Pages:
Author

Topic: rpietila Altcoin Observer - page 50. (Read 387491 times)

pa
Activity: 528
Merit: 501
September 03, 2014, 11:47:51 PM
True.  But I think the "ICO" is very clearly in violation of the law.  This creates a liability when they are sued by investors who lose money as a result.
Which law specifically do you think is violated?
The Securities Act of 1933, section 5(a) for one.  There are others which may also pertain, but I am not a domain expert, and prefer to mention only the one which seems relatively straightforward in its application.

Is Poloniex doing anything at all with securities?
Check out the SuperNET threads.  I can't bring myself to represent it fairly.  But I definitely think the proposal which I originally read was a securities offering.

DRAFT doc for SuperNET is at http://209.126.70.170/SuperNET.pdf
feedback appreciated
legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1030
Sine secretum non libertas
September 03, 2014, 11:37:59 PM
True.  But I think the "ICO" is very clearly in violation of the law.  This creates a liability when they are sued by investors who lose money as a result.
The Securities Act of 1933, section 5(a) for one.  There are others which may also pertain, but I am not a domain expert, and prefer to mention only the one which seems relatively straightforward in its application.

Check out the SuperNET threads.  I can't bring myself to represent it fairly.  But I definitely think the proposal which I originally read was a securities offering.
legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1030
Sine secretum non libertas
September 03, 2014, 11:36:33 PM