Pages:
Author

Topic: [GUIDE] BitFury Miner Support/Tuning - page 20. (Read 148018 times)

sr. member
Activity: 420
Merit: 250
October 30, 2013, 04:11:24 PM


Why are you compiling chainminer? If all you're trying to do is change clock speeds, just edit /opt/bitfury/best.cnf and reboot. If that file doesn't exist yet, copy /run/shm/.stat.log to /opt/bitfury/best.cnf first.

1. How i copy /run/shm/.stat.log to /opt/bitfury/best.cnf ?
2. How i get /run/shm/.stat.log ?

use cp  /run/shm/.stat.log  /opt/bitfury/best.cnf

you can read more about cp command http://www.computerhope.com/unix/ucp.htm
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
October 30, 2013, 03:12:16 PM


Why are you compiling chainminer? If all you're trying to do is change clock speeds, just edit /opt/bitfury/best.cnf and reboot. If that file doesn't exist yet, copy /run/shm/.stat.log to /opt/bitfury/best.cnf first.

1. How i copy /run/shm/.stat.log to /opt/bitfury/best.cnf ?
2. How i get /run/shm/.stat.log ?
hero member
Activity: 681
Merit: 500
October 30, 2013, 02:36:24 PM
Why are you compiling chainminer? If all you're trying to do is change clock speeds, just edit /opt/bitfury/best.cnf and reboot. If that file doesn't exist yet, copy /run/shm/.stat.log to /opt/bitfury/best.cnf first.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
October 30, 2013, 02:02:21 PM
I made step by step, but i cant acces, 6. How to start tuning chips manually?

What is wrong...? I get:
pi@bitfury ~ $ nano /run/shm/.stat.log
g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . -c spidevc.cpp -o spidevc.o
g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . -c miner.cpp -o miner.o
make -C json
make[1]: Entering directory `/opt/bitfury/chainminer/json'
g++ -pthread -I .. -O2 -g -c json_reader.cpp -o json_reader.o
g++ -pthread -I .. -O2 -g -c json_value.cpp -o json_value.o

Also:

pi@bitfury ~ $ nano /run/shm/.stat.log
g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . -c handylib.cpp -o handylib.o
In file included from /usr/include/c++/4.6/backward/strstream:52:0,
                 from handylib.cpp:5:
/usr/include/c++/4.6/backward/backward_warning.h:33:2: warning: #warning This file includes at least one deprecated or antiquated header which may be removed without further notice at a future date. Please use a non-deprecated interface with equivalent functionality instead. For a listing of replacement headers and interfaces, consult the file backward_warning.h. To disable this warning use -Wno-deprecated. [-Wcpp]
handylib.cpp: In member function ‘void handylib::HTTPServer::loadMultipart(std::istream&)’:
handylib.cpp:653:18: warning: comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions [-Wsign-compare]
handylib.cpp: In member function ‘void handylib::Time::scache() const’:
handylib.cpp:2850:25: warning: comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions [-Wsign-compare]
handylib.cpp: In function ‘void handylib::tm_loadtzi()’:
handylib.cpp:3048:13: warning: variable ‘tm’ set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]

Also

pi@bitfury ~ $ nano /run/shm/.stat.log

g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . -c spidevc.cpp -o spidevc.o
g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . -c miner.cpp -o miner.o
make -C json
make[1]: Entering directory `/opt/bitfury/chainminer/json'
g++ -pthread -I .. -O2 -g -c json_reader.cpp -o json_reader.o

/rung++ -pthread -I .. -O2 -g -c json_value.cpp -o json_value.o
g++ -pthread -I .. -O2 -g -c json_writer.cpp -o json_writer.o
rm -f libjson.a
ar cruv libjson.a json_reader.o json_value.o json_writer.o
a - json_reader.o
a - json_value.o
a - json_writer.o
make[1]: Leaving directory `/opt/bitfury/chainminer/json'
g++ -g -Wall -pthread -O2 -march=armv6 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=vfp -Wall -I . jobconnect.o handylib.o spidevc.o miner.o json/libjson.a -o miner
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $ sudo killall screen
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $ sudo /etc/rc.local
miner: no process found
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $ pi@bitfury ~ $ nano /run/shm/.stat.log
-bash: pi@bitfury: command not found
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $ pi@bitfury ~ $ nano /run/shm/.stat.log
-bash: pi@bitfury: command not found
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $
pi@bitfury /opt/bitfury/chainminer $ /run
hero member
Activity: 574
Merit: 501
October 30, 2013, 12:37:26 PM
Just doesn't seem to be a good idea skimping on fairly inexpensive PSU's, or pulling out power cables to turn off an expensive rig - for the same reason you wouldn't expect a motherboard to last for very long if that was how you shut your computer down - by pulling power cables out of the connectors.

PSU's have bleeder circuitry to prevent big amp surges from taking place when you shut them off.  If you yank a connector out of the socket, or just pull the plug out of the wall, there are lots of electrons that suddenly find themselves needing to go home -RIGHT NOW- and they aren't too fussy about the path they take getting there.  They're perfectly willing to make themselves a new path of least resistance, and will happily travel through - and burn up - a part that wasn't designed to handle that kind of surge, if they can.

Just sayin'...

I only mention this having learned a great deal about electron return, flyback currents, and paths-of-least resistance working in an environment that sometimes required us to switch 100Kv @ 10K Amps on and off.  (Think LHC accelerator-beam superconducting magnet type power.)  People are better conductors than air-gaps, and electrons were more than happy to oblige if you did something incredibly stupid and offered them a shorter return path than the one you expected them to take through air gaps and enormous relays and pools of mercury. 



sr. member
Activity: 434
Merit: 265
October 30, 2013, 09:54:31 AM
So he's going to yank power connectors off - and risk damaging - multiple, multi-thousand dollar pieces of hardware just to try and save himself $90 on a PSU?  

He deserves whatever happens to his rigs...

Hmmm ... I don't know why you think I would deserve something ... but anyway ...

I'm working with 2 PSU right now until stability isn't an issue anymore and then move onto one PSU.

Thx for all the constructive comments especially yours Redacted.

Peace and happy mining.
hero member
Activity: 574
Merit: 501
October 30, 2013, 08:07:18 AM
So he's going to yank power connectors off - and risk damaging - multiple, multi-thousand dollar pieces of hardware just to try and save himself $90 on a PSU?  

He deserves whatever happens to his rigs...
hero member
Activity: 681
Merit: 500
October 30, 2013, 08:03:08 AM
have it on again ... a problem when connecting one pcie after the other when psu is on?
2) is there a switch for a pcie cable? ...

thanx or your help

As the 12+ of the cable comes from one output u could just add a kill switch to it, cut the cable and solder the switch. Any 220V 10A rocker switch would do the trick, dont forget to insulate the soldered terminals. Or you can make an patch cable out of these (link) and the switch, that way you dont have to hack you psu cables.

Rather than trying to switch all that high amperage, why not just use the green wire on the 24 pin connector the way it's meant to be used - as an on/off switch?   http://www.robotshop.com/en/cytron-atx-power-supply-breakout-board-right-angle.html


He wants to power multiple rigs from one PSU but be able to turn off just one of them.
hero member
Activity: 574
Merit: 501
October 30, 2013, 08:01:22 AM
have it on again ... a problem when connecting one pcie after the other when psu is on?
2) is there a switch for a pcie cable? ...

thanx or your help

As the 12+ of the cable comes from one output u could just add a kill switch to it, cut the cable and solder the switch. Any 220V 10A rocker switch would do the trick, dont forget to insulate the soldered terminals. Or you can make an patch cable out of these (link) and the switch, that way you dont have to hack you psu cables.

Rather than trying to switch all that high amperage, why not just use the green wire on the 24 pin connector the way it's meant to be used - as an on/off switch?  You don't normally turn off your computer by yanking out the PCIe power connectors from the motherboard, or by yanking the plug out of the wall, do you?  It's bad for the attached electronics to do it that way.

 http://www.robotshop.com/en/cytron-atx-power-supply-breakout-board-right-angle.html
sr. member
Activity: 259
Merit: 250
Dig your freedom
October 30, 2013, 07:18:59 AM
Even without overclocking, a full rig pulls something like 25A from the 12V input. You'll need a much heftier switch than that.
Little overclocked (2k2 resistor instead 1k8)  H-Board with RPi  take 2.4-2.6A 12V
Thats means 2A 12V are minimum for one board.
hero member
Activity: 681
Merit: 500
October 30, 2013, 02:30:44 AM
Even without overclocking, a full rig pulls something like 25A from the 12V input. You'll need a much heftier switch than that.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
October 29, 2013, 05:51:48 PM
have it on again ... a problem when connecting one pcie after the other when psu is on?
2) is there a switch for a pcie cable? ...

thanx or your help

As the 12+ of the cable comes from one output u could just add a kill switch to it, cut the cable and solder the switch. Any 220V 10A rocker switch would do the trick, dont forget to insulate the soldered terminals. Or you can make an patch cable out of these (link) and the switch, that way you dont have to hack you psu cables.
KNK
hero member
Activity: 692
Merit: 502
October 29, 2013, 01:06:50 PM
1) just pull out the pcie ... one by one on the miner? dangerous? also is reinserting to have it on again ... a problem when connecting one pcie after the other when psu is on?
Shouldn't be a problem at all for the few seconds it will run with a single PCIe even if it keeps hashing, but you can stop the miner and power-off the RPi first (recommended in order not to damage the file system)
sr. member
Activity: 434
Merit: 265
October 29, 2013, 11:59:56 AM
I've some questions ... maybee some one has a good solution ...

I'm using a multi rail atx psu ... 1200 Watt ... at which 2 miners are connected.

So if I want to do some overclocking at the moment I've to shut down both miners ...

What solution do I have to only shut down the miner Im modding ....

1) just pull out the pcie ... one by one on the miner? dangerous? also is reinserting to have it on again ... a problem when connecting one pcie after the other when psu is on?
2) is there a switch for a pcie cable? ...
3) a second psu ... yep i got one but i would be happy to only use ... one ...

thanx or your help
legendary
Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003
nec sine labore
October 28, 2013, 03:40:56 AM
Thank you! It was enough. Very helpful!

You're welcome.

spiccioli
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
October 28, 2013, 12:46:49 AM
Thank you! It was enough. Very helpful!
legendary
Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003
nec sine labore
October 27, 2013, 05:27:50 PM
Hi! Can anybody explain me how to connect to bitfury's stratum proxy (located on raspberry pi) with my erupter blades? They are plugged into the same switch port as bitfury starter kit. Is it possible to use the starter kit's stratum for blades? Thank you!

On your bitfury kit stratum-proxy listens on three ports, one per each configured pool on its webgui.

8332,8333,8334

It should be enough to configure your blade to point to your bitfury kit's IP address:8332 to have your blade configured to mine on your first configured pool.

Mind you, I don't have blades available to test.

spiccioli
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
October 27, 2013, 03:33:31 PM
Hi! Can anybody explain me how to connect to bitfury's stratum proxy (located on raspberry pi) with my erupter blades? They are plugged into the same switch port as bitfury starter kit. Is it possible to use the starter kit's stratum for blades? Thank you!
sr. member
Activity: 446
Merit: 250
October 27, 2013, 01:53:58 PM
everything was running smooth for a couple days, autotune was off, suddenly one h-board (October delivery) dies  Cry  Tried putting it in different slots, didn't help, nothing seems to look wrong with it. I've pulled it out now, should I put it back in and wait for self healing effect?


   I got 2 Hboards same as your hboard died with 30 minutes and board got very hot melt down solder around chips.  I got 3 newer hboards but need AC cool down it or hboards will shut off every 10 minutes without AC on it and too later for other 2 died by overheat.
  pictures of chips http://picts.imgur.com/all/


You suck at posting links... Try again.

The link works for me dacman61.  I'm not sure how it works but it comes up with 15 pictures of a burnt chip.
sr. member
Activity: 420
Merit: 250
October 27, 2013, 11:55:21 AM
everything was running smooth for a couple days, autotune was off, suddenly one h-board (October delivery) dies  Cry  Tried putting it in different slots, didn't help, nothing seems to look wrong with it. I've pulled it out now, should I put it back in and wait for self healing effect?


   I got 2 Hboards same as your hboard died with 30 minutes and board got very hot melt down solder around chips.  I got 3 newer hboards but need AC cool down it or hboards will shut off every 10 minutes without AC on it and too later for other 2 died by overheat.
  pictures of chips http://picts.imgur.com/all/
Pages:
Jump to: