Author

Topic: Wall Observer BTC/USD - Bitcoin price movement tracking & discussion - page 32065. (Read 26471829 times)

Activity: 462
Merit: 250
Funny how it goes from 189 to 183 in a burst within minutes, yet 200-199 and 190-189 took forever...do people try to defend a price point and hold it up? (trading noob here)

Your noobishness is excused :-). It's called volume my friend!
maz
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
Funny how it goes from 189 to 183 in a burst within minutes, yet 200-199 and 190-189 took forever...do people try to defend a price point and hold it up? (trading noob here)
Activity: 462
Activity: 530
Merit: 500
Cause Bitstamp is acting strange.
Activity: 706
Dutyfree.io – defying tobacco taxes since 2009.
Why are we going down?
Activity: 47
Merit: 0
maz
Activity: 140
Annnnd it's tipped over into the 180's
legendary
Activity: 2324
Merit: 1801
1CBuddyxy4FerT3hzMmi1Jz48ESzRw1ZzZ
legendary
Activity: 1638
Merit: 1001
₪``Campaign Manager´´₪
This is a little out of date in some respects, but with recent events it may come back sharply into focus soon. I was curious to see just how much Silk Road was contributing to what was a strong underlying growth trend in Bitcoin price - and the answer seems to support the claims that it was almost entirely responsible (more than I expected, see below).
I doubt there's many people that believe Bitcoin got to the current giddy heights through mass adoption or genuine utility, so the next question is what happens to Bitcoin if the factors driving it up there disappear along with Silk Road?

Correlation != causation
This, both price and silkroad user number are expected to rise with bitcoin adoption (and thus time).  I bet there are other services/metrics that show a similar correlation with the bitcoin price (bitcointalk speculation posts perhaps). You can't conclude from this that silk road is the principal driver of price.
legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000