Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 375. (Read 5806015 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Quick question: is it possible to mine with the stratum protocol through an http proxy?
Theoretically yes, but only if the http proxy is very permissive, and none will by default. A socks proxy will definitely work though.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 501
Quick question: is it possible to mine with the stratum protocol through an http proxy?
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
I suspect that when switching users in windows 7 cgminer hangs. To p2pool it looks like it keeps on mining but with "100% local DOA" and the console interface is broken, nothing gets updated when I press Q or G etc.

Is this a known bug?

From what I have read, it is my understanding that cgminer does not like user switching.
sr. member
Activity: 440
Merit: 250
#SWGT CERTIK Audited
I suspect that when switching users in windows 7 cgminer hangs. To p2pool it looks like it keeps on mining but with "100% local DOA" and the console interface is broken, nothing gets updated when I press Q or G etc.

Is this a known bug?
full member
Activity: 234
Merit: 114
Hi,

i have 4 zTex FPGA running with cgminer - on startup i get the following message:

HS FPGA configuration failed: DONE pin does not go high


The boards are calculating - but what does this message say?
legendary
Activity: 2674
Merit: 1083
Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile

Maybe not exactly a cgminer question...

I have to identical cards. How can i examine which one is gpu0 and which one is gpu1??

Greets

ImI

try cgminer.exe -n and check the gpu and the platform.
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1014
Hi, I'm pretty new to cgminer, have been using it to mine LTC, connecting to pools, and it worked great. Now I've switched to p2pool and there's a problem with (some of) my rigs: when p2pool isn't running (like when I reboot the machine that runs p2pool) cgminer just quits! It just stops working (tried all 2.11.x versions in windows 7), the window disappears and cgminer never restarts when p2pool is back up. This has never happened with other pools, only with p2pool... is there some special option needed to make cgminer "try" to connect to my local p2pool until it's back online and not just quit?
newbie
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
That's the ubuntu binary I guess? I'll rebuild it without needing dynamic libjansson
Yep, it's the Ubuntu binary.
Uploaded fresh builds. Try again.
It's running now, but it says it's running 2.11.3. I can see the 2.11.4 cosmetic changes (removed queued, efficiency and discarded work) though, so I know I copied over the right files. Tongue
Yeah my bad, I built from the master git branch which isn't labelled 2.11.4, but you do have the latest code (and the no-one-ever-READMEs).

I keep heavily marked up printouts of the README and SCRYPT-README my desk, Con, so at least one person has read them!

Tejsei
ImI
legendary
Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019

Maybe not exactly a cgminer question...

I have to identical cards. How can i examine which one is gpu0 and which one is gpu1??

Greets

ImI
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 100
Having an issue, if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

Output of ./cgminer -n
Code:
root@miner-desktop:/home/miner/Downloads/cgminer-2.11.4# ./cgminer -n
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] Platform 0 devices: 3                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] 0 Tahiti                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] 1 Tahiti                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] 2 Tahiti                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] GPU 1 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] GPU 2 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-04-11 22:47:53] 3 GPU devices max detected

What I'm running to use cgminer...
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100

./cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u -p -I 15 --thread-concurrency 8192 -g 1 -w 256

Output
Code:
[2013-04-11 22:59:15] Started cgminer 2.11.4


 [2013-04-11 22:59:15] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-11 22:59:16] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 95420416
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Your scrypt settings come to 1310720000
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or in
crease LG
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-11 22:59:26] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:

As far as I'm aware I should be able to go up to ~20000 TC, what's up?

Any help greatly appreciated.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Hi, I tried to compile cgminer on OSX 10.6.8 with scrypt option to mine litecoin but when i start it I get this error

Quote
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework/Resources/cl_kernel.h:2195:29: note: instantiated from:
 #define rotate(X,Y)         __CLFN_I2(X,Y,rotate)
                             ^
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework/Resources/cl_kernel.h:22:26: note: instantiated from:
 #define __CLFN_I2(x,y,R) __builtin_overload(2, x, y,\
                          ^~~~~~~~ [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Try restarting cgminer.

any hint to fix it?
Nope. Doesn't look like the scrypt opencl kernel compiles on the OSX opencl implementation. You're screwed.
hero member
Activity: 502
Merit: 500
win 7 seems to have had an update now my cgminer isnt loading just a heads up ill give more info when i get home later tonight
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
Hi, I tried to compile cgminer on OSX 10.6.8 with scrypt option to mine litecoin but when i start it I get this error

Quote
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework/Resources/cl_kernel.h:2195:29: note: instantiated from:
 #define rotate(X,Y)         __CLFN_I2(X,Y,rotate)
                             ^
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework/Resources/cl_kernel.h:22:26: note: instantiated from:
 #define __CLFN_I2(x,y,R) __builtin_overload(2, x, y,\
                          ^~~~~~~~ [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Try restarting cgminer.

any hint to fix it?

if I hit any key I get this

Quote
cgminer version 2.11.3 - Started: [2013-04-11 09:45:13]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 ST: 4  SS: 0  NB: 2  LW: 4  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to xxx diff 15 with LP as user xxx
 Block: adc192916cf3bc95...  Diff:15.4M  Started: [09:45:24]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P ]ool management [S ]ettings [D ]isplay options [Q ]uit
 GPU 0:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I:11
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 #define rotate(X,Y)         __CLFN_I2(X,Y,rotate)
                             ^
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework/Resources/cl_kernel.h:22:26: note: instantiated from:
 #define __CLFN_I2(x,y,R) __builtin_overload(2, x, y,\
                          ^~~~~~~~ [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-11 09:45:13] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:
 [2013-04-11 09:45:24] LONGPOLL from pool 0 detected new blockSegmentation fault

Sad
legendary
Activity: 2674
Merit: 1083
Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile
I now dont know further. I installed the driver for intel 3000 gpu, chipsetdriver and newest beta of catalyst for the 7970M. Then installed AMD OpenCL SDK 2.7 because i have read 2.8 is faulty.

But -n shows still only one GPU. At least its the 7970M. It shows Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num).

Starting cgminer brings this error again and then a black screen while the card is running. When i see at the pool (bitparking) the hashrate starts with a crazy high value and constantly drops then even though the gpu seems to run because of high temperature and high clockrates (gpu-z). I believe nothing is sent then anymore.

So what could i try now?
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Hi there,

i hope its ok to write such problems here.

Its my first try to add some performance using the cgminer. The setup is Windows7 64 and 2x7950.

Thats the error i get right after starting:

 [2013-04-10 23:54:56] Started cgminer 2.11.3

 [2013-04-10 23:54:56] Started cgminer 2.11.3
 [2013-04-10 23:54:57] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Your scrypt settings come to 1572864000
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:


Thats what i tried to do:

cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u name.worker -p xyzxyzxyz --shaders 1792 -I 20 -w 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 24000 -g 1

Any ideas??
The RED bit ... and read SCRYPT-README
ImI
legendary
Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019
Hi there,

i hope its ok to write such problems here.

Its my first try to add some performance using the cgminer. The setup is Windows7 64 and 2x7950.

Thats the error i get right after starting:

 [2013-04-10 23:54:56] Started cgminer 2.11.3

 [2013-04-10 23:54:56] Started cgminer 2.11.3
 [2013-04-10 23:54:57] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Your scrypt settings come to 1572864000
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or in
crease LG
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-10 23:55:04] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:


Thats what i tried to do:

cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u name.worker -p xyzxyzxyz --shaders 1792 -I 20 -w 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 24000 -g 1

Any ideas??
legendary
Activity: 2674
Merit: 1083
Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile
I now have another system to test. It has a AMD Radeon HD 7970M and a intel 3000. Its strange but cgminer.exe -n only shows the 7970M as a gpu, not the 3000. It was another way with an nvidia platform. There were 2 platforms and both gpus could mine.

The thing is... when i start mining, regardless if for bitcoins or litecoins, it starts, then the screen turns black and thats all. The fan is working hard. When i check the hashrate at the pool i see a hashrate going down and more down. Im not sure what happens because i cant see anything. When i try the debug-flag the whole thing is crashing.
legendary
Activity: 2674
Merit: 1083
Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile
Hi guys, I'm trying to mining LTC using 2x5870 with this line:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://coinotron.com:3334 -u xxxx -p x --script

The command "--scrypt" aren't accepted by cgminer!

the output is: [2013-04-07 12:51:40] cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

Then i tried with cgminer --enable-scrypt, but the output is:

cgminer: --enable-scrypt: unrecognized option

Even if the command "--enable-scrypt" is on the README file!

If you want to use scrypt you should write scrypt and not script... Smiley
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
Why?
4x7950 exactly like your card mines with 4GB system ram with:
--scrypt -pool:port -O user:pass --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 21712 -g 1 -w 256 -I 19
Win 7 64
12.8
legendary
Activity: 916
Merit: 1003
I can't seem to monitor cgminer (2.11.4) with a web front end (Anubis) when I'm scrypt mining.  If I do normal BTC mining it works fine.  I've tried to explicitly set the api port to 4028 using the --api-port switch but it still doesn't work.
Jump to: