Pages:
Author

Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22] - page 84. (Read 1153383 times)

legendary
Activity: 1022
Merit: 1007
Sooner or later, a man who wears two faces forgets
For simply using Vanity with CMD , it sure shows me quite high time for finding 1koelen...... BTC address.
I don't think i have a chance to stumble on it Sad
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
I got a VPS from someone at a very cheap price. I wonder how can I use the VPS with Vanitygen. Any guide? Searched Google but dont seem to find any answer.

You can install vanitygen and generate vanity addresses like you do in a normal PC.

It is my first time using a VPS. I'm currently hosting with Nexhost. How do I install Vanitygen from the control panel? Is there a step by step guide?

You can use Putty. http://www.putty.org/

There are many tutorials for using Putty.

PuTTY is a tool for accessing the server. You will also need to know how to download and unpack the package (wget and tar), and install or compile-and-install (package manager for dependencies, autogen/configure/make/make install for compiling+installation).

Yes. He can also use compiled binaries if he can't compile.

Given the question (bolded in the quote), I think the suggestion to use PuTTY is a little misleading.  PuTTY is an SSH client for Windoze.  But the question was about installing vanitygen from the control panel.  So, I'm pretty sure what MZ means here is that "no you can't use the 'control panel', you'll need to get a shell on the server using an ssh client (such as PuTTY)."  Then, in that context, you can see that hexfraction is pointing out that beyond just getting a shell on the server, you'll need to actually know some commands on the server.  At least wget/curl and tar, so that you can get the binaries (even if you don't want to compile).