Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 296. (Read 5806015 times)

full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...

Thank you.  I'm going to try on Windows next - just to make sure the hardware is working.  Of course I've now hit the USB thing that I need zadig for.  Off to read more ASIC-README and do what it says...
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $

Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in).  

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks.  



you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.
full member
Activity: 198
Merit: 100
I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in). 

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks. 

hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook

Hey, I run cgminer on an original EEEPC 701 running Ubuntu.  Works just fine...

roy


I'm running XP. seems to be working well.
hero member
Activity: 563
Merit: 500
I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook

Hey, I run cgminer on an original EEEPC 701 running Ubuntu.  Works just fine...

roy
hero member
Activity: 651
Merit: 501
My PGP Key: 92C7689C
I've been mining for 12 hours and this is all i see on my CGMiner display for P2Pool ...

GPU: 0   10.75M/11.17Mh/s

Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
[snipped]

I have no new litecoins in my wallet yet.  Is this thing working correctly?  Am I Mining?

That seems awfully high for scrypt mining on a single GPU. For comparison, my 6870 does about 310 kH/s; the rate you're quoting is nearly two orders of magnitude faster. Are you sure you're actually using scrypt, or are you attempting to use sha256d on Litecoin P2Pool?
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook because I got a new Erupter and my USB hub for my regular miner hasn't come yet. I must say that once i read the right READMEs the install went pretty quick. i had to get 7zip and that zadig program, but it all worked well. Normally, i only use this machine to browse and read books. now it is hashing too(temporarily).


Thanks guys for a great mining program. Smiley
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1001
I've been mining for 12 hours and this is all i see on my CGMiner display for P2Pool ...


GPU: 0   10.75M/11.17Mh/s

Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart

I have no new litecoins in my wallet yet.  Is this thing working correctly?  Am I Mining?

Thanks
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Hello, I wanted to ask cgminer community about "efficiency" parameter. For example: if I have efficiency = 8%, then does this mean that I can potentially find 92%/8% = 11.5 more shares in the same time-frame with proper pool and miner settings? Personally I think this parameter is rather useless, because even if I change share because of new blocks, then probability of finding this new share would either:
1) not change much (if cgminer remembers what hashes he previously computed for previous share).
2) not change at all (if cgminer computation is totally random).

But my friend thinks that we should reduce share difficulty of our pool, so that computations of shares almost never interrupted.


Note: Efficiency parameter is located in pool management [p] -> Information .
Efficiency means nothing any more. It was a metric from the days when getwork was used for providing work and means nothing in the stratum world. I will make sure to get rid of it from the pool information.
sr. member
Activity: 336
Merit: 250
maybe that can help I'm not sur what your are talking about Cheesy
I'm using 1 AMD 7950 @ 1150/1500
Diff is set to "256" by the pool

Quote
Pool: http://ltcmine.ru:3333
Does not have own long-poll support
 Queued work requests: 942
 Share submissions: 1558
 Accepted shares: 1524
 Rejected shares: 34
 Accepted difficulty shares: 397358
 Rejected difficulty shares: 8867
 Reject ratio: 2.2%
 Efficiency (accepted / queued): 162%
 Discarded work due to new blocks: 1740
 Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0
 Unable to get work from server occasions: 12
 Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0

cgminer config file

Quote
"intensity" : "20",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "24000",
"shaders" : "1792",
"gpu-engine" : "0",
"gpu-fan" : "0-0",
"gpu-memclock" : "0",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
Hello, I wanted to ask cgminer community about "efficiency" parameter. For example: if I have efficiency = 8%, then does this mean that I can potentially find 92%/8% = 11.5 more shares in the same time-frame with proper pool and miner settings? Personally I think this parameter is rather useless, because even if I change share because of new blocks, then probability of finding this new share would either:
1) not change much (if cgminer remembers what hashes he previously computed for previous share).
2) not change at all (if cgminer computation is totally random).

But my friend thinks that we should reduce share difficulty of our pool, so that computations of shares almost never interrupted.


Note: Efficiency parameter is located in pool management [p] -> Information .
sr. member
Activity: 333
Merit: 250
Ants Rock
legendary
Activity: 1754
Merit: 1007
Have you tried to plug the 5th board on the computer by itself and start cgminer to see if it works?
yes, all boards work perfekt. I have tested with diferent boards
I have tried with 3 and less boards and used --hotplug 5 option, but hotpluging function dont work absolutly.
only max 4 boards in a time accept cgminer.(((
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself
The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

I went ahead and tried it now.

"--usb 5:1,5:2" in one instance
"--usb 3:1,3:2" in the other instance

Both hashing away just fine.  Now I can more objectively compare pools.
Thanks,
Sam

Is that all that is necessary to run multiple instances or is there other "secret sauce"?  What do  the number mean?

i believe the number is bus:device.

so "5:1" means device 1 on bus 5. on linux lsusb shows you the bus and device number for each usb device.

You are correct sir.

It is in the readme too.  I missed it when setting up as I was reading the ASIC readme instead of the regular one.  So it's good to read both.

And yes that is all that is necessary.
Sam
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself
When I press Q to quit CGMiner 3.2.1 most of the time it crash's.  Once out of 3 or 4 times does it display the summary when pressing Q.

Win7 32bit running cgminer-nogpu.
Thanks,
Sam

Try closing the window w/o pressing Q.

M

Then I won't get the summary of stats.  I would like to get that information at times.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
When I press Q to quit CGMiner 3.2.1 most of the time it crash's.  Once out of 3 or 4 times does it display the summary when pressing Q.

Win7 32bit running cgminer-nogpu.
Thanks,
Sam

Try closing the window w/o pressing Q.

M
sr. member
Activity: 333
Merit: 250
Ants Rock
Have you tried to plug the 5th board on the computer by itself and start cgminer to see if it works?
legendary
Activity: 1754
Merit: 1007
How to connect 50 ZTEX 1.15y boards to cgminer? Any ideas....
Jump to: