Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 505. (Read 5806088 times)

newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my Windows 7 Pro 64 bit desktop. I'm at the point where I need to start building cgminer, but I'm getting the following error:
Code:
The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~
$ cd cgminer-2.7.4

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ adl.sh
/mingw/bin/adl.sh: /mingw/bin/adl.sh: cannot execute binary file

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ file adl.sh
adl.sh: ERROR: cannot open `adl.sh' (No such file or directory)

I made the adl.sh file with the following contents:
Code:
cp -av ../ADL_SDK/*.h ADL_SDK
Then I saved it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\bin. I also made the ADL_SDK directory and placed it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\home\The Joey-O\ with adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h & adl_structures.h inside.

Any idea on what I'm doing wrong?

Make sure you have the adl.sh file there. And the CGMiner source code in there somewhere. Not the CGminer already compiled, but you need the source.

Ok. I definitely have the adl.sh file where it's supposed to be according to the documentation. How do I know if what I downloaded is source or precompiled code?
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
I got it to work.  I removed the adl headers from ADL_SDK.  The autogen.sh program is redundant with configure.  So I ran autogen.sh, make and it works.

Code:

 cgminer version 2.7.4 - Started: [2012-08-26 17:47:06]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):79.1 (avg):70.9 Mh/s | Q:16  A:2  R:0  HW:0  E:12%  U:0.6/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 3  SS: 0  DW: 8  NB: 2  LW: 9  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 0.6
 Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user f2e2a6747bcd818146e79c17f3f3112e
 Block: 000005a8796d4d93715005802e064906...  Started: [17:49:30]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                |  71.6/ 71.9Mh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:0 U:0.65/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-08-26 17:47:06] Started cgminer 2.7.4
 [2012-08-26 17:47:06] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-08-26 17:47:06] Long-polling activated for http://gpumax.com:8332/listenChannel
 [2012-08-26 17:47:06] Pool 0 http://gpumax.com:8332 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:47:07] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8332 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:47:07] Pool 2 http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:47:08] Pool 3 http://btcguild.com:8332 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:47:09] Pool 4 http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:47:09] Pool 5 http://localhost:8332 alive
 [2012-08-26 17:48:07] Accepted d32f4f8b.20b20d72 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-08-26 17:48:28] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-08-26 17:49:30] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-08-26 17:49:59] Accepted fdb505b5.72d199e1 GPU 0 pool 0



At these settings it renders my Mac unusable.  Plus it is not fast enough to make money.  But it is faster than an old version of Diablo that I have which does 61 MH/s.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my mac.  My card is a 6750M so I don't expect much performance.  I'm just doing this to see if I can.

I have MacOS 10.8.  I installed XCode, XCode command line tools, MacPorts and the following from MacPorts: git yasm curl ncurses automake autoconf autogen.

I copied adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h and adl_structures.h from one of my linux machines into cgminer/ADL_SDK/.  I had to modify adl_sdk.h to remove the #if defined (LINUX) condition.
Why did you  do that then? There is no ADL support on macos.

So is cgminer on MacOS possible?  If not I will give up.
DONT DO THAT.
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
I just found the --disable-adl switch.  I'll try it.
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
What is adl support?  How do I compile without it?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my mac.  My card is a 6750M so I don't expect much performance.  I'm just doing this to see if I can.

I have MacOS 10.8.  I installed XCode, XCode command line tools, MacPorts and the following from MacPorts: git yasm curl ncurses automake autoconf autogen.

I copied adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h and adl_structures.h from one of my linux machines into cgminer/ADL_SDK/.  I had to modify adl_sdk.h to remove the #if defined (LINUX) condition.
Why did you  do that then? There is no ADL support on macos.

So is cgminer on MacOS possible?  If not I will give up.
It is, without the adl support...
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my mac.  My card is a 6750M so I don't expect much performance.  I'm just doing this to see if I can.

I have MacOS 10.8.  I installed XCode, XCode command line tools, MacPorts and the following from MacPorts: git yasm curl ncurses automake autoconf autogen.

I copied adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h and adl_structures.h from one of my linux machines into cgminer/ADL_SDK/.  I had to modify adl_sdk.h to remove the #if defined (LINUX) condition.
Why did you  do that then? There is no ADL support on macos.

So is cgminer on MacOS possible?  If not I will give up.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my mac.  My card is a 6750M so I don't expect much performance.  I'm just doing this to see if I can.

I have MacOS 10.8.  I installed XCode, XCode command line tools, MacPorts and the following from MacPorts: git yasm curl ncurses automake autoconf autogen.

I copied adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h and adl_structures.h from one of my linux machines into cgminer/ADL_SDK/.  I had to modify adl_sdk.h to remove the #if defined (LINUX) condition.
Why did you  do that then? There is no ADL support on macos.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my Windows 7 Pro 64 bit desktop. I'm at the point where I need to start building cgminer, but I'm getting the following error:
Code:
The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~
$ cd cgminer-2.7.4

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ adl.sh
/mingw/bin/adl.sh: /mingw/bin/adl.sh: cannot execute binary file

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ file adl.sh
adl.sh: ERROR: cannot open `adl.sh' (No such file or directory)

I made the adl.sh file with the following contents:
Code:
cp -av ../ADL_SDK/*.h ADL_SDK
Then I saved it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\bin. I also made the ADL_SDK directory and placed it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\home\The Joey-O\ with adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h & adl_structures.h inside.

Any idea on what I'm doing wrong?

Make sure you have the adl.sh file there. And the CGMiner source code in there somewhere. Not the CGminer already compiled, but you need the source.
newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my Windows 7 Pro 64 bit desktop. I'm at the point where I need to start building cgminer, but I'm getting the following error:
Code:
The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~
$ cd cgminer-2.7.4

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ adl.sh
/mingw/bin/adl.sh: /mingw/bin/adl.sh: cannot execute binary file

The Joey-O@Mr_Compy ~/cgminer-2.7.4
$ file adl.sh
adl.sh: ERROR: cannot open `adl.sh' (No such file or directory)

I made the adl.sh file with the following contents:
Code:
cp -av ../ADL_SDK/*.h ADL_SDK
Then I saved it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\bin. I also made the ADL_SDK directory and placed it in \MinGW\msys\1.0\home\The Joey-O\ with adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h & adl_structures.h inside.

Any idea on what I'm doing wrong?
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
I'm trying to compile cgminer on my mac.  My card is a 6750M so I don't expect much performance.  I'm just doing this to see if I can.

I have MacOS 10.8.  I installed XCode, XCode command line tools, MacPorts and the following from MacPorts: git yasm curl ncurses automake autoconf autogen.

I copied adl_defines.h, adl_sdk.h and adl_structures.h from one of my linux machines into cgminer/ADL_SDK/.  I had to modify adl_sdk.h to remove the #if defined (LINUX) condition.

I was able to compile the code but it fails on the final linking of the executable, this command:

Code:
gcc  -g -O2   -o cgminer cgminer-cgminer.o cgminer-util.o cgminer-sha2.o cgminer-api.o cgminer-logging.o cgminer-driver-opencl.o cgminer-ocl.o cgminer-findnonce.o cgminer-adl.o        -ldl -L/opt/local/lib -lcurl   compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread -framework OpenCL -lm lib/libgnu.a ccan/libccan.a   -lncurses -lpthread 

with this error:

Code:
imac:cgminer sgravina$ make
make  all-recursive
Making all in lib
make  all-recursive
make[4]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
Making all in compat
Making all in jansson
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
Making all in ccan
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
  CCLD     cgminer
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_change_gpusettings", referenced from:
      _manage_gpu in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_clear_adl", referenced from:
      _clean_up in cgminer-cgminer.o
      _print_ndevs_and_exit in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_gpu_activity", referenced from:
      _watchdog_thread in cgminer-cgminer.o
  "_gpu_autotune", referenced from:
      _watchdog_thread in cgminer-cgminer.o
  "_gpu_fanpercent", referenced from:
      _get_opencl_statline_before in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_gpu_fanspeed", referenced from:
      _get_opencl_statline_before in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_gpu_stats", referenced from:
      _watchdog_thread in cgminer-cgminer.o
      _gpustatus in cgminer-api.o
      _manage_gpu in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_gpu_temp", referenced from:
      _get_opencl_statline_before in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_init_adl", referenced from:
      _opencl_detect in cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  "_set_engineclock", referenced from:
      _gpuengine in cgminer-api.o
  "_set_fanspeed", referenced from:
      _gpufan in cgminer-api.o
  "_set_memoryclock", referenced from:
      _gpumem in cgminer-api.o
  "_set_vddc", referenced from:
      _gpuvddc in cgminer-api.o
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2

Obviously I am not finding some symbols in my link.  Where do I find them on a Mac?  Are they there?  Can I put them there?
newbie
Activity: 63
Merit: 0
Hard lock. Where the thing just locks at whatever it was doing and stops accepting input. Monitor continues to output video, but nothing is animated of course.

It's a video card freeze.
Are your video cards overclocked or undervolted?

If it happens again, try to ssh from another box if you can.

Quote
Have to hold down the power button to reset.

Didn't you try the magic sysrq keys (in Linux, of course)?
Sync first (S), then remount ro (U), then reboot (B).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key
--
Bye

I guess your post does reveal my vagueness.

First off I don't GPU mine, and while I definitely expect Linux's GPU drivers to be flaky, I've never had a problem on my Windows machine... ever. And even with knowing that Linux has crap for GPU drivers, I've never had a problem on that machine before either. But then both freeze soon after 2.7.4?

Either way, both cards are on stock settings and are not being used to mine either. I have only BFL devices. Again, not trying to point fingers but it does seem pretty coincidental.

About your magic keys, no I didn't do that. I know nothing about Linux, and maybe a little more about coding. Took C, C++, Java, VB back in college, never went anywhere with it. But I do know that code gets extremely complex, and when you have someone (like ck here) that loves to hack at his code, I try to bring any possibility of problem along in here because it's a rare opportunity to have such a close, ongoing communication between the main developer of -any- widely used software. This is because that even if your problem doesn't bring any bug kill to fruition, you never quite know how you're poking his brain with your words Smiley

..not that I don't think you know all of this. But some here might find this useful.
I will wait for both machines to freeze in a similar manner, and if it happens go back to 2.6.6 and wait for another freeze.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
FWIW, my 5850 (stock settings, SDK 2.1) has a 5 MH/s performance loss with the new kernels.
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Inactive

Other than that, only other thing that's off is that when I start 2.7.4 on the 60GH machine, I get a massive log full of "pool not providing work fast enough" right at the beginning. Like 16 lines, heh. Just an aesthetic thing if anything.

I get this, 20 or so at a time, from time to time on 2.7.4. 
sr. member
Activity: 451
Merit: 250
Sorry about this question if it is already answered but this thread is very long to look through.

Version 2.7.4 gives me faster hash rates if I increase the memory clock from 150 MHz to 300 MHz.  The previous version 2.6.4 does the same at 150 or 300.  Is this a known effect?  Is there anything else I should know without just experimenting.  My cards are 5870, 5850 and 5830.  The increase is about 2.5%.  This is significant and the fastest I've ever obtained with any cgminer version.
member
Activity: 266
Merit: 36
2.7.4 has been running for 24 hours now on my Ubuntu 3x5970 rig with p2pool. Previous version was 2.6.5. With worksize 128 (previous was default) and memclock 250 (previous was 200), the hash rate is 0.9% lower. That's not a serious concern, but is there anything I should tweak to see if the previous rate is attainable?
Lem
newbie
Activity: 78
Merit: 0
Hard lock. Where the thing just locks at whatever it was doing and stops accepting input. Monitor continues to output video, but nothing is animated of course.

It's a video card freeze.
Are your video cards overclocked or undervolted?

If it happens again, try to ssh from another box if you can.

Quote
Have to hold down the power button to reset.

Didn't you try the magic sysrq keys (in Linux, of course)?
Sync first (S), then remount ro (U), then reboot (B).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key
--
Bye
newbie
Activity: 63
Merit: 0
Not trying to say cgminer caused this, but I had my Ubuntu machine freeze on me yesterday and that has literally never happened before... thought nothing of it at first, but now just tonight my Windows 7 machine just froze as well... that also hasn't happened, in probably a few YEARS. And they both just happen to be running 2.7.4 now.

Coincidence? Maybe..

Hard lock. Where the thing just locks at whatever it was doing and stops accepting input. Monitor continues to output video, but nothing is animated of course. Have to hold down the power button to reset. Both computers froze in the same fashion.

Again, no clue if cgminer is even capable of freezing a computer but this just seems way too coincidental to not mention.
The other thing is that they're both operating in very different environments. Both on their own electric circuit, one has an AMD card while the other nVidia, and on the Ubuntu machine cgminer is literally the only process running. I mean cgminer is the only common denominator, literally, outside of both pc's having an intel processor.
But you would think something like this would be reported already. I don't know, I'll keep an eye out.

Other than that, only other thing that's off is that when I start 2.7.4 on the 60GH machine, I get a massive log full of "pool not providing work fast enough" right at the beginning. Like 16 lines, heh. Just an aesthetic thing if anything.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Hey, whenever I try to write my config on CGMiner, it creates a 0 byte conf file then crashes.
Any reason why?
Nope
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Hey, whenever I try to write my config on CGMiner, it creates a 0 byte conf file then crashes.
Any reason why?
Jump to: