Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 379. (Read 5805537 times)

legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Hello!
If I try to add --thread-concurrency command, cgminer doesn't works:
Code:
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-08 19:21:04] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 209715200
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Your scrypt settings come to 402653184
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or in
crease LG
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:

What's wrong?
This is my complete command line:
cgminer -d 0 -I 12 -g 1 -w 256 -o stratum+tcp://coinotron.com:3334 -u xxx -p xxx --scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144
... and another one:

 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or increase LG

...
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Not solving your problem, but telling you what to look at that it has already told you:

1) [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1124.2)

2) [2013-04-08 18:06:06] Platform 1 devices: 2
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 502
What would cause device id error?

Code:
Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)
Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

Code:
C:\Users\Admin\Desktop\cgminer-2.11.4-windows>cgminer -n
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 0 vendor: Intel(R) Corporation

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 0 name: Intel(R) OpenCL
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 1 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 1 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1124.2)

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] Platform 1 devices: 2
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06]  0       Cypress
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06]  1       Cypress
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabl
ed
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] GPU 1 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabl
ed
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] 2 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] USB all: found 5 devices - listing known devices

 [2013-04-08 18:06:06] No known USB devices

C:\Users\Admin\Desktop\cgminer-2.11.4-windows>
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
I've solved my problem adding
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
on cgminer batch file.
Good to see - I guess you read the README Smiley
full member
Activity: 247
Merit: 100
I've solved my problem adding
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
on cgminer batch file.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
is there an api call that resets stats/shares? same thing as pushing "d" than "z". If not can you add one?
API-README
hero member
Activity: 675
Merit: 507
Freedom to choose
i do not understand how to run cgminer.c in the terminal. i get permission denied and when checked to run as executing file as program then i get a bunch of errors including "syntax error near unexpected token" and "adl.c command not found"

i cd to the dir and ./cgminer

how am i suppose to run this?

There is a README file in the directory that you need to read.  You have much to learn young grasshoppa.

thanks for the tip Viceroy but i have read it... the only cgminer i find is cgminer.c and it does accept commands as the documentation suggests.
sr. member
Activity: 437
Merit: 250
is there an api call that resets stats/shares? same thing as pushing "d" than "z". If not can you add one?
full member
Activity: 247
Merit: 100
Hello!
If I try to add --thread-concurrency command, cgminer doesn't works:
Code:
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-08 19:20:52] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-08 19:21:04] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 209715200
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Your scrypt settings come to 402653184
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or in
crease LG
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-04-08 19:21:05] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:

What's wrong?
This is my complete command line:
cgminer -d 0 -I 12 -g 1 -w 256 -o stratum+tcp://coinotron.com:3334 -u xxx -p xxx --scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144
full member
Activity: 157
Merit: 100
Hello

i have a small problem with my CG miner.

My System: ASRock Z77 Pro4-M
Intel i5 3570K
XFX HD7950
Win7 64 Bit
AMD APP SDK 2.8
Cataclyst Driver 13.1

Following Issue: I want to use this PC also as an office workstation. Therefore I don't want mining to cause an input lag on the screen. My idea was to work over the IGP of the CPU while mining with the GPU. No I set the onboard Grapics as primary grapicsadapter in bios, but after booting the cgminer only detects the slow onboardgraphicsport. I also used a dummy plug for the 7950 to imitate a second monitor. What am I doing wrong?

Best Regards

KJ
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
USB does, yes. But not the devices in question.

If that's the case, then I suppose I see no real benefit to using libusb either.
cgminer already implements functionality that uses the advantages of libusb

...
...
Another is the usb API stats
All devices have statistics recorded about all I/O to them, including the initial control transfers that the serial-USB code doesn't even know about
Yes, this is made possible using libusb. Too bad it's completely useless.

Just thought I'd point out this little gem of utter stupidity by the retard Luke-Jr

So he's been hashing away on a BFL SC for how many days now? Edit: 6 or 7 days!

And ... the latest problem has been a supposed 500ms latency issue with I/O

Pity they chose the crappy miner code to test all this on - coz cgminer (my USB statistics) already reports all this through the API on a per command level. Min, Max, Total, Count ... (average = Total/Count of course)

So I guess they would have known about this how many days ago if they were testing with cgminer instead of the 30 year old crap code used in the crap clone?
Too bad you have no clue what you're talking about, eh?
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Sorry - I'm no good at teaching people to read - especially when they don't bother to read the README ...
Code:
To configure multiple displays on linux you need to configure your Xorg cleanly
to use them all:

sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial
Who knows what else you've (not) done Tongue

Lastest ubuntus don't need xorg.conf

Does this recipe applies anyway?
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Sorry - I'm no good at teaching people to read - especially when they don't bother to read the README ...
Code:
To configure multiple displays on linux you need to configure your Xorg cleanly
to use them all:

sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial
Who knows what else you've (not) done Tongue
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 100
Current output...

./cgminer -n
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06]    0   Tahiti                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-04-08 20:49:06] 1 GPU devices max detected

Has anyone got any ideas what I can do to overcome this? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I currently have 3 x 7950's on board.

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Catalyst 13.1, AMD-APP-SDK v2.8, ADL-SDK v5.0
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
A couple thoughts:

- lower the GPU memory to 900.  I don't think you'll be able to do this with cgminer, you'll need to use MSI afterburner.  It'll make it run cooler and use less electricity.
- no need to specify vector or work size.  cgminer is smart enough to know what's best for your 7970s

M

I believe cgminer will default to -w 64 which is best for 7970's.

Thank you very much for your help and input.

I've just edited the settings as follows:

cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u username -p password -I 9 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memclock 900

I set the Memory Clock to 900MHz in Afterburner before running cgminer with the above settings. Does everything look good now?

edit: getting 650 - 670 Mh/s on each card.

That's about the right speed for a 7970 at that engine speed.

M
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
A couple thoughts:

- lower the GPU memory to 900.  I don't think you'll be able to do this with cgminer, you'll need to use MSI afterburner.  It'll make it run cooler and use less electricity.
- no need to specify vector or work size.  cgminer is smart enough to know what's best for your 7970s

M

I believe cgminer will default to -w 64 which is best for 7970's.

Thank you very much for your help and input.

I've just edited the settings as follows:

cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u username -p password -I 9 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memclock 900

I set the Memory Clock to 900MHz in Afterburner before running cgminer with the above settings. Does everything look good now?

edit: getting 650 - 670 Mh/s on each card.
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
I have two "Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 OC with Boost 3GB" cards and I'm running cgminer currently. Bitcoin is a complicated and in-depth topic that I'm not too familiar with. And neither am I well versed in mining. So I would like some input on the settings I'm using for two cards. I disconnected the CrossFire ribbon cable, and I disabled CrossFire in the Catalyst Control Center. With an OC from 950MHz core to 1100MHz, I'm using the following:

cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u worker -p pass -I 9 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memclock 1425 -v 1 -w 256

I have MSI Afterburner installed to manage the fan speeds relative to the temperatures.

Does what I have look fine? The machine is a dedicated miner.

A couple thoughts:

- lower the GPU memory to 900.  I don't think you'll be able to do this with cgminer, you'll need to use MSI afterburner.  It'll make it run cooler and use less electricity.
- no need to specify vector or work size.  cgminer is smart enough to know what's best for your 7970s

M

I believe cgminer will default to -w 64 which is best for 7970's.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
I have two "Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 OC with Boost 3GB" cards and I'm running cgminer currently. Bitcoin is a complicated and in-depth topic that I'm not too familiar with. And neither am I well versed in mining. So I would like some input on the settings I'm using for two cards. I disconnected the CrossFire ribbon cable, and I disabled CrossFire in the Catalyst Control Center. With an OC from 950MHz core to 1100MHz, I'm using the following:

cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u worker -p pass -I 9 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memclock 1425 -v 1 -w 256

I have MSI Afterburner installed to manage the fan speeds relative to the temperatures.

Does what I have look fine? The machine is a dedicated miner.

A couple thoughts:

- lower the GPU memory to 900.  I don't think you'll be able to do this with cgminer, you'll need to use MSI afterburner.  It'll make it run cooler and use less electricity.
- no need to specify vector or work size.  cgminer is smart enough to know what's best for your 7970s

M
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
I have two "Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 OC with Boost 3GB" cards and I'm running cgminer currently. Bitcoin is a complicated and in-depth topic that I'm not too familiar with. And neither am I well versed in mining. So I would like some input on the settings I'm using for two cards. I disconnected the CrossFire ribbon cable, and I disabled CrossFire in the Catalyst Control Center. With an OC from 950MHz core to 1100MHz, I'm using the following:

cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u worker -p pass -I 9 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memclock 1425 -v 1 -w 256

I have MSI Afterburner installed to manage the fan speeds relative to the temperatures.

Does what I have look fine? The machine is a dedicated miner.
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
Looks like chrome has 2.11.4 listed as malicious?  I got a warning after I downloaded it.
chrome? It now includes an AV? and it's as stupid as most of the windows AV programs for detecting cgminer rather than the viruses that can put it there? Sigh.

Yeah, that is very lame:
Jump to: