Pages:
Author

Topic: T17/S17 malfunction: cases, solutions, remedies, RMA history - page 11. (Read 6919 times)

Activity: 604
Merit: 416
I have never done soldering before and the only experience with heat gun that I have was bending hard-line tubbing. I wouldn't dare to do that yet, I might buy broken S9s to learn how to do it on them but I would rather RMA this unit right now.

I could provide you a better and zoomed in pictures of chip and heatsink.

Solder snapped with heatsink for sure, the only thing that I could see on bottom of the heatsink was name (or part of it) of the chip, which might or might not indicate that it took a part of chip as well.

That chip group did have a problem with overheating now that you mention it, but never above 90C, it was usually in mid 80s and during winter in low 70s.

It is one of the last chips on the board if I remember right.

During my initial testing when I didn't even open the unit, that hashboard would at least pop up in voltage check. But now after loose heatsink it doesn't even show up in Kernel Log which is normal but it might mean that it is possible to save it, but as I said, I am not up to that challenge.
Activity: 544
Merit: 589
Moving on, after the futile attempt at "fixing" it, I gently pushed the heatsink in case with my middle finger and this was the result:

https://i.imgur.com/8Nayhat.jpg

May that hashboard rest in peace.

That may not actually be as bad as it might look. If the solder snapped without taking part of the chip with it, then re-attaching the heatsink with a heat gun might fix it (probably very slim chance though).