Author

Topic: Alpha Technology Litecoin (Scrypt) ASIC Miner Order Batch 1 Now! - page 177. (Read 529056 times)

Pug
Activity: 65
Merit: 10
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
I'll add that if they've done their homework and have been working on this from day 1, documenting all components, etc, then self certification or even getting a waiver, would cause no major delay.

I forget who first mentioned the CE certification, but that appears to be the reason for the change (PS on outside).
IAS

There was a brief exchange on the KNC thread about CE certification or the absence of it with the Neptune and the conclusion of it was that the EU directive requiring CE certification wasn't applicable to 12 volt devices. I'm not an expert in the area so I haven't come to a conclusion. However, when discussing these things it would be good to provide links or references to the actual requirements so that the facts of the matter can be determined.

Hearsay and assumptions are wonderful things ...

I agree. The CE cert stuff can easily be found on google, and it lists the categories, methods and requirements. There's even self certification paths. Even small USB Block Erupters are CE certified. Without the sticker, customs has played havoc in the past on mining equipment. Cointerra apparently ran into an issue with their devices, despite them being 12volt.

It's why I said that it's possible for AT to self-certify. Either way they have to measure emissions, check for potential failure faults, document all of it, etc. Customs may (should) then ask for this documentation for proof.