Pages:
Author

Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released! - page 62. (Read 397616 times)

hero member
Activity: 546
Merit: 500
Yes a single Opteron dual core @ 2.8 will easily outperform 2x Xeon DP (single core, HT) @ 3.6 GHz. By a factor of 2-3x. AMD CPU do more work per cycle than intel designs. I get 1600+ and 600-700 PPS respectively from these. The memory and memory subsystem is slightly faster on the AMD too, but not really by much. Both are 64 bit.

As to Tommo_Aus, you can't just paste a huge list of 'results' giving 1 result for each hardware setup. If you look at the getmininginfo it is refreshed once per minute. If you give that command again in 1 minutes time the CPM and PPS will be different.

For example CPM might go like this: 4, 4, 4, 5, 8, 1, 4, 4, 8, 6, 6, 5, 5, 4, 7

So if you had used getmining info when it was a low value... or a high value for that matter... you are misleading yourself.

The thing to do is take an average of MANY CPM counts (or PPS counts).
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10


On last bit, I've found one block over the last couple of days and its displaying as immature, 2591 confirms. When does it mature so I can send it to another wallet? Is it at a certain number of confirms?

If you go to transactions and hover your mouse over the dial there it should tell you how many more before it matures. If I remember correctly it's something like 3200 or something in that range.
sr. member
Activity: 420
Merit: 250
Hi guys,

I've made the switch to the HP8 client and noted a large increase in p/s but I can't find an answer to a few basics of Primecoin.

To judge performace am I only interested in p/sec or does chainspermin matter as well?

What is sievesize? chainspermin and p/s change if I vary the sievesize but what does this actually mean? I've seen some wanting to go for the largest size possible such as 4 000 000 but my p/s goes down a lot if I try this. On my i7 3820 if I use the lowest sievesize, 100 000, I get the best results.

2 000 000:

    "blocks" : 83331,
    "chainspermin" : 8,
    "currentblocksize" : 1820,
    "currentblocktx" : 1,
    "difficulty" : 9.26782423,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 7,
    "roundsievepercentage" : 30,
    "primespersec" : 3866,
    "pooledtx" : 1,
    "sievepercentage" : 10,
    "sievesize" : 2000000,
    "testnet" : false

100 000:

    "blocks" : 83318,
    "chainspermin" : 11,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 9.26746053,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 7,
    "roundsievepercentage" : 30,
    "primespersec" : 7495,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "sievepercentage" : 10,
    "sievesize" : 100000,
    "testnet" : false

For those interested there are my results on different hardware:

2x Xeon E5520 (4 cores/8 threads each, running 14 threads):

{
    "blocks" : 86410,
    "chainspermin" : 10,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 9.28923029,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 14,
    "roundsievepercentage" : 20,
    "primespersec" : 8445,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "sievepercentage" : 8,
    "sievesize" : 100000,
    "testnet" : false
}

2x Opteron 6128 HE (8 cores each, running 14 threads):

{
    "blocks" : 86414,
    "chainspermin" : 15,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 9.28927737,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 14,
    "roundsievepercentage" : 20,
    "primespersec" : 13677,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "sievepercentage" : 8,
    "sievesize" : 100000,
    "testnet" : false
}

i7 3820 (4 cores/8 threads, running 7 threads):

{
    "blocks" : 86415,
    "chainspermin" : 10,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 9.28940433,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 7,
    "roundsievepercentage" : 20,
    "primespersec" : 8297,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "sievepercentage" : 8,
    "sievesize" : 100000,
    "testnet" : false
}

For some reason it really likes the Opteron's, even though they're lower powered than the Xeon's in normal applications.

On last bit, I've found one block over the last couple of days and its displaying as immature, 2591 confirms. When does it mature so I can send it to another wallet? Is it at a certain number of confirms?
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10
Ok started with these settings and ran for 2 hours

roundsievepercentage=10
sievepercentage=1
sievesize=100000
pps=around 2800
cpm=1-2

 Prime/h:    9799228
    Test/h:  126765132
 5-Chain/h:         94

Yes I know these are low settings but figured I would start from there and work my way up.

member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10
I got it figured out. Thanks will post some results by tomorrow
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100

ok i got cygwin installed, launched a cygwin terminal. how do I "cd to my primecoin directory"? I dont know what that means. Sorry

cd is the command for "change directory".
Cygwin uses *nix style directory paths, so your primecoin directory should be something like:
cd "/cygdrive/c/Users/your_username/AppData/Roaming/Primecoin"
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10
Here's something I came up with while benchmarking some parameter sets.

Before you begin, be sure to delete your debug.log file so you don't have any previous info in it.
Run primecoin with your desired settings and have it run for a few hours.  (Anything less than 2hrs and I can't guarantee accuracy)
In the directory with your debug.log file, run
Code:
grep primemeter debug.log | awk '{s1+=$4;s2+=$6;s3+=$8} END {printf"%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n","Prime/h",s1/NR,"Test/h",s2/NR,"5-Chain/h",s3/NR}'

You'll need to 1) be on a *nix system or 2) have cygwin installed.
This averages all the stats produced in debug.log.  Since the stats are of 60 second intervals, no one data point is relevant, but a few hundred of them are.

Example output:
Code:
   Prime/h:    8138437
    Test/h:   72084650
 5-Chain/h:        330

when you say "run in the directory of your debug.lof file, do you mean from use run>cmd>blahblahdirectoryofdebugYOURCODE>enter?

Do I delete the debug.log file and just add a new.txt and rename it? after each test can I just rename the debug.log file to "test1.txt" and then create a new one? Ill be happy to post all results. Sorry im n00bish

Before you start that, you're going to need to install Cygwin because Windows doesn't have grep or awk.  You'd launch a Cygwin terminal, cd to your primecoin AppData directory, then run the command.  If you want to empty your debug.log file, you can use echo "" > debug.log.

ok ill see what i can do, ill post results periodically. Im running an i5 2.3ghz 2410M with windows 7

ok i got cygwin installed, launched a cygwin terminal. how do I "cd to my primecoin directory"? I dont know what that means. Sorry
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10
Here's something I came up with while benchmarking some parameter sets.

Before you begin, be sure to delete your debug.log file so you don't have any previous info in it.
Run primecoin with your desired settings and have it run for a few hours.  (Anything less than 2hrs and I can't guarantee accuracy)
In the directory with your debug.log file, run
Code:
grep primemeter debug.log | awk '{s1+=$4;s2+=$6;s3+=$8} END {printf"%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n","Prime/h",s1/NR,"Test/h",s2/NR,"5-Chain/h",s3/NR}'

You'll need to 1) be on a *nix system or 2) have cygwin installed.
This averages all the stats produced in debug.log.  Since the stats are of 60 second intervals, no one data point is relevant, but a few hundred of them are.

Example output:
Code:
   Prime/h:    8138437
    Test/h:   72084650
 5-Chain/h:        330

when you say "run in the directory of your debug.lof file, do you mean from use run>cmd>blahblahdirectoryofdebugYOURCODE>enter?

Do I delete the debug.log file and just add a new.txt and rename it? after each test can I just rename the debug.log file to "test1.txt" and then create a new one? Ill be happy to post all results. Sorry im n00bish

Before you start that, you're going to need to install Cygwin because Windows doesn't have grep or awk.  You'd launch a Cygwin terminal, cd to your primecoin AppData directory, then run the command.  If you want to empty your debug.log file, you can use echo "" > debug.log.

ok ill see what i can do, ill post results periodically. Im running an i5 2.3ghz 2410M with windows 7
full member
Activity: 156
Merit: 100
Today I will try:

sievesize=200000
genproclimit=-1
roundsievepercentage=100
sievepercentage=1


00:29:08

getmininginfo


00:29:08

{
"blocks" : 86080,
"chainspermin" : 0,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.28916806,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 2686,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 1,
"sievesize" : 200000,
"testnet" : false
}


00:31:23

getmininginfo


00:31:23

{
"blocks" : 86081,
"chainspermin" : 0,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.28909522,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 2749,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 1,
"sievesize" : 200000,
"testnet" : false
}


00:32:10

getmininginfo


00:32:10

{
"blocks" : 86081,
"chainspermin" : 0,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.28909522,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 2180,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 1,
"sievesize" : 200000,
"testnet" : false
}

Always with any settings so big up and down, why?!
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
Here's something I came up with while benchmarking some parameter sets.

Before you begin, be sure to delete your debug.log file so you don't have any previous info in it.
Run primecoin with your desired settings and have it run for a few hours.  (Anything less than 2hrs and I can't guarantee accuracy)
In the directory with your debug.log file, run
Code:
grep primemeter debug.log | awk '{s1+=$4;s2+=$6;s3+=$8} END {printf"%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n","Prime/h",s1/NR,"Test/h",s2/NR,"5-Chain/h",s3/NR}'

You'll need to 1) be on a *nix system or 2) have cygwin installed.
This averages all the stats produced in debug.log.  Since the stats are of 60 second intervals, no one data point is relevant, but a few hundred of them are.

Example output:
Code:
   Prime/h:    8138437
    Test/h:   72084650
 5-Chain/h:        330

when you say "run in the directory of your debug.lof file, do you mean from use run>cmd>blahblahdirectoryofdebugYOURCODE>enter?

Do I delete the debug.log file and just add a new.txt and rename it? after each test can I just rename the debug.log file to "test1.txt" and then create a new one? Ill be happy to post all results. Sorry im n00bish

Before you start that, you're going to need to install Cygwin because Windows doesn't have grep or awk.  You'd launch a Cygwin terminal, cd to your primecoin AppData directory, then run the command.  If you want to empty your debug.log file, you can use echo "" > debug.log.
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10
Here's something I came up with while benchmarking some parameter sets.

Before you begin, be sure to delete your debug.log file so you don't have any previous info in it.
Run primecoin with your desired settings and have it run for a few hours.  (Anything less than 2hrs and I can't guarantee accuracy)
In the directory with your debug.log file, run
Code:
grep primemeter debug.log | awk '{s1+=$4;s2+=$6;s3+=$8} END {printf"%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n","Prime/h",s1/NR,"Test/h",s2/NR,"5-Chain/h",s3/NR}'

You'll need to 1) be on a *nix system or 2) have cygwin installed.
This averages all the stats produced in debug.log.  Since the stats are of 60 second intervals, no one data point is relevant, but a few hundred of them are.

Example output:
Code:
   Prime/h:    8138437
    Test/h:   72084650
 5-Chain/h:        330

when you say "run in the directory of your debug.lof file, do you mean from use run>cmd>blahblahdirectoryofdebugYOURCODE>enter?

Do I delete the debug.log file and just add a new.txt and rename it? after each test can I just rename the debug.log file to "test1.txt" and then create a new one? Ill be happy to post all results. Sorry im n00bish
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
Here's something I came up with while benchmarking some parameter sets.

Before you begin, be sure to delete your debug.log file so you don't have any previous info in it.
Run primecoin with your desired settings and have it run for a few hours.  (Anything less than 2hrs and I can't guarantee accuracy)
In the directory with your debug.log file, run
Code:
grep primemeter debug.log | awk '{s1+=$4;s2+=$6;s3+=$8} END {printf"%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n%10s: %10d\n","Prime/h",s1/NR,"Test/h",s2/NR,"5-Chain/h",s3/NR}'

You'll need to 1) be on a *nix system or 2) have cygwin installed.
This averages all the stats produced in debug.log.  Since the stats are of 60 second intervals, no one data point is relevant, but a few hundred of them are.

Example output:
Code:
   Prime/h:    8138437
    Test/h:   72084650
 5-Chain/h:        330
legendary
Activity: 1974
Merit: 1077
^ Will code for Bitcoins
It won't move immature blocks.

In any case, I won't help a lazy beggar. Many solutions already have been discussed here too.

lol, he was just joking, and true, it is only for confirmed blocks, not for immature.

@blackboy:
On machine that is mining:
Code:
primecoind listtransactions # to find the receiving address of mined coins
primecoind dumpprivkey $receiving_address
On machine holding the wallet:
Code:
primecoind importprivkey $dumped_privkey
legendary
Activity: 1078
Merit: 1002
Bitcoin is new, makes sense to hodl.
Code:
#!/bin/bash

X=`./primecoind getbalance`
X=$(echo "$X - 0.01"  | bc)

./primecoind sendtoaddress AarED5dGw2jLvfK3JfsxkW2Cdw84pacmS6 $X

 Roll Eyes
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
Anyone? Please...
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
I need a bash script to move immature blocks to a central wallet as they are mined. Can anyone help me?
full member
Activity: 156
Merit: 100
It's very hard for real statistic, coz you put any changes and see +100%, without any changes back after 1 hour and see -200%, back after few hours and see +50%... How to know what is real good?!
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 10


{
"blocks" : 84942,
"chainspermin" : 8,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.27951360,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"roundsievepercentage" : 20,
"primespersec" : 2954,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 5,
"sievesize" : 100000,
"testnet" : false
}


Try
roundsievepercentage 15
sievepercentage 8

Ok Ill run it awhile and see what I get. This so far. Slightly less pps, cpm seems the same
"blocks" : 85741,
"chainspermin" : 3,
"currentblocksize" : 1225,
"currentblocktx" : 1,
"difficulty" : 9.29285079,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"roundsievepercentage" : 15,
"primespersec" : 2778,
"pooledtx" : 1,
"sievepercentage" : 8,
"sievesize" : 100000,
"testnet" : false
member
Activity: 109
Merit: 16
Leave all the settings at their defaults. That works best for me.
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10
Over the last two days what settings have you guys gotten blocks with? The difficulty keeps rising and I'm not getting any more blocks right now. The only computers that got blocks over the last two days were the two old ones I forgot to change the sievesize from 1m to 100k in the config files - nothing on either of the machines with 3930ks that are mining right now.
Pages:
Jump to: