reliably match the fins to the heat sinks due to variance in the USB connection angle. We also would loose the ability to have it universal for more than the GekkoScience hub.
Pages:
Jump to: