Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 360. (Read 5805537 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New release: Version 3.1.0, 28th April 2013

Lots of extra READMEs now.

EDIT: I was really tired when i posted this but really wanted to unleash it as soon as it was stable, and the BFL ASIC support really is the bulk of the change. Props to Kano for doing a large chunk of the driver work for this.

NOTE: If you are on windows and cannot get devices to initialise and they are on a USB 3 slot, try them on a USB 2 slot instead.

Human readable changelog:

BFL ASIC support.
(plus other stuff)

EDITS:
- The BFL ASIC driver uses direct USB instead of the serial USB interface, thus being much faster, more reliable, and using a lot less CPU. However as a consequence it needs a different driver installed on windows, and permissions set on linux. The ASIC-README has directions for all of these, and the zadig application which installs and configures the WinUSB driver for you is available from my download page.
- Updated READMEs, split up into GPU- and ASIC- as well.
- A fix for the corrupt display on exit on windows.


Full changelog:

- va_copy is meant to be matched by a va_end in log_generic.
- usbutils remove_in_use break
- usbutils remove_in_use missing prev
- usbutils missing add_in_use
- Clean up summary slightly better on exit.
- Make the scan sleep time after scanwork in bflsc dynamic to keep queues
between watermark levels.
- Remove unused temp counts in bflsc.
- Calculate a rolling 5 min average set of temperatures for bflsc.
- Damp the display of voltage for BFLSC devices.
- Damp the temperature display measurement for bflsc since it fluctuates so
wildly.
- bflsc add volt stats
- Handle failed tolines command in bflsc driver.
- Can use a read lock instead of a write lock in bflsc scanwork.
- Since we are filling a queue on the bflsc devices, there is no need to run
through scanwork frequently provided we use the restart_wait function to abort
early during a block change.
- Remove flushed work in bfl scanwork from the hash table.
- Set correct device in process_nonces in bflsc driver.
- bflsc add work reply INPROCESS: missing from the spec
- bflsc put in some error messages not yet written
- bflsc get completed hashes as late as possible
- Fix potential memory leak with unused work items in bflsc_queue_full
- Reverse bools in bflsc_queue_full
- Avoid recursive loop calling correct function instead.
- bflsc fix details identification
- Differentiate BFLSC device from regular bitforce and give warning if no
support is compiled in.
- util.c str_text make a fully text readable version of str
- BFLSC fix FPGA identity overlap
- Locking error in bflsc_send_work
- Use htobe32 function for converting nonce in bflsc.
- Replace deprecated bzero with memset in bflsc driver.
- Fix compilation of bflsc driver without opencl.
- Check for realloc failures in bflsc driver.
- Check for failure to calloc in bflsc driver.
- Trivial style change
- Use copy_time function in bflsc driver.
- Use cgtime in bflsc driver and update copyright notice.
- Use a separate function for bfl initialise that doesn't require locking.
- Fix BFLSC building.
- bflsc v0.1

EDIT:
Jalapeno hashing looks like this:

Code:
 cgminer version 3.1.0 - Started: [2013-04-29 01:48:31]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):6.630G (avg):6.412Gh/s | A:6262  R:12  HW:0  U:23.1/m  WU:90.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 11  NB: 94  LW: 26762  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to au.ozco.in diff 4 with stratum as user ckolivas.0
 Block: 00391bc278091c13...  Diff:8.97M  Started: [14:13:04]  Best share: 11.5K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  73.0C 3368RPM | 718.2M/720.7Mh/s | A: 704 R: 1 HW:0 U:  2.60/m I:11
 BAJ 0:  max 42C 3.42V | 5.945G/5.693Gh/s | A:5560 R:11 HW:0 U: 20.55/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-04-29 14:12:27] Accepted 2153e014 Diff 7/4 BAJ 0 pool 0
 [2013-04-29 14:12:30] Accepted 32a3e846 Diff 5/4 BAJ 0 pool 0
 [2013-04-29 14:12:37] Accepted 3eb662db Diff 4/4 BAJ 0 pool 0
 [2013-04-29 14:12:39] Accepted 33c7365f Diff 4/4 BAJ 0 pool 0

See also Kano's blog post:
http://www.kano-kun.net/?p=65
sr. member
Activity: 324
Merit: 250
In reply to myself...Yes. Yes I Do.

Now i have a freshly compiled 3.0.1. Built with libncurses5 (since it was in the repos)

I still have no proper display!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe something is wrong with my terminal?
sr. member
Activity: 324
Merit: 250
i just compiled it.

But my compiled one doesn't recognise scrypt.

I used APP-SDK 2.5?

Do i maybe need newer?
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
I just used the 3.00 pre compiled binary.

I was able to compile on 13.04 for my BFL FPGA's with no issues. Maybe try that.
sr. member
Activity: 324
Merit: 250
I just used the 3.00 pre compiled binary.
full member
Activity: 216
Merit: 100
Can anyone help me with Ubuntu 13.04.

It's mining ok but i can't see the display in my terminal window.
CGminer starts, then blanks the window, then all I see is a flashing cursor.

I'd like to be able to tweak my settings here and there.
Which version of ncurses did you build with?
sr. member
Activity: 324
Merit: 250
Can anyone help me with Ubuntu 13.04.

It's mining ok but i can't see the display in my terminal window.
CGminer starts, then blanks the window, then all I see is a flashing cursor.

I'd like to be able to tweak my settings here and there.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
member
Activity: 86
Merit: 10
Hello.

Please, help.
My config:
cpu: amd A5800K
mb: gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 (with nice power button  Grin)
ram: 2x4GB 1600MHz
hdd: 320GB
PSU: 1250W
GPU:
1x7660D (cpu)
1x6950@6970
4x7850

I installed ubuntu 12.04.2 server (without X), amd sdk 2.8, adl 5.0 and drivers 13.4 (promise OpenCL working without X running).
When I compile cgminer from sources then I can run it only under "sudo".
Some output:
Code:
sudo DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --lsa* 0. 00:01.0 AMD Radeon HD 7660D
  1. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
  2. 02:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
  3. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
  4. 05:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
  5. 09:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series

* - Default adapter
Code:
sudo ./cgminer -n
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Platform 0 devices: 6                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 0 Devastator                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 1 Cayman                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 2 Pitcairn                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 3 Pitcairn                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 4 Pitcairn                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 5 Pitcairn                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] ADL found less devices than opencl!                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!                   
 [2013-04-28 12:20:05] 6 GPU devices max detected

So ADL wan't work without X ?
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
hi to all,

i have this configuration for my rig

CPU: AMD Athlon FX-4100 (stock speeds)
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA990FXA-UD7
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x2GB DDR1600
SSD: samsung 840
PSU: xfx 750 + seasonic 750
GPU: 4x Sapphire Vapor-X 7950

and i have this problem (cgminer 2.xx and 3.xx):

if i run cgminer it seem to run 620 Kh/s  every card, but in the pool it appear only 70 kh/s


if i use reaper, i can use only 2 gpu card without driver crush! and hare 1250 kh/s on reaper and on pool

do you have any suggestion?
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
you dont have opencl installed....

did you read.... https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/linux-usb-cgminer ?

This was a big help, thanks. I had glanced at it before but didn't think it applied because, 1. i'm not making a USB based setup. i have several harddrives that i'm not using for anything so i threw one in the machine. 2. i don't know or understand what git is.

I really feel like i've made progress today, thank you to all. the rig i'm building is an under $200 machine that i'm using to see just how involved i want to get in this.

Well, I was making progress following that. now i'm getting:

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in

I followed the above guide up to it telling me to go find the binary for cgminer. i thought that that was was what ./configure would make.
hero member
Activity: 737
Merit: 500
I just upgraded to 3.0.1 (git) from 2.10.4 and my hashrate dropped by 10%!  You broke my GPU?

Just kidding Smiley  The upgrade actually was very smooth.  Love the new libusb support.  Thanks for your hard work, guys!
full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 100
Hi ckolivas, I just sent you a small change proposal in git to change the way api reports mhs. Can you please review it and include it in the next release? thanks!
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Ahhh so none of the Above ..i should have recalled the "true" statement from trying to add "auto-gpu" : true,.... without the True. Duh.

One rig is over  "u=22" the rest are at about  u= 12 so will try the upped Diff .

Thanks.
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
HI,

Problem ...after adding a few more rigs , my modem is crashing nearly every night. From The readme I see this...
Quote

--net-delay         Impose small delays in networking to not overload slow routers

How do I implement this in the .config file...Multi Choice see if I guess Correct. :')

1) "net-delay" : ,       (i pick this one...no argument and comma to go to next line?...lol)
2) "--net-delay" : ,
3) "net-delay"
4)"net-delay" : 10 ,

I do try to read and try things myself' but this is one of those things that could take a long time to see if actually working. If none of the above are correct and explanation as to what is correct and why would really help this noob.

I know the  --net-delay is a command line switch and is slightly changed for the .config file but can it also be used with the ..(--).

And after all of that , will this help with a modem shutting down or do I need to up Diff \ shares for my Pool?


Code:
"net-delay" : true,

If your U value is higher than 20, I'd recommend increasing your share difficulty.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
 HI,

Problem ...after adding a few more rigs , my modem is crashing nearly every night. From The readme I see this...
Quote

--net-delay         Impose small delays in networking to not overload slow routers

How do I implement this in the .config file...Multi Choice see if I guess Correct. :')

1) "net-delay" : ,       (i pick this one...no argument and comma to go to next line?...lol)
2) "--net-delay" : ,
3) "net-delay"
4)"net-delay" : 10 ,

I do try to read and try things myself' but this is one of those things that could take a long time to see if actually working. If none of the above are correct and explanation as to what is correct and why would really help this noob.

I know the  --net-delay is a command line switch and is slightly changed for the .config file but can it also be used with the ..(--).

And after all of that , will this help with a modem shutting down or do I need to up Diff \ shares for my Pool?

sr. member
Activity: 658
Merit: 250
Just upgraded to ubuntu 13.04 - cgminer didn't like it:

cgminer/cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I believe you can quickly fix this by running ln -s /usr/lib/libudev /usr/lib/libudev.so.0. Be aware that this is an ugly hack and you should instead compile cgminer yourself or wait for a new release that supports Ubuntu 13.04.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Just upgraded to ubuntu 13.04 - cgminer didn't like it:

cgminer/cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Current cgminer is built on 12.10 equivalent ...
newbie
Activity: 54
Merit: 0
Just upgraded to ubuntu 13.04 - cgminer didn't like it:

cgminer/cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Hi

I am trying to test cgminer with a 3650D (included in A6 CPUs). I am using Ubuntu 12.04

If I do:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

I get:
Code:
Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6530D
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 13.00 C

Apparently, I can compile cgminer with no problems, but when I do:

Code:
cgminer -n

I get:

Code:
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                    
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                   
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-04-27 00:20:39] 0 GPU devices max detected   
               

Where could I start to troubleshot this?
Jump to: